DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Claims 22, 23, 29 – 32, 35, 38 – 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (2020/0171540; hereinafter Han) and Silvano De Sousa et al. (2017/0213955; hereinafter Silvano) in view of Onishi et al. (2015/0139457; hereinafter Onishi; this combination of references hereinafter referred to as HSO).
Regarding claim 22, Han discloses a display panel [0002], comprising:
a base substrate (Figures 8, 9: Comprising 410) having a first surface (Upper surface of 410; facing toward 480) and a second surface (Lower surface of 410; facing away from 480) arranged opposite to each other;
a plurality [0072] of light-emitting units (Comprising 461) on the first surface of the base substrate (Upper surface of 410; facing toward 480); and
a plurality [0070] of sound-generating units (Comprising 462) on the first surface of the base substrate (Upper surface of 410; facing toward 480) and between light-emitting units (Comprising 461); wherein
the sound-generating unit comprises:
a piezoelectric device [0084] on the first surface of the substrate (Upper surface of 410; facing toward 480); and
a back cavity (Comprising 4621) being arranged corresponding to the piezoelectric device (Corresponding to 462).
Han does not explicitly disclose the panel further comprising a upper opening arranged on the first surface of the substrate and surrounding the piezoelectric device; wherein the back cavity arranged on the second surface of the base substrate and recessed toward the first surface.
In the same field of endeavor, Silvano establishes a MEMS device [0007] wherein a upper opening (Figure 1A: Comprising 152) arranged on the first surface of the substrate (Comprising top surface of 110) and surrounding the piezoelectric device (Comprising 120); wherein the back cavity (Comprising 154) arranged on the second surface of the base substrate (Comprising bottom surface of 110) and recessed toward the first surface (Comprising top surface of 110). These are among measures implemented to optimize performance and cost efficiency [0005].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified as further comprising a upper opening arranged on the first surface of the substrate and surrounding the piezoelectric device; wherein the back cavity arranged on the second surface of the base substrate and recessed toward the first surface, in view of the teaching of Silvano, to optimize performance and cost efficiency.
Han in view of Silvano does not explicitly disclose the panel wherein the upper opening is a sound focusing structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Onishi discloses a speaker [0001] wherein the piezoelectric element (Figure 5: Comprising 20) is surrounded by a sound guide wall (Comprising 25). This is among measures implemented to improves the levels of sound pressure [0017].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified wherein the upper opening is a sound focusing structure, in view of the teaching of Onishi, to increase the levels of sound pressure.
Regarding claim 23, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22. Han discloses the panel wherein a depth of the back cavity is less than a thickness of the base substrate and greater than 80% of the thickness of the base substrate (Figure 9: 46 21 not spanning total height of 460).
Regarding claim 29, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22.
Han does not explicitly disclose the panel wherein an angle between a tangent line of an inner wall of the sound focusing structure and the base substrate is greater than 0* and less than or equal to 90*.
In the same field of endeavor, Onishi discloses a speaker [0001] wherein an angle between a tangent line of an inner wall of the sound focusing structure (Figure 5: Comprising 25) and the base substrate (Comprising 10) is greater than 0* and less than or equal to 90* ([0055]: Comprising right angle). This is among measures implemented to improves the levels of sound pressure [0017].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified wherein an angle between a tangent line of an inner wall of the sound focusing structure and the base substrate is greater than 0* and less than or equal to 90*, in view of the teaching of Onishi, to increase the levels of sound pressure.
Regarding claim 30, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 29.
Han does not explicitly disclose the panel wherein a cross-sectional shape of the inner wall of the sound focusing structure along a thickness direction of the base substrate comprises a straight line, a parabola, a polyline or a sawtooth shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Onishi discloses a speaker [0001] wherein a cross-sectional shape of the inner wall of the sound focusing structure (Figure 5: Comprising 25) along a thickness direction of the base substrate comprises a straight line, a parabola, a polyline or a sawtooth shape (Flat box shape [0055] corroborating appearance of straight line.). This is among measures implemented to improves the levels of sound pressure [0017].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified wherein a cross-sectional shape of the inner wall of the sound focusing structure along a thickness direction of the base substrate comprises a straight line, a parabola, a polyline or a sawtooth shape, in view of the teaching of Onishi, to increase the levels of sound pressure.
Regarding claim 31, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22.
Han does not explicitly discloses the panel wherein a thickness of the sound focusing structure is 10 m to 100 m, and a width of the sound focusing structure is 30 m to 100 rm.
In the same field of endeavor, Onishi discloses a speaker [0001] wherein a thickness of the sound focusing structure (Figure 5: Comprising 25) is 10 m to 100 m, and a width of the sound focusing structure is 30 m to 100 rm [0050]. This is among measures implemented to improves the levels of sound pressure [0017].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified wherein a thickness of the sound focusing structure is 10 m to 100 m, and a width of the sound focusing structure is 30 m to 100 rm, in view of the teaching of Onishi, to increase the levels of sound pressure.
Regarding claim 32, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22.
Han does not explicitly disclose the panel wherein a gap is provided between the sound focusing structure and the piezoelectric device, and a width of the gap is greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to half of a width of the piezoelectric device.
In the same field of endeavor, Onishi discloses a speaker [0001] wherein a gap is provided between the sound focusing structure and the piezoelectric device [0036], and a width of the gap is greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to half of a width of the piezoelectric device [0049]. This is among measures implemented to improves the levels of sound pressure [0017].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified wherein a gap is provided between the sound focusing structure and the piezoelectric device, and a width of the gap is greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to half of a width of the piezoelectric device, in view of the teaching of Onishi, to increase the levels of sound pressure.
Regarding claim 35, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22. Han discloses the panel wherein the plurality of light- emitting units comprise: multiple rows and columns of the light-emitting units wherein one column of the light-emitting units at least in two adjacent columns of the light-emitting units is arranged at odd-numbered row positions, and the other column of the light-emitting units in the two adjacent columns of the light-emitting units is arranged at even-numbered row positions; the sound-generating units are arranged at intervals at even-numbered row positions of the one column of the light-emitting units, and/or the sound-generating units are arranged at intervals at odd-numbered row positions of the other column of the light- emitting units (Intersecting grooves – i.e. rows and columns – form a matrix of ultrasonic generation units [0069] which are themselves formed within an array of units, each comprising a pixel unit of the display panel and ultrasonic generators [0072]; ultrasonic generators are thus distributed across/with both odd and even rows of display panel pixel units).
Regarding claim 38, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22. Han discloses the panel wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting units comprises at least one light-emitting element, and the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting diode chip or an organic light-emitting diode [0072].
Regarding claim 39, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22. Han discloses the panel (Figure 9) further comprising: a driving circuit (Comprising 420) between the base substrate (Comprising 410) and the light-emitting unit (Comprising 461); wherein the light-emitting unit (Comprising 461) and the sound-generating unit (Comprising 462) share the driving circuit (Comprising 420).
Regarding claim 40, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22.
Han does not explicitly disclose the panel wherein a material of a piezoelectric layer in the piezoelectric device comprises at least one of lead zirconate titanate, aluminum nitride, zinc oxide, barium titanate, lead titanate, potassium niobate, lithium niobate, lithium tantalate, or lanthanum gallium silicate.
In the same field of endeavor, Silvano establishes a MEMS device [0007] wherein a material of a piezoelectric layer in the piezoelectric device comprises at least one of lead zirconate titanate, aluminum nitride, zinc oxide, barium titanate, lead titanate, potassium niobate, lithium niobate, lithium tantalate, or lanthanum gallium silicate ([0018]: e.g. lead titanate). These are among measures implemented to optimize performance and cost efficiency [0005].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified wherein a material of a piezoelectric layer in the piezoelectric device comprises at least one of lead zirconate titanate, aluminum nitride, zinc oxide, barium titanate, lead titanate, potassium niobate, lithium niobate, lithium tantalate, or lanthanum gallium silicate, in view of the teaching of Silvano, to optimize performance and efficiency.
Han in view of Silvano does not explicitly disclose the panel wherein a thickness of a piezoelectric layer in the piezoelectric device is 1 micron to 10 microns.
In the same field of endeavor, Onishi discloses a speaker [0001] wherein a thickness of a piezoelectric layer in the piezoelectric device is 1 micron to 10 microns ([0049]: 10 microns). This is among measures implemented to improves the levels of sound pressure [0017].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified wherein a thickness of a piezoelectric layer in the piezoelectric device is 1 micron to 10 microns, in view of the teaching of Onishi, to increase the levels of sound pressure.
Regarding claim 41, HSO discloses a display device [0101], comprising the display panel according to claim 22 (See the rejection of claim 22).
ii. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HSO as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (2016/0050472; hereinafter Lee)1.
Regarding claim 24, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 23.
HSO does not explicitly disclose the panel wherein: sizes of back cavities of the plurality of sound-generating units are the same, or sizes of back cavities of some sound-generating units among the plurality of sound-generating units are different.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a sound outputting display [0003] wherein: sizes of back cavities of the plurality of sound-generating units are the same, or sizes of back cavities of some sound-generating units among the plurality of sound-generating units are different [0060]. This is among measures implemented to output sounds from the enclosure accommodating different ranges [0066].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the panel of Han to be modified wherein: sizes of back cavities of the plurality of sound-generating units are the same, or sizes of back cavities of some sound-generating units among the plurality of sound-generating units are different, in view of the teaching of Lee, to output sounds from different ranges.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25 – 28, 33, 34, 36, 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 25, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the panel wherein the base substrate comprises: a first supporting portion corresponding to the back cavity; a second supporting portion surrounding the first supporting portion; and at least two connecting portions arranged at intervals; wherein the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion are connected through the at least two connecting portions, a through via penetrating the base substrate is provided between two adjacent connecting portions, and the first supporting portion, the second supporting portion and the at least two connecting portions are an integrally formed structure.
Thus, claim 25 is objected to.
Claims 26 – 28 depend from and inherit limitations of claim 25.
Thus, claims 26 – 28 are objected to.
Regarding claim 33, HSO discloses the display panel according to claim 22.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the panel wherein the plurality of light- emitting units are arranged on the first surface of the base substrate in an array, and a column of the sound-generating units is provided at least between two adjacent columns of the light-emitting units.
Thus, claim 33 is objected to.
Claims 34, 36, 37 depend from and inherit limitations of claim 33.
Thus, claims 34, 36, 37 are objected to.
Inquiries
/AARON MIDKIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621
1 Cited in Applicant’s 18 December 2025 IDS.