DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Zheng
Claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 20, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zheng et al.(USPubN 2022/0159230; hereafter Zheng).
As per claim 1, Zheng teaches a three-dimensional (3D) image display method, comprising: receiving a 3D image display request sent from an application end(“the display mode is a three-dimensional display mode” in Para.[0014], “the requirements in three-dimensional watching scenes may be met” in Para.[0095]);
acquiring, according to the 3D image display request, a screen output resolution format of the application end, and continuous initial left frame images and initial right frame images(“the original image data includes a left eye image and a right eye image” in Para.[0014], “when the display mode is a three-dimensional display mode, displaying gaze images corresponding to a left eye image and a right eye image in a fusion manner in a gaze area of the display and displaying a non-gaze image in the image to be displayed in a non-gaze area of the display by reducing the resolution according to the relationship between the resolution of the display at the image display terminal and the resolution of the image to be displayed corresponding to the target image data” in Para.[0018]);
splicing the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images according to the screen output resolution format to obtain an image to be displayed(“dividing, according to the eye gaze parameters collected at the image display terminal, the left eye image into at least one first gaze area and a plurality of first non-gaze areas, dividing the right eye image into at least one second gaze area and a plurality of second non-gaze areas, sampling the at least one first gaze area and the at least one second gaze area using an original resolution to obtain at least one first gaze image and at least one second gaze image, and sampling the plurality of first non-gaze areas and the plurality of second non-gaze areas using a compressed resolution to obtain a plurality of first non-gaze images and a plurality of second non-gaze images; and splicing the at least one first gaze image, the at least one second gaze image, the plurality of first non-gaze images and the plurality of second non-gaze images to obtain the target image data” in Para.[0014]);
sending the image to be displayed to the application end for data reading and cutting operation to obtain a left frame image and a right frame image; and sending the left frame image and the right frame image to a display end for image display(“After receiving the target image data, the image display terminal determines the display mode by analyzing the target image data, and then performs image display on the display in a scanning display manner corresponding to the display mode. Here, the image display terminal may parse the indication information of the display mode from the data header of the target image data, determine the display mode according to the indication information, and then perform image display in the scanning display manner corresponding to the display mode” in Para.[0049]).
As per claim 2, Zheng teaches wherein when the screen output resolution format is a first format, the splicing of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed comprises: respectively performing an image format conversion operation on the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images, such that a row data of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images is extended and a column data of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images is reduced; performing a vertical splicing on the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images after the image format conversion operation to obtain the image to be displayed(Para.[0018]).
As per claim 12, the limitations in the claim 12 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 13, the limitations in the claim 13 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, Zheng teaches a terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a plurality of instructions, and the processor loads the instructions to execute a 3D image display method(Para.[0022]), comprising:
receiving an image to be displayed sent from a main board end(“the display mode is a three-dimensional display mode” in Para.[0014], “the requirements in three-dimensional watching scenes may be met” in Para.[0095]);
performing a data reading and cutting operation on the image to be displayed to obtain a left frame image and a right frame image(“dividing, according to the eye gaze parameters collected at the image display terminal, the left eye image into at least one first gaze area and a plurality of first non-gaze areas, dividing the right eye image into at least one second gaze area and a plurality of second non-gaze areas, sampling the at least one first gaze area and the at least one second gaze area using an original resolution to obtain at least one first gaze image and at least one second gaze image, and sampling the plurality of first non-gaze areas and the plurality of second non-gaze areas using a compressed resolution to obtain a plurality of first non-gaze images and a plurality of second non-gaze images; and splicing the at least one first gaze image, the at least one second gaze image, the plurality of first non-gaze images and the plurality of second non-gaze images to obtain the target image data” in Para.[0014]); and
sending the left frame image and the right frame image to a display end for image display(“After receiving the target image data, the image display terminal determines the display mode by analyzing the target image data, and then performs image display on the display in a scanning display manner corresponding to the display mode. Here, the image display terminal may parse the indication information of the display mode from the data header of the target image data, determine the display mode according to the indication information, and then perform image display in the scanning display manner corresponding to the display mode” in Para.[0049]).
As per claim 22, Zheng teaches wherein executing the 3D image display method further comprises: receiving a 3D image display request sent from an application end; acquiring, according to the 3D image display request, a screen output resolution format of the application end, and continuous initial left frame images and initial right frame images; splicing the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images according to the screen output resolution format to obtain the image to be displayed; sending the image to be displayed to the application end for data reading and cutting operation to obtain the left frame image and the right frame image; and sending the left frame image and the right frame image to a display end for image display(Para.[0014], [0049]).
As per claim 23, Zheng teaches wherein when the screen output resolution format is a first format, the splicing of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed comprises: respectively performing an image format conversion operation on the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images, such that a row data of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images is extended and a column data of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images is reduced; performing a vertical splicing on the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images after the image format conversion operation to obtain the image to be displayed(Para.[0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Zheng in view of Maleki
Claims 3, 14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al.(USPubN 2022/0159230; hereafter Zheng) in view of Maleki et al.(USPubN 2014/0347362; hereinafter Maleki).
As per claim 3, Zheng teaches all of limitation of claim 1.
Zheng teaches wherein when the screen output resolution format is a second format.
Zheng is silent about the splicing of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed comprises: performing the vertical splicing on the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed.
Maleki teaches the splicing of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed comprises: performing the vertical splicing on the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed(Para.[0032], Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Zheng with the above teachings of Maleki in order to processing of images and video in order to show high quality 3D imagery.
As per claim 14, the limitations in the claim 14 has been discussed in the rejection claim 3 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 24, Zheng teaches all of limitation of claim 20.
Zheng teaches wherein when the screen output resolution format is a second format.
Zheng is silent about the splicing of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed comprises: performing the vertical splicing on the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed.
Maleki teaches the splicing of the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed comprises: performing the vertical splicing on the initial left frame images and the initial right frame images to obtain the image to be displayed (Para.[0032], Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Zheng with the above teachings of Maleki in order to processing of images and video in order to show high quality 3D imagery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 15, 16, 21, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484