DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 07/03/2025 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 13, 28, 29, and 30 are directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Do claims 13, 28, 29, and 30 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claims are directed toward a method including at least one step, an apparatus, an apparatus, and a method including at least one step.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claim 13. A method for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the method comprising:
determining first positions on the route with respect to the first map data;
allocating a lane on which the vehicle is driving at each of the first positions;
providing the first positions with corresponding allocated lanes;
and determining second positions with respect to the first positions and the corresponding allocated lanes.
The method in claim 13, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of determining first positions, allocating a lane, providing the first positions, and determining second positions. This is equivalent to a person mentally reviewing map information, identifying first positions, allocating a lane to each first position, associating each first position with its allocated lane, and determining corresponding second positions.
Claim 28. An apparatus for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the apparatus comprising:
a first map store for the first map data;
a second map store for the second map data;
and a processing device, which is configured to:
determine first positions on the route with respect to the first map data;
allocate a lane on which the vehicle is driving at each of the first positions;
provide the first positions with corresponding allocated lanes;
and determine second positions with respect to the first positions and the corresponding allocated lanes.
The method in claim 28, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of determining first positions, allocating a lane, providing the first positions, and determining second positions. This is equivalent to a person mentally reviewing map information, identifying first positions, allocating a lane to each first position, associating each first position with its allocated lane, and determining corresponding second positions.
Claim 29. A vehicle, comprising an apparatus as claimed in claim 28.
The vehicle in claim 29, specifically the limitations emphasized above, incorporates the apparatus of claim 28, which recites the same mental process discussed above. Specifically, the incorporated apparatus is configured to determine first positions, allocate a lane to each first position, provide the first positions with corresponding allocated lanes, and determine second positions. These operations can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, recite an abstract idea.
Claim 30. A method comprising:
providing first map data used by a first vehicle system relating to a route of the vehicle;
determining first positions on the route with respect to the first map data;
allocating a lane on which the vehicle is driving at each of the first positions;
providing the first positions with corresponding allocated lanes;
determining second positions in the second map data with respect to the first positions and the corresponding allocated lanes;
and using the second map data in a second vehicle system.
The method in claim 30, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of providing first map data, determining first positions, allocating a lane, providing the first positions, determining second positions, and using the second map information. This is equivalent to a person mentally providing first map information relating to a route, identifying first positions, allocating a lane to each first position, associating each first position with its allocated lane, and determining corresponding second positions.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
In the present case, claims 28 and 29 include additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract ideas, as identified below (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the abstract “idea”). Claims 13 and 30 do not recite additional limitations beyond the identified abstract ideas.
Claim 28. An apparatus for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the apparatus comprising:
a first map store for the first map data;
a second map store for the second map data;
and a processing device, which is configured to:
determine first positions on the route with respect to the first map data;
allocate a lane on which the vehicle is driving at each of the first positions;
provide the first positions with corresponding allocated lanes;
and determine second positions with respect to the first positions and the corresponding allocated lanes.
Claim 28 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The limitations “An apparatus for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the apparatus comprising: a first map store for the first map data; a second map store for the second map data; and a processing device, which is configured to” are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The apparatus for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the apparatus comprising: a first map store for the first map data; a second map store for the second map data; and a processing device merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The apparatus for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the apparatus comprising: a first map store for the first map data; a second map store for the second map data; and a processing device are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the determining, allocating, and providing steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 29. A vehicle, comprising an apparatus as claimed in claim 28.
Claim 29 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The limitation “A vehicle, comprising” is claimed generically and is operating in its ordinary capacity such that it does not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The vehicle merely describes how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The vehicle is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the determining, allocating, and providing steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, independent claims 13 and 30 do not include additional elements and, therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons discussed above with respect to determining that the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitation(s) of “An apparatus for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the apparatus comprising: a first map store for the first map data; a second map store for the second map data; and a processing device, which is configured to” and “A vehicle comprising” is/are merely means to apply the exception and do not amount to “significantly more”, as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Thus, since claims 13, 28, 29, and 30 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 13, 28, 29, and 30 are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 14-27, 31, and 32 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more, such as the limitations in claim 2 that amount to insignificant extra solution activity using a similar analysis applied to claim 1 above.
As such, claims 13-32 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-18, 20, 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHIKAMORI (US 20220221290 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, CHIKAMORI teaches A method for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the method comprising: determining first positions on the route with respect to the first map data (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16)” and paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N.”); allocating a lane on which the vehicle is driving at each of the first positions (See at least paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N” and paragraph [0086], “The high-precision map includes information (hereinafter referred to as “the lane data”) on the lanes on each road. In the high-precision map, the lanes are expressed as nodes (hereinafter referred to as “the lane nodes C”: see black circles in FIG. 2B) arranged at prescribed intervals and links (hereinafter referred to as “the lane links D”) connecting the lane nodes C. Each lane node C indicates a position, and is defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. Each lane link D connects two adjacent lane nodes C. The intervals at which the lane nodes C are arranged may be substantially the same as the intervals at which the delimiting line nodes A are arranged. The lane nodes C are arranged between the delimiting line nodes A defining a left side edge of the lane and the delimiting line nodes A defining a right side edge thereof (more specifically, arranged substantially in the center of these delimiting line nodes A). That is, each delimiting line indicates one lateral side edge of the lane expressed as the lane nodes C and the lane links D. The lane data includes information on the positions (latitude, longitude, and altitude) of the lane nodes C, information on the lane nodes C connected by the lane links D, and the like.” The system allocates a lane at each first position by expressing the route as route nodes and expressing the corresponding high-precision map as lane nodes representing positions within lanes.); providing the first positions with corresponding allocated lanes (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16).”); and determining second positions with respect to the first positions and the corresponding allocated lanes (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16)” and paragraph [0120], “In the first step ST1 of the linking process, the map linking unit 54 of the map position identifying unit 32 acquires the positions (latitude, longitude, and altitude) of all the navigation map nodes N included in the route R determined by the navigation device 11. After that, the map linking unit 54 extracts the cuboid areas P one by one from the intermediate data stored in the map storage unit 52, determines whether the navigation map nodes N are contained in the extracted cuboid areas P, and extracts the cuboid areas P containing the navigation map nodes N as reference cuboid areas Pc. The map linking unit 54 determines whether the navigation map nodes N are contained in the cuboid areas P (that is, whether the navigation map nodes N are arranged inside the cuboid areas P) with respect to not only latitude and longitude but also altitude. Upon completing the extraction of the reference cuboid areas Pc with respect to all the navigation map nodes N included in the route R, the map linking unit 54 executes step ST2.”).
Regarding Claim 14, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 13, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI teaches wherein each lane is related to a road comprising the lane (See at least paragraph [0014], “In the above aspect, preferably, the first map includes image data (G) showing a plan view of a road, and in the step of extracting the lane nodes, acquiring road areas (J) based on the image data and the route nodes such that the road areas contain the route nodes and match not only a shape of the road through which the first route passes but also the altitude of the route nodes in the plan view, and extracting the lane nodes that match the road areas.”).
Regarding Claim 15, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 13, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI teaches wherein the route comprises a reference position at which a corresponding first position is known with respect to the first map data and a corresponding second position is known with respect to the second map data (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16).”).
Regarding Claim 16, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 15, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI teaches wherein the reference position comprises a current position of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0098], “When the vehicle is given an instruction to start traveling autonomously, the action plan unit 41 creates a global action plan (for example, a lane change, merging, branching, or the like) based on the route S extracted by the map linking unit 54. After that, when the vehicle starts traveling autonomously, the action plan unit 41 creates a more detailed action plan (for example, an action plan for avoiding danger or the like) based on the global action plan, the own vehicle position identified by the own vehicle position identifying unit 53, the object recognized by the external environment recognizing unit 30, the high-precision map stored in the map storage unit 52, or the like. The travel control unit 42 controls the travel of the vehicle based on the created detailed action plan.”).
Regarding Claim 17, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 16, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI teaches wherein the first positions are included in a polyline generated by a processing circuit of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N.”).
With respect to claim 18, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 17, which is commensurate in scope to claim 18.
Regarding Claim 20, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 13, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI teaches wherein a sequence of predetermined first positions comprises a change of the lane on which the vehicle is driving (See at least paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N” and paragraph [0098], “When the vehicle is given an instruction to start traveling autonomously, the action plan unit 41 creates a global action plan (for example, a lane change, merging, branching, or the like) based on the route S extracted by the map linking unit 54. After that, when the vehicle starts traveling autonomously, the action plan unit 41 creates a more detailed action plan (for example, an action plan for avoiding danger or the like) based on the global action plan, the own vehicle position identified by the own vehicle position identifying unit 53, the object recognized by the external environment recognizing unit 30, the high-precision map stored in the map storage unit 52, or the like. The travel control unit 42 controls the travel of the vehicle based on the created detailed action plan.”).
Regarding Claim 28, CHIKAMORI teaches An apparatus for referencing a route, based on first map data, of a vehicle to second map data, the apparatus comprising: a first map store for the first map data (See at least paragraph [0048], “The route data conversion method is used in a map information system 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the map information system 1 includes a vehicle system 2 mounted on a vehicle (see “V” in FIG. 1), and a map server 3 connected to the vehicle system 2 via a network. Hereinafter, the configuration and operation of the vehicle system 2 and the map server 3 will be described, and then the linking method of the map data will be described” and paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N.”); a second map store for the second map data (See at least paragraph [0088], “The high-precision map includes a database (hereinafter referred to as “the high-precision map DB”) in which information on the delimiting lines, the lanes, and the like are stored. The high-precision map DB includes, for example, a lane node table in which information on the lane nodes C is stored. The lane node table stores IDs (hereinafter referred to as “the lane node IDs”) of the lane nodes C and the positions of the corresponding lane nodes C, that is, latitude, longitude, and altitude of the corresponding lane nodes C. The high-precision map DB includes a lane link table that stores information on the lane links D. The lane link table stores IDs (hereinafter referred to as “the lane link IDs”) of the lane links D and information (for example, two lane node IDs) on two lane nodes C connected by the corresponding lane link D such that the lane link IDs and the information thereon are associated with each other.”); and a processing device, which is configured to: determine first positions on the route with respect to the first map data (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16)”, paragraph [0020], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a route data conversion program for acquiring a second route on a second map that matches a first route on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links (M) connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, wherein the route data conversion program, when executed by a processor (32), executes a route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes (step ST3 and step ST16)”, and paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N.”); allocate a lane on which the vehicle is driving at each of the first positions (See at least paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N” and paragraph [0086], “The high-precision map includes information (hereinafter referred to as “the lane data”) on the lanes on each road. In the high-precision map, the lanes are expressed as nodes (hereinafter referred to as “the lane nodes C”: see black circles in FIG. 2B) arranged at prescribed intervals and links (hereinafter referred to as “the lane links D”) connecting the lane nodes C. Each lane node C indicates a position, and is defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. Each lane link D connects two adjacent lane nodes C. The intervals at which the lane nodes C are arranged may be substantially the same as the intervals at which the delimiting line nodes A are arranged. The lane nodes C are arranged between the delimiting line nodes A defining a left side edge of the lane and the delimiting line nodes A defining a right side edge thereof (more specifically, arranged substantially in the center of these delimiting line nodes A). That is, each delimiting line indicates one lateral side edge of the lane expressed as the lane nodes C and the lane links D. The lane data includes information on the positions (latitude, longitude, and altitude) of the lane nodes C, information on the lane nodes C connected by the lane links D, and the like.” The system allocates a lane at each first position by expressing the route as route nodes and expressing the corresponding high-precision map as lane nodes representing positions within lanes.); provide the first positions with corresponding allocated lanes (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16).”); and determine second positions with respect to the first positions and the corresponding allocated lanes (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16)” and paragraph [0120], “In the first step ST1 of the linking process, the map linking unit 54 of the map position identifying unit 32 acquires the positions (latitude, longitude, and altitude) of all the navigation map nodes N included in the route R determined by the navigation device 11. After that, the map linking unit 54 extracts the cuboid areas P one by one from the intermediate data stored in the map storage unit 52, determines whether the navigation map nodes N are contained in the extracted cuboid areas P, and extracts the cuboid areas P containing the navigation map nodes N as reference cuboid areas Pc. The map linking unit 54 determines whether the navigation map nodes N are contained in the cuboid areas P (that is, whether the navigation map nodes N are arranged inside the cuboid areas P) with respect to not only latitude and longitude but also altitude. Upon completing the extraction of the reference cuboid areas Pc with respect to all the navigation map nodes N included in the route R, the map linking unit 54 executes step ST2.”).
Regarding Claim 29, CHIKAMORI teaches A vehicle, comprising an apparatus as claimed in claim 28 (See at least paragraph [0048], “The route data conversion method is used in a map information system 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the map information system 1 includes a vehicle system 2 mounted on a vehicle (see “V” in FIG. 1), and a map server 3 connected to the vehicle system 2 via a network. Hereinafter, the configuration and operation of the vehicle system 2 and the map server 3 will be described, and then the linking method of the map data will be described.”): See rejection of claim 28 above.
Regarding Claim 30, CHIKAMORI teaches A method comprising: providing first map data used by a first vehicle system relating to a route of the vehicle (See at least paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N.”); determining first positions on the route with respect to the first map data (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16)” and paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N.”); allocating a lane on which the vehicle is driving at each of the first positions (See at least paragraph [0065], “The navigation device 11 is configured to acquire an appropriate route R (for example, a route with the shortest distance: first route) from the current position of the vehicle to the destination based on the distance between the navigation map nodes N stored in the navigation map link table of the navigation map DB. The navigation device 11 is configured to output information indicating the route R to the controller 16. The route R output to the controller 16 is expressed as a plurality of navigation map nodes N (route nodes) and a plurality of navigation map links M (route links). The navigation map nodes N are defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. The navigation map links M connect the navigation map nodes N” and paragraph [0086], “The high-precision map includes information (hereinafter referred to as “the lane data”) on the lanes on each road. In the high-precision map, the lanes are expressed as nodes (hereinafter referred to as “the lane nodes C”: see black circles in FIG. 2B) arranged at prescribed intervals and links (hereinafter referred to as “the lane links D”) connecting the lane nodes C. Each lane node C indicates a position, and is defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude. Each lane link D connects two adjacent lane nodes C. The intervals at which the lane nodes C are arranged may be substantially the same as the intervals at which the delimiting line nodes A are arranged. The lane nodes C are arranged between the delimiting line nodes A defining a left side edge of the lane and the delimiting line nodes A defining a right side edge thereof (more specifically, arranged substantially in the center of these delimiting line nodes A). That is, each delimiting line indicates one lateral side edge of the lane expressed as the lane nodes C and the lane links D. The lane data includes information on the positions (latitude, longitude, and altitude) of the lane nodes C, information on the lane nodes C connected by the lane links D, and the like.” The system allocates a lane at each first position by expressing the route as route nodes and expressing the corresponding high-precision map as lane nodes representing positions within lanes.); providing the first positions with corresponding allocated lanes (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16).”); determining second positions in the second map data with respect to the first positions and the corresponding allocated lanes (See at least paragraph [0006], “To achieve such an object, one aspect of the present invention provides a route data conversion method for acquiring a second route (S) on a second map that matches a first route (R) on a first map, the first route being expressed as route nodes (N) and route links (M), the route nodes being defined by latitude, longitude, and altitude, the route links connecting the route nodes, the second map including a lane expressed as lane nodes (C) and lane links (D), the lane nodes being defined by the latitude, longitude, and altitude, the lane links connecting the lane nodes, the route data conversion method comprising: extracting the lane nodes whose latitude, longitude, and altitude match the latitude, longitude, and altitude of the route nodes respectively (step ST1 and step ST15); and acquiring the second route by connecting the extracted lane nodes by the lane links (step ST3 and step ST16)” and paragraph [0120], “In the first step ST1 of the linking process, the map linking unit 54 of the map position identifying unit 32 acquires the positions (latitude, longitude, and altitude) of all the navigation map nodes N included in the route R determined by the navigation device 11. After that, the map linking unit 54 extracts the cuboid areas P one by one from the intermediate data stored in the map storage unit 52, determines whether the navigation map nodes N are contained in the extracted cuboid areas P, and extracts the cuboid areas P containing the navigation map nodes N as reference cuboid areas Pc. The map linking unit 54 determines whether the navigation map nodes N are contained in the cuboid areas P (that is, whether the navigation map nodes N are arranged inside the cuboid areas P) with respect to not only latitude and longitude but also altitude. Upon completing the extraction of the reference cuboid areas Pc with respect to all the navigation map nodes N included in the route R, the map linking unit 54 executes step ST2.”); and using the second map data in a second vehicle system (See at least paragraph [0098], “When the vehicle is given an instruction to start traveling autonomously, the action plan unit 41 creates a global action plan (for example, a lane change, merging, branching, or the like) based on the route S extracted by the map linking unit 54. After that, when the vehicle starts traveling autonomously, the action plan unit 41 creates a more detailed action plan (for example, an action plan for avoiding danger or the like) based on the global action plan, the own vehicle position identified by the own vehicle position identifying unit 53, the object recognized by the external environment recognizing unit 30, the high-precision map stored in the map storage unit 52, or the like. The travel control unit 42 controls the travel of the vehicle based on the created detailed action plan.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIKAMORI (US 20220221290 A1) in view of Schack (US 20190266419 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 18, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI does not explicitly disclose, however, Schack, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising allocating an indication of an undefined lane for a selected first position) if, according to the first map data, lanes are not defined in a region of the selected first position (See at least paragraph [0081], “A unique traffic lane index within the traffic lane group in which it is contained is assigned to each traffic lane segment. The traffic lane index starts with the traffic lane segment at the far right with 0, and is incremented by 1 with each traffic lane segment to the left. Equivalence of the traffic lane index of two traffic lanes segments in sequential traffic lane groups is neither a sufficient nor necessary condition for a traffic lane segment being a following segment of the other traffic lane segment. For example, emergency lanes or “unknown traffic lanes” can be added or omitted on the right side, or the traffic lanes lying furthest to the right can separate or combine at accesses and exits” and paragraph [0087], “Returning to FIG. 4, a quantity of possible vehicle positions is determined 60 based on a comparison of the ascertained points of intersection. These are then evaluated subsequently by a sequence of corresponding evaluation functions 70, wherein the possible vehicle positions may be supplemented or modified. Penalty points are issued with the assistance of the evaluation functions. An initial evaluation function 71 considers the assignment of the line types ascertained by the camera to the line types saved in the map. In some embodiments, a configurable matrix is provided for this evaluation that can be assigned a specific value for each combination of IP line and map road marker type. Accordingly, frequently occurring wrong assignments of the camera, such as the recognition of a solid line as a dashed line can be associated with only a slightly poor evaluation; improbable wrong assignments of the camera, such as recognition of a road edge as a guardrail, can be associated with a much worse evaluation. A second evaluation function 72 takes into account the history of the vehicle positions. Potential vehicle positions that deviate strongly from the history are for example characterized with high penalty points. In the present embodiment, a third evaluation function 73 evaluates the lane type. The vehicle is assumed to be on a regular traffic lane of the road. Possible vehicle positions on traffic lanes that are not intended to be driven (hard shoulders, “unknown traffic lanes” of the DLM and emergency lanes, etc.) are therefore poorly evaluated; potential vehicle positions on drivable traffic lanes are evaluated neutrally. As another example, much higher penalty points are assigned to potential vehicle positions on the opposing road than for positions in the direction of travel. The adjustment of penalty points depends on the sensor system used and the employed digital map. Accordingly, a specific adaptation for the system used can be very easy. As a result of the evaluation method, the best evaluated possible vehicle position is then selected 80.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of CHIKAMORI with the teachings of Schack such that the map information system of CHIKAMORI is further configured to utilize allocating an indication of an undefined lane for a selected first position) if, according to the first map data, lanes are not defined in a region of the selected first position, as taught by Schack (See paragraph [0081], [0087].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to improve lane assignment despite map and positioning imprecisions, thereby allowing more reliable determination of the vehicle’s lane without requiring an excessively precise map or GPS system, as taught by Schack (See paragraph [0009].).
With respect to claim 21, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 19, which is commensurate in scope to claim 21.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIKAMORI (US 20220221290 A1) in view of Schack (US 20190266419 A1) and Kuehnle (US 20100079590 A1).
Regarding Claim 22, CHIKAMORI and Schack teach The method as claimed in claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. CHIKAMORI and Schack do not explicitly disclose, however, Kuehnle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising determining a lateral location of at least one of the second positions with respect to a boundary of a road currently being driven on, if the second map data in the region of the at least one of the second position does not include lane information (See at least paragraph [0039], “The system implements road-surface-reflection detection and suppresses such reflections in road boundary detection (such reflections, or other objects, such as tar strips, may interfere with proper detection of road boundaries). The system may further address road boundary detection with difficult markings, marking classification, difficult lighting accommodation, difficult weather recognition, false road marking rejection, etc. The system may recognize multiple lines, in multiple lanes, and select the proper lane markings (generally laterally nearest to the vehicle), when multiple lines are present. The system may further detect road edges when lane markings are not present, using road edge information instead of lane markings, to aid guiding the vehicle down the road.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of CHIKAMORI with the teachings of Schack and Kuehnle such that the map information system of CHIKAMORI is further configured to utilize allocating an indication of an undefined lane for a selected first position) if, according to the first map data, lanes are not defined in a region of the selected first position, as taught by Schack (See paragraph [0081], [0087].), and determining a lateral location of at least one of the second positions with respect to a boundary of a road currently being driven on, if the second map data in the region of the at least one of the second position does not include lane information, as taught by Kuehnle (See paragraph [0039].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to improve lane assignment despite map and positioning imprecisions, thereby allowing more reliable determination of the vehicle’s lane without requiring an excessively precise map or GPS system, as taught by Schack (See paragraph [0009].). The motivation for doing so would be to improve vehicle localization by detecting road edges and using road boundary information instead of lane markings when lane markings are not present, thereby aiding vehicle guidance, as taught by Kuehnle (See paragraph [0040].).
With respect to claim 23, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 22, which is commensurate in scope to claim 23.
Claim(s) 24-27, 31, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHIKAMORI (US 20220221290 A1) in view of Ikeda (US 20230152120 A1).
Regarding Claim 24, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 13, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI does not explicitly disclose, however, Ikeda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first map data has a higher degree of detail than the second map data (See at least paragraph [0029], “The map database 14 may store high-definition map information (hereinafter, simply referred to as “high-definition map”), which is suitable as a map for self-driving. The high-definition map is map data of higher precision than map data for navigation (hereinafter, simply referred to as “navigation map”) and includes information in units of lanes, which is more detailed than information in units of roads. Hereinafter, a map represented by map information in the map database 14 is sometimes simply referred to as “map”.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of CHIKAMORI with the teachings of Ikeda such that the map information system of CHIKAMORI is further configured to utilize the first map data having a higher degree of detail than the second map data, as taught by Ikeda (See paragraph [0029].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide lane-level map information suitable for self-driving, thereby improving vehicle localization over a navigation map containing information in units of roads, as taught by Ikeda (See paragraph [0029].).
Regarding Claim 25, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 13, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI does not explicitly disclose, however, Ikeda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first map data has a higher accuracy than the second map data (See at least paragraph [0029], “The map database 14 may store high-definition map information (hereinafter, simply referred to as “high-definition map”), which is suitable as a map for self-driving. The high-definition map is map data of higher precision than map data for navigation (hereinafter, simply referred to as “navigation map”) and includes information in units of lanes, which is more detailed than information in units of roads. Hereinafter, a map represented by map information in the map database 14 is sometimes simply referred to as “map”.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of CHIKAMORI with the teachings of Ikeda such that the map information system of CHIKAMORI is further configured to utilize the first map data has a higher accuracy than the second map data, as taught by Ikeda (See paragraph [0029].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide lane-level map information suitable for self-driving, thereby improving vehicle localization over a navigation map containing information in units of roads, as taught by Ikeda (See paragraph [0029].).
Regarding Claim 26, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 13, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI does not explicitly disclose, however, Ikeda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first map data is included in a driver assistance system and the second map data is included in a navigation system (See at least paragraph [0024], “FIG. 1 is now referred to. An own vehicle 1 includes a driving assistance device 10 configured to perform driving assistance of the own vehicle 1. The driving assistance performed by the driving assistance device 10 is self-driving control that, based on, for example, a travel environment around the own vehicle 1 and map information, causes the own vehicle 1 to self-drive without involvement of a driver. Note that, although the driving assistance device 10 may be a device that executes driving assistance control to assist driving performed by a passenger by controlling some functions of apparatuses involved in traveling of the own vehicle 1, such as steering, accelerator opening, and a steering angle, based on a travel environment around the own vehicle 1 and map information, the following description will be made assuming, unless otherwise specifically stated, that the self-driving control that causes the own vehicle 1 to self-drive without involvement of a driver is executed”, paragraph [0025], “The driving assistance device 10 includes object sensors 11, vehicle sensors 12, a positioning device 13, a map database 14, a communication device 15, a controller 16, and actuators 17. In the drawings, the map database is denoted as “map DB””), and paragraph [0029], “The map database 14 may store high-definition map information (hereinafter, simply referred to as “high-definition map”), which is suitable as a map for self-driving. The high-definition map is map data of higher precision than map data for navigation (hereinafter, simply referred to as “navigation map”) and includes information in units of lanes, which is more detailed than information in units of roads. Hereinafter, a map represented by map information in the map database 14 is sometimes simply referred to as “map”.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of CHIKAMORI with the teachings of Ikeda such that the map information system of CHIKAMORI is further configured to utilize the first map data included in a driver assistance system and the second map data included in a navigation system, as taught by Ikeda (See paragraph [0024], [0025], [0029].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide lane-level map information suitable for self-driving, thereby improving vehicle localization over a navigation map containing information in units of roads, as taught by Ikeda (See paragraph [0029].).
With respect to claim 27, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 26, which is commensurate in scope to claim 27 because the applied reference teaches both recited alternatives.
Regarding Claim 31, CHIKAMORI teaches The method as claimed in claim 30, as set forth in the anticipation rejection above. CHIKAMORI does not explicitly disclose, however, Ikeda, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first vehicle system is a driver assistance system and the second vehicle system is a navigation system (See at least paragraph [0024], “FIG. 1 is now referred to. An own vehicle 1 includes a driving assistance device 10 configured to perform driving assistance of the own vehicle 1. The driving assistance performed by the driving assistance device 10 is self-driving control that, based on, for example, a travel environment around the own vehicle 1 and map information, causes the own vehicle 1 to self-drive without involvement of a driver. Note that, although the driving assistance device 10 may be a device that executes driving assistance control to assist driving performed by a passenger by controlling some functions of apparatuses involved in traveling of the own vehicle 1, such as steering, accelerator opening, and a steering angle, based on a travel environment around the own vehicle 1 and map information, the following description will be made assuming, unless otherwise specifically stated, that the self-driving control that causes the own vehicle 1 to self-drive without involvement of a driver is executed”, paragraph [0025], “The driving assistance device 10 includes object sensors 11, vehicle sensors 12, a positioning device 13, a map database 14, a communication device 15, a controller 16, and actuators 17. In the drawings, the map database is denoted as “map DB””), and paragraph [0029], “The map database 14 may store high-definition map information (hereinafter, simply referred to as “high-definition map”), which is suitable as a map for self-driving. The high-definition map is map data of higher precision than map data for navigation (hereinafter, simply referred to as “navigation map”) and includes information in units of lanes, which is more detailed than information in units of roads. Hereinafter, a map represented by map information in the map database 14 is sometimes simply referred to as “map”.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of CHIKAMORI with the teachings of Ikeda such that the map information system of CHIKAMORI is further configured to utilize the first vehicle system which is a driver assistance system and the second vehicle system which is a navigation system, as taught by Ikeda (See paragraph [0024], [0025], [0029].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be to provide lane-level map information suitable for self-driving, thereby improving vehicle localization over a navigation map containing information in units of roads, as taught by Ikeda (See paragraph [0029].).
With respect to claim 32, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 31, which is commensurate in scope to claim 32 because the applied reference teaches both recited alternatives.
Conclusion
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666