DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 17 an opening parenthesis is missing before HPOUT. In claim 20, the phrase “a fourth pairs of ports” should be changed to “a fourth pair of ports” to be grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 18-19 are also objected to as they depend on an objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 14-15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6, 14-15, 18 and 19 each disclose “an angled port disposed around a port axis” wherein it is unclear if this angled port corresponds to any of the ports mentioned in the parent claims or if they are totally different ports. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woodthorpe (US 2012/0257991). Regarding Claim 1:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses a pressure exchanger (10) comprising: a rotor (14) configured to receive a first fluid (high pressure fluid received in the rotor via opening 20, henceforth referred to as HPF; see paragraphs [0033]-[0034]), receive a second fluid (low pressure fluid received in the rotor via opening 22, henceforth referred to as LPF; see paragraphs [0033]-[0034]), and exchange pressure between the first fluid and the second fluid (pressure is exchanged from the high pressure fluid to the low pressure fluid in the rotor as explained in paragraph [0034]); a sleeve (12, 40) disposed around the rotor (as seen in Figure 5), wherein the first fluid (HPF) is to enter the rotor radially through the sleeve (high pressure fluid enters the rotor radially via high pressure inlet 32 and opening 20 and into passageway 18 in the rotor, see paragraph [0033]); and a post (central portion of the rotor forms a post with passageways 18 as seen in Figures 5 and 9, henceforth referred to as P) disposed inside the rotor (14).Regarding Claim 2:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses the pressure exchanger (10), the second fluid (LPF) is to enter the rotor radially via the post (LPF is fed into the sleeve 12, 40 via low pressure inlet 36 that feeds the passageway 18 in the post via entry from port 22, as seen in Figure 6 and explained in paragraph [0034]), and wherein the post (P) forms: a first low pressure in (LPIN) port (22 aligns with the low pressure inlet port 36 in certain rotor rotational positions and thereby forms the LPIN port, see paragraph [0034] and Figure 6) and a first low pressure out (LPOUT) port (20 aligns with the low pressure outlet port 34 in certain rotor rotational positions and thereby forms the LPOUT port, see paragraph [0034] and Figure 6); or a first high pressure in (HPIN) port (20 aligns with the high pressure inlet 32 at certain rotor rotational positions and thereby forms the HPIN port, see paragraph [0034] and Figure 6) and a first high pressure out (HPOUT) port (22 aligns with the high pressure outlet port 38 at certain rotor rotational positions and thereby forms the HPOUT port, see paragraph [0034] and Figure 6).Regarding Claim 3:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses the pressure exchanger (10), wherein the sleeve (12, 40) forms: a first LPIN port (36, see paragraph [0034]) and a first LPOUT port (34, see paragraph [0034]); or a first HPIN port (32, see paragraph [0034]) and a first HPOUT port (38, see paragraph [0034]).Regarding Claim 4:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses the pressure exchanger (10), wherein: the post further forms: a second LPIN port (multiple LPIN ports 22 are shown in the post, see Figure 6 wherein any one of these can be the 2nd LPIN port) and a second LPOUT port (multiple LPOUT ports 20 are shown in the post, see Figure 6 wherein any one of these can be the 2nd LPOUT port); or a second HPIN port (multiple HPIN ports 20 are shown in the post, see Figure 6 wherein any one of these can be the 2nd HPIN port) and a second HPOUT port (multiple HPOUT ports 22 are shown in the post, see Figure 6 wherein any one of these can be the 2nd HPOUT port); and the sleeve (12, 40) further forms: a second LPIN port (sleeve element 40 forms a second LPIN port aligned with 36, see Figures 6-7) and a second LPOUT port (sleeve element 40 forms a second LPOUT port aligned with 34, see Figures 6-7); or a second HPIN port (sleeve element 40 forms a second HPIN port aligned with 32, see Figures 6-7) and a second HPOUT port (sleeve element 40 forms a second HPOUT port aligned with 38, see Figures 6-7).Regarding Claim 5:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses the pressure exchanger (10), wherein: the rotor (14) is configured to rotate around a rotation axis (42); the sleeve (12, 42) forms an angled port disposed around a port axis (as seen in Figure 7, the ports in the sleeve are angled such that a port axis can be drawn in an almost tangential direction to the circumferential direction of the cylinder forming the sleeve); and the port axis does not intersect the rotation axis (as explained based on Figure 7, this port axis could be drawn such that it would not intersect with the rotor axis).Regarding Claim 6:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses the pressure exchanger (10), wherein: the rotor is configured to rotate around a rotation axis (42); the post (P) forms an angled port (20 or 22) disposed around a port axis; and the port axis does not intersect the rotation axis (as mentioned in paragraph [0011]: “In other words, the direction of one or more passage openings includes a component of direction which is tangential relative to the rotor such that the central line of the flow path through each of said openings relative to the rotor is spaced apart from (does not intersect and is not parallel to) the axis of rotation of the rotor.”).Regarding Claim 7:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses the pressure exchanger (10), wherein the rotor (14) forms a plurality of ducts (18), wherein at least one of the first fluid (HPF) or the second fluid (LPF) is to radially enter the rotor via the plurality of ducts (via duct openings 20 or 22, see paragraph [0034]), and wherein the plurality of ducts are fluted (see Figure 9).Regarding Claim 8:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses a pressure exchanger (10), a rotor (14) configured to exchange pressure between a first fluid and a second fluid (pressure is exchanged from the high pressure fluid to the low pressure fluid in the rotor as explained in paragraph [0034]), the rotor forming a rotor cavity (18), the rotor comprising: an outer side surface (surface comprising openings 20, 22), wherein the first fluid is to enter the rotor radially via the outer side surface (via openings 20 or 22, see paragraph [0030]).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (CN 107542705, English translation appended). Regarding Claim 16:In Figures 1-5, Zheng discloses a pressure exchanger (100) comprising: a rotor (300) forming a plurality of radial ducts (302, 303), wherein the rotor (300) is configured to receive a first fluid (high pressure saline water enters radial duct 303, see 1st paragraph on page 4 of the translation), receive a second fluid (low pressure seawater enters radial duct 302), and exchange pressure between the first fluid and the second fluid (pressure exchange between the fluids explained in the 1st paragraph on page 4 of the translation); and a post (320) disposed in a rotor cavity (cavity formed by outer circumference of rotor, see Figure 5) formed by the rotor, wherein the first fluid is to radially enter the rotor via a first port (121) of a first pair of ports (113, 123) formed by a sleeve (101, 200) disposed around the rotor (as seen in Figure 2 and explained in the 1st paragraph on page 4 of the translation), and radially exit the rotor via a second port (123) of the first pair of ports (explained in the 1st paragraph on page 4 of the translation).Regarding Claim 17:In Figures 1-5, Zheng discloses the pressure exchanger (100) further comprising a second pair of ports (122, 124), formed by the sleeve (see Figure 2), the second pair of ports (114, 124) comprising: a low pressure in (LPIN 114) port and a high pressure out (HPOUT 124) port (see 1st paragraph on page 4 of the translation); wherein the first pair of ports (113, 123), formed by the sleeve or the post, comprises: an LPIN port (113) and an HPOUT) port (123, see 1st paragraph on page 4 of the translation). Regarding Claim 18:In Figures 1-5, Zheng discloses the pressure exchanger (100) wherein: the rotor (300) is configured to rotate around a rotation axis (axis depicted by a vertical line in bottom portion Figure 3); the sleeve (200) forms an angled port (203) disposed around a port axis (axis drawn parallel to the angled side of 203 in Figure 3); and the port axis does not intersect the rotation axis (as mentioned in the translation: “Referring to FIG. 3 showing the sleeve 200 inlet passage 203 is bent, the bending may be in any angle, aiming to guide fluid impact rotor 300, driving the rotor 300 to rotate.” This indicates that the port is angled and would have a port axis that would not intersect the rotation axis).Regarding Claim 19:In Figures 1-5, Zheng discloses the pressure exchanger (100), wherein: the rotor (200) is configured to rotate around a rotation axis (axis depicted by a vertical line in bottom portion Figure 3); the post (320) forms an angled port (any port depicted as 310 in figure 5) disposed around a port axis (axis extending longitudinally through the middle of 310); and the port axis does not intersect the rotation axis (as seen in Figure 5, any port axis formed in 310 would be parallel to the rotation axis and so would not intersect it).Regarding Claim 20:In Figures 1-5, Zheng discloses the pressure exchanger (100), comprising: a third pair of ports (121, 111), formed by the sleeve, the third pair of ports comprising: an LPIN port (121) and an HPOUT port (111); and a fourth pair of ports (122, 112) formed by the sleeve (200), the fourth pair of ports comprising: an LPIN port (122) and an HPOUT port (112, see page 4, 1st paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woodthorpe (US 2012/0257991) in view of Shampine (US 2019/0278306).Regarding Claim 9:In Figures 1-10 Woodthorpe discloses the pressure exchanger (10), the rotor (14) forming a plurality of fluted ducts (18) configured in a helical trajectory through the rotor, the plurality of fluted ducts (18) spanning the rotor (14) beginning proximate a first distal end (bottom end) of the rotor and ending proximate a second distal end (top end) of the rotor (as seen in Figure 5, 18 begins from proximate to the bottom end and ends proximate to the top end), wherein at least one of the first fluid or the second fluid is to radially enter the rotor (radially enters via 20 or 22) into at least one of the plurality of fluted ducts (see paragraph [0030]), and wherein a plurality of flutes of the plurality of ducts (18) open to a sleeve (12, 40) disposed around the rotor (see paragraphs [0033]-[0034]).Woodthorpe fails to disclose that the plurality of fluted ducts are configured in a helical trajectory through the rotor. However, in Figure 5, Shampine discloses a rotor (201) comprising a plurality of fluted ducts (150) that may extend in a helical manner with respect to the axis of rotation (211) of the rotor such that incoming fluid to the rotor would impart a rotational force to rotate the rotor (see paragraph [0049]). Hence, based on Shampine’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the shape of Woodthorpe’s fluted ducts such that they would be configured in a helical trajectory through the rotor (as taught by Shampine), since doing so would allow for the fluid entering the rotor to impart a rotational force on the rotor (see Shampine’s paragraph [0049]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 recites: a post disposed in the rotor cavity, the post (330, see Figures 3A-3B) forming a post cavity (350), wherein the second fluid is to enter the post cavity axially and exit the post cavity radially to enter the rotor (310) radially, and wherein the rotor further comprises an inner side surface (324) forming the rotor cavity (360), wherein the second fluid is to enter the rotor radially via the inner side surface.
Neither Woodthorpe or Zhang teach a post capable of discharging fluid radially that would enter the rotor cavity through its inner side surface. Modifying these references to incorporate this type of post and rotor structures would involve substantial impermissible hindsight reconstruction.
Claims 14-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-15 depend on claim 10 and so are also allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20110008182 – Pressure exchanger with rotor cavity and post cavity. See appended PTO-892 for more relevant prior art references related to pressure exchangers.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7571. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 12 pm -8 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746