DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) in view of Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses a video coding (video image encoding/decoding device, Fig. 2, [0056]) method comprising:
receiving data for a block of pixels (prediction blocks are one or more non-overlapping areas that constitute a coding node, a prediction process is conducted on each of these prediction blocks [0096]-[0097]) to be encoded or decoded (video image encoding/decoding device, Fig. 2, [0056]) as a current block of a current picture (a picture PICT being processed [0067]) of a video (video [0064]);
generating a predictor (predicted image for each PU [0132]) for the current block (PU [0132]) using a first prediction mode (inter prediction parameters include a reference image index, an estimated motion vector index, and a motion vector difference [0124]; parameters for reconstructing the prediction mode include a flag mpm_flag related to a most probable mode (hereinafter designated MPM), an index mpm_idx for selecting an MPM, as well as an index rem_idx for designating a prediction mode other than an MPM [0125]);
identifying a [] prediction mode (gradient derivation [0181]) as a representative prediction mode (transform coefficients selected based on gradient derived mode [0181]) of the current block (for each PU [0132], CU [0184]);
and encoding or decoding (video image encoding/decoding device, Fig. 2, [0056]) the current block (prediction blocks are one or more non-overlapping areas that constitute a coding node, a prediction process is conducted on each of these prediction blocks [0096]-[0097]) by using the generated predictor for the current block (inter prediction parameters include a reference image index, an estimated motion vector index, and a motion vector difference [0124]; parameters for reconstructing the prediction mode include a flag mpm_flag related to a most probable mode (hereinafter designated MPM), an index mpm_idx for selecting an MPM, as well as an index rem_idx for designating a prediction mode other than an MPM [0125]) and the representative prediction mode (transform coefficients based on gradient derived mode [0181]).
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) teaches identifying a second prediction mode (improve the accuracy of the estimated prediction mode based on local edge direction [0121]) … of the current block (current CU [0070]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with edge direction refinement because Xiu teaches that it might improve the operation of video encoders and decoders by decreasing, the number of bits required to encode and decode video [0018].
Regarding Claim 2, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein the first prediction mode is not a directional intra-prediction mode (planar, DC [0100], [0101]).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein the predictor for the current block is generated by using a block vector or a motion vector to identify a reference region in the current picture or in a reference picture (inter prediction image generation unit 309 [0075]) and the representative prediction mode is an intra prediction mode used to encode or decode pixel samples within or neighboring the reference region (use a prediction candidate Most Probable Mode (MPM) [0108]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 4, wherein identifying the [] prediction mode comprises searching a plurality of predefined positions (gradients of points Pn[0][0] (n=0, ... , N-1) at N gradient derivation target positions in the gradient derivation target image [0111]) within or neighboring the reference region in a predefined order (gradient derivation target image [0111]) for determining the [] prediction mode (angular mode derivation [0105]).
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) teaches identifying the representative prediction mode (improve the accuracy of the estimated prediction mode based on local edge direction [0121]);
determining the representative prediction mode (improve the accuracy of the estimated prediction mode based on local edge direction [0121]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with edge direction refinement because Xiu teaches that it might improve the operation of video encoders and decoders by decreasing, the number of bits required to encode and decode video [0018].
Regarding Claim 6, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein identifying the [] prediction mode (gradient [0110]) comprises deriving a plurality of histograms (histogram (frequencyHistMode) of the value modeValPn of the angular mode mode Val obtained for each point Pn [0161]) of gradients (gradients of each point Pn [0112]) for a plurality of intra prediction modes (angular mode corresponding to the gradients [0126]), wherein HoG for an intra prediction mode is derived based on a pre-defined set of the predictor for the current block (mode convert processing unit 310467 adds or subtracts mode_delta to or from a reference direction base_mode [region], and thereby derives a second angular mode modeVal [0143]).
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) teaches identifying the representative prediction mode (improve the accuracy of the estimated prediction mode based on local edge direction [0121]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with edge direction refinement because Xiu teaches that it might improve the operation of video encoders and decoders by decreasing, the number of bits required to encode and decode video [0018].
Regarding Claim 7, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein encoding or decoding the current block comprises using a transform mode that is selected based on the [] prediction mode (transform coefficients according to angular mode derived from gradient [0181]) to perform transform or inverse transform (performs a frequency transform [0186]) for residuals of the predictor (prediction error [0186]) for the current block (for each CU [0184]) or transformed coefficients of the residuals for the current block (inverse transform [0187]).
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) teaches based on the representative prediction mode (improve the accuracy of the estimated prediction mode based on local edge direction [0121]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with edge direction refinement because Xiu teaches that it might improve the operation of video encoders and decoders by decreasing, the number of bits required to encode and decode video [0018].
Regarding Claim 8, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 7, wherein the representative prediction mode (gradient derivation [0181]) is used to select a transform set, a transpose flag, or both for non-separable transform (transform coefficients according to angular mode derived from gradient [0181]).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1, further comprising providing the [] prediction mode for use as a most probable mode for encoding or decoding a subsequent block (MPM [0108]).
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) teaches providing the representative prediction mode for use (improve the accuracy of the estimated prediction mode based on local edge direction [0121]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with edge direction refinement because Xiu teaches that it might improve the operation of video encoders and decoders by decreasing, the number of bits required to encode and decode video [0018].
Regarding Claim 10, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein the current block is a luma component block and the [] prediction mode is used to encode or decode a collocated chroma component block (LM prediction [0103]).
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) teaches representative prediction mode is used (improve the accuracy of the estimated prediction mode based on local edge direction [0121]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with edge direction refinement because Xiu teaches that it might improve the operation of video encoders and decoders by decreasing, the number of bits required to encode and decode video [0018].
Regarding Claim 11, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein the predictor for the current block is generated by matrix multiplication of a pre-defined or derived matrix and a set of input samples derived from samples neighboring the current block (Matrix intra prediction [0104]).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1, wherein the current block is a chroma component block and the predictor for the current block is generated by applying a cross-component model to a collocated luma component block (LM prediction [0103]).
Regarding Claim 15, The claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Claim(s) 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) in view of Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) and Kim (US PG Publication 2026/0156252).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1.
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) teaches representative prediction mode is selected (improve the accuracy of the estimated prediction mode based on local edge direction [0121]).
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Kim (US PG Publication 2026/0156252) teaches wherein the [] prediction mode is selected from a plurality of intra prediction modes (block search corresponding to the smallest cost [0255]) based on costs (cost [0255]), wherein the cost of an intra prediction mode is a difference between reconstructed samples (the template of the current block [0255]) and predicted samples of a neighboring region for the current block (template of the reference block [0255]) and the predicted samples of the neighboring region for the current block is generated based on the intra prediction mode (actually used block vector may be the first (or last) vector, and the rest of the block vectors may be sorted and stored in the order of small cost [0255]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with edge direction refinement because Xiu teaches that it might improve the operation of video encoders and decoders by decreasing, the number of bits required to encode and decode video [0018].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with inrta template matching because because Kim teaches that it would improve the quality of the reconstructed picture and to improve the coding efficiency [0061], [0063].
Regarding Claim 13, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1.
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Kim (US PG Publication 2026/0156252) teaches wherein the predictor for the current block is generated based on a reference block that is identified by matching a first template region neighboring the current block with a second template region in the current picture or in a reference picture (sort and store block vectors in order of low cost. The cost may be calculated by using the template of the current block and the template of the reference block [0255]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with inrta template matching because because Kim teaches that it would improve the quality of the reconstructed picture and to improve the coding efficiency [0061], [0063].
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) in view of Xiu (US PG Publication 2019/0166370) and Deng (2024/0121383).
Regarding Claim 14, Yamamoto (US PG Publication 2020/0413091) discloses the video coding method of claim 1.
Yamamoto does not disclose, but Deng (2024/0121383) teaches wherein the predictor for the current block is generated by combining predictions from multiple prediction hypotheses (multiple hypotheses prediction block [0224]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to supplement the prediction mode of Yamamoto with multiple hypothesis prediction because Deng teaches that it advantageously improves coding efficiency, coding performance, and flexibility [0005].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220070451 A1 – DIMD uses HOG
US 20250350753 A1, US 20110274164 A1 – transform based on mode
US 20200366889 A1 – inter mode refinement based on gradient
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485