DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s amendment dated July 8, 2025. Claims 1-15, 17, 21 and 23-25 are pending. Claims 16, 18-20, 22 and 26 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 13-14, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starr et al., U.S. Patent 11,874,676 B2 (2024) in view of Bradley, U.S. Patent 12,079,015 B1 (2024).
As to claim 1, Starr et al. discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
transmitting an energy harvesting (EH) request to a first network node based on the UE having a battery charge below a threshold associated with an original travel path (Column 12, Lines 36-56); and
receiving an updated travel path, wherein the updated travel path includes an EH charging location (Column 12, Lines 36-56, Column 11, Lines 29-38).
Starr et al. discloses where the charging is at a charging pad (Figure 3, charging pad 301). Starr et al. does not disclose energy harvesting in the same manner as described in the Specification.
Bradley discloses an energy harvesting (Column 11, Lines 20-33, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of wireless communication, as disclosed by Starr et al., with the use of energy harvesting, as disclosed by Bradley, if the definition of energy harvesting does not include harvesting at a docking station, with a reasonable expectation of success, providing a charging location, including charging by energy harvesting, allowing charging and continuing on the mission.
As to claim 2, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method of claim 1. Starr et al. further discloses wherein one of the first network node or a second network node is located at the EH charging location (Column 11, Lines 29-38, Figure 4).
As to claim 3, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method of claim 2. Starr et al. further discloses further comprising transmitting an EH ready message to the one of the first network node or the second network node located at the EH charging location (Column 11, Line 39 – Column 12, Line 12).
As to claim 4, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method of claim 3. Starr et al. further discloses wherein transmitting the EH ready message occurs after the UE arrives at the EH charging location (Column 11, Line 39 – Column 12, Line 12).
As to claim 13, Starr et al. discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
receiving an energy harvesting (EH) request from a user equipment (UE), the EH request indicating that the UE has a battery charge below a threshold associated with an original travel path (Column 12, Lines 36-56); and
outputting or configuring an updated travel path, wherein the updated travel path includes an EH charging location.
Starr et al. does not disclose energy harvesting in the same manner as described in the Specification.
Bradley discloses an energy harvesting (Column 11, Lines 20-33, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of wireless communication, as disclosed by Starr et al., with the use of energy harvesting, as disclosed by Bradley, if the definition of energy harvesting does not include harvesting at a docking station, with a reasonable expectation of success, providing a charging location, including charging by energy harvesting, allowing charging and continuing on the mission.
As to claim 14, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method of claim 13. Starr et al. further discloses further comprising receiving an EH ready message indicating that the UE is at the EH charging location (Column 7, Lines 38-64).
As to claim 23, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method of claim 13. Starr et al. further discloses wherein outputting or configuring the updated travel path includes instructing the UE to navigate closer to the network node (Column 12, Lines 36-56, Column 11, Lines 29-38).
As to claim 24, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method
Starr et al. further discloses wherein outputting or configuring the updated travel path includes instructing the UE to stop at the network node (Column 12, Lines 36-56, Column 11, Lines 29-38).
As to claim 25, Starr et al. discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (Figure 5, Column 8, Lines 10-45); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, (Figure 5, Column 8, Lines 10-45) configured to:
transmit an energy harvesting (EH) request to a first network node based on the UE having a battery charge below a threshold associated with an original travel path (Column 12, Lines 36-56, Column 11, Lines 29-38); and
receive an updated travel path, wherein the updated travel path includes an EH charging location (Column 12, Lines 36-56, Column 11, Lines 29-38).
Starr et al. does not disclose energy harvesting in the same manner as described in the Specification.
Bradley discloses an energy harvesting (Column 11, Lines 20-33, Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the user equipment, as disclosed by Starr et al., with the use of energy harvesting, as disclosed by Bradley, if the definition of energy harvesting does not include harvesting at a docking station, with a reasonable expectation of success, providing a charging location, including charging by energy harvesting, allowing charging and continuing on the mission.
Claims 5, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starr et al., U.S. Patent 11,874,676 B2 (2024) in view of Bradley, U.S. Patent 12,079,015 B1 (2024), as applied to claims above, and further in view of Liani et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0028335 A1.
As to claim 5, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method of claim 3. Starr et al. does not disclose an active state and inactive state, as claimed.
Liani et al. discloses further comprising receiving, as a result of transmitting the EH ready message, signaling from the one of the first network node or the second network node located at the EH charging location to transition from an active state to an inactive state (0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of wireless communication of claim 3, as disclosed by Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, with the use of an active state, as claimed, as disclosed by Liani et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, providing an indication of active status, allowing identification of the status of the vehicle during charging or not charging, providing information on availability.
As to claim 11, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method of claim 2. Starr et al. does not disclose an inactive state, as claimed.
Liani et al. discloses further comprising receiving signaling from the one of the first network node or the second network node located at the EH charging location to transition from an inactive state to an active state (0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of wireless communication of claim 2, as disclosed by Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, with the use of an active state, as claimed, as disclosed by Liani et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, providing an indication of active status, allowing identification of the status of the vehicle during charging or not charging, providing information on availability.
As to claim 15, Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, discloses the method of claim 14. Starr et al. does not disclose an inactive state, as claimed. Liani et al. discloses further comprising outputting or configuring, as a result of receiving the EH ready message, signaling for the UE to transition from an active state to an inactive state, or to reduce a traveling speed from an operating speed to an EH charging speed (0160).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of claim 14, as disclosed by Starr et al., as modified by Bradley, with the use of an active state, as claimed, as disclosed by Liani et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, providing an indication of active status, allowing identification of the status of the vehicle during charging or not charging, providing information on availability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Several similar systems are cited. References from the Applicant are cited, as well as the current application publication. Velazquezfernandez discloses a similar system.
MICHAEL BERNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/MICHAEL A BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667