DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Picot et al. (FR 2,955,366).
Regarding claim 1, Picot et al. teaches a fastener assembly, comprising a first washer 1, a second washer 2, a spring 3 disposed between the first washer and the second washer, the spring 3 having a spring constant configured to provide a magnitude of force based upon relative displacement between of the first washer and relative to the second washer (figures 3, 4), a compression limiter at 10, 14 disposed between the first washer and the second washer, the compression limiter 10, 14 configured to limit compression of the spring and the relative displacement between the first washer and the second washer (figures 3, 4), wherein the first washer 1 and the second washer 2 comprise an annular configuration (figure 1), the annular configuration having an inner peripheral circumferential edge at 10 and outer peripheral circumferential edge at 9, and wherein the spring 3 extends a majority of the distance between the inner circumferential edge at 10 and the outer circumferential edge at 9 when measured with the spring being in an uncompressed state (figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, the compression limiter 10, 14 is integrally formed as part of the first washer 1 and projects from the first washer towards the second washer 2 (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, the spring is formed from a polymer or elastomer (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, the compression limiter 10, 14 comprises a continuous annular structure (figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, the compression limiter 10, 14 comprises a plurality of peripherally circumferentially spaced structures 14.
Regarding claim 10, a radial dimension of the spring 3 extends at least 80% of the distance between the inner edge (outer surface of 12) and the outer edge (radially innermost portion of the radially inner surface of 9; figure 3) when measured with the spring being in an uncompressed state.
Regarding claim 11, a radial dimension of the spring 3 extends at least 95% of the distance between the inner edge (outer surface of 12) and the outer edge (radially innermost portion of the radially inner surface of 9; figure 3) when measured with the spring being in an uncompressed state.
Regarding claim 18, the spring 3 is an additively manufactured structure (see Abstract).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Handa (U.S. 2018/0223892).
Regarding claim 12, Handa teaches a washer, comprising an additively formed elastic body 100, the body comprising an annular configuration having flat opposing first and second surfaces spaced from one another (figure 1), the annular configuration having an inner peripheral circumferential edge at 102 and outer peripheral circumferential edge (figure 1), and wherein voids at 104 are formed within the body between the inner edge and the outer edge (figure 2), and wherein the voids within the body enable compression of the body to cause displacement between the first and second surfaces.
Further regarding claim 12, the “additively formed” limitation is a process limitation within the product claim. It has been held that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picot et al. (FR 2,955,366) in view of Robinson (AU 201500330 A4).
Regarding claim 3, Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the force indicator. Robinson teaches that it is known to provide a fastener assembly with a force indicator (see "graduated scale" in figure). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Picot et al. with the force indicator as taught by Robinson, in order to determine what the residual tension is at difference compression dimensions, as disclosed in Robinson (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, the compression limiter 10, 14 is integrally formed as part of the first washer and projects from the first washer towards the second washer (figures 1 and 2). Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the force indicator. Robinson teaches that it is known to provide a fastener assembly with a force indicator (see "graduated scale" in figure). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Picot et al. with the force indicator as taught by Robinson, in order to determine what the residual tension is at difference compression dimensions, as disclosed in Robinson (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, a surface of the compression limiter 10, 14 relative to the indicia on the force indicator (as modified by Robinson above) provides the visual indication of the relative displacement between the first and second washers (figure of Robinson).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picot et al. (FR 2,955,366) in view of Bellows et al. (U.S. 2019/0011002).
Regarding claim 5, Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the spring being formed from a metal material. Bellows et al. teaches that it is known that a metal spring is an alternative to an elastomeric material spring (see figures 8, 10; paragraph [0006]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Picot et al. with the spring being formed from a metal material, as taught by Bellows et al., in order to use a well known spring structure, made of a more durable material.
Claims 8, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picot et al. (FR 2,955,366) in view of Jodeleit et al. (DE 102014221266 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the connection between the first washer, the second washer and the spring. Jodeleit et al. teaches that it is known to provide a connection between the first washer, the second washer and the spring (elements 22 and 52). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Picot et al. with connection between the first washer, the second washer and the spring, as taught by Jodeleit et al., in order to prevent accidental separation of the elements of the assembly.
Regarding claim 14, Picot et al. teaches a fastener assembly (shown in figures 1 and 2), comprising a first washer 1, a second washer 2, a spring 3 disposed between the first washer 1 and the second washer 2, the spring having a spring constant configured to provide a magnitude of force based upon relative displacement between the first washer 1 and relative to the second washer 2 (figures 3 and 4), a compression limiter 10, 14 disposed between the first washer 1 and the second washer 2, the compression limiter 10, 14 configured to limit compression of the spring and the relative displacement between the first washer 1 and the second washer 2 that may be applied by a fastener (“bolt”; page 1 lines 4-12).
Further regarding claim 14, Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the connection between the first washer, the second washer and the spring. Jodeleit et al. teaches that it is known to provide a connection between the first washer, the second washer and the spring (elements 22 and 52). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Picot et al. with connection between the first washer, the second washer and the spring, as taught by Jodeleit et al., in order to prevent accidental separation of the elements of the assembly.
Regarding claim 17, the modified assembly of Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the compression limiter being separately. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified assembly of Picot et al. with the compression limiter being separately, in order to simplify the washer structure and allow the user to replace the compression limiter if it becomes damaged, and since it has been held that it is obvious to make an element separable when considered desirable for any reason. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picot et al. (FR 2,955,366).
Regarding claim 19, Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the compression limiter being separately. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Picot et al. with the compression limiter being separately, in order to simplify the washer structure and allow the user to replace the compression limiter if it becomes damaged, and since it has been held that it is obvious to make an element separable when considered desirable for any reason. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handa (U.S. 2018/0223892) in view of Cousins (GB 2,591,104 A).
Regarding claim 13, Handa teaches a method for forming a washer, comprising an additively forming elastic body 100 (as modified below), the body comprises an annular configuration having flat opposing first and second surfaces spaced from one another (figure 1), the annular configuration having an inner peripheral edge at 102 and outer peripheral edge (figure 1), and forming voids at 104 are formed within the body between the inner edge and the outer edge (figure 2), and wherein the voids within the body enable compression of the body to cause displacement between the first and second surfaces.
Further regarding claim 13, Handa discloses the claimed invention except for the elastic body being additively formed. Cousins teaches that it is known to provide a washer which is additively formed (see Abstract). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly of Handa with the washer being additively formed, as taught by Cousins, in order to inexpensively form the washer using a well known technique.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picot et al. (FR 2,955,366) in view of Jodeleit et al. (DE 102014221266 A1), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Robinson (AU 201500330 A4).
Regarding claim 15, the connection (as modified by Jodeleit et al. above) comprises a frictional engagement between the spring and a surface of the first washer, and between the spring and a surface of the second washer (frictional engagement occurs between radial inner surface of spring and radial outer surface at 10 of first and second washers), and wherein the surface of the first washer comprises a surface of the compression limiter.
Further regarding claim 15, the modified assembly of Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the force indicator. Robinson teaches that it is known to provide a fastener assembly with a force indicator (see "graduated scale" in figure). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified assembly of Picot et al. with the force indicator as taught by Robinson, in order to determine what the residual tension is at difference compression dimensions, as disclosed in Robinson (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, the modified assembly of Picot et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the force indicator. Robinson teaches that it is known to provide a fastener assembly with a force indicator (see "graduated scale" in figure). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified assembly of Picot et al. with the force indicator as taught by Robinson, in order to determine what the residual tension is at difference compression dimensions, as disclosed in Robinson (see Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art is cited for the first and second washer structure.
THIS ACTION IS NON-FINAL.
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736