DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luyckx et al (pub # 20200402423) in view of Burns (U.S. Pat # 7,494,053).
Consider claim 1. Luyckx et al teaches A secure access control reader (9) comprising an entry system (1)-for entering a code comprising a sequence of characters, (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0051, The device includes at least one terminal (2, FIG. 4) comprising at least one touch screen (1, FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B and 4) for displaying information related to at least one transaction or one service, a location for inserting a smart card, a contact and/or contactless smart card reader device, a main circuit board (main circuit) (20, FIG. 4) for controlling the functionalities of said terminal (2) and comprising at least one processor (201) and one memory (202), said memory (202) containing a set of modules and/or algorithms whose execution on the processor (201) implements at least one set of functionalities of said terminal (2) and/or generates at least one interactive interface comprising at least one virtual keyboard (10)).
said-the entry system (1) comprising:
- a tactile keyboard (2) provided with discrete tactile keys (21) assigned to respective characters including at least numbers, (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0056, the digits of the keys are disposed in order (from top to bottom) as “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “7”, “8”, “9” and “0” as illustrated in FIG. 1A. In some embodiments, the digits can be disposed in order (from top to bottom) as “7”, “8”, “9”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “1”, “2”, “3” and “0”.).
each tactile key (21) -comprising a tactile detection surface (24) and the tactile detection surface (24) of at least one of the tactile keys (21) is provided with a locating relief (25), (Fig. 1B and paragraph 0053, the touch screen (1) of said terminal (2) comprises at least one set of embossments that are superimposed on the keys of the virtual keyboard such that the embossments are located around the digits and/or symbols of said keys, said set of embossments including an embossment (11) with a point in the center and located in the center of the first nine keys,).
said relief, the tactile keyboard (2)-being configured to generate key signals (20) in response to tactile contacts exerted by a finger (10) on the tactile detection surfaces of the tactile keys (21),kcys, (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0053, the touch screen (1) of said terminal (2) comprises at least one set of embossments that are superimposed on the keys of the virtual keyboard such that the embossments are located around the digits and/or symbols of said keys, said set of embossments including an embossment (11) with a point in the center and located in the center of the first nine keys, comprising digits, of said virtual keyboard displayed by the touch screen (1) so as to allow a user to locate the central key (100) of the virtual keyboard (10) and the other keys (101, 102, 103, 104) around said central key (100). For example, and in a non-limiting manner, if the digits of the keys of the keyboard are respectively (from top to bottom) “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “7”, “8”, “9” and “0”, so the first nine keys correspond to the set “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “7”, “8”, “9” and the central key is the one with the digit “5”.).
each of the key signals (20) being associated with the tactile key (21) on which the tactile contact is exerted; (Fig. 1B and paragraph 0053, the touch screen (1) of said terminal (2) comprises at least one set of embossments that are superimposed on the keys of the virtual keyboard such that the embossments are located around the digits and/or symbols of said keys, said set of embossments including an embossment (11) with a point in the center and located in the center of the first nine keys, comprising digits, of said virtual keyboard displayed by the touch screen (1) so as to allow a user to locate the central key (100) of the virtual keyboard (10) and the other keys (101, 102, 103, 104) around said central key (100). For example, and in a non-limiting manner, if the digits of the keys of the keyboard are respectively (from top to bottom) “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “7”, “8”, “9” and “0”, so the first nine keys correspond to the set “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “7”, “8”, “9” and the central key is the one with the digit “5”.).
and - a processing unit (3) connected to the tactile keyboard (2) to acquire the key signals (20) -generated by the tactile keyboard (2), keyboard, and configured to analyze said the key signals (20) to select characters according to said-the key signals (20);signals; (paragraph 0051, and comprising at least one processor (201) and one memory (202), said memory (202) containing a set of modules and/or algorithms whose execution on the processor (201) implements at least one set of functionalities of said terminal (2) and/or generates at least one interactive interface comprising at least one virtual keyboard (10),).
wherein the processing unit (3) is configured to operate in two distinct modes which are:
a primary mode (P),mode, suitable for sighted people, in which the processing unit (3) is configured to select each of the characters by operating as follows: acquisition of a key signal (20) -followed by automatic assignment of the character which is assigned to the tactile key (21)associated with said key signal (20),signal, SO that a character is automatically selected by a tactile contact of a finger (10) on the tactile key (21) assigned to said the character; (paragraph 0051, the terminal comprising at least one arrangement for the activation of a low vision mode for partially sighted users, thus the terminal is first operating in a normal or primary mode for sighted people).
and a secondary mode (S)suitable for the visually impaired people (paragraph 0051, the terminal comprising at least one arrangement for the activation of a low vision mode for partially sighted users).
and in which the processing unit (3) is configured to select each of the characters as follows: acquisition of a key signal (20) followed by a verification of an additional validation condition by analysis of the key signals, (paragraph 0052, a positioning module determines the position of the finger on the touch screen (1) and records in a first memory (21) the last position of said finger after said user has removed his finger from said touch screen (1), said last position being defined as a possible choice of the virtual key corresponding to said last memorized position. Paragraph 0053, a detection device (23) comprises at least one arrangement for validating the choice of the user by a double-tap gesture of the finger anywhere on the touch screen (1), the validated choices being registered in one second memory (22)).
and allocation of the character which is assigned to the tactile key (21)associated with said key signal (20) only if the additional validation condition is met, so that a character is selected by a tactile contact of a finger (10) on the tactile key (21)-assigned to said-the character followed by compliance with the associated additional validation condition; (paragraph 0053, a detection device (23) comprises at least one arrangement for validating the choice of the user by a double-tap gesture of the finger anywhere on the touch screen (1), the validated choices being registered in one second memory (22) and sorted in order of recording by means of an algorithm so as to constitute a code/PIN used to validate the transaction and/or trigger a functionality of said terminal (2),).
wherein the secure access control reader (9) is characterized in that it comprises at least one lateral approach sensor shaped to detect an approach action performed by a user in the form of an approach or a contact of a hand (11) of the user on at least one side (23) of the tactile keyboard (2),keyboard, and in response to deliver an approach signal (40; 60), said signal, ,keyboard, and wherein the processing unit (3) is connected to the at least one lateral approach sensor (4;6) and is configured to switch from the primary mode (P)to the secondary mode (S)-upon receipt of the approach signal (40;60)from the at least one lateral approach sensor (4;6).sensor. (Paragraph 0089, the activation of a low vision mode by a double-tap gesture of the finger of said user on the screen of the terminal (2)).
Luyckx et al does not specifically disclose the at least one lateral approach sensor being distinct from the tactile keys (21) of the tactile keyboard (2). However Burns in at least Fig. 16 and col. 24 lines 35-47 discloses “In an exemplary embodiment of the proximity sensors for detecting the presence of a hand or other portion of a user adjacent devices of the ATM, the sensors may be incorporated into the lead-through indicators of the devices. For example, the LEDs of the lead-through indicators may correspond to the previously described light emitters 422. As shown in FIG. 16, one or more light detectors 424 may be located adjacent the light emitters 422 of a lead-through indicator of a device 432 of the ATM. The sensor and/or associated circuitry and/or a processor in the ATM may be responsive to the change in the detected amount of light surpassing a pre-determined threshold to cause the ATM to output an audio output which verbally conveys the name of the device associated with the sensor”, thus an approach sensor that is distinct from the tactile keys. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sensor configuration with the reader of Luyckx et al in order to provide an improved and accurate method of detecting the user’s fingers.
Consider claim 2. Luyckx et al further teaches The secure access control reader (9)-according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit (3)-is configured to be in the primary mode (P)-by default, in the absence of reception of the approach signal (40; 50; from the at least one lateral approach sensor sensor. (paragraph 0051, the terminal comprising at least one arrangement for the activation of a low vision mode for partially sighted users, thus the terminal is first operating in a normal or primary mode for sighted people).
Consider claim 3. Luyckx et al further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to claim + or 2,claim 1, wherein the processing unit (3),unit, when in secondary mode (S),mode, is configured to automatically switch from the secondary mode (S) to the primary mode (P)-once the characters forming the code have been entered, for example after a predefined time delay entered. (paragraph 0061, In some embodiments, the low vision mode for partially sighted users is activated when the terminal (2) is in a PIN entry mode. Paragraph 0081, In some embodiments, the terminal (2) comprises an arrangement for automatically exiting the PIN entry mode when said mode ends.).
Consider claim 4. Luyckx et al further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to any one of the preceding claims,claim 1, wherein the processing unit (3),unit, when in secondary mode (S),mode, is configured to automatically switch from the secondary mode (S) to the primary mode (P) if no key signal (20) is generated by the tactile keyboard (2)-after a predefined period of time. (paragraph 0061, In some embodiments, the low vision mode for partially sighted users is activated when the terminal (2) is in a PIN entry mode. Paragraph 0081, In some embodiments, the terminal (2) comprises an arrangement for automatically exiting the PIN entry mode when said mode ends.).
Consider claim 5. Burns further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to any one of the preceding claims,claim 1, wherein the at least one lateral approach sensor (4; comprises at least one side sensor (4) which is positioned on the at least one side (23) of the tactile keyboard 2).keyboard. (Col. 22 lines 5-10, In an embodiment, an ATM may include sensors adjacent the card reader, cash dispenser, display screen, keypad, receipt printer, depository mechanism, headphone jack, and/or other devices and may be operative to output the particular name of one these devices when a user's hand or other portion of the user moves adjacent thereto.).
Consider claim 6. Burns further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to claim 5, wherein the at least one side sensor (4) is selected from a capacitive sensor, an inductive sensor, a radar sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an accelerometer, a camera and a mechanical sensor. (col. 25 lines 18-31, Although proximity sensors which detect changes in light have been described, it is to be understood that in alternative exemplary embodiments other forms of proximity sensors may be used to detect the hand, finger(s), arm or other portion of the user adjacent a device of the ATM. For example, a sensor that detects sound waves may be used to acoustically detect the presence of a portion of a user. Such a proximity sensor may include a sound emitter that outputs at least one sound wave (e.g. an ultrasonic frequency sound) and/or at least one sound wave with a particular pattern. The proximity sensor may further include a sound detector that is operative to detect changes in the emitted sound wave that are indicative of a portion of a persons body being adjacent the proximity sensor.).
Consider claim 7. Burns further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to claim 5 or 6,claim 5, wherein the at least one side sensor (4)comprises several side sensors arranged on several sides (23) of the tactile keyboard (2) keyboard, or a peripheral sensor extending over several sides (23) of the tactile keyboard 2).keyboard. (Col. 21 lines 64-66, In this described embodiment, the ATM may include a plurality of proximity sensors adjacent a plurality of different devices and/or locations on the ATM.).
Consider claim 8. Burns further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to any one of the preceding claims,claim 1, wherein the at least one lateral approach sensor (4; comprises at least one facade sensor (6) which is positioned on a front face (22) of the tactile keyboard (2) on which the tactile keys (21) are arranged, said-the facade sensor (6)having a detection field for detecting the approach or contact of the user's hand (11)on the at least one side (23) of the tactile keyboard ).keyboard. (Fig. 16 and col. 23 lines 54-60, In this exemplary embodiment, the sensor 420 may comprise a light emitter 422 operative to emit light 426 outwardly from the fascia 19 of the ATM 10. The sensor may also comprise a light detector 424 operative to detect portions of the light 428 emitted from the light source upon being reflected back towards the sensor by the presence of a portion of the user's body 430.).
Consider claim 9. Burns further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to claim 8, wherein the at least one facade sensor (6) is selected from a radar sensor, an ultrasonic sensor and a camera. (Col. 25 lines 24-28, Such a proximity sensor may include a sound emitter that outputs at least one sound wave (e.g. an ultrasonic frequency sound) and/or at least one sound wave with a particular pattern.).
Consider claim 10. Luyckx et al further teaches The secure access control reader (9) -according to any one of claims 1 to 9,claim 1, wherein the processing unit (3) is configured SO that, in the secondary mode (S),mode, following the acquisition of a key signal (20),signal, called the first key signal (20),signal, associated with a tactile key (21)-assigned to a character, the additional validation condition comprises the acquisition of a second key signal (20)associated with the same tactile key (21) after a period without acquisition of a key signal (20)-between the acquisitions of the first key signal (20) and the second key signal (20),signal, SO that a character is selected by a first tactile contact of a finger (10) on the tactile key (21)-assigned to said the character, followed by a removal of said finger (10), the finger, then followed by a second tactile contact of the finger (10) on the same tactile key (21)-assigned to said-the character. (paragraph 0052, a positioning module determines the position of the finger on the touch screen (1) and records in a first memory (21) the last position of said finger after said user has removed his finger from said touch screen (1), said last position being defined as a possible choice of the virtual key corresponding to said last memorized position. Paragraph 0053, a detection device (23) comprises at least one arrangement for validating the choice of the user by a double-tap gesture of the finger anywhere on the touch screen (1), the validated choices being registered in one second memory (22)).
Consider claim 11. Luyckx et al further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to claim 10, wherein the processing unit (3)-is configured so that, in the secondary mode (S),mode, the additional validation condition also comprises a comparison between a maximum time threshold and the period between the acquisitions of the first key signal (20)-and the second key signal (20),signal, so that a character is selected by the first tactile contact of the finger (10) on the tactile key (21)-assigned to said-the character, followed by a removal of said-the finger (10)-then followed by the second tactile contact of the finger (10)on the same tactile key (21)-assigned to said the character, within a time less than the maximum time threshold between the first tactile contact and the second tactile contact. (paragraph 0052, a positioning module determines the position of the finger on the touch screen (1) and records in a first memory (21) the last position of said finger after said user has removed his finger from said touch screen (1), said last position being defined as a possible choice of the virtual key corresponding to said last memorized position. Paragraph 0053, a detection device (23) comprises at least one arrangement for validating the choice of the user by a double-tap gesture of the finger anywhere on the touch screen (1), the validated choices being registered in one second memory (22)).
Consider claim 12. Luyckx et al further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to any one of claims 1 to 9,claim 1, wherein the processing unit (3) is configured such that, in the secondary mode (S),mode, the additional validation condition comprises a minimum contact duration for the key signal (20),signal, such that a character is selected by a tactile contact of a finger (10) on the tactile key (21) assigned to said the character under the condition that this tactile contact lasts at least the minimum contact duration. (paragraph 0052, a positioning module determines the position of the finger on the touch screen (1) and records in a first memory (21) the last position of said finger after said user has removed his finger from said touch screen (1), said last position being defined as a possible choice of the virtual key corresponding to said last memorized position.).
Consider claim 13. Luyckx et al further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to any one of the preceding claims,claim 1, wherein the processing unit (3) is connected to at least one alert transmitter (7; transmitter, which is audible or vibratory, and the processing unit (3)-is configured to drive the at least one alert transmitter (7;8) in order to produce an alert signal, which is audible or vibratory, when said-the processing unit (3) switches from the primary mode (P) to the secondary mode (S).mode. (paragraph 0072, In some embodiments, the terminal (2) comprises at least one alarm (24) connected to the detection device (23), said alarm (24) emitting a beep signal when said detection device (23) validates a choice made by the user.).
Consider claim 14. Luyckx et al further teaches The secure access control reader (9) according to any one of the preceding claims,claim 1, wherein the processing unit (3) is connected to at least one feedback transmitter (7; transmitter, which is audible or vibratory, and the processing unit (3) is configured to, at least in the secondary mode (S),mode, drive the at least one feedback transmitter (7;8) in order to produce an audible or vibratory feedback signal, when the processing unit selects a character. (paragraph 0072, In some embodiments, the terminal (2) comprises at least one alarm (24) connected to the detection device (23), said alarm (24) emitting a beep signal when said detection device (23) validates a choice made by the user.).
Consider claim 15. Luyckx et al further teaches An entry method for entering a code comprising a sequence of characters, (abstract).
said-the entry method being carried out on an entry system (1) of a secure access control reader (9) in accordance with any one of claims 1 to 14,claim 1, (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0051, The device includes at least one terminal (2, FIG. 4) comprising at least one touch screen (1, FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B and 4) for displaying information related to at least one transaction or one service, a location for inserting a smart card, a contact and/or contactless smart card reader device, a main circuit board (main circuit) (20, FIG. 4) for controlling the functionalities of said terminal (2) and comprising at least one processor (201) and one memory (202), said memory (202) containing a set of modules and/or algorithms whose execution on the processor (201) implements at least one set of functionalities of said terminal (2) and/or generates at least one interactive interface comprising at least one virtual keyboard (10)).
and comprising: - generating key signals (20) in response to tactile contacts exerted by a finger (10) on the tactile detection surfaces of the tactile keys (21),keys, each of the key signals (20) being associated with the tactile key (21) on which the tactile contact is exerted; (Fig. 1A and paragraph 0053, the touch screen (1) of said terminal (2) comprises at least one set of embossments that are superimposed on the keys of the virtual keyboard such that the embossments are located around the digits and/or symbols of said keys, said set of embossments including an embossment (11) with a point in the center and located in the center of the first nine keys, comprising digits, of said virtual keyboard displayed by the touch screen (1) so as to allow a user to locate the central key (100) of the virtual keyboard (10) and the other keys (101, 102, 103, 104) around said central key (100). For example, and in a non-limiting manner, if the digits of the keys of the keyboard are respectively (from top to bottom) “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “7”, “8”, “9” and “0”, so the first nine keys correspond to the set “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “7”, “8”, “9” and the central key is the one with the digit “5”.).
- acquiring by the processing unit (3)the key signals (20) -generated by the tactile keyboard (2);keyboard; (Fig. 1B and paragraph 0053, the touch screen (1) of said terminal (2) comprises at least one set of embossments that are superimposed on the keys of the virtual keyboard such that the embossments are located around the digits and/or symbols of said keys, said set of embossments including an embossment (11) with a point in the center and located in the center of the first nine keys, comprising digits, of said virtual keyboard displayed by the touch screen (1) so as to allow a user to locate the central key (100) of the virtual keyboard (10) and the other keys (101, 102, 103, 104) around said central key (100). For example, and in a non-limiting manner, if the digits of the keys of the keyboard are respectively (from top to bottom) “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “7”, “8”, “9” and “0”, so the first nine keys correspond to the set “1”, “2”, “3”, “4”; “5”, “6”, “7”, “8”, “9” and the central key is the one with the digit “5”.).
- analyzing by the processing unit (3) said the key signals (20)-to select characters according to said-the key signals (20);signals; said-the entry method comprising a primary mode (P),mode, suitable for the sighted people, (paragraph 0051, the terminal comprising at least one arrangement for the activation of a low vision mode for partially sighted users, thus the terminal is first operating in a normal or primary mode for sighted people).
in which the processing unit (3)carries out the following steps to select each of the characters: acquisition of a key signal (20)-followed by an automatic allocation of the character which is assigned to the tactile key (21) associated with said-the key signal signal, so that a character is automatically selected by a tactile contact of a finger (10) on the tactile key (21) assigned to said-the character; (paragraph 0052, a positioning module determines the position of the finger on the touch screen (1) and records in a first memory (21) the last position of said finger after said user has removed his finger from said touch screen (1), said last position being defined as a possible choice of the virtual key corresponding to said last memorized position. ).
said-the entry method comprising a secondary mode (S),mode, suitable for the visually impaired people, (paragraph 0051, the terminal comprising at least one arrangement for the activation of a low vision mode for partially sighted users).
in which the processing unit (3) carries out the following steps to select each of the characters: acquisition of a key signal (20)-followed by a verification of an additional validation condition by analysis of the key signals, (paragraph 0052, a positioning module determines the position of the finger on the touch screen (1) and records in a first memory (21) the last position of said finger after said user has removed his finger from said touch screen (1), said last position being defined as a possible choice of the virtual key corresponding to said last memorized position. Paragraph 0053, a detection device (23) comprises at least one arrangement for validating the choice of the user by a double-tap gesture of the finger anywhere on the touch screen (1), the validated choices being registered in one second memory (22)).
and allocation of the character which is assigned to the tactile key (21) associated with said-the key signal (20) only if the additional validation condition is met, so that a character is selected by a tactile contact of a finger (10) on the tactile key (21)assigned to said-the character followed by compliance with the associated additional validation condition; (paragraph 0053, a detection device (23) comprises at least one arrangement for validating the choice of the user by a double-tap gesture of the finger anywhere on the touch screen (1), the validated choices being registered in one second memory (22) and sorted in order of recording by means of an algorithm so as to constitute a code/PIN used to validate the transaction and/or trigger a functionality of said terminal (2),).
said-the entry method comprising a step of switching from the primary mode (P) to the secondary mode (S)-upon receipt of at least one approach signal (40; 60) from the at least one lateral approach sensor configured to detect an approach action performed by a user in the form of an approach or contact of a hand (11) of the user on at least one side (23) of the tactile keyboard (2), said keyboard, (Paragraph 0089, the activation of a low vision mode by a double-tap gesture of the finger of said user on the screen of the terminal (2)).
Luyckx et al does not specifically disclose the at least one lateral approach sensor (4;6) being distinct from the tactile keys (21) of the tactile keyboard (2) ).keyboard. However Burns in at least Fig. 16 and col. 24 lines 35-47 discloses “In an exemplary embodiment of the proximity sensors for detecting the presence of a hand or other portion of a user adjacent devices of the ATM, the sensors may be incorporated into the lead-through indicators of the devices. For example, the LEDs of the lead-through indicators may correspond to the previously described light emitters 422. As shown in FIG. 16, one or more light detectors 424 may be located adjacent the light emitters 422 of a lead-through indicator of a device 432 of the ATM. The sensor and/or associated circuitry and/or a processor in the ATM may be responsive to the change in the detected amount of light surpassing a pre-determined threshold to cause the ATM to output an audio output which verbally conveys the name of the device associated with the sensor”, thus an approach sensor that is distinct from the tactile keys. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sensor configuration with the reader of Luyckx et al in order to provide an improved and accurate method of detecting the user’s fingers.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624