DETAILED ACTION
Status
2. This communication is in response to the Application filed on 06.30.2025. Therefore, claims 1-20 will be subject to further examination and evaluation in due course, and will be presented for examination, as detailed below.
Oath/Declaration
3. The Applicant's oath/declaration has been reviewed by the Examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the Applicant' s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) dated 06.30.2025 has been acknowledged by the Examiner. The cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C (2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed, signed and dated by the Examiner is attached to the instant Office action.
Priority / Filing Date
5. Applicant's claim for priority of the Foreign Application (JAPAN 2023-023079) filed on 02.17.2023 is acknowledged. The Examiner takes the FA date of 02.17.2023 into consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea), an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20 are directed to an information processing apparatus and method and a program capable of reducing a sales opportunity loss.
Independent claim 1 has been identified as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis. Claim 1 recites an abstract idea, specifically certain methods of organizing human activity involving commercial interactions, and mental processes: including customer order fulfillment, inventory considerations, and selection of a commercial pickup location. Particularly, the claim recites an information processing apparatus, comprising the steps of:
generate optimal collecting location suggestion information;
collect the ordered menu item;
provides an ingredient to the store that cooks the ordered menu item on a basis of recipe data;
replay count information about the recipe data in the store;
store information related to the store and including a store opening place of the store;
estimated consumption amount information for the ordered menu item in every time period in the store; and
transmit the optimal collecting location suggestion information to a user terminal of the user.
These limitations collectively describe evaluating information associated with a customer’s order, customer preferences, store locations, ingredient availability, inventory requirements, and anticipated demand for the purposes of identifying and recommending a suitable commercial location at which the customer may collect on ordered food item. The recited activity constitutes management of a commercial transaction and coordination of commercial fulfillment.
Such activities fall within the category of organizing human activity: specifically commercial interactions, and mental processes: such as observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion.
Claim 1 does not recite any specific technological improvement or technical solution to a technical problem. Rather, the claim recites a business method of optimizing pickup locations using generic computer components. Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea. Further, evidence is cited as: Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, and SAP America v. InvestPic.
The additional elements, considered individually and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim further recites the additional elements of: “an information processing apparatus “, “a control unit”, “menu item”, “a mobile store”, “a desired location”, and “a communication unit”. The claimed information processing apparatus provides a generic computer implementation environment for performing the commercial recommendation activity. The recited control unit and communication unit are generic computer components that perform generic functions of processing and transmitting data.
The claim does not recite a particular architecture, specialized processing hardware, or an improvement to the operation of the information processing apparatus itself. Rather the apparatus is defined in terms of the information processing and communication functions that it performs. Merely implementing an abstract idea using a computer does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, these additional elements and components, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea without a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality, do not improve the functioning of a computer itself or to another technology. Rather, the additional elements merely use computer components as tools to perform a method and a program capable of reducing a sales opportunity loss. Therefore, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and amount to generic computer components used as tools to perform the abstract idea. Accordingly, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application.
Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim integrates the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter (see Alice Corp v CLS).
Furthermore, claims 2-10, and 14-18 define the same that is present in their respective independent claims 1, 11, 12, and 13 are considered to be part of the abstract idea above and merely act to further limit it. In the dependent claims, the additional elements or combination of elements in the claims other than the abstract idea per se amounts to no more than: mere instructions to implement the idea on an information processing apparatus in a standard mode of operation or matters that are routine and conventional in the field. Therefore, they are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Additionally, claims 2-10, and 14-18 do not pertain to a technological problem being solved in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and/or the limitations fail to achieve an actual improvement in computer functionality or improvement in specific technology other than using an information processing apparatus as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter (see Alice Corp v CLS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Someya et al., Pub. No.: US 2023/0052611 in view of Yang, Pub. No.: US 2009/0106124.
As per claims 1, 11, 12, 19 and 20, Tipton discloses an information processing apparatus (see at least the abstract 9e.g., an information processing device includes a control unit), as illustrated in FIG. 1 and shown below)
FIG. 1 is a diagram of an information processing system.
comprising: a control unit configured to generate optimal collecting location suggestion information for suggesting, to a user, a store as an optimal collecting location of an ordered menu item from among a plurality of the stores including a mobile store, on a basis of some or all of [see at least the abstract (e.g., an information processing device includes a control unit), as illustrated in FIG. 2 and shown below]:
FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an example of a hardware configuration of a user terminal.
and a communication unit configured to transmit the optimal collecting location suggestion information to a user terminal of the user [see at least ¶0041 and ¶0042 (e.g., communication unit 106 is a wired or wireless communication interface connectable to the network NW), as illustrated in FIG. 2 and shown below].
FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating an example of a hardware configuration of a user terminal.
an action plan of the user [see at least ¶0005 (e.g., a system that provides detail information relating to one settlement in a retail store to be viewable in a form of a receipt, it is proposed to provide the detail information separately on a plurality of receipts)]; a collecting time of the ordered menu item [see at least ¶0056 (e.g., As illustrated in FIG. 6, the order management table Tc stores information such as an order time, an order number, a terminal ID, order information, and a status in correlation with one another), and ¶0057 (e.g., order time is date and time information indicating the date and time when the order information was received)];
FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating an example of a data configuration of an order management table.
Someya discloses all elements per claimed invention as explained above. Someya does not explicitly disclose: a desired location for the user to collect the ordered menu item; warehouse ingredient stock status information of an ingredient provider who provides an ingredient to the store that cooks the ordered menu item on a basis of recipe data; and replay count information about the recipe data in the store; ingredient stock amount information of the store; a planned ingredient usage amount of the store on a current day; store information related to the store and including a store opening place of the store; and estimated consumption amount information for the ordered menu item in every time period in the store. However, Yang discloses: a desired location for the user to collect the ordered menu item [see at least Yang: abstract (e.g., available pickup locations are selected, and a customer's order to is delivered to a pickup location that is convenient for the customer. The entity operating the delivery process aggregates orders assigned to the same pickup location. A Mobile Pickup Station (MPS), carrying all the orders assigned to the pickup location, is dispatched to the pickup location and stays at the pickup location for a predetermined period of time waiting for customers to pick up their orders)]; warehouse ingredient stock status information of an ingredient provider who provides an ingredient to the store that cooks the ordered menu item on a basis of recipe data [see at least Yang: ¶0105 (e.g., MPS server may display product features along with products. Those features displayed may be ingredients, calorie count, fat count, price, etc. The MPS server may also employ the technology that gives out the scent of the food when buyer reviews its product information to stimulate purchases, as illsuatted in FIG. 11 below and shown below)]; and replay count information about the recipe data in the store; ingredient stock amount information of the store [see at least ¶0062 (e.g., the server is maintained by a food manufacturing company, e.g., a food catering business, the preference questions listed may be: Does the buyer like spicy food? Should the food be slightly spicy, medium spicy, or very spicy? Does the buyer care for red meat in the food? The maximum calorie and fat count in the food? What is the preference of ethnic foods? Italian food, Japanese food or other food? Also, the preference questions may contain specific dollar limitations the buyer wants to spend on meals (or orders))]; a planned ingredient usage amount of the store on a current day; store information related to the store and including a store opening place of the store; and estimated consumption amount information for the ordered menu item in every time period in the store [see at least Yang: ¶0216 (e.g., MPS entity can collect a buyer's ordering history and use this information together with the nutritional information provided by the BFPs to monitor a customer's nutritional intake, such as total calories, that the customer has consumed in the food purchased over a period of time. The entity may do so by compiling a total of the nutritional amounts in the foods the customer has ordered for the period of time. For example, if the entity wants to know the total calories the customer has consumed within the last twenty days, the entity may collect the foods the buyer has purchased for the last twenty days and calculate the total calorie counts for each food the buyer has purchased for that period)].
FIG. 1 is flowcharts showing the process from user's commuting route selection to user pickup at a mobile pickup station.
FIG. 11 shows a first model of the arrangement of shipping third party products to a mobile pickup station warehouse.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Yang in order to provide consumers buy ready-made meals from food service providers such as restaurants or grocery stores and take them home to eat [Yang: 0002].
As per claim 2, Someya discloses wherein the control unit selects the store that is a candidate for the optimal collecting location from among the plurality of the stores, and sets the selected store as the optimal collecting location in a case where an acceptance of cooking of the ordered menu item is obtained from the selected store [see at least the rejection of claim 1 above. Similar rationale is noticed for the combination of Someya and Yang, as noted for claim 1 above. In light of the preceding examination, claim 2 is hereby rejected on grounds substantially similar to those articulated in the rejection of claim 1. As detailed in the prior rejection, the rationale and basis for rejecting claim 1 are applicable to claim 2. For a comprehensive understanding of the rejection grounds, reference is made to the detailed explanation provided in the rejection of claim 1, which is incorporated herein by reference].
As per claim 3, Someya discloses wherein the ingredient stock amount information is estimated on a basis of the replay count information about the recipe data [see at least the rejection of claim 1 above. Similar rationale is noticed for the combination of Someya and Yang, as noted for claim 1 above. In light of the preceding examination, claim 3 is hereby rejected on grounds substantially similar to those articulated in the rejection of claim 1. As detailed in the prior rejection, the rationale and basis for rejecting claim 1 are applicable to claim 3. For a comprehensive understanding of the rejection grounds, reference is made to the detailed explanation provided in the rejection of claim 1, which is incorporated herein by reference].
As per claim 4, Someya discloses wherein in response to a request from the user terminal, the communication unit transmits, to the user terminal, the store information including a store opening place of the store, a menu item that is served in the store, and a serving availability status of the menu item [see at least the abstract].
As per claim 5, Someya discloses wherein in a case where an acceptance of cooking of the ordered menu item at the desired location is obtained, the desired location being the store selected by the user on a basis of presentation of the store information, the control unit sets the desired location as the optimal collecting location [see at least the rejection of claim 1 above. Similar rationale is noticed for the combination of Someya and Yang, as noted for claim 1 above. In light of the preceding examination, claim 5 is hereby rejected on grounds substantially similar to those articulated in the rejection of claim 1. As detailed in the prior rejection, the rationale and basis for rejecting claim 1 are applicable to claim 5. For a comprehensive understanding of the rejection grounds, reference is made to the detailed explanation provided in the rejection of claim 1, which is incorporated herein by reference].
As per claim 6, Someya discloses wherein the desired location is the store in which there is no stock of the ordered menu item at a present moment but an additional order can be placed [see at least the rejection of claim 1 above. Similar rationale is noticed for the combination of Someya and Yang, as noted for claim 1 above. In light of the preceding examination, claim 6 is hereby rejected on grounds substantially similar to those articulated in the rejection of claim 1. As detailed in the prior rejection, the rationale and basis for rejecting claim 1 are applicable to claim 6. For a comprehensive understanding of the rejection grounds, reference is made to the detailed explanation provided in the rejection of claim 1, which is incorporated herein by reference].
As per claim 7, Someya discloses wherein the control unit generates the optimal collecting location suggestion information including information indicating whether or not a request to the desired location for cooking the ordered menu item has been established in accordance with whether or not an acceptance of cooking of the ordered menu item at the desired location has been obtained [see at least the rejection of claim 1 above. Similar rationale is noticed for the combination of Someya and Yang, as noted for claim 1 above. In light of the preceding examination, claim 7 is hereby rejected on grounds substantially similar to those articulated in the rejection of claim 1. As detailed in the prior rejection, the rationale and basis for rejecting claim 1 are applicable to claim 7. For a comprehensive understanding of the rejection grounds, reference is made to the detailed explanation provided in the rejection of claim 1, which is incorporated herein by reference].
As per claim 8, Someya discloses wherein the control unit performs demand prediction of a menu item in the store on a serving date, on a basis of some or all of pieces of information obtained before the serving date, the pieces of information including: a menu item search history of the user; the warehouse ingredient stock status information; event information; road condition information; weather information; sales information of the store; planned store opening site information of the store; and planned served menu item information of the store [see at least the rejection of claim 1 above. Similar rationale is noticed for the combination of Someya and Yang, as noted for claim 1 above. In light of the preceding examination, claim 8 is hereby rejected on grounds substantially similar to those articulated in the rejection of claim 1. As detailed in the prior rejection, the rationale and basis for rejecting claim 1 are applicable to claim 8. For a comprehensive understanding of the rejection grounds, reference is made to the detailed explanation provided in the rejection of claim 1, which is incorporated herein by reference].
As per claim 9, Someya discloses wherein the control unit generates the estimated consumption amount information on a basis of a result of the demand prediction and the store information [see at least the rejection of claim 1 above. Similar rationale is noticed for the combination of Someya and Yang, as noted for claim 1 above. In light of the preceding examination, claim 9 is hereby rejected on grounds substantially similar to those articulated in the rejection of claim 1. As detailed in the prior rejection, the rationale and basis for rejecting claim 1 are applicable to claim 9. For a comprehensive understanding of the rejection grounds, reference is made to the detailed explanation provided in the rejection of claim 1, which is incorporated herein by reference].
As per claim 10, Someya in view of Yang discloses wherein the recipe data is data for cooking assistance to accurately reproduce a finish of a dish, the data being obtained by recording a cooking process in time series by using a sensor that measures at least one of temperature, weight, or audio [see Yang ¶0161 (e.g., the FPS is equipped with temperature control equipment such as refrigerator, freezer and heater to store food products)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Yang in order to provide consumers buy ready-made meals from food service providers such as restaurants or grocery stores and take them home to eat [Yang: 0002].
10. Claims 13-18, which are parallel to claims 1-12 in terms of scope, limitations, and share similar characteristics, as discussed and examined above. Consequently, they are rejected based on the same logical and underlying reasoning, and justification that apply to claims 1-12. The similarity between these claims necessitates the same grounds for rejection, as explained in detail above [note the discussion of claims 1-12].
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The PTO-1449 forms have been reviewed and considered.
US 2015/0073925, Renfroe: discloses a method comprises providing an electronic menu to a customer, receiving a request for a new item, adding the new item to a plurality of item selections based on receiving the request for the new item from the customer, and providing the electronic menu to a second customer. The electronic menu initially comprises a plurality of item selections. Each item selection comprises one or more ingredients for the item selection and preparation instructions for preparing the item selection. The new item is not in the plurality of item selections when the request is received. The request for the new item comprises a list of one or more new item ingredients and new item preparation instructions for preparing the new item. The electronic menu comprises the plurality of item selections comprising the new item when the electronic menu is provided to the second customer.
US 2015/0227882, Bhatt: discloses a mobile pickup location is provided that may be associated with a vehicle such as a public bus. A user may choose to have items delivered to a mobile pickup location on a public bus which the user takes every day travelling from the office to home, or which stops at a bus stop that is convenient for the user. Also, in regions where carriers for delivering items are rare or prohibitively expensive, a mobile pickup location may be utilized to deliver items, such as to a rural village. The coordinates of a mobile pickup location may be tracked, such as with GPS, and a user may be provided with a notification when a mobile pickup location with an ordered item is approaching, such as with a text message sent to a cell phone.
/Garcia Ade/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/GA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
GARCIA ADE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3687