DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0051467 A1 (“Zhou”) in view of US 2016/0057420 A1 (“Pang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a method for decoding an image (e.g. see video decoder 400 in Fig. 4 and hybrid coding/decoding in Fig. 2), the method comprising:
generating an inter prediction block of a current block (e.g. see inter-coding predictor 230 generating inter predicted pixel for the pixel block as shown in Fig. 2);
generating an intra prediction block of the current block (e.g. see intra-coding predictor 220 generating intra predicted pixel for the pixel block as shown in Fig. 2); and
generating a final prediction block of the current block by performing weighted summation of the inter prediction block and the intra prediction block (e.g. see final predicted pixel generated by performing weighted summation of the inter predicted pixel and the intra predicted pixel as shown in Fig. 2),
wherein the intra prediction block is generated (e.g. see intra-coding predictor 220 generating intra predicted pixel for the pixel block as shown in Fig. 2 based on intra-coding mode or I coding mode, paragraphs [0004]-[0005]; for example, for I decoding, the prediction unit 475 may utilize decoded pixel block data of a pixel block from the same frame as the input pixel block as the predicted pixel block… the intra-prediction block (for the hybrid coding shown in Fig. 2) may be generated as discussed above for I coding, paragraph [0036]).
Although Zhou discloses wherein the intra prediction block is generated, it is noted Zhou differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose generated based intra block copy, and wherein a block vector used for the intra block copy is determined based on a motion vector that is used to generate the inter prediction block. Pang however, teaches generated based intra block copy (e.g. see at least intra block copy (i.e., intra BC) is a newly developed form of intra prediction, paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029]), and wherein a block vector used for the intra block copy is determined based on a motion vector that is used to generate the inter prediction block (e.g. see at least converting the temporal motion vector predictor from sub-pixel precision to integer precision, the video coder may be able to use the TMVP as a block vector for use in the intra BC, paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Zhou and Pang before him/her, to modify the Hybrid inter/intra prediction in video coding systems of Zhou with the teachings of Pang in order to improve block vector coding for intra BC while increasing coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, although Zhou discloses wherein an inter prediction mode is generated (e.g. see inter-coding predictor 230 generating inter predicted pixel for the pixel block as shown in Fig. 2), it is noted Zhou differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose by performing inter prediction of a merge mode. Pang however, teaches by performing inter prediction of a merge mode (e.g. see merge mode, paragraphs [0075]-[0077]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou in view of Pang further teaches wherein the block vector is derived by adding a vector difference value to the motion vector (Pang: e.g. see motion vector difference, paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029], and see recover a motion vector of the current PU by adding a MVD, paragraphs [0078]-[0079]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou in view of Pang further teaches wherein the vector difference value is obtained from a bitstream (Pang: e.g. see video encoder may also signal a motion vector difference, paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029], [0078]-[0079]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Pang further teaches wherein the block vector is derived (Pang: e.g. see at least converting the temporal motion vector predictor from sub-pixel precision to integer precision, the video coder may be able to use the TMVP as a block vector for use in the intra BC, paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029]) based on a distance between a current picture including the current block and a reference picture that is used to generate the inter prediction block (Pang: e.g. see TMVP from co-located block of the reference picture). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou in view of Pang further teaches wherein a resolution of the block vector (Pang: e.g. see resolution, paragraph [0061], and also see paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029]) is adjusted based on a resolution of the motion vector (Pang: e.g. see at least converting the temporal motion vector predictor from sub-pixel precision to integer precision, the video coder may be able to use the TMVP as a block vector for use in the intra BC, paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou in view of Pang further teaches wherein a resolution of the motion vector (Pang: e.g. see resolution, paragraph [0061], and also see paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029]) is adjusted based on a resolution of the block vector (Pang: e.g. see at least converting the temporal motion vector predictor from sub-pixel precision to integer precision, the video coder may be able to use the TMVP as a block vector for use in the intra BC, paragraphs [0022], [0025]-[0029]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou further discloses wherein the weighted summation is performed by applying an inter prediction weight and an intra prediction weight to the inter prediction block and the intra prediction block, respectively (e.g. see inter weights and intra weights as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 12, 14, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0051467 A1 (“Zhou”) in view of US 2016/0057420 A1 (“Pang”) in further view of US 2022/0408082 A1 (“Bordes”).
Regarding claim 10, although Zhou discloses wherein the inter prediction weight and the intra prediction weight are determined (e.g. see inter weights and intra weights shown in Fig. 2, paragraphs [0026]-[0030]), it is noted Zhou differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose based on a distortion value of the inter prediction block and a distortion value of the intra prediction block. Bordes however, teaches based on a distortion value of the inter prediction block and a distortion value of the intra prediction block (e.g. see weights WA for inter and WB for intra, paragraphs [0101]-[0103], and see optimizing in accordance with a rate/distortion criterion among the prediction modes tested, paragraph [0104]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Zhou, Pang and Bordes before him/her, to incorporate the teachings of Bordes into the Hybrid inter/intra prediction in video coding systems of Zhou as modified by Pang in order to reduce complexity of encoding and decoding process and improve prediction accuracy.
Regarding claim 11, although Zhou discloses wherein the inter prediction weight and the intra prediction weight are determined (e.g. see inter weights and intra weights shown in Fig. 2, paragraphs [0026]-[0030]), it is noted Zhou differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose based on a prediction mode of at least two neighboring blocks of the current block. Bordes however, teaches based on a prediction mode of at least two neighboring blocks of the current block (e.g. see the intra and inter prediction signals are combined using weighted averaging, where the weight values are calculated depending on the coding modes of the top and left neighbor blocks, paragraphs [0101]-[0104]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 10 applies here.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250247557 A1, Ma et al., Methods And Devices For Intra Block Copy And Intra Template Matching
US 20240414327 A1, Paluri et al., CIIP-BASED PREDICTION METHOD AND DEVICE
US 9374578 B1, Mukherjee et al., Video Coding Using Combined Inter And Intra Predictors
US 20070047648 A1, Tourapis et al., Method And Apparatus For Encoding Hybrid Intra-inter Coded Blocks
US 11818383 B2, Chiang et al., Methods And Apparatuses Of Combining Multiple Predictors For Block Prediction In Video Coding Systems
US 20220264142 A1, Hashimoto et al., IMAGE DECODING APPARATUS, IMAGE CODING APPARATUS, AND IMAGE DECODING METHOD
US 20240031557 A1, Ruiz Coll et al., Block Vector Predictor Candidate Selection
US 11895290 B2, Wiegand et al., Composed Prediction And Restricted Merge
US 12526401 B2, Wang, Method For Video Encoding/decoding And Bitstream Transmission
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619