DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“marking device” in claim 6. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the term “marking device” is a broad class of structures that mark and their functional equivalents.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and therefore are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a “means” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means of a cutting device” in claim 4. The specification discloses in paragraph 0010 that “it is provided for the shrink tube, before the arrangement step, to be cut to size by means of a cutting device according to the predetermined position of the metal bus bar. In this way, the shrink tube is optimally adapted to the metal bus bar or the predetermined position of the metal bus bar at which the shrink tube is arranged. This reduces an amount of material required and optimizes the sealing effect.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the term “means of a cutting device” is a broad class of structures that cut and their functional equivalents for cutting a shrink tube.
“means of a cleaning device” in claim 8. The specification discloses in paragraph 0014 that “the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device. The advantage of this is that the sealing effect and an adhesion of the sealing means at the predetermined position are optimized.” A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the term “means of a cleaning device” is a broad class of structures that clean and their functional equivalents for cleaning a bus bar.
“means of a corresponding testing device” in claim 9. The specification discloses in paragraph 0015 that “Another advantage is if, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device. This can ensure that the sealed bus bar achieves the desired sealing effect.”. A person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the term “means of a corresponding test device” is a broad class of structures that test for leaks and their functional equivalents for performing a leak test.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means of the injection molding device” in claim 5. The term “injection mold” is also the name of the structure that performs injection molding, and therefore, sufficient structure is recited.
“sealing means” in claim 12. The claim earlier recites “one of more seals”, which is sufficient structure to function as a sealing means.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation of “the shrink tube is heated by a thermal energy of the plastic overmoulding”, and the claim also recites “in particular a melt of the plastic overmoulding” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. The examiner suggests deleting the “in particular a melt of the plastic overmoulding” limitation and making the limitation that follows “in particular” a the subject of a claim that is dependent from claim 2.
Claims 3-4 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 2.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the sealing means" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears that this is a reference back to “the one or more seals” in line 2 and it is suggested that applicant use consistent language throughout the claim and amend line 5 to also recite “the one or more seals” .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Steinecke (DE 102014225757 A1).
As to claim 1, Steinecke discloses a method for manufacturing a sealed bus bar (“According to a preferred embodiment, it is provided that the device: A connector is particularly preferably a low-pole or high-pole connector, or - is a sensor, or - is a housing with molded plug, or - is a component with conducted tracks, or - is an injection valve.”), comprising the following steps:
a. providing a metal bus bar having a plurality of bus bar connections (“a metallic component 1 shown that a tight connection with a plastic sheath 3 having. In the metallic component 1 it is according to a preferred embodiment of a stamped grid, according to further preferred embodiments, it is a hollow and / or round metallic component.”);
b. arranging one or more separate seals at predetermined positions of the metal bus bar; wherein directly after the arrangement step, the following step is performed (“In the first process step, the intermediate layer 2 so injection molded that the interlayer 2 in the parting plane, the entire circumference of the metallic component 1 encloses”),
c. overmoulding the metal bus bar with a plastic overmoulding around the positions of the one or more seals by way of an injection moulding device at least such that the one or more seals is completely overmoulded (“in the second process step, the plastic sheath 3 so is injection molded that the plastic sheath 3 the intermediate layer 2 completely encloses”).
See the translation, disclosing:
In the various figures, the same parts are always provided with the same reference numerals and are therefore usually named or mentioned only once in each case.
In 1 is in the lower part of the figure, a metallic component 1 shown that a tight connection with a plastic sheath 3 having. In the metallic component 1 it is according to a preferred embodiment of a stamped grid, according to further preferred embodiments, it is a hollow and / or round metallic component. Through the metallic component 1 There is a dividing plane, with the dividing plane delimiting two different areas. In the first process step, the intermediate layer 2 so injection molded that the interlayer 2 in the parting plane, the entire circumference of the metallic component 1 encloses and in the second process step, the plastic sheath 3 so is injection molded that the plastic sheath 3 the intermediate layer 2 completely encloses.
In the upper part of the 1 and in 2 is the metallic component 1 after injection molding of the intermediate layer 2 shown in the first step. The high thermal conductivity of the metallic component 1 leads to a high cooling rate of the intermediate layer in the first process step, resulting in a highly viscous outer skin 4 the intermediate layer 2 on the metallic component 1 forms and thus a non-material connection between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 arises or in some areas cohesive connection at the interface between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 arises, wherein the connection is at least not materially connected at any point around the parting line.
In 1 down and in 3 is the metallic component 1 after injection molding of the plastic wrap 3 around the interlayer 2 in the second process step following the first process step. By heat transfer during injection molding of the plastic wrap 3 occurs in the second process step both a melting of the intermediate layer 2 at the interface between the plastic wrap 3 and the intermediate layer 2 as well as a melting of the intermediate layer 2 at the interface between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 on. This ensures that in the second process step, the tight connection between the metallic component 1 and the plastic wrap 3 by a material connection between the intermediate layer 2 and the metallic component 1 and by forming a bonding interface between the plastic wrap 3 and the intermediate layer 2 arises. After injection molding in the second process step is the metallic component 1 ready for use. Further post-treatment steps are not required.
The tight connection is created by suitable choice of materials for interlayer 2 and plastic cladding 3 and the appropriate choice of parameters for the first and second process steps without further post-treatment steps. According to a preferred embodiment, the intermediate layer 2 a thermoplastic elastomer is more preferably a thermoplastic elastomer based on polyurethane. The intermediate layer 2 Due to its elastic properties, it is able to have different dimensions between the metallic component 1 and the plastic wrap 3 and thus prevent the formation of shrinkage induced gaps. According to another preferred embodiment, the intermediate layer may have a thickness of less than one millimeter and a width of 2 mm to 4 mm.
The processing temperature of the plastic coating 3 must be greater than the melting temperature of the intermediate layer 2 to melt the interlayer 2 at the interface between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 and associated therewith a material connection between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 to ensure. The processing temperature of the plastic coating 3 when using polyamide 66 as a plastic sheath 3 is for example at 300 ° C. The melting temperature of the intermediate layer is, for example, 190 ° C when using a thermoplastic elastomer based on polyurethane (TPE-U). The thickness of the plastic sheath 3 is so large that the heat transfer during injection molding of the plastic coating in the second process step is sufficient to melt the intermediate layer. The heat transfer takes place mainly via the contact surface plastic sheath 3 and intermediate layer 2 and / or the good thermal conductivity of the metallic component 1 ,
The intermediate layer 2 and the plastic wrap 3 form a molten phase during injection molding in the second process step at short notice. The materials for the intermediate layer 2 and the plastic wrap 3 are to be chosen so that they are chemically compatible and a connecting boundary layer between the intermediate layer 2 and the plastic wrap 3 form.
According to a further preferred embodiment, the processing takes place in two-component injection molds, whereby the plastic casing 3 immediately after the injection molding of the intermediate layer 2 can be injection-molded.
See also a comparison of Steinecke’s Figure 1 with applicant’s Figure 1, below:
As to claim 5, Steinecke discloses wherein, during the overmoulding, the metal bus bar and the one or more seals are pre-heated by means of the injection moulding device. See the translation, disclosing “wherein only during injection molding of the plastic sheath, a melting of the intermediate layer at the interface between the metallic component and the intermediate layer occurs.”
See also the translation, disclosing:
The processing temperature of the plastic coating 3 must be greater than the melting temperature of the intermediate layer 2 to melt the interlayer 2 at the interface between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 and associated therewith a material connection between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 to ensure. The processing temperature of the plastic coating 3 when using polyamide 66 as a plastic sheath 3 is for example at 300 ° C. The melting temperature of the intermediate layer is, for example, 190 ° C when using a thermoplastic elastomer based on polyurethane (TPE-U). The thickness of the plastic sheath 3 is so large that the heat transfer during injection molding of the plastic coating in the second process step is sufficient to melt the intermediate layer. The heat transfer takes place mainly via the contact surface plastic sheath 3 and intermediate layer 2 and / or the good thermal conductivity of the metallic component 1 ,
As to claim 11, Steinecke discloses wherein the plastic overmoulding is made of polyolefin, polyvinylidene fluoride, Viton, polyvinyl chloride, polyamide, polybutylene terephthalate, liquid crystal polymers, polyphthalamide, polyphenylene sulfide and/or polytetrafluorethylene. See the translation, disclosing “According to a preferred embodiment, it is provided that the plastic covering consists of a thermoplastic, particularly preferably consists of polyamide 66. In this case, the thermoplastic is to be selected such that the thermoplastic forms a connecting boundary layer with the material of the intermediate layer.”
As to claim 12, Steinecke discloses a sealed bus bar, manufactured by a method according to claim 1, with the one or more seals arranged at a predetermined position of a metal bus bar and a plastic overmoulding around the regions of the one or more seals at least such that the sealing means is completely overmoulded.
See the rejection of claim 1 above. See also the translation, disclosing:
In the various figures, the same parts are always provided with the same reference numerals and are therefore usually named or mentioned only once in each case.
In 1 is in the lower part of the figure, a metallic component 1 shown that a tight connection with a plastic sheath 3 having. In the metallic component 1 it is according to a preferred embodiment of a stamped grid, according to further preferred embodiments, it is a hollow and / or round metallic component. Through the metallic component 1 There is a dividing plane, with the dividing plane delimiting two different areas. In the first process step, the intermediate layer 2 so injection molded that the interlayer 2 in the parting plane, the entire circumference of the metallic component 1 encloses and in the second process step, the plastic sheath 3 so is injection molded that the plastic sheath 3 the intermediate layer 2 completely encloses.
In the upper part of the 1 and in 2 is the metallic component 1 after injection molding of the intermediate layer 2 shown in the first step. The high thermal conductivity of the metallic component 1 leads to a high cooling rate of the intermediate layer in the first process step, resulting in a highly viscous outer skin 4 the intermediate layer 2 on the metallic component 1 forms and thus a non-material connection between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 arises or in some areas cohesive connection at the interface between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 arises, wherein the connection is at least not materially connected at any point around the parting line.
In 1 down and in 3 is the metallic component 1 after injection molding of the plastic wrap 3 around the interlayer 2 in the second process step following the first process step. By heat transfer during injection molding of the plastic wrap 3 occurs in the second process step both a melting of the intermediate layer 2 at the interface between the plastic wrap 3 and the intermediate layer 2 as well as a melting of the intermediate layer 2 at the interface between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 on. This ensures that in the second process step, the tight connection between the metallic component 1 and the plastic wrap 3 by a material connection between the intermediate layer 2 and the metallic component 1 and by forming a bonding interface between the plastic wrap 3 and the intermediate layer 2 arises. After injection molding in the second process step is the metallic component 1 ready for use. Further post-treatment steps are not required.
The tight connection is created by suitable choice of materials for interlayer 2 and plastic cladding 3 and the appropriate choice of parameters for the first and second process steps without further post-treatment steps. According to a preferred embodiment, the intermediate layer 2 a thermoplastic elastomer is more preferably a thermoplastic elastomer based on polyurethane. The intermediate layer 2 Due to its elastic properties, it is able to have different dimensions between the metallic component 1 and the plastic wrap 3 and thus prevent the formation of shrinkage induced gaps. According to another preferred embodiment, the intermediate layer may have a thickness of less than one millimeter and a width of 2 mm to 4 mm.
The processing temperature of the plastic coating 3 must be greater than the melting temperature of the intermediate layer 2 to melt the interlayer 2 at the interface between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 and associated therewith a material connection between the metallic component 1 and the intermediate layer 2 to ensure. The processing temperature of the plastic coating 3 when using polyamide 66 as a plastic sheath 3 is for example at 300 ° C. The melting temperature of the intermediate layer is, for example, 190 ° C when using a thermoplastic elastomer based on polyurethane (TPE-U). The thickness of the plastic sheath 3 is so large that the heat transfer during injection molding of the plastic coating in the second process step is sufficient to melt the intermediate layer. The heat transfer takes place mainly via the contact surface plastic sheath 3 and intermediate layer 2 and / or the good thermal conductivity of the metallic component 1 ,
The intermediate layer 2 and the plastic wrap 3 form a molten phase during injection molding in the second process step at short notice. The materials for the intermediate layer 2 and the plastic wrap 3 are to be chosen so that they are chemically compatible and a connecting boundary layer between the intermediate layer 2 and the plastic wrap 3 form.
According to a further preferred embodiment, the processing takes place in two-component injection molds, whereby the plastic casing 3 immediately after the injection molding of the intermediate layer 2 can be injection-molded.
See also a comparison of Steinecke’s Figure 1 with applicant’s Figure 1, below:
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Neumueller (DE 102006001340 A1).
As to claim 1, Neumueller discloses a method for manufacturing a sealed bus bar, comprising the following steps:
a. providing a metal bus bar having a plurality of bus bar connections (“metallic contact pin 1”);
b. arranging one or more separate seals at predetermined positions of the metal bus bar; wherein directly after the arrangement step, the following step is performed,
c. overmoulding the metal bus bar with a plastic overmoulding around the positions of the one or more seals by way of an injection moulding device at least such that the one or more seals is completely overmoulded (“This Part of the process can be in the overall process or even separately respectively. The contact pin is now prepared for overmoulding. In the illustrated embodiment 4 will be two prepared contact pins 6 molded. The plastic part 5 shows a plug with rectangular housing receptacle, see 5 , The shrunk shrink tubing 3 on the contact pin is enclosed on all sides, inside the metal pin and on the outside by plastic. The hot melt adhesive now becomes the elastic link of the partners metal and plastic.”).
See the translation, disclosing:
DISCLOSURE
task The invention is a method which unlike others Method (see above) enables a simple, process-reliable and cost-effective solution, make dense metal-plastic joints and durable even with big ones To ensure temperature fluctuations.
These Task is solved by the following procedure.
One Heat shrink tubing becomes inside, outside or inside and outside coated with hot melt adhesive.
This coated shrink tubing is on the insert to be encapsulated mounted in position. Subsequently is the heat shrink tubing by heat treatment (hot air / oven) shrunk onto the insert, and thus fixed. The insert with shrinked shrink tubing is inserted into the injection mold and splashed over.
Between insert and shrink tubing and shrink tubing and plastic formed by the hot melt adhesive coating a elasti out of bevel. This is able to compensate for the resulting stresses between the insert and the plastic, especially when the temperature changes. The plastic compound becomes tight.
This method has a number of advantages - The assembly process as well as the shrinking of the hose can be done either manually with a hot air gun or automatically. - The assembly as well as the shrinking of the hose can be integrated in an automatic process, a buffer for curing is not required. - The cycle time of the process is very low and does not affect the overall cycle of a complete assembly process. - The shrinking of hoses is state of the art - The process is simple and process-safe because the amount of hot melt adhesive is already on the shrink tubing. The location and amount of the adhesive is thus well defined - The shrinking of the hoses on the metal parts can also be done in advance in a separate assembly process outside the overall production - The hotmelt adhesive is protected during the overmolding of the metal part, as it is located under the shrink tubing.
description of exemplary embodiments
embodiments The invention are illustrated in the drawings and are in Following closer described.
It demonstrate
1 : A perspective view of a metal contact pin with mounted shrink tubing but not yet shrunk thermally
2 : A perspective view of a metal contact pin with mounted shrink tube after shrinking
3 : A heat-shrinkable tube after shrinking with leaving the hot-melt adhesive
4 : Pin pair with shrunk-on shrink tubing with plastic housing (phantom line) overmoulded
5 : Pin pair with shrunk-on shrink tubing with plastic housing encapsulated
6 : Sensor metal housing with outgoing metal pins, whereby heat shrink tubing was shrunk onto the metal housing as well as the pins
1 shows a metallic contact pin 1 on the one with hot melt coated heat shrink tubing 2 is mounted correctly. The illustrated contact pin is designed to match the position of the shrink tube over a projection 10 pretends. The one with heat shrink tubing 2 mounted metallic contact pin 1 is now heated by means of a heat source above 120 ° C. In this case shrinks the shrink tube to up to 1/3 of its diameter, on the metal body 1 up, see 2 , At the front ends of the shrunk-shrink tube 3 occurs hot melt adhesive 4 out, see 3 ,
This Part of the process can be in the overall process or even separately respectively. The contact pin is now prepared for overmoulding.
In the illustrated embodiment 4 will be two prepared contact pins 6 molded. The plastic part 5 shows a plug with rectangular housing receptacle, see 5 , The shrunk shrink tubing 3 on the contact pin is enclosed on all sides, inside the metal pin and on the outside by plastic. The hot melt adhesive now becomes the elastic link of the partners metal and plastic.
6 shows a sensor formed by a metal housing 7 with molded plastic connector 9 , The sensor is via contact pins 1 contacted.
The sealing of the sensor via shrunk-on shrink tubing 3 takes place in three places.
There are heat shrink tubing on the two contact pins 1 Shrunk, as well as a shrink tube 8th on the metal case 7 Shrunk on the upper round waistband. Finally, this pre-assembly part with a connector 9 densely overmoulded. The zone in the area of the shrink hoses is enclosed on all sides after encapsulation.
As to claim 2, Neumueller discloses wherein the one or more seals is a shrink tube, wherein, during the overmoulding, the shrink tube is heated by a thermal energy of the plastic overmoulding, in particular a melt of the plastic overmoulding, such that the shrink tube shrinks until it rests on the metal bus bar in a sealing manner. See the translation, which discloses “The one with heat shrink tubing 2 mounted metallic contact pin 1 is now heated by means of a heat source above 120 ° C. In this case shrinks the shrink tube to up to 1/3 of its diameter, on the metal body 1 up, see 2 , At the front ends of the shrunk-shrink tube 3 occurs hot melt adhesive 4 out, see 3 , This Part of the process can be in the overall process or even separately respectively. The contact pin is now prepared for overmoulding.”
As to claim 3, Neumueller discloses wherein the shrink tube is a double-walled shrink tube, wherein a coating of a hot-melt adhesive (“hot melt adhesive 4”) is arranged on an inner cylindrical surface of the shrink tube. See the translation, disclosing “The hotmelt adhesive is protected during the overmolding of the metal part, as it is located under the shrink tubing” and “In this case shrinks the shrink tube to up to 1/3 of its diameter, on the metal body 1 up, see 2 , At the front ends of the shrunk-shrink tube 3 occurs hot melt adhesive 4 out, see 3 ,”
See also Figure 3, below:
As to claim 7, Neumueller discloses wherein the arranging of the one or more seals at the predetermined position of the metal bus bar is performed by a handling apparatus or manually. See the translation, disclosing “The assembly process as well as the shrinking of the hose can be done either manually with a hot air gun or automatically”
As to claim 12, Neumuller discloses sealed bus bar, manufactured by a method according to claim 1, with the one or more seals arranged at a predetermined position of a metal bus bar and a plastic overmoulding around the regions of the one or more seals at least such that the sealing means is completely overmoulded.
See the translation, disclosing:
DISCLOSURE
task The invention is a method which unlike others Method (see above) enables a simple, process-reliable and cost-effective solution, make dense metal-plastic joints and durable even with big ones To ensure temperature fluctuations.
These Task is solved by the following procedure.
One Heat shrink tubing becomes inside, outside or inside and outside coated with hot melt adhesive.
This coated shrink tubing is on the insert to be encapsulated mounted in position. Subsequently is the heat shrink tubing by heat treatment (hot air / oven) shrunk onto the insert, and thus fixed. The insert with shrinked shrink tubing is inserted into the injection mold and splashed over.
Between insert and shrink tubing and shrink tubing and plastic formed by the hot melt adhesive coating a elasti out of bevel. This is able to compensate for the resulting stresses between the insert and the plastic, especially when the temperature changes. The plastic compound becomes tight.
This method has a number of advantages - The assembly process as well as the shrinking of the hose can be done either manually with a hot air gun or automatically. - The assembly as well as the shrinking of the hose can be integrated in an automatic process, a buffer for curing is not required. - The cycle time of the process is very low and does not affect the overall cycle of a complete assembly process. - The shrinking of hoses is state of the art - The process is simple and process-safe because the amount of hot melt adhesive is already on the shrink tubing. The location and amount of the adhesive is thus well defined - The shrinking of the hoses on the metal parts can also be done in advance in a separate assembly process outside the overall production - The hotmelt adhesive is protected during the overmolding of the metal part, as it is located under the shrink tubing.
description of exemplary embodiments
embodiments The invention are illustrated in the drawings and are in Following closer described.
It demonstrate
1 : A perspective view of a metal contact pin with mounted shrink tubing but not yet shrunk thermally
2 : A perspective view of a metal contact pin with mounted shrink tube after shrinking
3 : A heat-shrinkable tube after shrinking with leaving the hot-melt adhesive
4 : Pin pair with shrunk-on shrink tubing with plastic housing (phantom line) overmoulded
5 : Pin pair with shrunk-on shrink tubing with plastic housing encapsulated
6 : Sensor metal housing with outgoing metal pins, whereby heat shrink tubing was shrunk onto the metal housing as well as the pins
1 shows a metallic contact pin 1 on the one with hot melt coated heat shrink tubing 2 is mounted correctly. The illustrated contact pin is designed to match the position of the shrink tube over a projection 10 pretends. The one with heat shrink tubing 2 mounted metallic contact pin 1 is now heated by means of a heat source above 120 ° C. In this case shrinks the shrink tube to up to 1/3 of its diameter, on the metal body 1 up, see 2 , At the front ends of the shrunk-shrink tube 3 occurs hot melt adhesive 4 out, see 3 ,
This Part of the process can be in the overall process or even separately respectively. The contact pin is now prepared for overmoulding.
In the illustrated embodiment 4 will be two prepared contact pins 6 molded. The plastic part 5 shows a plug with rectangular housing receptacle, see 5 , The shrunk shrink tubing 3 on the contact pin is enclosed on all sides, inside the metal pin and on the outside by plastic. The hot melt adhesive now becomes the elastic link of the partners metal and plastic.
6 shows a sensor formed by a metal housing 7 with molded plastic connector 9 , The sensor is via contact pins 1 contacted.
The sealing of the sensor via shrunk-on shrink tubing 3 takes place in three places.
There are heat shrink tubing on the two contact pins 1 Shrunk, as well as a shrink tube 8th on the metal case 7 Shrunk on the upper round waistband. Finally, this pre-assembly part with a connector 9 densely overmoulded. The zone in the area of the shrink hoses is enclosed on all sides after encapsulation.
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Teepen (DE 10044460 B4).
As to claim 1, Teepen discloses a method for manufacturing a sealed bus bar, comprising the following steps: a. providing a metal bus bar having a plurality of bus bar connections (“Also the line 20 is abstract and should represent a variety of different components. So can the line 20 For example, be a hose line through the wall element 12 should be passed. The administration 20 but can also be designed as an electrical conductor with a rectangular cross-section. Material, length and cross-sectional geometry of the pipe 20 play no role in the invention.” See also “As it turned out 2a results in the present embodiment, three conductor tracks 121 Made of an electrically conductive material, for example. Copper, punched out and aligned with each other.”);
b. arranging one or more separate seals at predetermined positions of the metal bus bar; wherein directly after the arrangement step, the following step is performed (“the sealing element 30 preferably formed from a reactive polymer mixture, in particular a reaction adhesive, which has particularly good adhesion properties, in particular to metal. The reactive crosslinking polymer mixture must be capable of contacting the surface of the conduit 20 to adhere and to ensure a good seal there. Furthermore, the polymer mixture must also be able to bond well with the thermoplastic of the wall element 12 enter into. Of course, thermosetting materials are also usable.”),
c. overmoulding the metal bus bar with a plastic overmoulding around the positions of the one or more seals by way of an injection moulding device (“, In addition, the thermoplastic material pressed into the injection mold causes deformation on the surface of the seal member 130 , which arise in particular in the field of injection channels.”) at least such that the one or more seals is completely overmoulded (“The wall element 12 is preferably made of a thermoplastic. The selected material must be such that a dimensionally stable hard wall element can be formed.” See also “For applying the sealing element 130 the known injection molding method is used, so that the injection molding itself need not be discussed further” and “This case 112 is also produced by means of injection molding (here, too, other methods, such as spraying or dispensing are conceivable), wherein the injection mold”).
See the translation, disclosing:
The Invention will now be described with reference to two embodiments with reference closer to the drawing explained. Showing:
1 a perspective view of a structural unit according to the invention;
1b a schematic sectional view of in 1a shown assembly;
1c a section of an area of in 1b shown assembly;
2a - 2c a plug contact in perspective view in three stages of production to explain the method according to the invention;
3 a schematic representation of the in 2c shown connector in longitudinal section;
4a a perspective partially broken view of a modified structural unit containing an electrical assembly; and
4b a sectional view of in 4a shown assembly.
In 1 is a structural unit with the reference numeral 10 characterized. This is an abstract representation, which alone serves to explain the invention. This unit 10 is representative of a variety of different components, all of which have substantially the same structure. So the unit can 10 For example, represent an electrical connector, a housing with an electrical assembly but also a recorded in a plastic housing lock cylinder of a motor vehicle. The present invention itself is not limited to any specific component.
The construction unit 10 comprises a wall element 12 that a passage 13 having. This passage 13 can have any geometry and serves to conduct a line 20 through the wall element 12 through. The wall element 12 may, for example, be part of a housing or the housing itself.
Also the line 20 is abstract and should represent a variety of different components. So can the line 20 For example, be a hose line through the wall element 12 should be passed. The administration 20 but can also be designed as an electrical conductor with a rectangular cross-section. Material, length and cross-sectional geometry of the pipe 20 play no role in the invention.
Within the passage 13 of the wall element 12 is a sealing element 30 intended. For clarity, this sealing element 30 hatched at the edges. The sealing element 30 has the same geometry as the passage 13 on. It is understood that the sealing element 30 is not limited to the drawn rectangular shape. Rather, the sealing element 30 have any shape. As will be apparent from the following description, the shape of the passage 13 at least in the region of the sealing element 30 determined by its shape.
The sealing element 30 on the one hand encloses the line 20 in a longitudinal section 22 and completely along the entire circumference. On the other hand, the sealing member adheres to the inner surface of the passage 13 , This results in a seal of the passage 13 from the front side of the wall element 12 to its rear side.
The wall element 12 is preferably made of a thermoplastic. The selected material must be such that a dimensionally stable hard wall element can be formed. In contrast, the sealing element 30 preferably formed from a reactive polymer mixture, in particular a reaction adhesive, which has particularly good adhesion properties, in particular to metal. The reactive crosslinking polymer mixture must be capable of contacting the surface of the conduit 20 to adhere and to ensure a good seal there. Furthermore, the polymer mixture must also be able to bond well with the thermoplastic of the wall element 12 enter into. Of course, thermosetting materials are also usable.
In 1a is - in the longitudinal direction of the pipe 20 seen - in front of and behind the sealing element 30 a transition area 60 shown, which is marked for clarity with a double hatching. Also for reasons of clarity was on the marking of appropriate transition areas on the other outer surfaces of the sealing element 30 waived. The transition area 60 surrounds the sealing element 30 Completely.
In the aforementioned transition area 60 it is an area in which the thermoplastic material of the wall element 12 with the material of the sealing element 30 has mixed, the concentrations of the two materials vary in this area.
In 1b is the described unit 10 shown in cross section. Clearly visible is the sealing element 30 (hatched), in the passage 13 is provided. In the present embodiment, the passage 13 both to a back 14 as well as to a front side 16 of the wall element 12 closed trained. That means that on one of the back 14 and the front 16 facing end face 31 of the sealing element 30 a surface of the wall element 12 is applied. Only one of the cross section of the line 20 corresponding opening 15 is provided so that the line 20 continue to pass through the wall element. This "encapsulation" of the sealing element 30 has the advantage that the sealing element 30 is protected from external influences.
Furthermore, in 1b the transition area marked with a double hatching 60 clearly visible. This transition area 60 surrounds the sealing element 30 Completely. In this transitional area 60 is both material of the wall element 12 , So preferably a thermoplastic material, as well as material of the sealing member 30 , So preferably a thermoset material available. The concentration of the material for the wall element 12 and the sealing element 30 typically takes to the wall element 12 or to the sealing element 30 towards.
An alternative to the transition area 60 is in 1c represented, wherein the already known reference numerals are used for the same parts. Also in this alternative is a transition area 60 ' present, however, a different structure than the transition area 60 having. Instead of a material mixture is the transition region 60 ' by Materialverformun conditions 61 on the surface of the sealing element 30 Are defined. These deformations 61 arise in that material of the wall element 12 during encapsulation of the sealing element 30 in places penetrates this or displaced material of the sealing element. The sealing element 30 loses - as well as in the 1b Case shown - a geometrically well defined interface, which in 1c indicated by dashed lines and with the reference numeral 62 is marked.
Hereinafter, referring to the 2 the process for producing such a structural unit 10 based on a specific unit, namely a plug 110 , described.
In the present embodiment, the plug 110 a housing 112 on, that one passage 113 includes. Within the passage 113 are plug contacts 120 provided the passage 113 go through and at the back 114 of the plug 110 be exposed for connection to an electrical component. This plug 110 is in 2c shown.
For the production of the plug 110 First, the plug contacts 120 produced. As it turned out 2a results in the present embodiment, three conductor tracks 121 Made of an electrically conductive material, for example. Copper, punched out and aligned with each other. The elongated tracks 121 have a first, as a plug-in section 123 designated longitudinal section, followed by a second, as a sealing portion 122 designated longitudinal portion and a third as a connection portion 124 designated longitudinal section. The tracks 121 extend in the plug section 123 as well as in the connection section 124 parallel to each other, wherein the distance from each other in the plug-in section 123 larger than in the connecting section 124 is. In the middle sealing section 122 have the tracks 121 an enlarged surface, with small holes 126 is provided.
The so-oriented conductor tracks 121 are then in the region of the sealing section 122 encapsulated with a thermoset or wrapped around a sealing element 130 train. As in 2 B shown surrounds this cuboid sealing element 130 the sealing section 122 every trace 121 completely, ie over the entire peripheral surface. For applying the sealing element 130 the known injection molding method is used, so that the injection molding itself need not be discussed further. Of course, other methods are conceivable.
Due to the enlarged surface of the tracks 121 in the sealing section 122 results in a very stable tilt and rotationally stable hold within the sealing element 130 , In addition, the openings provide 126 also for a good grip in the longitudinal direction. The enlarged surface can also be used for attaching electrical components, for example capacitors.
Even before the sealing element 130 is cured, ie in a state in which the sealing element is indeed manageable but still deformable on the surface or miscible with the first material, this assembly is placed in a second cavity to the housing 112 train.
This case 112 is also produced by means of injection molding (here, too, other methods, such as spraying or dispensing are conceivable), wherein the injection mold is chosen so that the sealing element 130 can be completely encapsulated. As the sealing element 130 not yet cured during encapsulation, the not yet cured material of the sealing element mixes 130 with the material of the housing 112 , This results in the aforementioned transition region 60 , In addition, the thermoplastic material pressed into the injection mold causes deformation on the surface of the seal member 130 , which arise in particular in the field of injection channels. Also these deformations 61 as they are in 1c exemplified, define the transition region 60 , The transition area 60 Thus, it may have both zones in which thermoplastic material has mixed with thermosetting material, as well as zones in which the thermoplastic material is the surface of the sealing element 130 deformed. The combination of both cases is possible.
Once the thermoplastic used in the second injection step is solidified, the plug is 110 , as in 2c shown, done.
As can be seen from the sectional view in 3 results, lies the plug section 123 within the passage 113 of the housing 112 , so that an electrical contact can be made by inserting a corresponding socket. Clearly visible is the sealing element 130 that from the case 112 is completely surrounded and thus protected from external influences. In addition, the transition area is also 60 to recognize the sealing element 130 surrounds.
It turns out that the production of such a plug 110 with very few manufacturing steps is feasible. In particular, the necessary sealing element does not have to be applied to the printed conductors as before after its manufacture. Rather, the production of the sealing element and its application to the conductor tracks takes place in one step.
The use of a thermosetting material, preferably an epoxy resin, for the sealing element is particularly advantageous since a polymer mixture, in particular a reaction adhesive, has very good adhesion properties, in particular to metal. This allows a seal of high quality between the line, in the present case the tracks 121 and the sealing element 130 achieve. Due to the formation of a transition region between the sealing element and the housing, this region, which has hitherto been critical with respect to the sealing, can also be defused, so that here too there is a secure area re and permanent sealing is guaranteed. Decisive for the formation of this transition region is that the sealing member is encapsulated before curing.
A second embodiment of a structural unit 210 is in 4a . 4b shown. For simplicity, the same elements as in 1 with the addition of a "2" as a preceded reference numerals, so that the detailed description of 1 can be referenced.
The construction unit 210 includes a housing 211 with an electrical assembly received therein 270 , The housing 211 is alone from the wall element 212 educated. The wall element 212 also surrounds the sealing element in this embodiment 230 Completely. The electrical assembly 270 which consists, for example, of a printed circuit with an IC, resistors, etc., is of the sealing element 230 completely surrounded, that is, that the assembly is completely encapsulated with the second material.
The electrical connection of the encapsulated assembly 270 done with electrical conductors 221 that the sealing element and the wall element 212 go through and outside the case 211 to uncover the connection. It is understood that the electrical / electronic components could alternatively be applied directly to the tracks, so that the additional substrate, as in 4a shown, not applicable.
In 4a and 4b is at least in places also the transition area 60 to be seen during the extrusion of the sealing element 230 - As already explained - results with the first material. In this transitional area 60 If the surface of the sealing member is deformed or the material of the sealing member has mixed with the first material in an outermost layer of the sealing member.
This embodiment also benefits from the good sealing property of the transition region and the second material adhered to the conduit. In addition, the assembly comes 270 not in direct contact with the material of the housing 211 or of the wall element 212 , This has advantages, in particular during production, since the component is protected against thermal, mechanical and / or chemical interactions during encapsulation with the first material. Furthermore, the sealing element serves as a moderator layer during use, in particular with regard to temperature fluctuations.
At the end, it should be noted again that the invention is not limited to those in the 2 and 3 illustrated plug or the in 4a and 4b shown unit is limited. Rather, the invention can be used to produce a wide variety of units.
As to claim 10, Teepen discloses wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium. See the translation above, disclosing “three conductor tracks 121 Made of an electrically conductive material, for example. Copper, punched out and aligned with each other.”
As to claim 11, Teepen discloses wherein the plastic overmoulding is made of polyolefin, polyvinylidene fluoride, Viton, polyvinyl chloride, polyamide, polybutylene terephthalate, liquid crystal polymers, polyphthalamide, polyphenylene sulfide and/or polytetrafluorethylene. Teepen discloses PBT, which is the acronym for polybutylene terephthalate. See the translation, disclosing “In According to a preferred development, the first material is a thermoplastic, preferably PBT, and / or the second material is a reactive polymer mixture, preferably a reaction adhesive.”
As to claim 12, Teepen discloses a sealed bus bar, manufactured by a method according to claim 1, with the one or more seals arranged at a predetermined position of a metal bus bar and a plastic overmoulding around the regions of the one or more seals at least such that the sealing means is completely overmoulded. See the citations above in claim 1.
See also Figures 1a-c and 2a-c, below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumueller (DE 102006001340 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2-3, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Tanaka (WO 2018235314 A1).
As to claim 4, although Neumueller discloses the shrink tube, Neumueller does not disclose the full limitation of wherein, before the arrangement step, the shrink tube is cut to size by means of a cutting device according to the predetermined position of the metal bus bar.
However, Tanaka makes discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein, before the arrangement step, the shrink tube is cut to size by means of a cutting device according to the predetermined position of the metal bus bar.
See the translation, disclosing:
Here, in the general heat-shrinkable tube, a layer corresponding to the adhesive layer is laminated on the inner peripheral side of the layer corresponding to the base material layer. That is, the inner and outer layers of the general heat shrinkable tube are opposite to each other as compared with the heat shrinkable tube 7 used in this process. Therefore, in the method of manufacturing the terminal-attached electric wire, the heat-shrinkable tube 7 used in this step is cut by turning a general heat-shrinkable tube into a desired length and then turning around from one end. You should prepare. Thereby, the heat-shrinkable tube 7 used in this process can be easily formed from a general heat-shrinkable tube.
Although Tanaka does not explicitly state that a cutting device is used, any structure that cuts an heat shrinkable tube would be obvious due to the recitation of cut and within the scope of a cutting device as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein, before the arrangement step, the shrink tube is cut to size by means of a cutting device according to the predetermined position of the metal bus bar as suggested by Tanaka in order to ensure that the shrink tube is cut into a desirable length.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumueller (DE 102006001340 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2-3, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Toth (US 3816171)
As to claim 4, although Neumueller discloses the shrink tube, Neumueller does not disclose the full limitation of wherein, before the arrangement step, the shrink tube is cut to size by means of a cutting device according to the predetermined position of the metal bus bar.
However, Toth disclose the full limitation of wherein, before the arrangement step, the shrink tube is cut to size by means of a cutting device according to the predetermined position of the metal bus bar. Toth discloses in column 2, lines 13-20 that “An alternate method for sealing the same tubing or thermoplastic sheath to the bus-bar ends would be to heat-shrink the thermoplastic insulating tubing upon the bus-bar, as a first operation, scalp, or trim excess tubing to a specified dimension, and then band each of the outer scalped ends of the "boot" with the same polyvinyl chloride adhesive tape.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein, before the arrangement step, the shrink tube is cut to size by means of a cutting device according to the predetermined position of the metal bus bar as taught by Toth in order to properly size the tubing to a specified dimensions.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinecke (DE 102014225757 A1) as applied to claims 1, 5, and 11-12 above.
As to claim 6, official notice is taken that it is well known and conventional to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, on the metal bus bar, a marking for the predetermined position of the one or more seals on the metal bus bar is created by way of a marking device, wherein, during the arrangement step, the one or more seals is arranged according to the marking. Such marking steps are frequently used during measuring and locating of components, for example, by manually or automatically measuring and marking off positions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, on the metal bus bar, a marking for the predetermined position of the one or more seals on the metal bus bar is created by way of a marking device, wherein, during the arrangement step, the one or more seals is arranged according to the marking in order to perform measuring and locating of components, for example, by manually or automatically measuring and marking off positions.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumueller (DE 102006001340 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2-3, 7, and 12 above.
As to claim 6, official notice is taken that it is well known and conventional to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, on the metal bus bar, a marking for the predetermined position of the one or more seals on the metal bus bar is created by way of a marking device, wherein, during the arrangement step, the one or more seals is arranged according to the marking. Such marking steps are frequently used during measuring and locating of components, for example, by manually or automatically measuring and marking off positions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, on the metal bus bar, a marking for the predetermined position of the one or more seals on the metal bus bar is created by way of a marking device, wherein, during the arrangement step, the one or more seals is arranged according to the marking in order to perform measuring and locating of components, for example, by manually or automatically measuring and marking off positions.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teepen (DE 10044460 B4)as applied to claims 1, 10, 11, 12 above.
As to claim 6, official notice is taken that it is well known and conventional to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, on the metal bus bar, a marking for the predetermined position of the one or more seals on the metal bus bar is created by way of a marking device, wherein, during the arrangement step, the one or more seals is arranged according to the marking. Such marking steps are frequently used during measuring and locating of components, for example, by manually or automatically measuring and marking off positions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, on the metal bus bar, a marking for the predetermined position of the one or more seals on the metal bus bar is created by way of a marking device, wherein, during the arrangement step, the one or more seals is arranged according to the marking in order to perform measuring and locating of components, for example, by manually or automatically measuring and marking off positions.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinecke (DE 102014225757 A1) as applied to claims 1, 5, and 11-12 above, and further in view of Toth (US 3816171)
As to claim 8, Steinecke does not disclose wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device.
However, Toth discloses wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device. See column 4, line 32 to column 5, line 2, disclosing:
FIG. 9 illustrates somewhat diagrammatically the many tanks, or vats, which are required in silver-plating aluminum or copper bus-bars, as well known by those skilled in the art. For instance, in silver-plating an aluminum bus-bar, tank 1 would be a wash cleaning solution in hot water, vat 2 would be a cold water rinse, vat 3 would be a nitric acid dip, followed by a cold water rinse. Then a vat would provide a zincate dip for, say, 45 seconds. This would be followed by a cold-water spray rinse in another tank. This would be followed by a cold-water rinse. Then to provide a copper coating over the previously-applied zinc coating, a copper cyanide vat would provide a copper plating of say, for example, .0003 inches for a 20 minute application. Then would follow a water rinse, and then a tank providing a silver cyanide solution would be used to plate a coating of, say, .0001 inches silver on the previously-coated copper coating. Another tank would reclaim the silver, and a final hot-water rinse tank would be used, in which the silver-plated bus-bar would finally be dipped to test for blisters and accelerate drying.
In regard to silver plating a copper bus-bar, instead of an aluminum bus-bar, as previously described, again there would be many vats, or tanks utilized. For example, the cleaning steps; would consist of an alkaline cleaning operation followed by water rinse, nitric-sulfuric acid dip, water rinse, immersion silver plating, reclaim silver, and finally a hot water rinse to accelerate drying of the copper bus-bars. In any event, it is to be noted that several tanks, such as approaching 12 in number, are used in the successive dipping operations. If there were penetration between the preformed "boot" and the bus-bar, the liquid solutions would tend to intermix by the carrying of the liquid solutions by the bus-bar itself. This would not only be undesirable in contaminating the several vats, but, additionally, the corrosive solutions would tend to deteriorate the metallic bus-bar portions under the preformed "boot."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device as taught by Toth in order to achieve an acceptable condition bus bar without blisters.
As to claim 10, Steinecke does not disclose wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium.
However, Toth discloses wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium. See column 4, line 32 to column 5, line 2, disclosing:
FIG. 9 illustrates somewhat diagrammatically the many tanks, or vats, which are required in silver-plating aluminum or copper bus-bars, as well known by those skilled in the art. For instance, in silver-plating an aluminum bus-bar, tank 1 would be a wash cleaning solution in hot water, vat 2 would be a cold water rinse, vat 3 would be a nitric acid dip, followed by a cold water rinse. Then a vat would provide a zincate dip for, say, 45 seconds. This would be followed by a cold-water spray rinse in another tank. This would be followed by a cold-water rinse. Then to provide a copper coating over the previously-applied zinc coating, a copper cyanide vat would provide a copper plating of say, for example, .0003 inches for a 20 minute application. Then would follow a water rinse, and then a tank providing a silver cyanide solution would be used to plate a coating of, say, .0001 inches silver on the previously-coated copper coating. Another tank would reclaim the silver, and a final hot-water rinse tank would be used, in which the silver-plated bus-bar would finally be dipped to test for blisters and accelerate drying.
In regard to silver plating a copper bus-bar, instead of an aluminum bus-bar, as previously described, again there would be many vats, or tanks utilized. For example, the cleaning steps; would consist of an alkaline cleaning operation followed by water rinse, nitric-sulfuric acid dip, water rinse, immersion silver plating, reclaim silver, and finally a hot water rinse to accelerate drying of the copper bus-bars. In any event, it is to be noted that several tanks, such as approaching 12 in number, are used in the successive dipping operations. If there were penetration between the preformed "boot" and the bus-bar, the liquid solutions would tend to intermix by the carrying of the liquid solutions by the bus-bar itself. This would not only be undesirable in contaminating the several vats, but, additionally, the corrosive solutions would tend to deteriorate the metallic bus-bar portions under the preformed "boot."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium as taught by Toth in order to achieve an acceptable condition bus bar without blisters.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumueller (DE 102006001340 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2-3, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Toth (US 3816171)
As to claim 8, Neumuller does not disclose wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device.
However ,Toth discloses wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device. See column 4, line 32 to column 5, line 2, disclosing:
FIG. 9 illustrates somewhat diagrammatically the many tanks, or vats, which are required in silver-plating aluminum or copper bus-bars, as well known by those skilled in the art. For instance, in silver-plating an aluminum bus-bar, tank 1 would be a wash cleaning solution in hot water, vat 2 would be a cold water rinse, vat 3 would be a nitric acid dip, followed by a cold water rinse. Then a vat would provide a zincate dip for, say, 45 seconds. This would be followed by a cold-water spray rinse in another tank. This would be followed by a cold-water rinse. Then to provide a copper coating over the previously-applied zinc coating, a copper cyanide vat would provide a copper plating of say, for example, .0003 inches for a 20 minute application. Then would follow a water rinse, and then a tank providing a silver cyanide solution would be used to plate a coating of, say, .0001 inches silver on the previously-coated copper coating. Another tank would reclaim the silver, and a final hot-water rinse tank would be used, in which the silver-plated bus-bar would finally be dipped to test for blisters and accelerate drying.
In regard to silver plating a copper bus-bar, instead of an aluminum bus-bar, as previously described, again there would be many vats, or tanks utilized. For example, the cleaning steps; would consist of an alkaline cleaning operation followed by water rinse, nitric-sulfuric acid dip, water rinse, immersion silver plating, reclaim silver, and finally a hot water rinse to accelerate drying of the copper bus-bars. In any event, it is to be noted that several tanks, such as approaching 12 in number, are used in the successive dipping operations. If there were penetration between the preformed "boot" and the bus-bar, the liquid solutions would tend to intermix by the carrying of the liquid solutions by the bus-bar itself. This would not only be undesirable in contaminating the several vats, but, additionally, the corrosive solutions would tend to deteriorate the metallic bus-bar portions under the preformed "boot."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device as taught by Toth in order to achieve an acceptable condition bus bar without blisters.
As to claim 10, Neumuller does not disclose wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium.
However, Toth discloses wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium. See column 4, line 32 to column 5, line 2, disclosing:
FIG. 9 illustrates somewhat diagrammatically the many tanks, or vats, which are required in silver-plating aluminum or copper bus-bars, as well known by those skilled in the art. For instance, in silver-plating an aluminum bus-bar, tank 1 would be a wash cleaning solution in hot water, vat 2 would be a cold water rinse, vat 3 would be a nitric acid dip, followed by a cold water rinse. Then a vat would provide a zincate dip for, say, 45 seconds. This would be followed by a cold-water spray rinse in another tank. This would be followed by a cold-water rinse. Then to provide a copper coating over the previously-applied zinc coating, a copper cyanide vat would provide a copper plating of say, for example, .0003 inches for a 20 minute application. Then would follow a water rinse, and then a tank providing a silver cyanide solution would be used to plate a coating of, say, .0001 inches silver on the previously-coated copper coating. Another tank would reclaim the silver, and a final hot-water rinse tank would be used, in which the silver-plated bus-bar would finally be dipped to test for blisters and accelerate drying.
In regard to silver plating a copper bus-bar, instead of an aluminum bus-bar, as previously described, again there would be many vats, or tanks utilized. For example, the cleaning steps; would consist of an alkaline cleaning operation followed by water rinse, nitric-sulfuric acid dip, water rinse, immersion silver plating, reclaim silver, and finally a hot water rinse to accelerate drying of the copper bus-bars. In any event, it is to be noted that several tanks, such as approaching 12 in number, are used in the successive dipping operations. If there were penetration between the preformed "boot" and the bus-bar, the liquid solutions would tend to intermix by the carrying of the liquid solutions by the bus-bar itself. This would not only be undesirable in contaminating the several vats, but, additionally, the corrosive solutions would tend to deteriorate the metallic bus-bar portions under the preformed "boot."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium as taught by Toth in order to achieve an acceptable condition bus bar without blisters.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teepen (DE 10044460 B4)as applied to claims 1, 10, 11, 12 above, and further in view of Toth (US 3816171)
As to claim 8, Teepen does not disclose wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device.
However, Toth discloses wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device. See column 4, line 32 to column 5, line 2, disclosing:
FIG. 9 illustrates somewhat diagrammatically the many tanks, or vats, which are required in silver-plating aluminum or copper bus-bars, as well known by those skilled in the art. For instance, in silver-plating an aluminum bus-bar, tank 1 would be a wash cleaning solution in hot water, vat 2 would be a cold water rinse, vat 3 would be a nitric acid dip, followed by a cold water rinse. Then a vat would provide a zincate dip for, say, 45 seconds. This would be followed by a cold-water spray rinse in another tank. This would be followed by a cold-water rinse. Then to provide a copper coating over the previously-applied zinc coating, a copper cyanide vat would provide a copper plating of say, for example, .0003 inches for a 20 minute application. Then would follow a water rinse, and then a tank providing a silver cyanide solution would be used to plate a coating of, say, .0001 inches silver on the previously-coated copper coating. Another tank would reclaim the silver, and a final hot-water rinse tank would be used, in which the silver-plated bus-bar would finally be dipped to test for blisters and accelerate drying.
In regard to silver plating a copper bus-bar, instead of an aluminum bus-bar, as previously described, again there would be many vats, or tanks utilized. For example, the cleaning steps; would consist of an alkaline cleaning operation followed by water rinse, nitric-sulfuric acid dip, water rinse, immersion silver plating, reclaim silver, and finally a hot water rinse to accelerate drying of the copper bus-bars. In any event, it is to be noted that several tanks, such as approaching 12 in number, are used in the successive dipping operations. If there were penetration between the preformed "boot" and the bus-bar, the liquid solutions would tend to intermix by the carrying of the liquid solutions by the bus-bar itself. This would not only be undesirable in contaminating the several vats, but, additionally, the corrosive solutions would tend to deteriorate the metallic bus-bar portions under the preformed "boot."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, before the arrangement step, the metal bus bar is cleaned by means of a cleaning device as taught by Toth in order to achieve an acceptable condition bus bar without blisters.
As to claim 10, Teepen does not disclose wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium.
However, Toth discloses wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium. See column 4, line 32 to column 5, line 2, disclosing:
FIG. 9 illustrates somewhat diagrammatically the many tanks, or vats, which are required in silver-plating aluminum or copper bus-bars, as well known by those skilled in the art. For instance, in silver-plating an aluminum bus-bar, tank 1 would be a wash cleaning solution in hot water, vat 2 would be a cold water rinse, vat 3 would be a nitric acid dip, followed by a cold water rinse. Then a vat would provide a zincate dip for, say, 45 seconds. This would be followed by a cold-water spray rinse in another tank. This would be followed by a cold-water rinse. Then to provide a copper coating over the previously-applied zinc coating, a copper cyanide vat would provide a copper plating of say, for example, .0003 inches for a 20 minute application. Then would follow a water rinse, and then a tank providing a silver cyanide solution would be used to plate a coating of, say, .0001 inches silver on the previously-coated copper coating. Another tank would reclaim the silver, and a final hot-water rinse tank would be used, in which the silver-plated bus-bar would finally be dipped to test for blisters and accelerate drying.
In regard to silver plating a copper bus-bar, instead of an aluminum bus-bar, as previously described, again there would be many vats, or tanks utilized. For example, the cleaning steps; would consist of an alkaline cleaning operation followed by water rinse, nitric-sulfuric acid dip, water rinse, immersion silver plating, reclaim silver, and finally a hot water rinse to accelerate drying of the copper bus-bars. In any event, it is to be noted that several tanks, such as approaching 12 in number, are used in the successive dipping operations. If there were penetration between the preformed "boot" and the bus-bar, the liquid solutions would tend to intermix by the carrying of the liquid solutions by the bus-bar itself. This would not only be undesirable in contaminating the several vats, but, additionally, the corrosive solutions would tend to deteriorate the metallic bus-bar portions under the preformed "boot."
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the metal bus bar is made of copper or aluminium and/or alloys of copper or aluminium as taught by Toth in order to achieve an acceptable condition bus bar without blisters.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinecke (DE 102014225757 A1) as applied to claims 1, 5, and 11-12 above, and further in view of Sugimoto (JP H10247547 A).
As to claim 9, Steinecke does not disclose wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device.
However, Sugimoto discloses wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device. See the translation, disclosing:
Incidentally, ten prototypes of the waterproof connector as shown in FIG. 1B were manufactured using a simple hand molding machine (Example). That is, a heat-shrinkable silicone tube was inserted into a metal terminal, heated to 85 ° C. to adhere closely, and molded using polypropylene as an insert. A water leak test was performed on the waterproof connectors of these examples under the same conditions as those of 10 connectors molded under exactly the same conditions except that no rubber layer was provided on the metal terminals (comparative example). Water leakage was observed in three of them, but none of the waterproof connectors of the examples leaked.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device as taught by Sugimoto in order to enable test of the waterproofness of the mouldings.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumueller (DE 102006001340 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2-3, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of Sugimoto (JP H10247547 A).
As to claim 9, Neumueller does not disclose wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device.
However, Sugimoto discloses wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device. See the translation, disclosing:
Incidentally, ten prototypes of the waterproof connector as shown in FIG. 1B were manufactured using a simple hand molding machine (Example). That is, a heat-shrinkable silicone tube was inserted into a metal terminal, heated to 85 ° C. to adhere closely, and molded using polypropylene as an insert. A water leak test was performed on the waterproof connectors of these examples under the same conditions as those of 10 connectors molded under exactly the same conditions except that no rubber layer was provided on the metal terminals (comparative example). Water leakage was observed in three of them, but none of the waterproof connectors of the examples leaked.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device as taught by Sugimoto in order to enable test of the waterproofness of the mouldings.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teepen (DE 10044460 B4)as applied to claims 1, 10, 11, 12 above, and further in view of Sugimoto (JP H10247547 A).
As to claim 9, Teepen does not disclose wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device.
However, Sugimoto discloses wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device. See the translation, disclosing:
Incidentally, ten prototypes of the waterproof connector as shown in FIG. 1B were manufactured using a simple hand molding machine (Example). That is, a heat-shrinkable silicone tube was inserted into a metal terminal, heated to 85 ° C. to adhere closely, and molded using polypropylene as an insert. A water leak test was performed on the waterproof connectors of these examples under the same conditions as those of 10 connectors molded under exactly the same conditions except that no rubber layer was provided on the metal terminals (comparative example). Water leakage was observed in three of them, but none of the waterproof connectors of the examples leaked.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein, after the overmoulding step, a leak test is performed by means of a corresponding testing device as taught by Sugimoto in order to enable test of the waterproofness of the mouldings.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK