DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in DE on 01/10/2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim:
Claim 15 recites “Parabolic antenna comprising at least one reflector panel according to claim 1, which is associated with a support frame” but there is no drawings showing support frame. It is not clear if the support frame is the circled part in fig. 9 below.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-15: the reference numbers inside the () should be removed in all the claims.
Claim 1: “Reflector panel of a parabolic antenna, comprising” should read “A reflector : ”.
Claims 2-14: the preamble should read “The reflector
Claim 1: “wherein the reflector surface is formed monolithically with that of the rib structure, and a reinforcement structure is fixedly associated with the rib structure” should read “wherein the reflector surface is formed monolithically with that of the rear rib structure, and a reinforcement structure is fixedly associated with the rear rib structure”.
Similar objection would be applied to claims 3-6, 9, 11-12 and 14.
Claim 1: “the reflector surface” should read “the front reflector surface”.
Similar objection would be applied to claims 13, 14.
Claim 12: “the rib structure comprises ribs of different heights, with ribs with which no reinforcing bars are associated having, at least in part, a lower height than ribs with which reinforcing bars are associated” should read “the rib structure comprises ribs of different heights, with ribs with which no reinforcing bars are associated having, at least in part, a lower height than ribs with which the reinforcing bars are associated.”
Claim 15: “Parabolic antenna comprising at least one reflector panel according to claim 1, which is associated with a support frame” should read “The parabolic of the reflector panel according to claim 1, which is associated with a support frame.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 6-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation " the coupling elements are fixed at least at peripheral corner points of the rib structure " in lines 2-3 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The coupling elements are first introduced in claim 2, but not claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 6, 7.
Claim 4 recites the limitation " a coupling element is fixed in the center of the rib structure " in lines 2-3 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " the coupling elements are screwed and/or adhered and/or crimped to the rib structure " in lines 2-3 which renders the claim indefinite. There are so many combinations could happen with the phrases “and/or”, therefore the metes and bounds of the claim subject matter is not clear. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 8 recites the limitation " the reinforcing bars comprise an angled portion on at least one free longitudinal side " in lines 2-3 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The reinforcing bars are first introduced in claim 2, but not claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 9-11.
Claim 10 recites the limitation " the reinforcing bars extend in a star shape from the corner-side coupling elements to the central coupling element " in lines 2-3 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The reinforcing bars are first introduced in claim 2, but not claim 1. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the reflector surface and the rib structure are manufactured by milling from a monolithic aluminum block” which renders the claim indefinite. The claim recited a process which depends on a product claim. According to MPEP 2173.05(p) “a single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011)”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al, CN-216793997-U (hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses the following:
reflector panel of a parabolic antenna, comprising a front reflector surface (Abstract: an antenna panel with gradient rigidity, belonging to the technical field of antenna reflecting surface, wherein the antenna panel comprises skin 1, fig. 1, page 2, last para, i.e. reflector surface) and a rear rib structure (4, fig. 4) connected thereto, wherein the reflector surface is formed monolithically with that of the rib structure (page 5, para 6: the reinforcing rib/rib structure 4 and the skin/reflector surface 1 are integrally formed), and a reinforcement structure (2) is fixedly associated with the rib structure (4, page 5, last para to page 6, para 3 and page 6, para 8-9).
Regarding claim 2, Cao discloses characterized in that the reinforcement structure (2, fig. 1) comprises reinforcing bars which extend between coupling elements (3).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Cao discloses reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the coupling elements (3, fig. 4) are fixed at least at peripheral corner points of the rib structure (4).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Cao discloses reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the coupling elements (3) are screwed and/or adhered and/or crimped to the rib structure (3.2, 3.4, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Cao discloses reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the reinforcing bars (2, fig. 1) comprise an angled portion on at least one free longitudinal side (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Cao discloses reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the reinforcing bars (2.1, 2.2, fig. 4) extend at least circumferentially to the rib structure (4), with associated longitudinal sides of the reinforcing bars being supported on free rib longitudinal sides (fig. 4, page 5, last para to page 6, para 3 and page 6, para 8-9).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Cao discloses reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that that the reinforcing bars (2, fig. 4) are adhered to associated ribs of the rib structure (4, fig. 4, page 5, last para to page 6, para 3 and page 6, para 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Hu et al, CN-218215693-U (hereinafter Hu).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Cao does not disclose reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that a coupling element is fixed in the center of the rib structure.
Hu suggests reflector panel characterized in that a coupling element (5, 401, fig. 6a) is fixed in the center of the rib structure (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a coupling element in the center as suggested in Hu of the rib structure taught in Cao as claimed for the purpose of providing structural stiffness and a fixed reference point in order to distribute the load evenly and improve the stability to the reflector panel.
Regarding claim 5, Cao does not disclose reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that at least one coupling element is arranged between two peripheral corner points of the rib structure.
Hu suggests reflector panel characterized in that at least one coupling element (301, 302, fig. 4c) is arranged between two peripheral corner points of the rib structure (3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one coupling element between two peripheral corner points as suggested in Hu of the rib structure taught in Cao as claimed for the purpose of providing structural stiffness and a fixed reference point in order to evenly distribute the load between the corner points of the rib structure and improve the stability to the reflector panel.
Regarding claim 13, Cao does not disclose reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the reflector surface comprises a concave geometry, but Cao discloses the reflector surface is a curved surface (Abstract).
Hu suggests the reflector surface comprises a concave geometry (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the reflector surface taught in Cao to be a concave geometry as suggested in Hu as claimed for the purpose of focusing incoming radio waves to a single focal point or reflecting signals into a collimated beam in order to improve the gain and beamwidth of the reflector panel.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Cao does not disclose reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the reflector surface and the rib structure are manufactured by milling from a monolithic aluminum block, but Cao discloses the reflector surface and the rib structure are integrally formed, i.e. monolithic (page 5, para 6).
Although Hu does not explicitly disclose reflector panel characterized in that the reflector surface and the rib structure are manufactured by milling from a monolithic aluminum block, Hu discloses the reflector surface and the rib structure are formed by aluminium die-casting process, i.e. monolithic aluminum block (page 4, para 5).
The claimed phrase “the reflector surface and the rib structure are manufactured by milling” is being treated as a product by process limitation. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 USC 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. MPEP 2113.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to manufacture the reflector surface and the rib structure taught in Cao by milling from a monolithic aluminum block as suggested in Hu as claimed for the purpose of simplifying the manufacturing process in order to reduce time and cost (Hu, page 4, para 5).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Sun et al, CN-108365348-A (hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Cao does not disclose reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the coupling elements comprise longitudinal slots for receiving associated reinforcing bars in a directed manner.
Cao discloses there are a plurality of coupling elements (3, fig. 1).
Sun suggests reflector panel characterized in that the coupling element (2, figs. 2, 9) comprise longitudinal slots (2-1) for receiving associated reinforcing bars (4) in a directed manner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the longitudinal slots as suggested in Sun to the coupling elements taught in Cao as claimed for the purpose of providing secure connection between the coupling element and the reinforcement bars in order to improve the stability to the reflector panel.
Although Sun discloses a coupling element comprising longitudinal slots, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply that teaching to the plurality of coupling elements taught in Cao as claimed, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The motivation stems from the need to increase the secure connection between the coupling elements and the reinforcement bars in order to improve the stability to the reflector panel.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Zhou et al, CN-108511920-A (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Cao discloses associated longitudinal sides of the reinforcing bars (2, fig. 4) being supported on free rib longitudinal sides (longitudinal sides of 4, page 5, last para to page 6, para 3 and page 6, para 8-9).
Cao does not disclose reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the reinforcing bars extend in a star shape from the corner-side coupling elements to the central coupling element.
Zhou suggests reflector panel characterized in that the reinforcing bars (8, fig. 2) extend in a star shape from the corner-side coupling elements (5) to the central coupling element (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the reinforcing bars taught in Cao in a star shape as suggested in Zhou as claimed for the purpose of distributing the load evenly in the rib structure in order to improve the stability to the reflector panel.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Gounder, US-4575726-A applied as a teaching reference.
Regarding claim 15, although Cao does not disclose parabolic antenna comprising at least one reflector panel according to claim 1, which is associated with a support frame, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the parabolic antenna needs a support frame to support the weight of the parabolic antenna when it is mounted.
Grounder applied as a teaching reference discloses parabolic antenna (10, fig. 2) comprising at least one reflector panel (12, 14), which is associated with a support frame (18, col. 6, lines 9-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a support frame as taught in Grounder to the antenna taught in Cao as claimed for the purpose of withstanding mechanical loads and environmental forces in order to keep the antenna stable and aligned to maintain the antenna’s operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 12, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “Reflector panel according to claim 1, characterized in that the rib structure comprises ribs of different heights, with ribs with which no reinforcing bars are associated having, at least in part, a lower height than ribs with which reinforcing bars are associated”.
However, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Li et al, CN-107561610-A, fig. 3 would read on claim 1
Fang et al, WO-2017198157-A1, figs. 2a-2d would read on claim 1
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845