DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 07/03/2025.
Claims 1-7, 15-22, and 24-27 present for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 07/03/2025, 11/20/2025, 12/05/2025, and 03/25/2026 is/are considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 20, 21, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the number" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rejection applies to claims 20, 25, and 27.
Regarding claim 6, claim limitation recites “the first indication label are popped up” in lines 7-8, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear how a label is popped up. Same rejection applies to claims 20, 25, and 27.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the number of labels" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rejection applies to claims 20, 25, and 27.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second composite special purpose label" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rejection applies to claim 21.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the number" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rejection applies to claim 21.
Regarding claim 7, claim limitation recites “the second indication label are popped up unconditionally” in lines 7-8, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear how a label is popped up unconditionally. Same rejection applies to claim 21.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the number of labels" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rejection applies to claim 21.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 15-19, 22, 24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sitaraman et al. (US 10,476,811 B2), hereinafter Sitaraman.
Regarding claim 1, Sitaraman discloses
A packet forwarding method, wherein the method is applied to a first node (network node 202, FIG. 2), and comprises:
acquiring a first packet (Col. 7, lines 5-7: receive, at a network node within a network, a packet from another network node within the network), wherein the first packet comprises a first label stack comprising node labels and a composite special purpose label (Col. 7, lines 32-40: identify, within the packet, a label stack that includes a plurality of labels that collectively represent at least a portion of an Label-Switched Paths (LSP) within the network), and the node labels comprise a first label indicating the first node and a second label indicating a second node (Col. 7, lines 36-43: the label stack may include multiple labels that collectively represent at least a portion of an LSP within the network; the term “label stack,” as used herein, generally refers to any collection of labels that each identify a certain segment or link of an LSP; & Col. 7, lines 51-53: each label in the label stack may identify and/or represent a different link of the LSP being traversed by the packet; & FIG. 5);
in response to determining that a next label of the first label is a first type of composite special purpose label (MPLS), and a node corresponding to a next label of the first type of composite special purpose label is unreachable, forwarding a second packet to the second node (Col. 9, lines 48-50: in the event that network node 206 has failed, network node 202 may identify the packet’s backup path and then forward the packet along the same), wherein the second packet comprises a second label stack, and a stack top label of the second label stack is the second label (Col. , lines : create a context table in connection with the next hop; & Col. , lines : after the top label has been popped from the label stack, identification module 106 may search the context table corresponding to failed network node 206 using the next label in the label stack).
Regarding claim 2, Sitaraman discloses the packet forwarding method as described in claim 1. Sitaraman further discloses
the node corresponding to the next label of the first type of composite special purpose label is a third node, after acquiring the first packet, the method further comprises:
in response to determining that the next label of the first label is the first type of composite special purpose label, and the third node is reachable, forwarding a third packet to the third node, wherein the third packet comprises a third label stack, and a stack top label of the third label stack is a third label indicating the third node (Col. 7, lines 62-66: any packet that arrives at network node 202 and includes the assigned label as the next one to be popped (e.g., the top label in the label stack) may be forwarded to the other network node by way of the specific link unless that other network node has failed; & Col. 10, lines 42-46: identify the next label (e.g., the top label) to be popped from the label stack included in the packet’s header; & Col. 13, lines 17-20: in the event that network node 206 is functional and reachable, network node 202 may simply pop the top label from the label stack of a packet and then forward that packet to network node 206 in the primary path).
Regarding claim 3, Sitaraman discloses the packet forwarding method as described in claim 1. Sitaraman further discloses
the node corresponding to the next label of the first type of composite special purpose label is a main tail node which is a tail node in a main path to forward the first packet, and the second node is a backup tail node which is a tail node in a backup path to forward the first packet; or,
the node corresponding to the next label of the first type of composite special purpose label is an intermediate node in the main path, and the second node is an intermediate node or the tail node in the main path (Col. 13, lines 17-20: in the event that network node 206 is functional and reachable, network node 202 may simply pop the top label from the label stack of a packet and then forward that packet to network node 206 in the primary path; primary path corresponds to main path).
Regarding claim 4, Sitaraman discloses the packet forwarding method as described in claim 1. Sitaraman further discloses
the first node is a main tail node which is a tail node in a main path to forward the first packet (Col. 13, lines 17-20: in the event that network node 206 is functional and reachable, network node 202 may simply pop the top label from the label stack of a packet and then forward that packet to network node 206 in the primary path), the second node is a backup tail node which is a tail node in a backup path to forward the first packet (Col. 13, lines 20-26: in the event that network node 206 has failed or is unreachable, network node 202 may pop the top label and subsequent label from the packet’s label stack; in this example, the subsequent label may correspond to network node 512 and/or reside just under and/or subsequent to the top label in the packet’s label stack);
after acquiring the first packet, the method further comprising:
in response to determining that the next label of the first label is a second type of composite special purpose label, forwarding a fourth packet, wherein the fourth packet is a packet in an inner layer of the first label stack (Col. 13, lines 17-20: in the event that network node 206 is functional and reachable, network node 202 may simply pop the top label from the label stack of a packet and then forward that packet to network node 206 in the primary path).
Regarding claim 5, Sitaraman discloses the packet forwarding method as described in claim 1. Sitaraman further discloses
in response to determining that the first node is a source node (Col. 1, lines 8-10: MultiProtocol Label Switching (MPLS) networks often include various paths that facilitate the flow of traffic from a source device to a destination device), acquiring the first packet comprises:
receiving a fifth packet (Col. 6, lines 11-12: a router may receive a packet);
encapsulating the first label stack in an outer layer of the fifth packet, to obtain the first packet (Col. 6, lines 5-7: labels 122 may be assigned and/or attached to traffic and/or individual packets).
Regarding claims 15 and 22, the limitations of claims 15 and 22 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of claim 16 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 17, 24, and 26, the limitations of claims 17, 24, and 26 are rejected in the analysis of claim 3 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations of claim 18 are rejected in the analysis of claim 4 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations of claim 19 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 20, 21, 25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sitaraman in view of Duan et al. (US 2023/0318966 A1), hereinafter Duan, and further in view of Ra et al. (US 2013/0287027 A1), hereinafter Ra.
Regarding claim 6, Sitaraman discloses the packet forwarding method as described in claim 1. Sitaraman do not explicitly disclose
the first type of composite special purpose label comprises a first extension label and a first indication label, and the first indication label comprises a label value field, a type field, a stack bottom marker bit, and a number field;
a value of the stack bottom marker bit is a second value, which is to indicate that the first indication label is not a stack bottom label of the first label stack.
However, Duan discloses
the first type of composite special purpose label comprises a first extension label and a first indication label, and the first indication label comprises a label value field, a type field, a stack bottom marker bit, and a number field ([0299]: in the new BIER header, next header indicates a next header, Hdr Ext Len indicates an extension header length, an option (OT) field indicates a type (for example, BIER MPLS or BIER ETH) of the BIER packet in the first network, and option length indicates a length of the option field; BIFT-id (bit index forwarding table identifier) identifies a forwarding table, and in a BIER MPLS encapsulation manner, BIFT-id is an MPLS label, TC indicates a traffic type, S indicates a label stack bottom identifier, and TTL (time-to-live) indicates time to live; nibble is a fixed value, and is used to distinguish between BIER encapsulation and an equal cost multi-path (ECMP) function of MPLS, Ver (version) indicates a version number, BSL (bitstring len) indicates a length of a bit string, and entropy indicates entropy and supports ECMP);
a value of the stack bottom marker bit is a second value, which is to indicate that the first indication label is not a stack bottom label of the first label stack ([0299]: S indicates a label stack bottom identifier).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of Duan in Sitaraman because Sitaraman discloses forward packets along LSP to network node by inserting a label stack consisting of labels in the packets’ headers (Col. 9, lines 37-42) and Duan further suggests MPLS label includes traffic type, label stack bottom identifier, and TTL fields ([0299]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Duan in the Sitaraman system in order to forward packets using a quick lookup.
Sitaraman and Duan do not explicitly disclose
a value of the type field is a first value, which is to indicate that in response to determining that a node corresponding to a node label after the first indication label in the first label stack is unreachable, labels the number of which is indicated by the number field after the first indication label are popped up;
the number field is to indicate the number of labels to be popped up.
However, Ra discloses
a value of the type field is a first value, which is to indicate that in response to determining that a node corresponding to a node label after the first indication label in the first label stack is unreachable, labels the number of which is indicated by the number field after the first indication label are popped up ([0086]: the MPOP header 620 consists of a copy number field, an original source port field, an original L2 header size field, an added L2 header and MPLS label size field, a more pop control signal field, and a pop label number field);
the number field is to indicate the number of labels to be popped up ([0086]: the MPOP header 620 consists of a copy number field, an original source port field, an original L2 header size field, an added L2 header and MPLS label size field, a more pop control signal field, and a pop label number field).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of Ra in Sitaraman and Duan because Sitaraman and Duan disclose forward packets along LSP to network node by inserting a label stack consisting of labels in the packets’ headers (Sitaraman: Col. 9, lines 37-42) and Ra further suggests header includes pop label number field ([0086]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ra in the Sitaraman and Duan system in order to save processing time and resources.
Regarding claim 7, Sitaraman discloses the packet forwarding method as described in claim 4. Sitaraman do not explicitly disclose
the second composite special purpose label comprises a second extension label and a second indication label, and the second indication label comprises a label value field, a type field, a stack bottom marker bit, and a number field;
a value of the stack bottom marker bit is a second value, which is to indicate that the second indication label is not a stack bottom label of the first label stack.
However, Duan discloses
the second composite special purpose label comprises a second extension label and a second indication label, and the second indication label comprises a label value field, a type field, a stack bottom marker bit, and a number field ([0299]: in the new BIER header, next header indicates a next header, Hdr Ext Len indicates an extension header length, an option (OT) field indicates a type (for example, BIER MPLS or BIER ETH) of the BIER packet in the first network, and option length indicates a length of the option field; BIFT-id (bit index forwarding table identifier) identifies a forwarding table, and in a BIER MPLS encapsulation manner, BIFT-id is an MPLS label, TC indicates a traffic type, S indicates a label stack bottom identifier, and TTL (time-to-live) indicates time to live; nibble is a fixed value, and is used to distinguish between BIER encapsulation and an equal cost multi-path (ECMP) function of MPLS, Ver (version) indicates a version number, BSL (bitstring len) indicates a length of a bit string, and entropy indicates entropy and supports ECMP);
a value of the stack bottom marker bit is a second value, which is to indicate that the first indication label is not a stack bottom label of the first label stack ([0299]: S indicates a label stack bottom identifier).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of Duan in Sitaraman because Sitaraman discloses forward packets along LSP to network node by inserting a label stack consisting of labels in the packets’ headers (Col. 9, lines 37-42) and Duan further suggests MPLS label includes traffic type, label stack bottom identifier, and TTL fields ([0299]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Duan in the Sitaraman system in order to forward packets using a quick lookup.
Sitaraman and Duan do not explicitly disclose
a value of the type field is a second value, which is to indicate that labels the number of which is indicated by the number field after the second indication label are popped up unconditionally;
the number field is to indicate the number of labels to be popped up.
However, Ra discloses
a value of the type field is a second value, which is to indicate that labels the number of which is indicated by the number field after the second indication label are popped up unconditionally ([0086]: the MPOP header 620 consists of a copy number field, an original source port field, an original L2 header size field, an added L2 header and MPLS label size field, a more pop control signal field, and a pop label number field);
the number field is to indicate the number of labels to be popped up ([0086]: the MPOP header 620 consists of a copy number field, an original source port field, an original L2 header size field, an added L2 header and MPLS label size field, a more pop control signal field, and a pop label number field).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of Ra in Sitaraman and Duan because Sitaraman and Duan disclose forward packets along LSP to network node by inserting a label stack consisting of labels in the packets’ headers (Sitaraman: Col. 9, lines 37-42) and Ra further suggests header includes pop label number field ([0086]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ra in the Sitaraman and Duan system in order to save processing time and resources.
Regarding claims 20, 25, and 27, the limitations of claims 20, 25, and 27 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 21, the limitations of claim 21 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7 above and this claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song et al. (US 2021/0135986 A1). Receiving a packet and modifying the packet by adding one or more MPLS extension headers, adding a header of the extension header(s), and adding an indication within an MPLS label stack that one or more MPLS extension headers have been added to the packet.
Kim et al. (US 2005/0169264 A1). Table includes a label field of the packet, the number of pop of the label and a traffic parameter ([0047]).
Song et al. (US 2020/0358698 A1). The label value field of MPLS label stack entry is used to forward the MPLS traffic unit in the data plane towards the destination on a hop-by-hop basis, except when penultimate-hop-popping (PHP) is used, which case the forwarding header is removed completely on the last hop ([0087]).
Kaylee Huang
08/28/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447