DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on June 27, 2025. Claims 1-14, 16-21 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 27, 2025, November 14, 2025, and June 16, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is drawn to a readable storage medium, however this could be reasonably interpreted as being a transitory storage medium or data per se (See MPEP 2106.03)n and therefore is not patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fong et al. (US 20210282613; hereinafter Fong).
In regards to claim 1, Fong discloses of a cleaning device control method (“A method includes receiving mapping data collected by an autonomous cleaning robot as the autonomous cleaning robot moves about an environment. A portion of the mapping data is indicative of a location of an object in the environment. The method includes defining a clean zone at the location of the object such that the autonomous cleaning robot initiates a clean behavior constrained to the clean zone in response to encountering the clean zone in the environment.” (Abstract)), comprising:
determining a low-frequency passage region within a room to be cleaned, and acquiring cleaning task information of the cleaning device (“FIGS. 15-16, 17A-17B, and 18A-18C illustrate example methods of defining behavior control zones to cause an autonomous mobile robot, e.g., the robot 100, to disable a behavior as the robot traverses the behavior control zone. In FIG. 15, a process 500 includes operations 502 and 504. The process 500 is used to establish a region within an environment where the robot 100 disables a certain behavior that could prevent the robot 100 from traversing the region.” (Para 0223), “At the operation 504, a behavior control zone corresponding to a portion of the mapping data is defined. The behavior control zone causes the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. The robot 100 can receive data indicative of the behavior control zone, and then, based on the data, disable the behavior in response to encountering the behavior control zone.” (Para 0225), “FIGS. 18A-18C illustrate an example of the robot 100 operating in accordance with a behavior control zone that is configured to trigger the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. Referring to FIG. 18A, the robot 100 navigates about an environment including a first room 642, a second room 644, and a hallway 646 between the first room 642 and the second room 644. A first threshold 648 separates the hallway 646 from the first room 642, and a second threshold 650 separates the hallway 646 from the second room 644. FIG. 18A shows the robot 100, for example, performing a coverage behavior to clean the first room 642. As the robot 100 performs the coverage behavior, the robot 100 initiates a rug ride up behavior in response to a portion 652 of a rug 651 that has ridden up. The robot 100 encounters the ridden up portion 652 and then initiates the rug ride up behavior to avoid the portion 652 of the rug 651. In the rug ride up behavior, the robot 100 reverses away from the portion 652 of the rug 651 to avoid going over the portion 652 of the rug 651 and potentially becoming stuck.” (Para 0236), “In some implementations, the user selection of the priority can involve the user 30 selecting the behavior control zones and then starting a mission in which the robot 100 cleans the selected behavior control zones in an order provided by the user 30. For example, as shown in FIG. 13G, the user 30 can select a subset of several behavior control zones 463 in the environment to be cleaned by the robot 100. The behavior control zones 463 include rooms 463a as well as behavior control zones 463b that are defined separately from the rooms 463a. The user 30 can operate the user interface 310 to select the behavior control zones 463 to clean, and an order in which to clean the behavior control zones 463. In some implementations, as the user 30 selects the subset of the behavior control zones 463, the order in which the behavior control zones 463 (appearing as numerals next to the selected behavior control zones 463 in the example shown in FIG. 13G) can be automatically selected. The user 30 can then manually modify the order in which the selected behavior control zones are cleaned. The order in which the behavior control zones are cleaned is indicative of relative priorities of the selected behavior control zones. The user 30 can then initiate a mission for the robot 100 in which the robot 100 cleans the selected behavior control zones in the selected order.” (Para 0207), see also Para 0237-0238);
planning a passing path of the cleaning device inside the low-frequency passage region and planning a cleaning path of the cleaning device outside the low-frequency passage region based on the cleaning task information (“FIGS. 15-16, 17A-17B, and 18A-18C illustrate example methods of defining behavior control zones to cause an autonomous mobile robot, e.g., the robot 100, to disable a behavior as the robot traverses the behavior control zone. In FIG. 15, a process 500 includes operations 502 and 504. The process 500 is used to establish a region within an environment where the robot 100 disables a certain behavior that could prevent the robot 100 from traversing the region.” (Para 0223), “At the operation 504, a behavior control zone corresponding to a portion of the mapping data is defined. The behavior control zone causes the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. The robot 100 can receive data indicative of the behavior control zone, and then, based on the data, disable the behavior in response to encountering the behavior control zone.” (Para 0225), “FIG. 18C shows an example in which such behavior control zones have been established, for example, using methods described in this disclosure. A first behavior control zone 653 covers the first threshold 648, and a second behavior control zone 654 covers the second threshold 650. The first and second behavior control zones 653, 654 are configured to cause the robot 100 to disable the rug ride up behavior in response to the robot 100 encountering the behavior control zones 653, 654. As shown in FIG. 18C, instead of reversing relative to the first threshold 648 in response to encountering the first threshold 648, the robot 100 traverses the first threshold 648 because the first behavior control zone 653 causes the robot 100 to disable its rug ride up behavior. Similarly, instead of reversing relative to the second threshold 650 in response to encountering the second threshold 650, the robot 100 traverses the second threshold 650 because the second behavior control zone 654 causes the robot 100 to disable its rug ride up behavior. The robot 100 is thus able to cross the hallway 646 into the second room 644 without the first threshold 648 and the second threshold 650 impeding the movement of the robot 100. In some implementations, the robot 100 can perform a coverage behavior in the hallway 646 before advancing across the second threshold 650 into the second room 644.” (Para 0238), “FIGS. 18A-18C illustrate an example of the robot 100 operating in accordance with a behavior control zone that is configured to trigger the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. Referring to FIG. 18A, the robot 100 navigates about an environment including a first room 642, a second room 644, and a hallway 646 between the first room 642 and the second room 644. A first threshold 648 separates the hallway 646 from the first room 642, and a second threshold 650 separates the hallway 646 from the second room 644. FIG. 18A shows the robot 100, for example, performing a coverage behavior to clean the first room 642. As the robot 100 performs the coverage behavior, the robot 100 initiates a rug ride up behavior in response to a portion 652 of a rug 651 that has ridden up. The robot 100 encounters the ridden up portion 652 and then initiates the rug ride up behavior to avoid the portion 652 of the rug 651. In the rug ride up behavior, the robot 100 reverses away from the portion 652 of the rug 651 to avoid going over the portion 652 of the rug 651 and potentially becoming stuck.” (Para 0236), “The persistent data, including the persistent map, enable the robot 100 to efficiently clean the floor surface 10. For example, the persistent map enables the controller 109 to direct the robot 100 toward open floor space and to avoid non-traversable space. In addition, for subsequent missions, the controller 109 is able to plan navigation of the robot 100 through the environment using the persistent map to optimize paths taken during the missions.” (Para 0101), Figs 18A-18C); and
controlling the cleaning device to move along the passing path and move along the cleaning path (“FIGS. 15-16, 17A-17B, and 18A-18C illustrate example methods of defining behavior control zones to cause an autonomous mobile robot, e.g., the robot 100, to disable a behavior as the robot traverses the behavior control zone. In FIG. 15, a process 500 includes operations 502 and 504. The process 500 is used to establish a region within an environment where the robot 100 disables a certain behavior that could prevent the robot 100 from traversing the region.” (Para 0223), “At the operation 504, a behavior control zone corresponding to a portion of the mapping data is defined. The behavior control zone causes the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. The robot 100 can receive data indicative of the behavior control zone, and then, based on the data, disable the behavior in response to encountering the behavior control zone.” (Para 0225), “FIG. 18C shows an example in which such behavior control zones have been established, for example, using methods described in this disclosure. A first behavior control zone 653 covers the first threshold 648, and a second behavior control zone 654 covers the second threshold 650. The first and second behavior control zones 653, 654 are configured to cause the robot 100 to disable the rug ride up behavior in response to the robot 100 encountering the behavior control zones 653, 654. As shown in FIG. 18C, instead of reversing relative to the first threshold 648 in response to encountering the first threshold 648, the robot 100 traverses the first threshold 648 because the first behavior control zone 653 causes the robot 100 to disable its rug ride up behavior. Similarly, instead of reversing relative to the second threshold 650 in response to encountering the second threshold 650, the robot 100 traverses the second threshold 650 because the second behavior control zone 654 causes the robot 100 to disable its rug ride up behavior. The robot 100 is thus able to cross the hallway 646 into the second room 644 without the first threshold 648 and the second threshold 650 impeding the movement of the robot 100. In some implementations, the robot 100 can perform a coverage behavior in the hallway 646 before advancing across the second threshold 650 into the second room 644.” (Para 0238), “FIGS. 18A-18C illustrate an example of the robot 100 operating in accordance with a behavior control zone that is configured to trigger the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. Referring to FIG. 18A, the robot 100 navigates about an environment including a first room 642, a second room 644, and a hallway 646 between the first room 642 and the second room 644. A first threshold 648 separates the hallway 646 from the first room 642, and a second threshold 650 separates the hallway 646 from the second room 644. FIG. 18A shows the robot 100, for example, performing a coverage behavior to clean the first room 642. As the robot 100 performs the coverage behavior, the robot 100 initiates a rug ride up behavior in response to a portion 652 of a rug 651 that has ridden up. The robot 100 encounters the ridden up portion 652 and then initiates the rug ride up behavior to avoid the portion 652 of the rug 651. In the rug ride up behavior, the robot 100 reverses away from the portion 652 of the rug 651 to avoid going over the portion 652 of the rug 651 and potentially becoming stuck.” (Para 0236).
In regards to claim 2, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 1, wherein the moving along the passing path comprises:
moving along the passing path without executing cleaning logic (“The operations 618 and 620 involve operations for initiating a behavior once the robot 100 arrives at the user-selected behavior control zone. At the operation 618, the computing system 401 determines that the robot 100 is proximate to the user-selected behavior control zone or is within the user-selected behavior control zone. At the operation 620, the robot 100 disables a behavior as the robot 100 navigates through the user-selected behavior control zone. As discussed with respect to the operation 504, the behavior can be a rug ride up behavior, a cleaning behavior, or some other appropriate behavior of the robot 100.” (Para 0235)); and the moving along the cleaning path comprises: moving along the cleaning path and executing the cleaning logic (“FIGS. 18A-18C illustrate an example of the robot 100 operating in accordance with a behavior control zone that is configured to trigger the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. Referring to FIG. 18A, the robot 100 navigates about an environment including a first room 642, a second room 644, and a hallway 646 between the first room 642 and the second room 644. A first threshold 648 separates the hallway 646 from the first room 642, and a second threshold 650 separates the hallway 646 from the second room 644. FIG. 18A shows the robot 100, for example, performing a coverage behavior to clean the first room 642. As the robot 100 performs the coverage behavior, the robot 100 initiates a rug ride up behavior in response to a portion 652 of a rug 651 that has ridden up. The robot 100 encounters the ridden up portion 652 and then initiates the rug ride up behavior to avoid the portion 652 of the rug 651. In the rug ride up behavior, the robot 100 reverses away from the portion 652 of the rug 651 to avoid going over the portion 652 of the rug 651 and potentially becoming stuck.” (Para 0236), “The operations 618 and 620 involve operations for initiating a behavior once the robot 100 arrives at the user-selected behavior control zone. At the operation 618, the computing system 401 determines that the robot 100 is proximate to the user-selected behavior control zone or is within the user-selected behavior control zone. At the operation 620, the robot 100 disables a behavior as the robot 100 navigates through the user-selected behavior control zone. As discussed with respect to the operation 504, the behavior can be a rug ride up behavior, a cleaning behavior, or some other appropriate behavior of the robot 100.” (Para 0235), see also Figs 18A-18C).
In regards to claim 3, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 1, wherein the planning a passing path of the cleaning device inside the low-frequency passage region and planning a cleaning path of the cleaning device outside the low-frequency passage region based on the cleaning task information comprises:
planning the passing path inside the low-frequency passage region and respectively planning cleaning paths inside a plurality of different cleaning regions according to the cleaning task information, in response to that the low-frequency passage region divides a region outside the low-frequency passage region into a plurality of different cleaning regions (“FIGS. 18A-18C illustrate an example of the robot 100 operating in accordance with a behavior control zone that is configured to trigger the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. Referring to FIG. 18A, the robot 100 navigates about an environment including a first room 642, a second room 644, and a hallway 646 between the first room 642 and the second room 644. A first threshold 648 separates the hallway 646 from the first room 642, and a second threshold 650 separates the hallway 646 from the second room 644. FIG. 18A shows the robot 100, for example, performing a coverage behavior to clean the first room 642. As the robot 100 performs the coverage behavior, the robot 100 initiates a rug ride up behavior in response to a portion 652 of a rug 651 that has ridden up. The robot 100 encounters the ridden up portion 652 and then initiates the rug ride up behavior to avoid the portion 652 of the rug 651. In the rug ride up behavior, the robot 100 reverses away from the portion 652 of the rug 651 to avoid going over the portion 652 of the rug 651 and potentially becoming stuck.” (Para 0236), “FIG. 18C shows an example in which such behavior control zones have been established, for example, using methods described in this disclosure. A first behavior control zone 653 covers the first threshold 648, and a second behavior control zone 654 covers the second threshold 650. The first and second behavior control zones 653, 654 are configured to cause the robot 100 to disable the rug ride up behavior in response to the robot 100 encountering the behavior control zones 653, 654. As shown in FIG. 18C, instead of reversing relative to the first threshold 648 in response to encountering the first threshold 648, the robot 100 traverses the first threshold 648 because the first behavior control zone 653 causes the robot 100 to disable its rug ride up behavior. Similarly, instead of reversing relative to the second threshold 650 in response to encountering the second threshold 650, the robot 100 traverses the second threshold 650 because the second behavior control zone 654 causes the robot 100 to disable its rug ride up behavior. The robot 100 is thus able to cross the hallway 646 into the second room 644 without the first threshold 648 and the second threshold 650 impeding the movement of the robot 100. In some implementations, the robot 100 can perform a coverage behavior in the hallway 646 before advancing across the second threshold 650 into the second room 644.” (Para 0238), “The user 30 can operate the user computing device 188 to provide the input indicative of the user-selected behavior control zone at the operation 612. FIGS. 17A and 17B illustrate an example of the user 30 operating the user computing device 188 in this manner. In the example illustrated in FIGS. 17A and 17B, a recommended behavior control zone is not provided to the user 30. Referring to FIG. 17A, the user interface 310 presents a map 630 of an environment. The user interface 310 provides a visual representation of a floor plan, including representations of rooms and thresholds between the rooms. For example, the user interface 310 can present indicators 632a-632g of thresholds between indicators 634a-634g of rooms in the environment. The user interface 310 presents a user input element 636 that the user 30 can invoke in to define a user-selected behavior control zone.” (Para 0232), “Referring to FIG. 17B, after the user input element 636 is invoked, the user 30 can operate the user interface 310 to select one of the indicators 632a-632g of the thresholds (shown in FIG. 17A) to define a behavior control zone. In the example depicted in FIG. 17B, the user 30 invokes the indicator 632a to define a behavior control zone 638 along the threshold represented by the indicator 632a. As discussed in this disclosure, in response to encountering the behavior control zone 638, the robot 100 disables an obstacle avoidance behavior, e.g., the rug ride up behavior, as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone 638, thereby allowing the robot 100 to traverse the behavior control zone 638 without triggering a behavior that would cause the robot 100 to move away from the behavior control zone 638.” (Para 0233), “In some implementations, the user selection of the priority can involve the user 30 selecting the behavior control zones and then starting a mission in which the robot 100 cleans the selected behavior control zones in an order provided by the user 30. For example, as shown in FIG. 13G, the user 30 can select a subset of several behavior control zones 463 in the environment to be cleaned by the robot 100. The behavior control zones 463 include rooms 463a as well as behavior control zones 463b that are defined separately from the rooms 463a. The user 30 can operate the user interface 310 to select the behavior control zones 463 to clean, and an order in which to clean the behavior control zones 463. In some implementations, as the user 30 selects the subset of the behavior control zones 463, the order in which the behavior control zones 463 (appearing as numerals next to the selected behavior control zones 463 in the example shown in FIG. 13G) can be automatically selected. The user 30 can then manually modify the order in which the selected behavior control zones are cleaned. The order in which the behavior control zones are cleaned is indicative of relative priorities of the selected behavior control zones. The user 30 can then initiate a mission for the robot 100 in which the robot 100 cleans the selected behavior control zones in the selected order.” (Para 0207), See also Figs 17A-18C).
In regards to claim 4, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a low-frequency passage region within a room to be cleaned comprises:
acquiring a user's region setting information, and determining the low-frequency passage region within the room to be cleaned according to the region setting information “The user 30 can operate the user computing device 188 to provide the input indicative of the user-selected behavior control zone at the operation 612. FIGS. 17A and 17B illustrate an example of the user 30 operating the user computing device 188 in this manner. In the example illustrated in FIGS. 17A and 17B, a recommended behavior control zone is not provided to the user 30. Referring to FIG. 17A, the user interface 310 presents a map 630 of an environment. The user interface 310 provides a visual representation of a floor plan, including representations of rooms and thresholds between the rooms. For example, the user interface 310 can present indicators 632a-632g of thresholds between indicators 634a-634g of rooms in the environment. The user interface 310 presents a user input element 636 that the user 30 can invoke in to define a user-selected behavior control zone.” (Para 0232), “Referring to FIG. 17B, after the user input element 636 is invoked, the user 30 can operate the user interface 310 to select one of the indicators 632a-632g of the thresholds (shown in FIG. 17A) to define a behavior control zone. In the example depicted in FIG. 17B, the user 30 invokes the indicator 632a to define a behavior control zone 638 along the threshold represented by the indicator 632a. As discussed in this disclosure, in response to encountering the behavior control zone 638, the robot 100 disables an obstacle avoidance behavior, e.g., the rug ride up behavior, as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone 638, thereby allowing the robot 100 to traverse the behavior control zone 638 without triggering a behavior that would cause the robot 100 to move away from the behavior control zone 638.” (Para 0233), See also Figs 17A-18C).
In regards to claim 5, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a low-frequency passage region within a room to be cleaned comprises:
identifying a doorsill region within the room to be cleaned through an identifying apparatus of the cleaning device, and taking the doorsill region as a low-frequency passage region “FIG. 18C shows an example in which such behavior control zones have been established, for example, using methods described in this disclosure. A first behavior control zone 653 covers the first threshold 648, and a second behavior control zone 654 covers the second threshold 650. The first and second behavior control zones 653, 654 are configured to cause the robot 100 to disable the rug ride up behavior in response to the robot 100 encountering the behavior control zones 653, 654. As shown in FIG. 18C, instead of reversing relative to the first threshold 648 in response to encountering the first threshold 648, the robot 100 traverses the first threshold 648 because the first behavior control zone 653 causes the robot 100 to disable its rug ride up behavior. Similarly, instead of reversing relative to the second threshold 650 in response to encountering the second threshold 650, the robot 100 traverses the second threshold 650 because the second behavior control zone 654 causes the robot 100 to disable its rug ride up behavior. The robot 100 is thus able to cross the hallway 646 into the second room 644 without the first threshold 648 and the second threshold 650 impeding the movement of the robot 100. In some implementations, the robot 100 can perform a coverage behavior in the hallway 646 before advancing across the second threshold 650 into the second room 644.” (Para 0238), “FIGS. 18A-18C illustrate an example of the robot 100 operating in accordance with a behavior control zone that is configured to trigger the robot 100 to disable a behavior as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone. Referring to FIG. 18A, the robot 100 navigates about an environment including a first room 642, a second room 644, and a hallway 646 between the first room 642 and the second room 644. A first threshold 648 separates the hallway 646 from the first room 642, and a second threshold 650 separates the hallway 646 from the second room 644. FIG. 18A shows the robot 100, for example, performing a coverage behavior to clean the first room 642. As the robot 100 performs the coverage behavior, the robot 100 initiates a rug ride up behavior in response to a portion 652 of a rug 651 that has ridden up. The robot 100 encounters the ridden up portion 652 and then initiates the rug ride up behavior to avoid the portion 652 of the rug 651. In the rug ride up behavior, the robot 100 reverses away from the portion 652 of the rug 651 to avoid going over the portion 652 of the rug 651 and potentially becoming stuck.” (Para 0236), “A type of the object can vary in implementations, and the recommended priority can be selected based on the type of the object. In some implementations, an edge of the object can be indicative of a portion of a perimeter of the behavior control zone. For example, the object can be a wall, a corner, a counter, a kitchen counter, a doorway, furniture, or other object with an edge along the floor surface where debris could accumulate. In some implementations, the object can be an object with a portion spaced apart from the floor surface. For example, the object can be a table, a chair, a couch, a desk, a bed, or other object where debris can accumulate under a portion of the object. In some implementations, the object can be an object on the floor surface that is traversable by the robot 100. For example, the object can be an area rug or other similar object. In some implementations, the object can be an object associated with occupants tracking debris onto the floor surface. For example, the object can a door, an entryway, a threshold between rooms, a window, or other similar object.” (Para 0191)).
In regards to claim 6, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 5, wherein
the identifying apparatus comprises at least one of: a laser sensor, a visual sensor, or an infrared sensor (“In some implementations, the proximity sensor 136a includes an optical detector 180 and multiple optical emitters 182, 184. One of the optical emitters 182, 184 can be positioned to direct an optical beam outwardly and downwardly, and the other of the optical emitters 182, 184 can be positioned to direct an optical beam outwardly and upwardly. The optical detector 180 can detect reflections of the optical beams or scatter from the optical beams. In some implementations, the optical detector 180 is an imaging sensor, a camera, or some other type of detection device for sensing optical signals. In some implementations, the optical beams illuminate horizontal lines along a planar vertical surface forward of the robot 100. In some implementations, the optical emitters 182, 184 each emit a fan of beams outward toward an obstacle surface such that a one-dimensional grid of dots appears on one or more obstacle surfaces. The one-dimensional grid of dots can be positioned on a horizontally extending line. In some implementations, the grid of dots can extend across multiple obstacle surfaces, e.g., multiple obstacles surfaces adjacent to one another. The optical detector 180 can capture an image representative of the grid of dots formed by the optical emitter 182 and the grid of dots formed by the optical emitter 184. Based on a size of a dot in the image, the robot 100 can determine a distance of an object on which the dot appears relative to the optical detector 180, e.g., relative to the robot 100. The robot 100 can make this determination for each of the dots, thus allowing the robot 100 to determine a shape of an object on which the dots appear. In addition, if multiple objects are ahead of the robot 100, the robot 100 can determine a shape of each of the objects. In some implementations, the objects can include one or more objects that are laterally offset from a portion of the floor surface 10 directly in front of the robot 100. (Para 0091), “The sensor system can further include sensors for tracking a distance traveled by the robot 100, or detecting motion of the robot 100. For example, the sensor system can include encoders associated with the motors 114 for the drive wheels 112, and these encoders can track a distance that the robot 100 has traveled. In some implementations, the sensor system includes an optical sensor facing downward toward a floor surface. The optical sensor can be an optical mouse sensor. For example, the optical sensor can be positioned to direct light through a bottom surface of the robot 100 toward the floor surface 10. The optical sensor can detect reflections of the light and can detect a distance traveled by the robot 100 based on changes in floor features as the robot 100 travels along the floor surface 10. In some implementations, other motion sensors could include odometers, accelerometers, gyroscopes, inertial measurement units, and/or other sensors that generate signals indicative of a distance traveled, an amount of rotation, a velocity, or an acceleration of the robot 100. For example, the robot 100 includes a directional sensor, such as a gyroscope, that generates signals indicative of an amount that the mobile robot 300 has rotated from a heading. In some implementations, the sensor system can include a dead reckoning sensor, such as an IR wheel encoder, to generate signals indicative of the rotation of the drive wheels 112 and the controller 109 uses the detected rotation to estimate distance traveled by the robot 100.” (Para 0094)).
In regards to claim 7, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 5, wherein the taking the doorsill region as a low- frequency passage region specifically comprises:
taking the doorsill region as the low-frequency passage region in response to user's confirmation information for the doorsill region (“The user 30 can operate the user computing device 188 to provide the input indicative of the user-selected behavior control zone at the operation 612. FIGS. 17A and 17B illustrate an example of the user 30 operating the user computing device 188 in this manner. In the example illustrated in FIGS. 17A and 17B, a recommended behavior control zone is not provided to the user 30. Referring to FIG. 17A, the user interface 310 presents a map 630 of an environment. The user interface 310 provides a visual representation of a floor plan, including representations of rooms and thresholds between the rooms. For example, the user interface 310 can present indicators 632a-632g of thresholds between indicators 634a-634g of rooms in the environment. The user interface 310 presents a user input element 636 that the user 30 can invoke in to define a user-selected behavior control zone.” (Para 0232), and “Referring to FIG. 17B, after the user input element 636 is invoked, the user 30 can operate the user interface 310 to select one of the indicators 632a-632g of the thresholds (shown in FIG. 17A) to define a behavior control zone. In the example depicted in FIG. 17B, the user 30 invokes the indicator 632a to define a behavior control zone 638 along the threshold represented by the indicator 632a. As discussed in this disclosure, in response to encountering the behavior control zone 638, the robot 100 disables an obstacle avoidance behavior, e.g., the rug ride up behavior, as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone 638, thereby allowing the robot 100 to traverse the behavior control zone 638 without triggering a behavior that would cause the robot 100 to move away from the behavior control zone 638.” (Para 0233), see also Para 0235 and Figs 17A-17B and Fig 15 Part 504).
In regards to claim 8, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 1, wherein after the determining a low-frequency passage region within a room to be cleaned, the method further comprises:
adjusting the low-frequency passage region in response to user's region reset information for the low- frequency passage region (“The user 30 can operate the user computing device 188 to provide the input indicative of the user-selected behavior control zone at the operation 612. FIGS. 17A and 17B illustrate an example of the user 30 operating the user computing device 188 in this manner. In the example illustrated in FIGS. 17A and 17B, a recommended behavior control zone is not provided to the user 30. Referring to FIG. 17A, the user interface 310 presents a map 630 of an environment. The user interface 310 provides a visual representation of a floor plan, including representations of rooms and thresholds between the rooms. For example, the user interface 310 can present indicators 632a-632g of thresholds between indicators 634a-634g of rooms in the environment. The user interface 310 presents a user input element 636 that the user 30 can invoke in to define a user-selected behavior control zone.” (Para 0232), and “Referring to FIG. 17B, after the user input element 636 is invoked, the user 30 can operate the user interface 310 to select one of the indicators 632a-632g of the thresholds (shown in FIG. 17A) to define a behavior control zone. In the example depicted in FIG. 17B, the user 30 invokes the indicator 632a to define a behavior control zone 638 along the threshold represented by the indicator 632a. As discussed in this disclosure, in response to encountering the behavior control zone 638, the robot 100 disables an obstacle avoidance behavior, e.g., the rug ride up behavior, as the robot 100 traverses the behavior control zone 638, thereby allowing the robot 100 to traverse the behavior control zone 638 without triggering a behavior that would cause the robot 100 to move away from the behavior control zone 638.” (Para 0233), “Turning back to FIG. 12, the operations 416 and 418 involve operations for establishing the user-selected behavior control zone and its priority so that the behavior control zone and priority can be used for controlling the robot 100. At the operation 416, the user-selected behavior control zone is defined by the computing system 401. The operation 416 is similar to the operation 206 as described with respect to FIG. 5. At the operation 418, the user-selected behavior control zone is associated with the user-selected priority. The operations 416 and 418 can occur in response to the user selections provided at the operation 412, or in response to a confirmation by the user 30 of the user selections provided at the operation 412.” (Para 0210), see also Para 0235 and Figs 17A-17B and Fig 15 Part 504).
In regards to claims 16-17, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 1 and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claims 18-21, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 2-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of obvious design choice.
In regards to claim 9, Fong discloses/teaches of the method according to claim 1, wherein a length of the low-frequency passage region ranges from 0.4 m to 3 m, and a width of the low- frequency passage region ranges from 0.1 m to 0.2 m (“In some implementations, the definition of the user-selected behavior control zone can involve defining a geometric feature of the user-selected behavior control zone. For example, to define the user-selected behavior control zone, a perimeter of the user-selected behavior control zone, one or more dimensions of the user-selected behavior control zone, a shape of the user-selected behavior control zone, or other geometric feature of the user-selected behavior control zone can be defined. The geometric features of the recommended behavior control zone can be defined at the operation 204, and then the user can modify one or more of the geometric features of the recommended behavior control zone at the operation 206 to define the user-selected behavior control zone. For example, the user can modify a length or a width of the recommended behavior control zone to define a length or a width of the user-selected behavior control zone.” (Para 0157), “In some implementations, information about a geometric feature of the first indicator 318 is also presented on the user interface 310. For example, dimensions 330a, 330b are presented on the user interface 310 to indicate a width and a length of the recommended behavior control zone. In some implementations, other geometric features may be indicated. For example, a perimeter length, a side length, an angle between sides, an area, or other geometric measurements of the recommended behavior control zone may be presented on the user interface 310. In addition, the first indicator 318 shows that the recommended behavior control zone is rectangular. In other implementations, the recommended behavior control zone may have other shapes, including polygonal shapes, circular shapes, triangular shapes, or other shapes.” (Para 0165), See also Para 0236-0238 and 0191).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify length and width of the passage regions, as taught by Fong, to include having a length between 0.4 m to 3 m and a width between 0.1 m and 0.2 meters, as taught by using an obvious design choice, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid having constrained dimensions that make it difficult for a robot to exit a region (Fong Para 0130 and 0157).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of Yang et al. (CN 112515563; hereinafter Yang; already of record from IDS; see attached English translation for citation numbers).
In regards to claim 10, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 1.
However, Fong does not specifically disclose of in response to that there is an unidentifiable object inside the low-frequency passage region, controlling the cleaning device not to execute an obstacle avoidance operation on the unidentifiable object when the cleaning device moves into the low-frequency passage region, wherein the unidentifiable object is an object whose category cannot be identified by the cleaning device.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of in response to that there is an unidentifiable object inside the low-frequency passage region, controlling the cleaning device not to execute an obstacle avoidance operation on the unidentifiable object when the cleaning device moves into the low-frequency passage region, wherein the unidentifiable object is an object whose category cannot be identified by the cleaning device (“It can be understood that the sweeping robot when executing the cleaning task, continuously collecting the advancing direction image data through the depth camera, which can according to the collected different image data of each pixel point depth judging the position information of the object contained in the image data. The object in the image data comprises an obstacle, an empty floor, a sofa and so on. after the step of collecting the image data of the cleaning area, comprising when the image data cannot be identified, executing sweeping the cleaning area according to the original cleaning strategy. the original cleaning strategy is the strategy of cleaning task to the area to be cleaned according to the preset route map by the sweeping robot. In this embodiment, when the sweeping robot cannot identify the obtained image data, then controlling the sweeping robot according to the original cleaning strategy to finish the cleaning task of the cleaning area, preventing the sweeping robot cannot identify the image data obtained in the cleaning process so as to stop executing the cleaning task; causing the cleaning task to be interrupted (Page 5 Para 0013 - Page 6 Para 0003).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning strategy, as taught by Fong, to include not executing obstacle avoidance on an unidentifiable object, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent the cleaning task to be interrupted (Yang Page 6 Para 0003).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of Zhang et al. (US 20200077858; hereinafter Zhang).
In regards to claim 11, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 1.
However, Fong does not specifically disclose of elevating a height of a target executing part of the cleaning device when the cleaning device moves into the low-frequency passage region.
Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of elevating a height of a target executing part of the cleaning device when the cleaning device moves into the low-frequency passage region (“Specifically, as shown in FIGS. 7, 8, and 10, in this embodiment, the lifting mechanism 24 is arranged on the chassis 202 of the cleaning robot 2, and located at a front position of the chassis 202. The lifting mechanism 24 includes a swing arm which can swing upward and downward. After the swing arm swings downward, it sticks out from the chassis 202 and is supported on a bearing surface (for example, the floor surface), so as to raise the front end of the cleaning robot 2. And after the swing arm swings upward, it takes back, the front end of the cleaning robot 2 is not lifted by the swing arm, so that the front end of the cleaning robot 2 is lowered. Based on this, as shown in FIGS. 21 and 22, during the process of the cleaning robot 2 crossing obstacles or moving into the base station 1, the lifting mechanism 24 can raise the front end of the cleaning robot 2, to actively lift the height of the forward end of the cleaning robot 2, which facilitates the cleaning robot 2 to quickly cross the obstacles, or quickly move into the base station 1, thereby allowing the mop members 22111 to successfully get into the mop member cleaning device 11.” (Para 0160)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning device, as taught by Fong, to include elevating a height of a part of the cleaning device while in the low-frequency passage region, as taught by Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow an obstacle to be quickly crossed (Zhang Para 0160).
In regards to claim 12, Fong in view of Zhang teaches of the method according to claim 11, wherein the target executing part comprises at least one of: a floor brush, a mopping-cloth support, and or a dust collection cylinder (“Specifically, as shown in FIGS. 7, 8, and 10, in this embodiment, the lifting mechanism 24 is arranged on the chassis 202 of the cleaning robot 2, and located at a front position of the chassis 202. The lifting mechanism 24 includes a swing arm which can swing upward and downward. After the swing arm swings downward, it sticks out from the chassis 202 and is supported on a bearing surface (for example, the floor surface), so as to raise the front end of the cleaning robot 2. And after the swing arm swings upward, it takes back, the front end of the cleaning robot 2 is not lifted by the swing arm, so that the front end of the cleaning robot 2 is lowered. Based on this, as shown in FIGS. 21 and 22, during the process of the cleaning robot 2 crossing obstacles or moving into the base station 1, the lifting mechanism 24 can raise the front end of the cleaning robot 2, to actively lift the height of the forward end of the cleaning robot 2, which facilitates the cleaning robot 2 to quickly cross the obstacles, or quickly move into the base station 1, thereby allowing the mop members 22111 to successfully get into the mop member cleaning device 11.” (Zhang Para 0160), “The cleaning device 22 is used for cleaning the floor surface. In this embodiment, the cleaning device 22 includes a mop device 221, and the mop device 221 includes two mop units 2211. Each of the mop units 2211 includes a platen 22112 and a mop member 22111. The mop member 22111 is mounted on a bottom surface of the platen 22112 for mopping the floor surface.” (Zhang Para 0128), See Zhang Fig 7).
The motivation of combining Fong and Zhang is the same as that recited for claim 11 above.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of Li et al. (CN 114055457; hereinafter Li; already of record from IDS; see attached English translation for citation numbers).
In regards to claim 13, Fong discloses of the method according to claim 1.
However, Fong does not specifically disclose of increasing a detection trigger threshold of a detecting apparatus of the cleaning device when the cleaning device moves into a preset range in the vicinity of the low-frequency passage region.
Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of increasing a detection trigger threshold of a detecting apparatus of the cleaning device when the cleaning device moves into a preset range in the vicinity of the low-frequency passage region (“S101: obtaining the attribute type of the target obstacle; the target obstacle is the obstacle in the moving direction of the robot. wherein the obstacle is an object capable of blocking the movement of the robot, it can be a solid barrier such as a table, also can be a virtual barrier such as a virtual wall; wherein the target obstacle comprises all the obstacle along the robot moving direction in the range.” (Page 6 Para 0006-0007), “S102: and determining the target work parameter of the side brush according to the attribute type of the target obstacle. wherein the target working parameter is the working parameter of the next time of the current time, can be the same or different with the current working parameter, specifically can be determined according to the condition, if the attribute type of the target obstacle is not the preset attribute class, the current working parameter as the target working parameter of the side brush, so as to continue the cleaning work . In one embodiment, pre-setting the corresponding relation between the attribute type of the target obstacle and the target working parameter of the side brush, and taking the corresponding relation as the preset strategy, so as to determine the attribute type of the target obstacle, quickly determining the target working parameter of the side brush according to the preset strategy, so as to make it continue to clean the area to be cleaned containing the target obstacle according to the target working parameter. S103: and controlling the side brush to clean according to the target working parameter. wherein the cleaning work includes but is not limited to cleaning the area to be cleaned containing the target obstacle. It should be understood that when the target working parameter and the current working parameter are not at the same time, the current working parameter is adjusted as the target working parameter.” (Page 6 Para 0009 - Page 7 Para 0003).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning device, as taught by Fong, to include increasing a detection trigger threshold of the detecting apparatus when in the vicinity of the low-frequency passage region, as taught by Li, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the work parameter of the cleaning device to be adjusted to allow the area to be clean (Li Page 6 Para 0009 - Page 7 Para 0003).
In regards to claim 14, Fong in view of Li teaches of the method according to claim 13, wherein the detecting apparatus comprises at least one of: a carpet detection sensor, a collision sensor, or a cliff sensor (“The set of sensor events that could be used as the basis for recommending a behavior control zone could include the specific sensor event triggering the obstacle avoidance behavior and one or more sensor events indicating that the portion of the floor surface is traversable. For example, the one or more sensor events could include mapping data indicative of traversable floor surface portions adjacent to the portion of the floor surface. The traversable floor surface portions could indicate that the portion of the floor surface is traversable. For example, if the portion of the floor surface includes a ridge extending along the floor surface, a first adjacent portion could be on one lengthwise side of the ridge, and a second adjacent portion could be on the other lengthwise side of the ridge. Alternatively, the one or more sensor events can correspond to mapping data indicating that a percent of a surrounding portion of the floor surface around the portion of the floor surface is above a threshold percent, e.g., at least 55%, 60%, 65%, 70%, 75%, or more. In some implementations in which the behavior to be disabled is a rug ride up behavior, the one or more sensor events can correspond to floor type data indicating that the floor type around the portion of the floor surface is, for example, not rug or carpet. In some implementations in which the behavior to be disabled is a cliff avoidance behavior, the one or more sensor events can correspond to image data indicating that the portion of the floor surface is not a drop-off or a cliff.” (Fong Para 0132)).
Conclusion
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663