DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
According to the preliminary amendment filed 06/30/2025, claim 15 has been canceled. Claims 18-21 have been added. Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-14, 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grab (US 20130174035) in view of Cordray et al. (US 20070154163).
Note: all documents that are directly or indirectly incorporated by reference in their entireties in Grab (see for example, paragraphs 0034, 0036, 0039, 0041, 0058, 0067) including 6756997 (hereinafter referred to as Ward), 20020174430 (referred to as E430), US 20100153885 (referred to as Yates), 7761892 (referred to as E892); 8046801 (referred to as E801); or Cordray (see paragraphs 0043, 0063, 0083, 0383) including Ser. No. 09/374,043 (corresponding to US 20030020744 – referred to as E744) are treated as part of the specification of Grab or Cordray respectively (see for example, MPEP 2163.07 b).
Regarding claim 1, Grab discloses an information processing method, comprising:
displaying a playing page for first media content (displaying a playing page/screen/window with user viewing program 552, 602 for current media content - see include, but are not limited to, figures 5A-6, paragraphs 0024, 0034, 0082-0083; Ward: col. 14, line 57-65), and displaying prompt information on the playing page (displaying prompt information with recommendation on the playing page/window/screen – see include, but are not limited to, figures 5A-6, paragraphs 0085-0087), wherein the first media content belongs to a first media content collection (wherein the first media content of user viewing program belongs to a first media content collection of a particular season such as Lost Season or episodes of “Family Guy”– see include, but are not limited to, figures 5A-6, paragraphs 0074, 0083-0084), and the prompt information is used for prompting that a target media content collection having information of the recommended content (the prompt information is used for prompting or alerting a target/related media content collection of particular season/series – see include, but are not limited to, figures 5a-6, paragraphs 0074, 0083-0084); and
in response to a triggering operation for the prompt information, displaying information of the target media content collection having the information of the recommended content (e.g., in response to a triggering operation such as “now”, recommended clip, etc. for the prompt information, displaying information of media content having the information of recommended content – see include, but are not limited to, figures 5A-5B, paragraphs 0077,0080, 0085).
However, Grab does not explicitly disclose prompt information is used for prompting that a target media content collection has an update; and displaying information of target media content collection having the update.
Additionally and/or alternatively, Cordray discloses displaying prompt information on playing page (displaying alert for complete series aggregation or alert for incomplete series aggregation on a playing page/window/screen – see include, but are not limited to, figures 12A-12B, paragraphs 0092, 0117-0118), wherein a first media content belongs to a first media content collection (first media content belongs to a first media content collection of a series – see include, but are not limited to, figures 12A-12B, paragraphs 0117-0118), and the prompt information is used for prompting that a target media content collection has an update (the alert information is used for alerting that a target media content collection/missed episode(s0 of the series aggregation has an update/new episode has been recorded – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2-4, 12A-12B, paragraphs 0063, 0070, 0092, 0117-0118; E744: figure 7, item 159) ; and
in response to a triggering operation for the prompt information, displaying information of the target media content collection having the update (in response to a selection/operation for the alert information, displaying information of series aggregation having the update/newly recorded content – see include, but are not limited to, Cordray: figures 10, 12A-12B, paragraphs 0061, 0117-0118; E744: figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grab with the teachings including prompt information for prompting that a target content collection has an update and displaying the information of the target media content collection having the update as taught by Cordray in order to yield predictable result of alerting user of update thereby improving convenience for user view update content (see for example, Cordray: paragraphs 0002, 0006, 0010).
Regarding claim 2, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the information of the target media content collection having the update comprises:
displaying information respectively corresponding to each collection of at least one collection in a first area in the playing page (displaying information corresponding to each episode of series in grid portion or first area of the playing page/window/screen – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 5A-6, or see Cordray: figures 12A-12B), and playing the first media content in a second area (video window/screen) on the playing page outside the first area (prompt/alert area), wherein the at least one collection is a part or all of the target media content collection having the update (see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 5A-6, or see Cordray: figures 12A-12B).
Regarding claim 3, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the information of the target media content collection having the update comprises:
displaying a favorited collection list on the playing page (displaying favorited list of programs/episodes on the playing page/screen/window – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figure 1, paragraphs 0038, 0054; Cordray: figures 8, 10; E430: figures 5, 11; Yates: figure 1), wherein the favorited collection list comprises information respectively corresponding to each collection of at least one collection (information such as episode identifier, program name, series, etc. corresponding to each program/episode/series), and the at least one collection is a part or all of the target media content collection having the update (at least one episode/program of series aggregation having the update/newly recorded episode – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1, 5A-6; Cordray: figures 8, 12A-12B; Yates: figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the information of the target media content collection having the update comprises:
displaying update information respectively corresponding to each collection of at least one collection, wherein the at least one collection is a part or all of the target media content collection having the update (displaying information of the new or update or newly recorded episodes- see include, but are not limited to, Cordray: figures , 2-4, 12A-12B; E892: figures 18a-18b, 18d).
Regarding claim 5, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein displaying the update information respectively corresponding to each collection of the at least one collection comprises: displaying the update information respectively corresponding to each collection according to an update order of the at least one collection (displaying updates according to an update order based on time, episode number, etc. – see include, but are not limited to, Cordray: figures 8-11; E892: figures 18d, 25a).
Regarding claim 6, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein in response to the target media content collection comprising the first media content collection (target media content collection comprising first media content aggregation of series/episodes), update information of the first media content collection is positioned at a first place of the update information respectively corresponding to each collection (update information of the first media content collection of series/episodes is position at a first place of the update information for each episode in series aggregation- see include, but are not limited to, Cordray: figures 8-11; E892: figures 18d, 25a).
Regarding claim 7, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the update information respectively corresponding to each collection of the at least one collection comprises first update information of a first favorited collection (update information corresponding to each episode of at least one episode of series aggregation comprise first update information of the first favorited/selected episode/series– see include, but are not limited to, Cordray: figures 2-4, 8-12B; E892: figures 18d, 25a); and
the method further comprises: in response to a triggering operation for the first update information, switching the first media content played on the playing page into media content in the first favorited collection of the at least one collection (in response to a selection for the first update information/new episode that is recorded, switching the first media played on the screen/window into media content of recommended, new episode - see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 5A-6; Cordray: figures 8-12B; E892: figures 18a, 18d, 25a).
Regarding claim 10, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein an interaction identifier is further displayed in the first area (icon/identifier of program/episode/series is displayed in the first area for program guide information – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5A-6; Cordray: figures 5-6, 8, 12A-12B; Yates: figures 1, 4, 6);
the interaction identifier is used for triggering displaying of a favorited collection list (an identifier of series, favorites, etc. is used for triggering display of a favorite list of programs/episodes – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5A-6; Cordray: figures 5-6, 8, 12A-12B; Yates: figures 1, 4, 6); and
the method further comprises:
in response to a triggering operation for the interaction identifier, displaying the favorited collection list (in response to selection of the favorites identifier, series aggregation, displaying the list of favorited/selected programs/episodes – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5A-6; Cordray: figures 5-6, 8, 12A-12B; Yates: figures 1, 4, 6).
Regarding claim 11, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 7. Grab in view of Cordray also disclose tracking viewing history including deleting content from the updated or recorded list that have been viewed/watched and recording more episodes/segments of content (see include, but are not limited to, E430: paragraphs 0319, 0351, 0356). Thus, as a result recorded content is deleted after viewed/watched, Grab in view of Cordray discloses in response to that a quantity of pieces of updated media content, which have been played, in the first favorited collection changes, updating the first update information into second update information (e.g., in response to a quantity/number of pieces of recorded media content is viewed/watched in the recorded list changes, updating the first information into second update information by removing information of viewed content).
See also Garcia (US 20220174345 – figures 4-6), Wittke (US 20180063580: figures 3, 8-11); Lu (US 20220078500- figures 3-5).
Regarding claim 12, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein switching the first media content played on the playing page into the media content in the first favorited collection of the at least one collection comprises:
switching the first media content played on the playing page into updated media content in the first favorited collection or the second favorited collection (switching or changing the first media content played on the display into new media content selected by the user from the updated/new list – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 5A-6; Cordray: figures 8-12B; E892: figures 18a, 18d, 25a); or,
switching the first media content played on the playing page into a first piece of
switching the first media content played on the playing page into unplayed media content in the first favorited collection or the second favorited collection (changing the first media content played on the display into unplayed/unwatched or new media content in selected recorded list – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 5A-6; Cordray: figures 8-12B; E892: figures 18a, 18d, 25a).
Regarding claim 13, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 4, further comprising: in response to a close operation triggered in the playing page, canceling the displaying of the update information of each collection (in response to user selection of “delete”, “never”, “cancel”, “No”, etc. in the playing page, closing or canceling of the update/new information of each program/episode – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 5B, 6; Cordray: figures 5, 8, 10, 12A-12B, paragraphs 0058, 0084, 0096, 0108; E892: figures 14e-15b; E430: figures 11, 31-32, 34) .
Regarding claim 14, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the playing page for the first media content comprises: displaying the first media content on a first page (displaying the first media content/program on first page/screen with program guide listing – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5A-6; Yates: figures 1-2, 5-6); and
in response to a first operation for the first page, switching the first page to the playing page, and displaying the first media content on the playing page (in response to selection of a program/episode on first page/screen, switching the first page of program guide to the playing page for playing back the selected program/episode and displaying the selected program on the playing screen/page – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5a-6b; Yates: figures 1-2, 5-6; Cordray: figures 5-6, 12A-12B; Ward: figures 3-5 ; E892: figures 25A-25B, E744: figures 20a-20b).
wherein the first page is used for displaying a first media stream (first page/window is for displaying a first media content- see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5a-6b; Yates: figures 1-2, 5-6; Cordray: figures 5-6, 12A-12B; Ward: figures 3-5 ; E892: figures 25A-25B, E744: figures 20a-20b) ;
the playing page is used for displaying a second media stream (playing page/video window for playing newly selected program/video – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5a-6b; Yates: figures 1-2, 5-6; Cordray: figures 5-6, 12A-12B; Ward: figures 3-5 ; E892: figures 25A-25B, E744: figures 20a-20b);
media content in the second media stream is media content corresponding to a collection (newly selected program is a segment/episode of the series aggregation – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5a-6b; Yates: figures 1-2, 5-6; Cordray: figures 5-6, 12A-12B; Ward: figures 3-5 ; E892: figures 25A-25B, E744: figures 20a-20b); and
media content in the first media stream comprises media content corresponding to a collection and media content corresponding to a non- collection (media content in the first media stream comprises media content of a collection/aggregation series and other content such as advertisement, other content that is not aggregation series – see include, but are not limited to, Grab: figures 1-2, 5a-6b; Yates: figures 1-2, 5-6; Cordray: figures 5-6, 12A-12B; Ward: figures 3-5).
Regarding claim 16, limitations of a device that correspond to the limitations of method of claim 1 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. In particular, Grad in view of Cordray discloses a device, comprising a processor (processing circuitry 306/1906) and a memory (storage 308-1908) – see for example, Grab: figure 3; Cordray: figure 19, wherein the processor is configured to execute instructions stored in the memory to cause the device to:
display a playing page for first media content, and display prompt information on the playing page, wherein the first media content belongs to a first media content collection, and the prompt information is used for prompting that a target media content collection has an update; and
in response to a triggering operation for the prompt information, display information of the target media content collection having the update (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 17, limitations of a non-transitory computer readable medium that correspond to the limitations of the device of claim 16 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 16. In particular, Grab in view of Cordray discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising instructions, wherein the instructions instruct a device to: display a playing page for first media content, and display prompt information on the playing page, wherein the first media content belongs to a first media content collection, and the prompt information is used for prompting that a target media content collection has an update; and in response to a triggering operation for the prompt information, display information of the target media content collection having the update (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 16 above and Grab: figure 3, paragraph 0045, Cordray: figure 19; E892: claims 3, 8, 9; E744: paragraph 0051).
Regarding claims 18-21, the additional limitations of the device that correspond to the additional limitations of the method of claims 2-5 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claims 2-5.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grab (US 20130174035) in view of Cordray et al. (US 20070154163) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Picco et al. (US 20090178089).
Regarding claim 8, Grab in view of Cordray discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising: in response to an operation triggered in the second area on the playing page, switching the first media content played on the playing page to media content in a second favorited collection of the at least one collection (in response to a selection in the second area such as selecting a next program or fast forward/skip in the video playback page/screen, switching or changing video currently playing on the display to second video/episode in the second list – see include, but are not limited to, Cordray: figures 8, 10, 12A-12B; E892: figures 25a-25b; Yates: figures 6-8; E430: figures 33-34, 39-40).
However, Grab in view of Cordray does not explicitly disclose a preset sliding operation.
Picco discloses in response to a preset sliding operation triggered in a second area on playing page, switching a first media content played on the playing page to media content in a second favorited collection of at least one collection (in response to preset sliding operation/selection such as sliding right or sliding down in a second area of playing page/screen, switching a current video clip such as video clip 210-3 of current collection 216-4 (in figure 2) or current segment 410-6 of current collection description 416-3 (in figure 4) to media content in a next collection description 216-5 or 416-4 (see include, but are not limited to, figures 2, 4, paragraphs 0049-0050, 0053, 0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grab in view of Cordray with the teaching of preset sliding operation to switch to media content in second collection as taught by Picco in order to yield predictable result of allowing the viewer to navigate conveniently among all kinds of assets (paragraphs 0012-0013).
See also Lu (US 20220078500 – figure 4) for teaching of in response to preset sliding operation triggered, switching first media content to second media content.
Regarding claim 9, Grab in view of Cordray and Picco discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein in response to the at least one collection comprising the first media content collection (e.g., current segment of collection 216-4 or 416-3 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2, 4; Yates: figures 5-8), the second favorited collection is target media content collection, which is displayed adjacent to the first media content collection, of the at least one collection (next collection 216-5 or 416-4, which is displayed next/adjacent to the current collection 216-3/416-3 – see include, but are not limited to, Picco: figures 2, 4; or see Yates: figures 5-8); or,
in response to the at least one collection not comprising the first media content collection, the second favorited collection is target media content collection with latest update time of the at least one collection (see include, but are not limited to, Picco: figures 2, 4; or see Grab: figures 5a-6; Yates: figures 1-2, 5-8; Cordray: figures 8, 10-12b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tirpak (US 20160192017) discloses systems and methods for collecting episodes of media content series (see figures 2-3).
Wittke (US 20180063580) discloses systems and methods for managing series recordings as a function of storage.
/AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426
June 23, 2026