DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikio (US 2015/0346582 A1 – hereinafter Aikio) and Uemura (US 2014/0362385 A1 – hereinafter Uemura).
Regarding claim 1, Aikio discloses an imager for a surround-view imaging system (Fig. 3b), comprising a first image detector and a cylindrical catadioptric lens system forming an inner volume (Fig. 3b; Fig. 12 – lens LNS1) with an entrance aperture (Fig. 3b; Fig. 12 – the inner volume of the lens LNS1 have an aperture via which light beams BO1-BOk can enter the inner volume as shown), a top surface (Fig. 12 – top surface SRF3) and a bottom surface (Fig. 12 – bottom surface comprising region SRF2 and region SRF4); wherein in a field of view of the imager, imaging light from a surrounding of the imager enters the inner volume by the entrance aperture, is firstly reflected towards the top surface by the bottom surface (Fig. 12 – BO1-BOk enter the inner volume by the entrance aperture as B1k, is firstly reflected by region SRF2 of the bottom surface towards the top surface as B2k), is secondly reflected back to the bottom surface by the top surface (Fig. 12 – secondly reflected back to the SRF4 region of the bottom surface as B3k), and leaves the inner volume towards the first image detector by a bottom aperture in the bottom surface for detecting imaging light (Fig. 12 – leaving the inner volume towards first image detector DET1 upon which an optical image IMG1 is formed), wherein a spectrum of the imaging light comprises a first spectral range, wherein the top surface reflects the imaging light of a first spectral range back to the bottom surface (Fig. 12 – the input light beams comprising at least a first spectral range as a spectral range of visible light as further described at least in [0191], the light of this first spectral range is reflected back to the SRF4 region of the bottom surface).
However, Aikio does not disclose a spectrum of the imaging light comprises a second spectral range different from the first spectral range, wherein the top surface comprises a spectral filtering element which reflects only the imaging light of the first spectral range back to the bottom surface but transmits the imaging light of the second spectral range.
Uemura discloses a spectrum of imaging light comprises a first spectral range and a second spectral range different from the first spectral range ([0047]-[0048] – a spectrum of imaging light comprises a spectral range of visible light and a spectral range of near-infrared light), wherein a top surface comprises a spectral filtering element which reflects only the imaging light of the first spectral range ([0047] – a surface of a wavelength filter 211 reflects only light of visible spectrum) but transmits the imaging light of the second spectral range ([0047]-[0048] – transmitting light of near-infrared light).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Uemura into the top surface in the imager taught by Aikio to enhance the quality of the captured image by avoiding visual noise caused by light of non-visible light spectrum in capturing environment where input light comprising infrared light.
Regarding claim 2, Aikio in view of Uemura also discloses the imager of claim 1, wherein the cylindrical catadioptric lens system is formed by a cylindrically shaped monolithic catadioptric lens (Fig. 12 – lens LNS1) having a corpus filling the inner volume (Fig. 12 – corpus of the LNS1), and having a mantle including the entrance aperture (Fig. 12 – having a mantle including the entrance aperture via which light beams BO1-BOk can enter the inner volume as shown), the top surface and the bottom surface (Fig. 12 – top surface SRF3 and bottom surface including the flat regions, the SRF2 region and SRF4 region).
Regarding claim 3, Aikio in view of Uemura also discloses the imagerof claim 1, wherein the imaging light is firstly reflected by a circumferential first aspheric lens region arranged around a center of the bottom surface (Fig. 12 – reflected at aspheric lens region SRF2), is secondly reflected by a second aspheric lens region arranged at a center of the top surface (Fig. 12 – secondly reflected at aspheric lens region SRF3), and leaves the inner volume towards the first image detector by a third aspheric lens region at the center of the bottom surface (Fig. 12 – leaving the inner volume towards the first image detector DET1 by aspheric lens region SRF4 of the bottom surface).
Regarding claim 4, Aikio in view of Uemura also discloses the imager of claim 1, wherein the imager further comprises a first optical system to project an image of an environment in the first spectral range on the first image detector (Fig. 12 – the imager comprises a first optical system 300 to project an image of an environment in the first spectral range on the first image detector DET1 as further shown in Fig. 3b).
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Aikio and Uemura as discussed in claim 4 above. Uemura also discloses an imager, further comprising a second image detector for detecting the transmitted imaging light (Fig. 4; [0047] – image detector 210 for detecting transmitted near-infrared light).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the further teachings of Uemura into the imager because implementing the imager with such a second image detector would have been advantageous in detecting the depth of the object thus adding extra dimension to the captured image.
Regarding claim 6, Uemura in view of Aikio also discloses the imager of claim 5, wherein the imager further comprises a second optical system to project an image of the environment in the second spectral range on the second image detector (Fig. 4 – an optical system for transmitting the infrared light to the detector 210).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Uemura into the imager has been discussed in claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 7, Aikio and Uemura also discloses the imager of claim 5, wherein the first image detector is a detector for a visible spectral range and the second image detector is a time-of-flight detector, or wherein the first image detector is a time-of-flight detector and the second image detector is a detector for the visible spectral range (Aikio: [0191]. Uemura: [0047] – the first image detector is detector for a visible spectral range and the second image detector is a time-of-flight detector).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Uemura into the imager has been discussed in claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 9, Aikio and Uemura also disclose the imager of claim 5, wherein the first image detector and the second image detector are arranged opposite to one another with their active surface parallelly aligned along a vertical axis of the imager (Aikio: Fig. 12 – the first image detector arranged with an active surface perpendicular to a vertical axis of the imager on the side of the reflected light. Uemura: Fig. 4 – the second imager arranged with an active surface perpendicular to the vertical axis of the imager on the side of the transmitted light, thus the first image detector and the second detector are arranged opposite to each other).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Uemura into the imager has been discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikio and Uemura as applied to claims 1-7 and 9 above, and further in view of Cabib et al. (US 2011/0279681 A1 – hereinafter Cabib).
Regarding claim 8, Aikio in view of Uemura also discloses the imager of claim 1, wherein the entrance aperture comprises a surface configured for transmitting a full spectrum of the imaging light (Fig. 12; [0191]).
However, Aikio and Uemura do not disclose the surface comprises an antireflection coating.
Cabib discloses a surface configured for transmitting light comprises an antireflection coating ([0039] - surfaces of window 24 and optical components 30 and 32 are coated with antireflection coatings).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the antireflection coating taught by Cabib into the entrance aperture taught by Aikio and Uemura to maximize the transmission of light in the wavelength range, and so reducing unwanted reflections, maximizing the achievable contrast, and minimizing the flare and ghost images, in the imaging.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aikio and Uemura as applied to claims 1-7 and 9 above, and further in view of Garsha et al. (US 2020/0080940 A1 – hereinafter Garsha).
Regarding claim 10, see the teachings of Aikio and Uemura as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Aikio and Uemura do not disclose the spectral filtering element comprises a dielectric layer or grating.
Garsha discloses a spectral filtering element comprises a dielectric layer or grating ([0152]-[0153] – a spectral filtering element is a spectrally selective system comprises a diffractive grating).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Garsha into the imager taught by Aikio and Uemura because such an implementation were known to have been advantageous due to providing superior resolution.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484