DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 line 1, change “claim 1” to -claim 2- in order to provide proper antecedent of basis for the “hood” limitation.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the claim will be examined as dependent on claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires the following:
At the instant, it is unclear how the reinforcing element 9 couples the pins at a distance from the lock case 6. As illustrated. The reinforcing element 9 is coupled by means of the pins so as to be at a distance from the lock case. Correction is required.
Claim 2 requires the following:
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since the reinforcing element is not equipped, since it is not an assembly or the like that has multiple elements. As illustrated, the reinforcing element 9 is actually a plate. Correction is required.
Claim 6 requires the phrase “rib-like manner”. At the instant, the term renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by JP 6447169 (JP 169).
Regarding claim 1, JP 169 discloses a motor vehicle lock, in particular a motor vehicle tailgate lock. The lock comprises a locking mechanism that comprises a latch (20) and a pawl (30) and having an additional reinforcing element (10).
The reinforcing element is coupled at least to a rotary pin (21) of the latch and to a rotary pin (31) of the pawl, at a distance from a lock case (40). The reinforcing element is additionally connected to a door panel or a vehicle body component (through 15a, 15b).
As to claim 2, JP 169 discloses that the reinforcing element (10) comprises a locking plate (12) arranged predominantly parallel to the lock case (40), and a wind hood. The wind hood is connected to the door or body component (indirectly by being attached to the actuator 70).
As to claim 9, JP 169 discloses that the edge of the reinforcing hood is provided with reinforcing ribs (18) at least in associated fastening regions (15a, 15b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 6447169 (JP 169) in view of CN 110173171 to Liu et al (Liu).
JP 169 fails to disclose that the wing hood is convexly curved in the wing closure direction.
Liu teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a wing hood (10) that defines a convexly curvature at a wing closure direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wing described by JP 169, curved, as taught by Liu, in order to create a space between the wing and any structure behind it.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 6447169 (JP 169) in view of US Pat No 8,727,403 to Johnson et al (Johnson).
JP 169 discloses that the lock comprises a front side cover (11) that receives a lock holder (75).
However, JP 169 fails to disclose that the lock holder comprises a receptacle that receives the cover of the lock.
Johnson teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a lock holder (134) with a holder receptacle (130) in order to guide a lock case (170) into engagement with the lock holder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lock holder described by JP 169, with a holder receptacle, as taught by Johnson, in order to guide the lock case into engagement with the lock holder.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 1022217 to Baukholt in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20200115932 to Ottino et al (Ottino) and DE 102018217967 to Schmitz et al (Schmitz).
Regarding claim 1, Baukholt discloses a motor vehicle lock. The lock comprises a locking mechanism that comprises a latch (7) and a pawl (8) and having an additional reinforcing element (2).
The reinforcing element is coupled at least to a rotary pin (3) of the latch and to a rotary pin (3’) of the pawl, at a distance from a lock case (1).
First, Baukholt fails to disclose that the motor vehicle lock is a tailgate lock.
Ottino teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a similar lock that can be used in a passenger door or a tailgate (par 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the lock described by Baukholt in a tailgate door, as taught by Ottino, since a recitation with respect to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed does not impose any structural limitation upon the claimed apparatus, which differentiates it from a prior art reference disclosing the structural limitations of the claim.
Second, Baukholt fails to disclose that the reinforcing element is additionally connected to a door panel or a vehicle body component. As shown above, Baukholt illustrates that the reinforcing element comprises holes that are capable of being considered as attachment points that are capable of being connected to a door panel of vehicle body component.
Schmitz teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a tailgate latch (3) wherein at least one of the attachment points is connected to a door panel (2, fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plate described by Baukholt having an attachment point to connect the plate to a door panel or structure, as taught by Schmitz, in order to provide a rigid structure to secure the plate.
As to claim 2, Baukholt discloses that the reinforcing element comprises a locking plate arranged predominantly parallel to the lock case, and a wind hood. The wind hood is connected to the door or body component (as modified by Schmitz).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 1022217 to Baukholt in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20200115932 to Ottino et al (Ottino), DE 102018217967 to Schmitz et al (Schmitz) and further in view of CN 110173171 to Liu et al (Liu).
Baukholt, as modified by Ottino and Schmitz, fails to disclose that the wing hood is convexly curved in the wing closure direction.
Liu teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a wing hood (10) that defines a convexly curvature at a wing closure direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wing described by Baukholt, as modified by Ottino and Schmitz, curved, as taught by Liu, in order to create a space between the wing and any structure.
Applicant is reminded that a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 1022217 to Baukholt in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20200115932 to Ottino et al (Ottino), DE 102018217967 to Schmitz et al (Schmitz) and further in view of JP 6447169 (JP 169).
Baukholt, as modified by Ottino and Schmitz, fails to disclose that the edge of the reinforcing hood is provided with reinforcing ribs at least in associated fastening regions
JP 169 teaches that it is well known in the art to provide the edge of the reinforcing hood is provided with reinforcing ribs (18) at least in associated fastening regions (15a, 15b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wing described by Baukholt, as modified by Ottino and Schmitz, with reinforcing ribs, as taught by JP 169, in order to reinforce the area.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-8 would also be allowed since the claims depend from claim 4 above.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
June 10, 2026