DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on July 9th, 2025. Claims 1-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on July 9th, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for 371 priority to PCT/JP2023/042672 dated November 29th, 2023 and further foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to JP2023-023305 dated February 17th, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as anticipated by US-20200370277 (hereinafter, “Takaoka”).
Regarding claim 1 Takaoka discloses a system for controlling a work machine (see at least [0002]; “The present invention relates to a control system for a work vehicle, a method, and a work vehicle.”), the system comprising:
a position sensor that outputs position data indicating a position of the work machine (see at least [0039]; “The positional sensor 31 measures a position of the work vehicle 1”); and
a controller that acquires the position data from the position sensor (see at least [0035]; “The controller 26 is programmed to control the work vehicle 1 based on acquired data” and [0039]; “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the control system 3 includes a position sensor 31”), the controller being configured to
acquire current topography data indicating current topography of a work site (see at least [0045]; “The controller 26 acquires actual topography data. The actual topography data indicates an actual topography of the work site”),
acquire a target design surface at least a part of which is located below the current topography (see at least [0044]; “the storage device 28 stores design topography data and work site topography data. The design topography data indicates a final design topography,” and Fig. 5, target design topography 80 and section between is at least partly located below the current topography 50),
sequentially determine a target excavation surface upward from the target design surface (see at least Fig. 8, 70a-70d are the target excavation surfaces),
determine a plurality of excavation paths that each extends in a predetermined work direction on the target excavation surface and is arranged in a direction intersecting the predetermined work direction (see at least Fig. 8 and [0068]; “Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the controller 26 generates a plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d that are vertically displaced from each other by a predetermined distance dZ,” these intermediate design topographies correspond to the excavation paths), and
control the work machine according to the plurality of excavation paths (see at least [0070]; “In step S108, the controller 26 determines a start position of work. As illustrated in FIG. 9, the controller 26 performs digging according to the first target design topography 70”).
Regarding claim 2 Takaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Takaoka discloses wherein the target design surface (see at Fig. 5, target design topography 80 and section between) includes:
a final design surface located at a bottom of the target design surface (see at least Fig. 8; surface section between 81 and 82); and
a high wall design surface that extends upward from the final design surface in a direction opposite to the predetermined work direction (see at least Fig. 8; surface section 81), and
the controller (see at least Fig. 2; controller 26)
determines a reference point on the high wall design surface (see at least Fig. 8 the points where the surfaces/paths 70a-70d intersect with the high wall correspond to reference points) located at every predetermined height upward from the final design surface (see at least [0068]; “the controller 26 generates a plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d that are vertically displaced from each other by a predetermined distance dZ”),
determines a temporary excavation surface that passes through the reference point (see at least [0073]; “the controller 26 determines one first target design topography 70b, completes digging work along the first target design topography 70b, and subsequently determines another first target design topography 70c, the entry path 81 or the exit path 82 may intersect the plurality of first target design topographies 70,” 70a-70d are only temporary surfaces to get to the final design surface), and
determines the target excavation surface on a basis of the temporary excavation surface (see at least [0068]; “The controller 26 selects one topography immediately below the actual topography 50 (the first target design topography 70b in the example illustrated in FIG. 8) among the plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d to determine the selected topography as the first target design topography 70”).
Regarding claim 3 Takaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Takaoka discloses wherein the target design surface (see at Fig. 5, target design topography 80 and section between) includes:
a final design surface located at a bottom of the target design surface (see at least Fig. 8; surface section between 81 and 82); and
a high wall design surface that extends upward from the final design surface in a direction opposite to the predetermined work direction (see at least Fig. 8; surface section 81), and
the controller (see at least Fig. 2; controller 26)
determines a half straight line that extends upward from an uppermost point of the high wall design surface (see at least Fig. 5, P0 designates the uppermost point of the high wall, if this can be obtained a line directly upwards from it may also be obtained).
determines a temporary excavation surface (see at least [0073]; “the controller 26 determines one first target design topography 70b, completes digging work along the first target design topography 70b, and subsequently determines another first target design topography 70c, the entry path 81 or the exit path 82 may intersect the plurality of first target design topographies 70,” 70a-70d are only temporary surfaces to get to the final design surface) that passes through a reference point on the high wall design surface (see at least Fig. 8 the points where the surfaces/paths 70a-70d intersect with the high wall correspond to reference points) located at every predetermined height upward from the final design surface and the half straight line (see at least [0068]; “the controller 26 generates a plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d that are vertically displaced from each other by a predetermined distance dZ”), and
determines the target excavation surface on a basis of the temporary excavation surface (see at least [0068]; “The controller 26 selects one topography immediately below the actual topography 50 (the first target design topography 70b in the example illustrated in FIG. 8) among the plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d to determine the selected topography as the first target design topography 70”).
Regarding claim 4 Takaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Additionally, Takaoka discloses wherein the target design surface (see at Fig. 5, target design topography 80 and section between) further includes:
a low wall design surface that extends upward from the final design surface in the predetermined work direction (see at least Fig. 8; surface section 82); and
a pivot point at which the low wall design surface and the current topography intersect with each other (see at least Fig. 8; the terminating end point corresponds to the pivot point”).
the controller determines a plane that connects the reference point and the pivot point as the temporary excavation surface (see at least Fig. 8, excavation surface 70a, which is a plane, connects from a point on the high wall to a point on the low wall where it meets the existing terrain, also known as the pivot point).
Regarding claim 7 Takaoka discloses a method for controlling a work machine (see at least [0002]; “The present invention relates to a control system for a work vehicle, a method, and a work vehicle.”), the method comprising:
acquiring current topography data indicating current topography of a work site (see at least [0045]; “The controller 26 acquires actual topography data. The actual topography data indicates an actual topography of the work site”);
acquiring a target design surface at least a part of which is located below the current topography (see at least [0044]; “the storage device 28 stores design topography data and work site topography data. The design topography data indicates a final design topography,” and Fig. 5, target design topography 80 and section between is at least partly located below the current topography 50);
sequentially determining a target excavation surface upward from the target design surface (see at least Fig. 8, 70a-70d are the target excavation surfaces);
determining a plurality of excavation paths that each extends in a predetermined work direction on the target excavation surface and is arranged in a direction intersecting the predetermined work direction (see at least Fig. 8 and [0068]; “Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 8, the controller 26 generates a plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d that are vertically displaced from each other by a predetermined distance dZ,” these intermediate design topographies correspond to the excavation paths); and
controlling the work machine according to the plurality of excavation paths (see at least [0070]; “In step S108, the controller 26 determines a start position of work. As illustrated in FIG. 9, the controller 26 performs digging according to the first target design topography 70”).
Regarding claim 8 Takaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Takaoka discloses wherein the target design surface (see at Fig. 5, target design topography 80 and section between) includes:
a final design surface located at a bottom of the target design surface (see at least Fig. 8; surface section between 81 and 82); and
a high wall design surface that extends upward from the final design surface in a direction opposite to the predetermined work direction (see at least Fig. 8; surface section 81), and
the method includes:
determining a temporary excavation surface (see at least [0073]; “the controller 26 determines one first target design topography 70b, completes digging work along the first target design topography 70b, and subsequently determines another first target design topography 70c, the entry path 81 or the exit path 82 may intersect the plurality of first target design topographies 70,” 70a-70d are only temporary surfaces to get to the final design surface) that passes through a reference point on the high wall design surface (see at least Fig. 8 the points where the surfaces/paths 70a-70d intersect with the high wall correspond to reference points) located at every predetermined height upward from the final design surface (see at least [0068]; “the controller 26 generates a plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d that are vertically displaced from each other by a predetermined distance dZ”); and
determining the target excavation surface on a basis of the temporary excavation surface (see at least [0068]; “The controller 26 selects one topography immediately below the actual topography 50 (the first target design topography 70b in the example illustrated in FIG. 8) among the plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d to determine the selected topography as the first target design topography 70”).
Regarding claim 9 Takaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Takaoka discloses wherein the target design surface (see at Fig. 5, target design topography 80 and section between) includes:
a final design surface located at a bottom of the target design surface (see at least Fig. 8; surface section between 81 and 82); and
a high wall design surface that extends upward from the final design surface in a direction opposite to the predetermined work direction (see at least Fig. 8; surface section 81), and
the method includes:
determining a half straight line that extends upward from an uppermost point of the high wall design surface (see at least Fig. 5, P0 designates the uppermost point of the high wall, if this can be obtained a line directly upwards from it may also be obtained).
determining a temporary excavation surface (see at least [0073]; “the controller 26 determines one first target design topography 70b, completes digging work along the first target design topography 70b, and subsequently determines another first target design topography 70c, the entry path 81 or the exit path 82 may intersect the plurality of first target design topographies 70,” 70a-70d are only temporary surfaces to get to the final design surface) that passes through a reference point on the high wall design surface (see at least Fig. 8 the points where the surfaces/paths 70a-70d intersect with the high wall correspond to reference points) located at every predetermined height upward from the final design surface and the half straight line (see at least [0068]; “the controller 26 generates a plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d that are vertically displaced from each other by a predetermined distance dZ”), and
determining the target excavation surface on a basis of the temporary excavation surface (see at least [0068]; “The controller 26 selects one topography immediately below the actual topography 50 (the first target design topography 70b in the example illustrated in FIG. 8) among the plurality of first target design topographies 70a to 70d to determine the selected topography as the first target design topography 70”).
Regarding claim 10 Takaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. Additionally, Takaoka discloses wherein the target design surface (see at Fig. 5, target design topography 80 and section between) further includes;
a low wall design surface that extends upward from the final design surface in the predetermined work direction (see at least Fig. 8; surface section 82); and
a pivot point at which the low wall design surface and the current topography intersect with each other (see at least Fig. 8; the terminating end point corresponds to the pivot point”).
the method further includes determining a plane that connects the reference point and the pivot point as the temporary excavation surface (see at least Fig. 8, excavation surface 70a, which is a plane, connects from a point on the high wall to a point on the low wall where it meets the existing terrain, also known as the pivot point).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 11, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the claim limitation of determining a second temporary excavation surface wherein the surface corresponds to a plane that connects a second reference point on the high wall design surface upward from a first reference point and a pivot point, of claims 5, 6, 11, and 12, in combination with the claims on which it depends, renders the claim novel and non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Takaoka discloses a control system for a work vehicle. The system of Takaoka acquires both desired and current topography of a work site and calculates multiple excavation paths which can be used sequentially to yield the final desired topography. As shown by Fig. 8 of Takaoka, one of the target design surfaces includes both a high and low wall, as well as a bottom. Furthermore, multiple paths between the walls are able to be determined that when executed sequentially will cause the bulldozer to produce the desired surface. One of the surfaces to be executed by the work machine of Takaoka is a plane between the high wall and the pivot point. Takaoka, however, does not disclose a plane which connects a second reference point upward of a first reference point to a pivot point.
Wei (US-20160076223), in the same field of endeavor, discloses a system for autonomously controlling a work machine. The system of Wei is similar to the system of Takaoka. The system discloses multiple temporary excavation surfaces which when executed sequentially yield a desired final topography. Unlike Wei, more than one of the temporary excavation surfaces, which are planes, connect from one side to a pivot point. However, the claims as written require more than one excavation surface to connect the pivot point to multiple high wall reference points, specifically with a second reference point above a first reference point, this is not taught by Wei. Wei does not disclose reference points on a high wall of the final design surface because the final design surface presented in Wei does not include a high wall at all instead the excavation surfaces connect one point on the current topography to the pivot point. Therefore, Examiner asserts that this is not taught by Takaoka or Wei.
Furthermore, Examiner asserts that it would not have been obvious to modify the invention of Takaoka as modified by Wei in such a manner so as to yield the excavation surfaces as claimed by applicant’s invention. Therefore, Examiner asserts that the claims contain allowable subject matter and if rewritten in independent claim for including all limitations of the base claim and intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP2021101078 discloses a system and method for controlling an industrial machine to excavate the ground in a desired manner.
/ASHLEIGH NICOLE TURNBAUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
9/1/26