Detailed Action
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: AIR COMPRESSOR WITH MOTOR COOLING AIR FLOW PATH
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR20210117686A (‘686).
Claim 1: ‘686 discloses an air compressor (1000) comprising a housing (210) configured to accommodate a motor having a motor shaft (202), the housing having a coolant flow path (212) formed between a cylindrical inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface so that a coolant flows along the coolant flow path (Fig. 3); a front housing (110) coupled to a front side of the housing and configured to support an impeller (120) configured to suck outside air; a front cartridge (220) configured to accommodate a front journal bearing (321) and configured to support a front side of the motor shaft by means of the front journal bearing (Fig. 3); a rear cartridge (230) configured to accommodate a rear journal bearing (322) and configured to support a rear side of the motor shaft by means of the rear journal bearing (Fig. 3); a rear housing (240) coupled to a rear side of the housing and configured to seal the rear side of the housing (Fig. 3); and a cooling air flow path (note path of air from front of impeller towards P1 and P2) configured to cool the motor shaft or the motor by receiving a part of air introduced from a front side of the impeller and introducing the air into the housing (Fig. 3), wherein the cooling air flow path comprises a cooling air space (note space near/around thrust bearing 312) formed between the front housing (110) and the front cartridge (220).
Claim 2: ‘686 further discloses that the cooling air flow path passes along the front journal bearing and the rear journal bearing (Fig. 3, note paragraph 17).
Claim 3: ‘686 further discloses that the cooling air flow path comprises a first flow path formed between the impeller and the front housing to supply a part of the air, which is introduced into the impeller, to the cooling air space (Fig. 3, note air path around impeller towards space around 312); a second flow path formed through the front cartridge to introduce the air in the cooling air space into a motor space in the housing (Fig. 3, note air path from the space around 312 which can travel adjacent to 321 and into space around motor); and a third flow path formed in the housing and configured to allow the second flow path and the motor space to communicate with each other (Fig. 3).
Claim 4: ‘686 further discloses that the air compressor comprises a disc (130) provided on the motor shaft, and wherein the disc is disposed between the front housing and the front cartridge (Fig. 3).
Claim 5: ‘686 further discloses that a front side of the disc is rotatably supported by a front thrust bearing provided between the disc and the front housing (Fig. 3), wherein a rear side of the disc is rotatably supported by a rear thrust bearing provided between the disc and the front cartridge (Fig. 3), and wherein cooling air introduced into the first flow path is introduced into the cooling air space via the front thrust bearing and the rear thrust bearing to cool the front thrust bearing and the rear thrust bearing (Fig. 3).
Claim 11: ‘686 further discloses that the cooling air flow path comprises a first path and a second path (Fig. 3), and wherein the first path passes along the first flow path (Fig. 3), the first and second spaces (Fig. 3), the second and third flow paths (Fig. 3), the motor space (Fig. 3), the motor (Fig. 3), and a fourth flow path formed through the rear cartridge (Fig. 3, note 232).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210117686A (‘686) in view of KR101552124B1 (‘212).
Claim 8: ‘686 discloses the previous limitations but is not explicit about a radially outer side of the cooling air space is sealed by an O-ring provided between the front housing and a radially outer side of the front cartridge. However, ‘212 teaches a compressor whose radially outer side of a cooling air space (note Fig. 1, note space near 14-1) is sealed by an O-ring (14-1) provided between a front housing (20) and a radially outer side of a front cartridge (note front cartridge portion of 1 outside of 16-1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a zig-zag type flow path to maximize the heat transfer between the coolant and interior of the pump housing. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize an O-ring as taught by ‘212 in the apparatus of ‘686 in order to reduce the occurrences of fluid leaks.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20210117686A (‘686) in view of Kim (KR20220121072A).
Claim 14: ‘686 discloses the previous limitations but is not explicit about the coolant flow path is configured as a zigzag-type flow path including a plurality of straight flow paths configured to deliver the coolant in a longitudinal direction of the housing; and a plurality of connection flow paths configured to alternately connect ends of the straight flow paths and ends of the adjacent straight flow paths. However, Kim (Fig. 8) teaches a compressor arrangement whose coolant flow path is configured as a zigzag-type flow path including a plurality of straight flow paths (51a) configured to deliver the coolant in a longitudinal direction of the housing; and a plurality of connection flow paths (51c/51b) configured to alternately connect ends of the straight flow paths and ends of the adjacent straight flow paths. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize a zig-zag type flow path to maximize the heat transfer between the coolant and interior of the pump housing.
Claim 15: ‘686 and Kim teach the previous limitations. ‘686 further discloses that a front side end of the coolant flow path is disposed adjacent to the front cartridge (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-10 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the cooling air space comprises a first space formed radially inside a front surface of the front cartridge and a second space formed radially outward such that the front cartridge comprises a ring-shaped protrusion protruding forward in a circumferential direction from the front surface of the front cartridge to separate the first space and the second space, and a through-groove recessed rearward at a front side end of the ring-shaped protrusion to allow the first space and the second space to communicate with each other, wherein the first space communicates with the first flow path, and wherein the second space communicates with the second flow path.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746