DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 07/07/2025. Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2025 and 09/24/2026 were filed and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 lines 4 and 6-7 recite the limitation “a rotational”, --the rotational-- is suggested.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 use the term “robot hand”. It is unclear what is required to be a “robot hand” in the claims. More specifically, one having ordinary skill in the art recognizes a robot hand to be an end effector resembling a human hand with fingers for grasping. According to the specification and figures, the claims apparatus does not disclose an end effector resembling a human hand. As such, the scope of the claims cannot be determined. The Examiner notes that the joint disclosed in the Application is well known in the art as a robot wrist. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner will consider the robot “hand” of the claims as a robot wrist.
Claim 5 lines 2-3 recite the limitation “the at least one cable is designed and arranged on the at least one angular contact needle bearing”. It is unclear how the at least one cable is “designed” on the at least one angular contact needle bearing.
Claim 14 lines 1-2 recite the limitation “the at least one cable includes a Bowden cable”. It is unclear how the cable can also include a Bowden cable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11-14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda (US 20190047142 A1) in view of Nuissl (US 20100150492 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Noda discloses a robot arm (see Fig. 8; top 411, middle 411, bottom 411) for a robot (410), comprising: a robot hand axis (top 412A) with multiple arm segments (top 411, middle 411), wherein a first arm segment (top 411) and a second arm segment (middle 411) of the robot hand axis are mounted relative to one another via at least one bearing (see Fig. 2; 15), having a first bearing ring (11) arranged in a non-rotatable manner and a second bearing ring (12) arranged in a rotatable manner relative thereto, wherein the non-rotatable first bearing ring is supported on the first arm segment, wherein the rotatable second bearing ring is supported on the second arm segment and is operatively connected to at least one cable (upper 416) which is configured to adjust a rotational position of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring in at least one first direction of rotation by actuation via a motor unit (see paragraph [0111], wherein the drive source is a motor). Noda fails to disclose an angular contact needle bearing. However, Nuissl teaches an angular contact needle bearing (see Fig. 1; 5, 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Noda since production is significantly less expensive for the same or higher load rating vs cross roller bearings (see paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Noda discloses a rope (see Fig. 8 and paragraph [0111], wherein wires 416 are ropes of Bowden cables) of the at least one cable (416). Noda fails to disclose a rope of the at least one cable is wound at least 1.5 turns around the rotatable second bearing ring of the at least one angular contact needle bearing. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to provide the particular number of windings around the bearing ring, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) defines a result effective variable as “a variable which achieves a recognized result”. In this instance, page 4 lines 20-29 of the instant application discloses that at least 1.5 turns allows the respective arm segment to be rotated at least 360°. The instant application further discloses that the greater number of turns results in a greater rotation angle of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring. As such, the number of turns is a variable which achieves the recognized result of increasing the rotation angle. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the number of turns to allow for the required degree of relative rotation between the arm segments.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of claim 2 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: a groove (Noda, Fig. 1; 129) formed in a spirally circumferential manner is arranged on the rotatable second bearing ring (Noda; 12) of the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; 5, 6) for at least partially receiving the rope of the at least one cable (Noda; 416).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; 5, 6) is a double-row angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Noda discloses the at least one cable (416) is designed as a Bowden cable (see paragraph [0011], wherein the wires (415 and 416) are Bowden cables).
Regarding claim 9, Noda discloses the at least one cable (416) includes a first cable (416) configured to adjust a rotational position of the second bearing ring (12) relative to the first bearing ring (11) in a first direction of rotation by actuation via the motor unit (not shown) and a second cable (415) configured to adjust a rotational position of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring in a second direction of rotation opposite to the first direction of rotation by actuation via the motor unit (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Noda discloses a robot arm (see Fig. 8; top 411, middle 411, bottom 411) for a robot (410), comprising: a robot hand axis (top 412A) including a first arm segment (top 411) and a second arm segment (middle 411); at least one bearing (see Fig. 2; 15) having a non-rotatable first bearing ring (11) supported by the first arm segment and a rotatable second bearing ring (12) supported by the second arm segment; at least one cable (upper 416) connected to the second bearing ring; and a motor unit (see paragraph [0111], wherein the drive source is a motor) operatively coupled to the at least one cable, wherein actuation of the motor unit tensions the at least one cable to rotate the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring and the first arm segment, such that the second arm segment rotates relative to the first bearing ring and the first arm segment (see Fig. 8). Noda fails to disclose an angular contact needle bearing. However, Nuissl teaches an angular contact needle bearing (see Fig. 1; 5, 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Noda since production is significantly less expensive for the same or higher load rating vs cross roller bearings (see paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 12, Noda discloses the at least one cable (416) includes a rope (see Fig. 8 and paragraph [0111], wherein wires 416 are ropes of Bowden cables). Noda fails to disclose a rope that is wound around the rotatable second bearing ring of the at least one angular contact needle bearing at least 1.5 turns. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to provide the particular number of windings around the bearing ring, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) defines a result effective variable as “a variable which achieves a recognized result”. In this instance, page 4 lines 20-29 of the instant application discloses that at least 1.5 turns allows the respective arm segment to be rotated at least 360°. The instant application further discloses that the greater number of turns results in a greater rotation angle of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring. As such, the number of turns is a variable which achieves the recognized result of increasing the rotation angle. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the number of turns to allow for the required degree of relative rotation between the arm segments.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of claim 12 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the second bearing ring (12) includes a spiral groove (see Fig. 1; 129) that is configured to receive the rope (416).
Regarding claim 14, Noda discloses the at least one cable (416) includes a Bowden cable (see paragraph [0011], wherein the wires (415 and 416) are Bowden cables) having a rope and a sheath arranged between the motor unit (not shown) and the second bearing ring (12; see Fig. 8 wherein the cables are shown with a sheath and a rope).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of claim 11 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; 5, 6) is a double-row angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Noda discloses the at least one cable (416) comprises: a first cable (416) that is configured to adjust a rotational position of the second bearing ring (12) relative to the first bearing ring (11) in a first direction of rotation via actuation of the motor unit (not shown); and a second cable (415) that is configured to adjust a rotational position of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring in a second direction of rotation opposite the first direction of rotation via actuation of the motor unit (see Fig. 8).
Claim 4-5, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda (US 20190047142 A1) in view of Nuissl (US 20100150492 A1) and Kan (US 20180215051 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Noda fails to disclose a rope of the at least one cable is guided through an opening in the non-rotatable first bearing ring. However, Kan teaches a rope of the at least one cable (see Fig. 4; 78) is guided through an opening (see Fig. 3; 74) in the non-rotatable first bearing ring (7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Noda with a cable that is guided through an opening in the first bearing ring, as taught by Kan, to provide a wiring route for the operating wire to operate the turning shaft (see paragraph [0032]); and to provide a wiring route which is internal to the arm segments and therefore avoids snagging during operation of the robot arm.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the at least one cable (Noda; 416) is designed and arranged on the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; 5, 6) in such a way that the motor unit (Noda; not shown) is arranged spatially outside of the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Noda; paragraph [0011], wherein the drive source is provided outside of the joint structure).
Regarding claim 8, Noda fails to disclose a pulley which is partially wound around by a rope of the at least one cable and is designed to be set into a rotational movement by the motor unit in order to adjust the rotational position of the rotatable second bearing ring. However, Kan teaches a pulley (see Fig. 4; 77) which is partially wound around by a rope of the at least one cable (78) and is designed to be set into a rotational movement by the motor unit (not shown) in order to adjust the rotational position of the rotatable second bearing ring (9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Noda with a pulley driven by the motor unit, as taught by Kan, so that a single motor can provide both forward and reverse rotation to rotate the second bearing ring in two opposite directions.
Regarding claim 15, Noda fails to disclose a pulley driven by the motor unit, wherein the at least one cable is partially wound about the pulley and partially wound about the second bearing ring. However, Kan teaches a pulley see Fig. 4; 77) driven by the motor unit (not shown), wherein the at least one cable (78) is partially wound about the pulley and partially wound about the second bearing ring (9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Noda with a pulley driven by the motor unit, as taught by Kan, so that a single motor can provide both forward and reverse rotation to rotate the second bearing ring in two opposite directions.
Claim 1-2, 4-6, 8, 11-12 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kan (US 20180215051 A1) in view of Nuissl (US 20100150492 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kan discloses a robot arm (see Fig. 1) for a robot (1), comprising: a robot hand axis (see Fig. 7; U2) with multiple arm segments (left 22E, right 22E), wherein a first arm segment (left 22E) and a second arm segment (right 22E) of the robot hand axis are mounted relative to one another via at least one bearing (8), having a first bearing ring (7) arranged in a non-rotatable manner and a second bearing ring (9) arranged in a rotatable manner relative thereto, wherein the non-rotatable first bearing ring is supported on the first arm segment, wherein the rotatable second bearing ring is supported on the second arm segment and is operatively connected to at least one cable (78) which is configured to adjust a rotational position of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring in at least one first direction of rotation by actuation via a motor unit (see paragraph [0032], wherein a driving source is not shown). Kan fails to disclose an angular contact needle bearing. However, Nuissl teaches an angular contact needle bearing (see Fig. 1; 5, 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Kan since production is significantly less expensive for the same or higher load rating vs four point bearings (see paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Kan fails to discloses a rope of the at least one cable is wound at least 1.5 turns around the rotatable second bearing ring of the at least one angular contact needle bearing However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to provide the particular number of windings around the bearing ring, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) defines a result effective variable as “a variable which achieves a recognized result”. In this instance, page 4 lines 20-29 of the instant application discloses that at least 1.5 turns allows the respective arm segment to be rotated at least 360°. The instant application further discloses that the greater number of turns results in a greater rotation angle of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring. As such, the number of turns is a variable which achieves the recognized result of increasing the rotation angle. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the number of turns to allow for the required degree of relative rotation between the arm segments.
Regarding claim 4, Kan discloses a rope of the at least one cable (78) is guided through an opening (see Fig. 3; 74) in the non-rotatable first bearing ring (9).
Regarding claim 5, Kan the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the at least one cable (Kan; 78) is designed and arranged on the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; 5, 6) in such a way that the motor unit (Kan; not shown) is arranged spatially outside of the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Kan; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; 5, 6) is a double-row angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Kan discloses the at least one cable (78) comprises a pulley (77) which is partially wound around by a rope of the at least one cable and is designed to be set into a rotational movement by the motor unit (not shown) in order to adjust the rotational position of the rotatable second bearing ring (9).
Regarding claim 11, Kan discloses a robot arm (see Fig. 1) for a robot (1), comprising: a robot hand axis (see Fig. 7; U2) including a first arm segment (left 22E) and a second arm segment (right 22E); at least one bearing (8) having a non-rotatable first bearing ring (7) supported by the first arm segment and a rotatable second bearing ring (9) supported by the second arm segment; at least one cable (78) connected to the second bearing ring; and a motor unit (not shown) operatively coupled to the at least one cable, wherein actuation of the motor unit tensions the at least one cable to rotate the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring and the first arm segment, such that the second arm segment rotates relative to the first bearing ring and the first arm segment (see Fig. 4). Kan fails to disclose an angular contact needle bearing. However, Nuissl teaches an angular contact needle bearing (see Fig. 1; 5, 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Kan since production is significantly less expensive for the same or higher load rating vs four point bearings (see paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 12, Kan fails to disclose the at least one cable includes a rope that is wound around the rotatable second bearing ring of the at least one angular contact needle bearing at least 1.5 turns. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to provide the particular number of windings around the bearing ring, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2144.05(II)(B) defines a result effective variable as “a variable which achieves a recognized result”. In this instance, page 4 lines 20-29 of the instant application discloses that at least 1.5 turns allows the respective arm segment to be rotated at least 360°. The instant application further discloses that the greater number of turns results in a greater rotation angle of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring. As such, the number of turns is a variable which achieves the recognized result of increasing the rotation angle. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase the number of turns to allow for the required degree of relative rotation between the arm segments.
Regarding claim 15, Kan discloses a pulley (77) driven by the motor unit (not shown), wherein the at least one cable (78) is partially wound about the pulley and partially wound about the second bearing ring (9).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of claim 11 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; 5, 6) is a double-row angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Kan discloses the at least one cable (78) comprises: a first cable (upper 78 in Fig. 4) that is configured to adjust a rotational position of the second bearing ring (9) relative to the first bearing ring (7) in a first direction of rotation via actuation of the motor unit (not shown); and a second cable (lower 78 in Fig. 4) that is configured to adjust a rotational position of the second bearing ring relative to the first bearing ring in a second direction of rotation opposite the first direction of rotation via actuation of the motor unit (see Fig. 4).
Claim 3, 7 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kan (US 20180215051 A1) in view of Nuissl (US 20100150492 A1) and Noda (US 20190047142 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kan fails to disclose a groove formed on the rotatable second bearing ring. However, Noda teaches a groove (see Fig. 1; 129) formed on the rotatable second bearing ring (12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Kan with a groove formed on the rotatable second bearing ring, as taught by Noda, to guide the wire around the bearing ring; to prevent the wire from slipping from the bearing ring; and to prevent the wire from winding on itself. The combination above would necessarily result in the following limitations: a groove Noda; 129) formed in a spirally circumferential manner is arranged on the rotatable second bearing ring (Kan; 9) of the at least one angular contact needle bearing (Nuissl; 5, 6) for at least partially receiving the rope of the at least one cable (Kan; 78).
Regarding claim 7, Kan fails to disclose the at least one cable (see Fig. 8; 416) is designed as a Bowden cable. However, Noda teaches the at least one cable is designed as a Bowden cable (see paragraph [0011], wherein the wires (415 and 416) are Bowden cables). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Kan with a Bowden cable, as taught by Noda, to provide an operating cable that can bend around corners, obstacles and through tight spaces without changing the distance or force transferred by the inner wire.
Regarding claim 13, Kan fails to disclose the second bearing ring includes a spiral groove that is configured to receive the rope. However, Noda teaches a groove (see Fig. 1; 129) formed on the rotatable second bearing ring (12). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Kan with a groove formed on the rotatable second bearing ring, as taught by Noda, to guide the wire around the bearing ring; to prevent the wire from slipping from the bearing ring; and to prevent the wire from winding on itself. The combination above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the second bearing ring (Kan; 9) includes a spiral groove (Noda; 129) that is configured to receive the rope (Kan; 78).
Regarding claim 14, Kan fails to disclose the at least one cable includes a Bowden cable having a rope and a sheath arranged between the motor unit and the second bearing ring. However, Noda teaches the at least one cable (see Fig. 8; 416) includes a Bowden cable (see paragraph [0011], wherein the wires (415 and 416) are Bowden cables) having a rope and a sheath arranged between the motor unit (not shown) and the second bearing ring (12; see Fig. 8 wherein the cables are shown with a sheath and a rope). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Kan with a Bowden cable, as taught by Noda, to provide an operating cable that can bend around corners, obstacles and through tight spaces without changing the distance or force transferred by the inner wire.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
US 11478940 B2, US 4903536 A and US 4806066 A disclose cable driven robot joints.
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618