DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-13, 15,16 and 21-25 filed as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-13, 15,16 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindhe et al. (USP 2016/0353959) in view of Shao et al.
(CN-114967698A).
As Per Claim 1, Lindhe et al. (Lindhe) teaches, a method for enabling a device (a robotic cleaning device 10, being equipped with controller 16, infrared sensors, sonar sensor, 3D camera and laser scanner etc. [0030-0031], controller 16 being equipped with SLAM algorithm, [0003], See Fig.1) to move to a designated position, comprising: scanning a target position to acquire a scanning result when it is detected that a designated position is in an unreachable state;
(via detecting an obstacle in the navigation path, See “detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16. The microprocessor 16 communicates with the wheel motors 15a, 15b to control movement of the wheels 12, 13 in accordance with information provided by the obstacle detecting device such that the robotic cleaning device 10 can move as desired across the surface to be cleaned”, [0031]). Also see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
However, Lindhe does not explicitly teach, continuing to move to the designated position in response to the scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in a reachable state.
In an analogous art, Shao et al. (Shao) teaches, a cleaning robot , wherein,
continuing to move to the designated position in response to the scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in a reachable state.( via cleaning action can be carried out, , See “ marking obstacles during the first cleaning, and when it is detected that the status of the obstacles in the obstacle area has changed, the second cleaning is performed, so as to avoid objects from moving resulting in missed scans.”, ( Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lindhe and Shao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Lindhe , to include the teachings (all the modules ) of Shao and configure with the system of Lindhe in order to detecting the dynamic position of the obstacle and when obstacle has changed the position, determining that the area is reachable, performing the cleaning operation of obstructed area. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to improve the efficiency of cleaning and the success rate of obstacle avoidance by identifying and marking obstacles, detecting obstacles whose states have changed, and re-scanning and recleaning (i.e., an added safety feature to enhance safety of cleaner and task completion).
As per Claim 2, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein detecting that the designated position is in the unreachable state ( via camera and laser sensor detecting obstacle) comprises: detecting that the designated position is in the unreachable state based on a historical map. ( Lindhe : via “SLAM building a map of an unknown environment by a mobile robot while at the same time navigating the environment using the map.”, [0003]).
As per Claim 3, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 2. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein detecting that the designated position is in the unreachable state based on the historical map ( Lindhe : [0003])
comprises: determining a target path based on a current device position and the designated position, and identifying the historical map based on the target path; and determining that the designated position is in the unreachable state when it is identified that a target environment is in a closed state. ( Lindhe : see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
As per Claim 4, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 2. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein scanning the target position to acquire the scanning result comprises: performing a preliminary scanning detection on the target position through actual detection, and generating a scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the reachable state when it is detected that the target position is traversable, wherein the reachable state is used to indicate that the target position is passable, or a path to reach the designated position can be generated ( Shao: See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3) after updating the historical map.( Lindhe : [0003]). (See rationale supporting obviousness and motivation to combine, of claim 1 above) .
As per Claim 5, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 2. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein scanning the target position to acquire the scanning result comprises: performing a preliminary scanning detection on the target position through actual detection, and generating a scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the unreachable state when it is detected that the target position is non-traversable. (Lindhe : via detecting an obstacle in the navigation path, See “detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16. The microprocessor 16 communicates with the wheel motors 15a, 15b to control movement of the wheels 12, 13 in accordance with information provided by the obstacle detecting device such that the robotic cleaning device 10 can move as desired across the surface to be cleaned”, [0031]). Also see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
As per Claim 6, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 5. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein following the scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the unreachable state, the method further comprises: sending prompt information to a remote application terminal; and scanning the target position again in response to a resume movement instruction and acquiring a scanning result again. ( Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3). (See rationale supporting obviousness and motivation to combine, of claim 1 above).
As per Claim 7, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein scanning the target position to acquire the scanning result when it is detected that the designated position is in the unreachable state further comprises: determining, through actual detection, that the designated position is in the unreachable state; determining the target position in response to a resume movement instruction and scanning the target position; and generating a scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the reachable state when it is detected that the target position is traversable; (Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3) or generating a scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the unreachable state when it is detected that the target position is non-traversable. (Lindhe : via detecting an obstacle in the navigation path, See “detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16. The microprocessor 16 communicates with the wheel motors 15a, 15b to control movement of the wheels 12, 13 in accordance with information provided by the obstacle detecting device such that the robotic cleaning device 10 can move as desired across the surface to be cleaned”, [0031]). Also see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1). (See rationale supporting obviousness and motivation to combine, of claim 1 above).
As per Claim 8, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 7. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein determining, through actual detection, that the designated position is in the unreachable state comprises: scanning an operating environment associated with a current device position by using a scanning sensor; and generating a preliminary scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the unreachable state when it is detected by scanning that the operating environment is in a closed state, and sending prompt information to a remote application terminal (Lindhe : via detecting an obstacle in the navigation path, See “detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16. The microprocessor 16 communicates with the wheel motors 15a, 15b to control movement of the wheels 12, 13 in accordance with information provided by the obstacle detecting device such that the robotic cleaning device 10 can move as desired across the surface to be cleaned”, [0031]). Also see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
As per Claim 9, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein scanning the target position comprises: scanning the target position by using a laser scanning sensor; (Lindhe : via “a laser scanner, etc. for detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16.”, [0031]) ; and determining that the target position is traversable when it is detected that there is no obstacle at the target position; or acquiring a current obstacle point cloud of the target position when it is detected that there is an obstacle at the target position, and determining that the target position is traversable when a proportion of the obstacle point cloud within a unit space or area is less than a first preset threshold. (Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3). (See rationale supporting obviousness and motivation to combine, of claim 1 above).
As per Claim 10, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein scanning the target position further comprises: scanning the target position by using an obstacle perception sensor;(Lindhe : via “ The obstacle detecting device may be embodied in the form of infrared (IR) sensors and/or sonar sensors, a microwave radar, a 3D sensor system registering its surroundings, implemented by means of e.g. a 3D camera, a camera in combination with lasers, a laser scanner, etc. for detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16”, [0031]) and determining that the target position is traversable when it is detected that there is no obstacle at the target position; or acquiring a current obstacle height point cloud and obstacle position point cloud of the target position when it is detected that there is an obstacle at the target position, and determining that the target position is traversable when a proportion of the obstacle height point cloud and a proportion of the obstacle position point cloud within a unit space or area are less than a second preset threshold and a third preset threshold, respectively. (Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3). (See rationale supporting obviousness and motivation to combine, of claim 1 above).
As per Claim 11, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein after acquiring the scanning result, the method further comprises: continuing to send the prompt information to a remote application terminal or entering an explore mode when the scanning result indicates that the designated position is currently in the unreachable state. (Lindhe : via detecting an obstacle in the navigation path, See “detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16. The microprocessor 16 communicates with the wheel motors 15a, 15b to control movement of the wheels 12, 13 in accordance with information provided by the obstacle detecting device such that the robotic cleaning device 10 can move as desired across the surface to be cleaned”, [0031]). Also see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
As per Claim 12, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 11. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein entering the explore mode comprises: moving to the target position; rotating in a designated direction when a physical collision buffer is triggered, wherein the designated direction is a direction opposite a position at which the physical collision buffer is triggered; moving in the designated direction until the target position is passed or there is no forward path; and sending the prompt information to the remote application terminal
in response to no forward path. (Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3).
As per Claim 13, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 1. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein before scanning the target position when it is detected that the designated position is in the unreachable state, the method further comprises: scanning an operating environment by using a scanning sensor, generating an electronic map, and storing the electronic map in a local memory or a remote server; and receiving a task instruction and reading the designated position to be reached as required in the task instruction; or planning a task list based on the task instruction, and sequentially setting positions associated with each of a plurality of subtasks in the task list as the designated position according to an execution order of the plurality of subtasks. (Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3).
As Per Claim 15, Lindhe et al. (Lindhe) teaches, a computer device ( via a robotic cleaning device 10), comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and, when the computer program is run by the processor ( a robotic cleaning device 10, being equipped with controller 16,microprocessor , and memory, controller 16 being equipped with SLAM algorithm, [0003], See Fig.1) [0035], [0039], [0030-0031]), the computer device is caused to scan a target position to acquire a scanning result when it is detected that a designated position is in an unreachable state; (via detecting an obstacle in the navigation path, See “detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16. The microprocessor 16 communicates with the wheel motors 15a, 15b to control movement of the wheels 12, 13 in accordance with information provided by the obstacle detecting device such that the robotic cleaning device 10 can move as desired across the surface to be cleaned”, [0031]). Also see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
However, Lindhe does not explicitly teach, continue to move to the designated position in response to the scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in a reachable state.
In an analogous art, Shao et al. (Shao) teaches, a cleaning robot, wherein, continue to move to the designated position in response to the scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in a reachable state. ( via cleaning action can be carried out, , See “ marking obstacles during the first cleaning, and when it is detected that the status of the obstacles in the obstacle area has changed, the second cleaning is performed, so as to avoid objects from moving resulting in missed scans.”, ( Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lindhe and Shao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Lindhe , to include the teachings (all the modules ) of Shao and configure with the system of Lindhe in order to detecting the dynamic position of the obstacle and when obstacle has changed the position, determining that the area is reachable, performing the cleaning operation of obstructed area. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to improve the efficiency of cleaning and the success rate of obstacle avoidance by identifying and marking obstacles, detecting obstacles whose states have changed, and re-scanning and recleaning (i.e., an added safety feature to enhance safety of cleaner and task completion).
As Per Claim 16, Lindhe et al. (Lindhe) teaches, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when run by a processor, ( a robotic cleaning device 10, being equipped with controller 16, microprocessor , and memory, controller 16 being equipped with SLAM algorithm, [0003], See Fig.1) [0035], [0039], [0030-0031]), causes the processor to scan a target position to acquire a scanning result when it is detected that a designated position is in an unreachable state; via detecting an obstacle in the navigation path, See “detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16. The microprocessor 16 communicates with the wheel motors 15a, 15b to control movement of the wheels 12, 13 in accordance with information provided by the obstacle detecting device such that the robotic cleaning device 10 can move as desired across the surface to be cleaned”, [0031]). Also see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
However, Lindhe does not explicitly teach, continue to move to the designated position in response to the scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in a reachable state.
In an analogous art, Shao et al. (Shao) teaches, a cleaning robot , wherein, continue to move to the designated position in response to the scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in a reachable state (via cleaning action can be carried out, , See “ marking obstacles during the first cleaning, and when it is detected that the status of the obstacles in the obstacle area has changed, the second cleaning is performed, so as to avoid objects from moving resulting in missed scans.”, ( Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Lindhe and Shao before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems of Lindhe , to include the teachings (all the modules ) of Shao and configure with the system of Lindhe in order to detecting the dynamic position of the obstacle and when obstacle has changed the position, determining that the area is reachable, performing the cleaning operation of obstructed area. Motivation to combine the two teachings is, to improve the efficiency of cleaning and the success rate of obstacle avoidance by identifying and marking obstacles, detecting obstacles whose states have changed, and re-scanning and recleaning (i.e., an added safety feature to enhance safety of cleaner and task completion).
As per Claim 21, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 15. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein detecting that the designated position is in the unreachable state comprises: detecting that the designated position is in the unreachable state based on a historical map ( Lindhe : via “SLAM building a map of an unknown environment by a mobile robot while at the same time navigating the environment using the map.”, [0003]).
As per Claim 22, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein when the computer program is run by the processor, the computer device is caused to: determine a target path based on a current device position and the designated position, and identify the historical map based on the target path ( Lindhe : [0003]); and determine that the designated position is in the unreachable state when it is identified that a target environment is in a closed state. ( Lindhe : see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
As per Claim 23, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein when the computer
program is run by the processor, the computer device is caused to: perform a preliminary scanning detection on the target position through actual detection, and generate a scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the reachable state when it is detected that the target position is traversable, wherein the reachable state is used to indicate that the target position is passable, or a path to reach the designated position can be generated ( Shao: See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3) after updating the historical map. after updating the historical map.( Lindhe : [0003]). (See rationale supporting obviousness and motivation to combine, of claim 15 above).
As per Claim 24, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 21. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein when the computer program is run by the processor, the computer device is caused to: perform a preliminary scanning detection on the target position through actual detection, and generate
a scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the unreachable state when it is detected that the target position is non-traversable (Lindhe : via detecting an obstacle in the navigation path, See “detecting obstacles and communicating information about any detected obstacle to the microprocessor 16. The microprocessor 16 communicates with the wheel motors 15a, 15b to control movement of the wheels 12, 13 in accordance with information provided by the obstacle detecting device such that the robotic cleaning device 10 can move as desired across the surface to be cleaned”, [0031]). Also see [0003], [0013], [0014], [0030-0031], [0039-0040], Fig.1).
As per Claim 25, Lindhe as modified by Shao teaches the limitation of Claim 24. However, Lindhe in view of Shao teaches, wherein when the computer program is run by the processor, the computer device is caused to: following the scanning result indicating that the designated position is currently in the unreachable state, send prompt information to a remote application terminal; and scan the target position again in response to a resume movement instruction and acquire a scanning result again . (Shao :See Page 2, 6th para –Page 4, 2nd para; Page 14 whole page; Page 4, para 9th – Page 10, para 2nd ; page 7, 3rd para – page 8 , 4th para), Figs. 1-3). (See rationale supporting obviousness and motivation to combine, of claim 15 above).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C