DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to a non-provisional utility patent application filed by Applicant on 07/08/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statements submitted by applicant on 07/08/2025, 11/13/2025, and 04/23/2026 have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Double Patenting
No conflicting application or issued patent was identified that would require a rejection under double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4, 7–12, 14–15, 31, 40, 46, 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites acquiring, when device disconnection is determined, an expiration value of a device-network address association, and deleting the association when the expiration value is exceeded.
The limitation of acquiring a value, detecting a disconnection, and determining whether an expiration value has been exceeded, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “applied to a … network device … notified by a[nother] network device,” nothing in the claim elements preclude the step from practically being performed in the mind with the aid of pen and paper. For example, managing a device-to-network address table and receiving values indicating the lifetime of the entries and then removing the associations, encompasses the user manually writing a list and checking time durations with a clock to determine which associations have become stale and then taking the entries off the list. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The preamble recites a “a method for security table entry maintenance, which is applied to a first network device, the first network device comprising a remote MAC-IP table” are additional elements that amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception to a general purpose computer and/or computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Finally, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and/or computer component. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 4 and 11 only adds further recitations of receiving a second lifetime value and a second sequence number and entering a new entry to the table. The mental steps continue, by simply adding additional entries to the table using newly received values, but for the use of a generic computer and/or computer component.
Claims 7 only adds further recitations of receiving a third sequence number, matching entry values, comparing sequence number values, and deleting entries. The mental steps continue, but for the use of a generic computer and/or computer component.
Claims 8–9 and 14–15 only adds further recitations of receiving an attribute that includes a lifetime value. The mental steps continue, but for the use of a generic computer and/or computer component.
Claims 12 only adds further recitations of matching entries, comparing sequence numbers, and sending notifications. The mental steps continue, but for the use of a generic computer and/or computer component.
Claims 31 and 40 only add a processor, a transceiver, and machine storage medium, which are additional elements that amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception to a general-purpose computer and/or computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 46 and 48 only add a non-transitory machine readable storage medium and a processor, which are additional elements that amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception to a general-purpose computer and/or computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 31, 40, 46, 48 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanekar (US 2007/0121617 A1, published May 31, 2007, cited in IDS filed 04/23/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Kanekar discloses: a method for security table entry maintenance, which is applied to a first network device, the first network device comprising a remote MAC-IP table (routers 306a–b maintain their own DHCP Snooping databases 312a–b and are remote from the hosts, various supported switches, and the DHCP server. Kanekar Figure 3A and ¶¶ 32–34.), the remote MAC-IP table comprising at least one remote MAC-IP table entry notified by a second network device (DHCP Snooping Database stores entries of binding information between IP address and corresponding MAC address along with interface information, VLAN number binding type, and age information, where the information is initiated by a sending router. Kanekar ¶¶ 35 and 38.), wherein the method comprises: acquiring, in response to determining that a protocol connection between the first network device and the second network device is disconnected, a valid lifetime value included in each remote MAC-IP table entry (each binding entry has an age field used to determine whether the binding has timed out or relinquished by the corresponding host. Kanekar ¶ 41. When a switchover is imminent, the binding information is sent to complete shutdown of the failing router. Kanekar ¶ 38.), the valid lifetime value is used to indicate a valid lifetime of an IP address included in the remote MAC-IP table entry (the age field can indicate the amount of time that has passed since the last response from the corresponding host and then can determine whether an entry has timed out when the value is greater than a predefined value. Kanekar ¶ 41.); deleting, in response to determining that a duration during which the protocol connection is disconnected reaches the valid lifetime value, the at least one remote MAC-IP table entry (once an entry has timed out, the aged binding entries are removed from each DHCP Snooping Database. Kanekar ¶ 41.).
Regarding claim 10, Kanekar discloses: a method for security table entry maintenance, which is applied to a second network device, the second network device comprising a first remote MAC-IP table (routers 306a–b maintain their own DHCP Snooping databases 312a–b and are remote from the hosts, various supported switches, and the DHCP server. Kanekar Figure 3A and ¶¶ 32–34.), the first remote MAC-IP table comprising at least one remote MAC-IP table entry notified by a fourth network device (DHCP Snooping Database stores entries of binding information between IP address and corresponding MAC address along with interface information, VLAN number binding type, and age information, where the information is initiated by a sending router. Kanekar ¶¶ 35 and 38.), wherein the method comprises: acquiring, in response to determining that a protocol connection between the second network device and the fourth network device is disconnected, a valid lifetime value included in each remote MAC-IP table entry (each binding entry has an age field used to determine whether the binding has timed out or relinquished by the corresponding host. Kanekar ¶ 41. When a switchover is imminent, the binding information is sent to complete shutdown of the failing router. Kanekar ¶ 38.), wherein the valid lifetime value is used to indicate a valid lifetime of an IP address included in the remote MAC-IP table entry (the age field can indicate the amount of time that has passed since the last response from the corresponding host and then can determine whether an entry has timed out when the value is greater than a predefined value. Kanekar ¶ 41.); deleting, in response to determining that a duration during which the protocol connection is disconnected reaches the valid lifetime value, the at least one remote MAC-IP table entry (once an entry has timed out, the aged binding entries are removed from each DHCP Snooping Database. Kanekar ¶ 41.).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Kanekar discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively, wherein the MAC-IP notification message sent by the first network device includes a first extended community attribute, and the first extended community attribute includes a valid lifetime value of an IP address (receiving DHCP binding entries include IP address and corresponding MAC address, interface information and a status field indicating whether the binding was locally learned in an operation 406 and also cinldues other standard DHCP table fields such as VLAN number, binding type, and age information. Kanekar Figures 5A–B and ¶ 35.).
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Kanekar discloses the limitations of claims 8 and 14, respectively, wherein the MAC-IP notification message sent by the first network device further comprises a second extended community attribute, which comprises a sequence number of a MAC-IP table entry (receiving DHCP binding entries include IP address and corresponding MAC address, interface information and a status field indicating whether the binding was locally learned in an operation 406 and also cinldues other standard DHCP table fields such as VLAN number, binding type, and age information. Kanekar Figures 5A–B and ¶ 35.).
Regarding claim 31, Kanekar discloses a first network device, wherein the first network device includes a remote MAC-IP table, the remote MAC-IP table includes at least one remote MAC-IP table entry notified by a second network device, and the first network device comprises: a processor; a transceiver; a machine storage medium having stored therein machine executable instructions which, when being executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (same basis as mapped in claim 1.).
Regarding claim 40, Kanekar discloses a second network device, wherein the second network device includes a first remote MAC-IP table, the first remote MAC-IP table includes at least one remote MAC-IP table entry notified by a fourth network device, and the second network device comprises: a processor; a transceiver; a machine storage medium having stored therein machine executable instructions which, when being executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 10 (same basis as mapped in claim 10.).
Regarding claim 46, Kanekar discloses a non-transitory machine readable storage medium having stored therein machine executable instructions that, when invoked and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (same basis as mapped in claim 1.).
Regarding claim 48, Kanekar discloses a non-transitory machine readable storage medium having stored therein machine executable instructions that, when invoked and executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 10 (same basis as mapped in claim 10.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, and 11–12 are subject to the above subject matter eligibility rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, as are the respective intervening claims. Were Applicant to overcome the subject matter eligibility rejection, these claims would be objected to as begin dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2–3, 5–6, and 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Adiga (US 2022/0224626 A1, published Jul. 14, 2022, cited in IDS filed 04/23/2026), DHCP client disconnection causes deletion of corresponding entry the MAC table; Zilbershtein (US 2008/0177868 A1, published Jul. 24, 2008), DHCP server provides clients with configuration parameter values including default TTL values; Uchizumi (US 10,397,111 B2, issued Aug. 27, 2019, cited in IDS filed 04/23/2026), protocol information table for MAC addresses manages entries based upon expiration times and disconnections; Peixoto (US 2019/0104127 A1, published Apr. 4, 2019), dynamic address table that removes physical addresses at the expiration of an aging time; Mandal (US 2021/0075759 A1, published Mar. 11, 2021), IP/MAC bindings manage time-out expirations.
/VANCE M LITTLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493