DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “98” has been used to designate both a clevis and a part of a vane [see Fig 23].
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 94 [page 23, line 10. It is unclear whether Fig. 23 should have 94 instead of 98].
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is missing a period at the end. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1, last line “the clevises extend in the extension of the spars” lacks proper antecedent basis. Furthermore, the extension of the spars is not clearly defined.
Claims 2, 10 “the number” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim 5 “the/this contour” should be –the peripheral contour—for consistency.
Claim 7 “several spars and vanes” is unclear whether there are several refers to just the spars or also to the vanes. Also, these vanes appear to be the at least one deflection element of claim 1 but without clarifying the relationship between the two elements.
Claim 8 “at least one [of??] or some of the [at least two???] clevises are at a distance from the longitudinal ends of the profile carrying these clevises??” is unclear because the second recitation makes it appear that there are a plurality of these clevices and is inconsistently worded.
Claims 13, 15-17 are unclear. For example “An assembly comprising a module according to claim 1 and a hinge fitting of the module, the [hinge?] fitting comprising clevises [???] configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises of the module.” The limitation is unclear because the hinge fitting is specified as of the module and … comprising “clevises”. However, clevices of the module vs fitting comprising clevices is confusingly set forth since both types of clevices are “of the module” since hinge fitting is also of the module. See also claims 15-17 for analogous issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-9, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jurich (4807434). Jurich teaches [see annotations] (1) A jet deflection module for a thrust reverser of an aircraft turbomachine, this module extending in a surface (P) and comprising: - spars [see annotations] which are spaced apart and parallel to each other, - at least one deflection element 110 which extends between the spars and is connected to these spars, - two fastening profiles [see e.g. Figs. 5, 7], at the front and rear, respectively, which are connected to the spars and which, together with two of these spars, form a peripheral contour of the module, a first of the fastening profiles comprising at least two hinge clevises 122 which are parallel to each other and to the spars and which each comprise an orifice, the orifices of the clevises being aligned and defining an pivot axis (A) of the module, wherein the clevises extend in the extension of the spars [see annotations]. (3) wherein the clevises 122 are formed in one piece with the rest of the module or are mounted and fastened to the rest of the module. (5) wherein said first profile comprises a first side located inside said contour and a second opposite side located outside this contour, the first side comprising suction side surfaces [see annotations], the second side comprising the clevises 122. (6) wherein said first profile is the front profile. (8) wherein at least one or some of the clevises 122 are at a distance from the longitudinal ends of the profile carrying these clevises. (9) wherein the fastening profiles are perpendicular to the spars. (11) wherein the clevises are single-ear or double-ear. (14) A thrust reverser for an aircraft turbomachine, comprising at least one module according to claim (1).
Claim(s)1, 3, 5-11, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pautis et al (2018/0372024). Pautis et al teach (1) A jet deflection module for a thrust reverser of an aircraft turbomachine, this module 46 or 50 extending in a surface (P) and comprising: - spars which are spaced apart and parallel to each other, - at least one deflection element [vanes] which extends between the spars and is connected to these spars, - two fastening profiles, at the front and rear, respectively, which are connected to the spars and which, together with two of these spars, form a peripheral contour of the module, a first of the fastening profiles comprising at least two hinge clevises [see annotations] which are parallel to each other and to the spars and which each comprise an orifice, the orifices of the clevises being aligned and defining an pivot axis (L) of the module, wherein the clevises extend in the extension of the spars. (3) wherein the clevises are formed in one piece with the rest of the module or are mounted and fastened to the rest of the module. (5) wherein said first profile comprises a first side located inside said contour and a second opposite side located outside this contour, the first side comprising suction side surfaces, the second side comprising the clevises [similar to the annotations of Jurich]. (6) wherein said first profile is the front profile. (7) wherein this module is a grid 46 comprising several spars and vanes which extend between the spars and which are connected to these spars, these vanes being perpendicular to the spars [see Figs. 7, 8]. (8) wherein at least one or some of the clevises are at a distance from the longitudinal ends of the profile carrying these clevises. (9) wherein the fastening profiles are perpendicular to the spars. (10) wherein the number of clevises is between two and eight [see Fig. 8, and note Figs. 3, 4 show two of them]. (11) wherein the clevises are single-ear or double-ear. (13) An assembly comprising a module according to claim 1 and a hinge fitting [connected to 47] of the module, the fitting comprising clevises [annotated hinge clevises] configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises of the module. (14) A thrust reverser for an aircraft turbomachine, comprising at least one module according to claim (1). (15) An aircraft turbomachine, comprising a module according to claim 1, an assembly, comprising said module and a hinge fitting [connected to 47] of the module, the fitting comprising clevises [annotated hinge clevises] configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises of the module. (16) A thrust reverser for an aircraft turbomachine according to claim 1, comprising an assembly comprising a hinge fitting [connected to 47] of the module, the fitting comprising clevises [annotated hinge clevises] configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises of the module (17) A thrust reverser for an aircraft turbomachine comprising at least one module according to claim 1, an assembly comprising a hinge fitting [connected to 47] of the at least one module, the fitting comprising clevises [annotated hinge clevises] configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises of the at least one module.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stuart (2014/0150403). Stuart teaches [see annotations] (1) A jet deflection module for a thrust reverser of an aircraft turbomachine, this module extending in a surface (P) and comprising: - spars which are spaced apart and parallel to each other, - at least one deflection element [cascade turning vane, not lableled, but in the circumferential direction] which extends between the spars and is connected to these spars, - two fastening profiles 42A, 42B, at the front and rear, respectively, which are connected to the spars and which, together with two of these spars, form a peripheral contour of the module, a first of the fastening profiles comprising at least two hinge clevises 74 are parallel to each other and to the spars and which each comprise an orifice, the orifices of the clevises being aligned and defining an pivot axis of the module, wherein the clevises 74 extend in the extension of the spars. (3) wherein the clevises are formed in one piece with the rest of the module or are mounted and fastened to the rest of the module. (5) wherein said first profile comprises a first side located inside said contour and a second opposite side located outside this contour, the first side comprising suction side surfaces, the second side comprising the clevises [similar to Jurich]. (6) wherein said first profile is the front profile 42A. (7) wherein this module is a grid comprising several spars and vanes which extend between the spars and which are connected to these spars, these vanes being perpendicular to the spars. (8) wherein at least one or some of the clevises are at a distance from the longitudinal ends of the profile 42A carrying these clevises. (9) wherein the fastening profiles 42A, 42B are perpendicular to the spars. (10) wherein the number of clevises is between two and eight. (11) wherein the clevises are single-ear or double-ear. (12) wherein the module is made of composite material [¶ 0030]. (13) An assembly comprising a module according to claim 1 and a hinge fitting 72 of the module, the fitting comprising clevises 72 configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises 74 of the module. (14) A thrust reverser for an aircraft turbomachine, comprising at least one module according to claim (1) (15) An aircraft turbomachine, comprising a module according to claim 1, an assembly, comprising said module and a hinge fitting 72 of the module, the fitting comprising clevises configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises of the module. (16) A thrust reverser for an aircraft turbomachine according to claim 1, comprising an assembly comprising a hinge fitting 72 of the module, the fitting comprising clevises 72 configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises 74 of the module (17) A thrust reverser for an aircraft turbomachine comprising at least one module according to claim 1, an assembly comprising a hinge fitting 72 of the at least one module, the fitting comprising clevises 72 configured to be fastened respectively to the clevises 74 of the at least one module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art, as applied above, and further in view of Sawyers-Abbott (2016/0025038) The prior art do not teach (4) wherein metal bushings are housed in the orifices of the clevises. Sawyers-Abbott teaches (4) wherein bushings are housed in the orifices of the clevises 74 [Fig. 3A, and ¶ 0024-0026] where the hinge of the clevis is secured with bushings or washers, which implies the use of metal are within the scope as metal is typically used for such fastening hardware. Note by definition a bushing is used inside a hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ bushings which are housed in the orifices of the clevises, as taught by Sawyers-Abbott, as typical mounting hardware used for hinged connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the bushings metal, as a strong material commonly used in the art for fastening of hinged connections.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of the prior art, as applied above, and further in view of Stuart (2017/0159606). The prior art do not all teach (12) wherein the module is made of composite material. Stuart teaches the (12) wherein the module is made of composite material [see ¶ 0050-0052 where the formed cascade module is composite.].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be potentially allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
Todorovic reference teaches extensions 39 to the spars see Fig. 8.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
September 16, 2026