DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase “” is indefinite as it is unclear if “alternately” means in the alternative, the bending deformation is applied on alternating sides or something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-X is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over U.S. Patent No. 9,873,162 to Negishi et al (Negishi).
Concerning claim 1, Negishi discloses a welding-wire-straightening apparatus for straightening bend of a welding wire, comprising
two roller groups (13a, 13b) each including a plurality of straightening rollers (12), the welding wire being passed through the two roller groups,
wherein the plurality of straightening rollers (12) included in each of the roller groups are arranged with a predetermined arrangement interval L in a passing direction of the welding wire so as to be opposed across a straightening path along which the welding wire is passed,
the two roller groups (13a, 13b) are arranged so that opposing directions across the straightening path are different (see figures 2A and 2B),
in each of the roller groups, the plurality of straightening rollers are such that a first roller, a second roller, . . . , nth roller are sequentially disposed in the passing direction of the welding wire, bending deformation in opposite directions is alternately applied to the welding wire by these n rollers (n is an integer greater than or equal to 4) to straighten curl (see figures 2A and 2B),
(the remainder of the claim is intended use as the structure of the straightening apparatus is the same as such the prior art merely has to be capable of performing these functions which Negishi is)
let t (mm) be a diameter of the welding wire, let δ.sub.in (mm) be an entrance roller engaging amount caused by the first roller, the second roller and the third roller,
let 2L.sub.in (mm) be an interaxial distance between the first roller and the third roller,
let g.sub.in (mm) be an entrance chord length which is a chord length of an overlapping portion of the second roller with the welding wire under an assumption that the welding wire is linearly arranged to come into contact with the first roller and the third roller,
let δ.sub.out (mm) be an exit roller engaging amount caused by the (n−2)th roller, the (n−1)th roller and the nth roller,
let 2L.sub.out (mm) be an interaxial distance between the nth roller and the (n−2)th roller,
let g.sub.out (mm) be an exit chord length which is a chord length of an overlapping portion of the (n−1)th roller with the welding wire under an assumption that the welding wire is linearly arranged to come into contact with the (n−2)th roller and the nth roller, then
the n straightening rollers are positioned so that an entrance wire deformation parameter C.sub.in calculated by a mathematical expression C.sub.in=L.sub.in/[{(δ.sub.in+t)/g.sub.in}.sup.2] is 1150 to 1500, and an exit wire deformation parameter C.sub.out calculated by a mathematical expression C.sub.out=L.sub.out/[{(Sout+t)/g.sub.out}.sup.2] is 4300 to 49000, and
the n straightening rollers are positioned so that a welding-wire-feed resistance parameter F calculated by a mathematical expression F=(L.sub.in/C.sub.in+L.sub.out/C.sub.out)×n is less than 0.037.
In the event applicant argues that Negishi does not disclose these subsequent limitations it is noted that Negishi is structurally the same as applicant’s invention (compare the figures of Negishi such as figures 2A, 2B, 4 and 5 which is virtually the same as applicant’s figures 2A, 2B, 4 and 5) as such it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Negishi with these parameters as such determination would result during routine engineering practices and experimentation. Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Concerning claim 2, Negishi discloses wherein a radius r of the straightening rollers is less than 7 mm (see column 9, lines 25-38 where the diameter is less than 20mm which means the radius is less than 10mm which means that it includes being less than 7mm).
Concerning claim 3, Negishi discloses wherein a radius r of the straightening rollers is greater than or equal to 5 mm (see column 9, lines 25-38 where the diameter is less than 20mm which means the radius is less than 10mm which means that it includes being greater than or equal to 5 mm).
Concerning claim 8, Negishi discloses the welding wire is a solid wire.
Concerning claim 9, Negishi discloses wherein the n=5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negishi.
Concerning claim 4, Negishi does not disclose the exact arrangement interval L between the plurality of straightening rollers.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Negishi wherein an arrangement interval L between the plurality of straightening rollers is less than or equal to 8.75 mm. Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Concerning claim 5, Negishi does not disclose the exact arrangement interval L between the plurality of straightening rollers.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Negishi wherein an arrangement interval L between the plurality of straightening rollers is greater than 5 mm. Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Concerning claim 6, Negishi does not disclose the exact arrangement interval L between the plurality of straightening rollers.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Negishi wherein an interaxial distance Lan between the first roller and the nth roller is less than or equal to 35 mm. Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Concerning claim 7, Negishi does not disclose the exact arrangement interval L between the plurality of straightening rollers.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Negishi wherein an interaxial distance Lan between the first roller and the nth roller is greater than 20 mm. Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Concerning claim 10, Negishi does not disclose the exact arrangement interval L between the plurality of straightening rollers.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Negishi wherein a total length N of the roller groups is greater than 60 mm, and less than or equal to 110 mm. Accordingly, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The other prior art cited on the PTO-892 are other examples of similar straightening apparatus.
/Matthew Katcoff/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725
08/20/2026