DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application filed July 2, 2025.
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2023/020640 filed on 12/14/23.
Status of Claims
A preliminary amendment was filed on 8/8/2025, where Applicant amended the claims and added new claims 16-20. Claims 1-20 remained as pending examination.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 7/2/25 are acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372:
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1-5,10-14, drawn to a session management function SMF, and corresponding to at least Fig 1 #160.
Group II, claims 6-9,15-20, drawn to a policy control function PCF, and corresponding to at least Fig 1 #180.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: The inventions although related are shown to be distinct, do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants of each other. The inventions lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature.
A telephone call was made to Patent Attorney Changhoi Koo (reg# 72819) on 8/21/2026 to request an oral election to the above mentioned restriction requirement. A provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group II, claims 6-9,15-20. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Claims 1-5,10-14 (Group I) withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9,15-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6:
lines 6-7 recite “… the second network slice identifier is an identifier of a network slice which is replaced by the first network slice identifier”. However, if the second identifier is replaced by the first identifier then the second identifier is no longer part of the session and management operations. It is therefore unclear if the second identifier is still part of the claim operations ;
lines 9-18 recite “second slice identifier”. However, it is unclear what second identifier is referred to since it was replaced. Perhaps Applicant means the first slice identifier? Or perhaps there is a identifier relationship that needs to be claimed. The claims are therefore unclear.
Claim 15 suffers the same deficiency as claim 6 above and are rejected based on the same rationale.
The dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the parent claims and fail to provide a remedy, and are thus rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9,15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (US Publication 20200221541) in view of Ianev et al (US Publication 20230362766).
In reference to claim 6, Yan teaches a method for supporting establishment of a protocol data unit (PDU) session of a network slice by a policy control function (PCF) in a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, from a session management function (SMF), a SM policy creation request message including network slice identifier, wherein the identifier is replaced; (see at least ¶s 230,231, which teach a PCF receiving a policy control creation request including network slice identifier, also see at least ¶s 213-217 which teach a replacement network slice identifier)
transmitting, to a unified data repository (UDR), identification a message requesting policy-related information on the network identifier and policy-related information for the network identifier; (see at least ¶s 233,234, which teach transmitting a query message to a UDR requesting policy information)
receiving, from the UDR, the policy-related information for the network identifier and the policy-related information for the network identifier; (see at least ¶s 236,237, which teach receiving a response from the UDR with the policy information) and
transmitting, to the SMF, a first response message in response to the SM policy creation request message, wherein the first response message includes policy information, based on the policy-related information for the network identifiers (see at least ¶s 238,239, which teach transmitting a policy creation response to the SMF which includes the policy information for the network slice).
Yan fails to explicitly teach the request including a first network slice identifier and a second network slice identifier, and wherein the second network slice identifier is an identifier of a network slice which is replaced by the first network slice identifier. However, Ianev teaches a redirection procedure for a PDU session, and discloses a request message with multiple alternative slice identifiers for replacing an original slice identifier (see Ianev, at least Abstract & at least ¶s 53,54,64-68). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yan based on the teachings of Ianev for the purpose of improving mobility management based on best available network resources.
In reference to claim 7, this is taught by Yan, at least ¶s 240,241, which teach transmitting a request to a BSF related to the network slice, and at least ¶s 275-277, which teach sending a response related to the network slice.
In reference to claim 8, this is taught by Yan, at least ¶s 375-377, which teach requesting another policy related information, and receiving a response.
In reference to claim 9, this is taught by Yan, at least ¶s 273-274, which teach transmitting to the UDR a message related to the UE context related to the network slice.
In reference to claim 16, this is taught by Yan, at least ¶s 275-277, which teach receiving a response from the UDR.
Claims 15,17-20 are slight variations of the rejected claims 6-9,16 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
August 27, 2026