DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, 15-17, 19-22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 (The Statutory Categories): Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? MPEP 2106.03.
Per Step 1, claim 1 is directed to a method (i.e., a process), and claim 15 is directed to a device (i.e., a machine). Thus, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention. However, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? MPEP 2106.04.
The abstract idea of claims 1 and 15 (claim 1 being representative) is:
A method of wireless communication, the method comprising:
receiving user support information for a user, wherein the user support information comprises at least one of an identification of a shelving unit or an identification of an assistant; and
transmitting a user support request comprising at least one of the identification of the shelving unit or the identification of the assistant.
The recited abstract idea steps italicized above cover receiving information identifying a shelving unit or assistant and transmitting a corresponding support request., which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), covers managing personal behavior relationships and interactions between people. This is further supported by [0093] – [0094] of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its BRI, covers managing personal behavior relationships, interactions between people, including social activities, teaching, and/or following rules or instructions, following rules or instructions, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Managing Personal Behavior Relationships, Interactions Between People grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? MPEP §2106.04.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP §2106.05(f).
Claim 1 recites the following additional elements: network device; first wireless communication device; second wireless communication device.
Claim 15 recites the following additional elements: A network device for wireless communication, the network device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to; first wireless communication device; second wireless communication device.
These elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP §2106.05(f). Applicant has only described generic computing elements in their specification, as seen in paragraphs [00124] – [00130] of applicant’s specification as filed, for example. Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system.
Accordingly, these additional elements, alone and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (The Inventive Concept): Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? MPEP §2106.05.
Step 2B involves evaluating the additional elements to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The examination process involves carrying over identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two and carrying over conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two on the considerations discussed in MPEP §2106.05(f).
The additional elements and their analysis are therefore carried over: applicant has merely recited elements that facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, as described in MPEP §2106.05(f).
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system. When the claim elements above are considered, alone and in combination, they do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, per Step 2B, the additional elements, alone and in combination, are not significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
Further, the analysis takes into consideration all dependent claims as well:
Claims 2 and 16 include further additional elements with additional description: wherein the network device is an access point. Similar to above, these additional elements do no more than apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). When viewed alone or in combination, this does not integrate the abstract idea into practical application and is not significantly more.
Regarding claims 3, 5-8, 12, 17, 19-22, 26, and 28, applicant further narrows the abstract idea with additional step(s). There are no further additional elements to consider, beyond those highlighted above. This further narrowing of the abstract idea, similar to above, is also not patent eligible.
Claims 11 and 25 include further additional elements with additional description: via Bluetooth communications. Similar to above, these additional elements do no more than apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). When viewed alone or in combination, this does not integrate the abstract idea into practical application and is not significantly more.
Claim 27 includes further additional elements with additional description: via Bluetooth communications. Similar to above, these additional elements do no more than apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). When viewed alone or in combination, this does not integrate the abstract idea into practical application and is not significantly more.
Accordingly, claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, 15-17, 19-22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 11-12, 15-17, 19, 21-22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Graube (US 20220051310) in view of Robinson, Jr. (US 20160171577).
Claims 1 and 15
Graube discloses (claim 1 being representative):
(claim 1) A method of wireless communication performed at a network device, the method comprising: {“Various embodiments include methods, and systems implementing the methods, for approximately locating a user mobile device within a store/warehouse leveraging wireless communications, such as BLE, Wi-Fi, or the like.” [0075]}
(claim 15) A network device for wireless communication, the network device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to: {“the store management entity server 150 may typically include a processor 2401 coupled to volatile memory 2402 and a large capacity nonvolatile memory, such as a disk drive 2403.” [0222]}
receiving, by the network device from a first wireless communication device, user support information for a user, wherein the user support information comprises at least one of an identification of a shelving unit or an identification of an assistant; and {The system supports receiving customer shopping information at the server for assisting with product collection and identifying shelving units. [0107], [0286]}
Graube does not disclose, however, Robinson, Jr., in a similar field of endeavor directed to providing retailer assistance to customers in retail environment, teaches:
transmitting, by the network device to a second wireless communication device, a user support request comprising at least one of the identification of the shelving unit or the identification of the assistant. {Main server 12 forwards the customer help request to employee mobile communications devices and determine the customer’s location relative to a identified shelving unit. [0099], [0108]}
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to modify the wireless communication functionality features of Graube to include the customer assistance communication features of Robinson, Jr., to facilitate the exchange of assistance requests and location information between wireless communication devices. (See [0108] of Robinson, Jr.).
Claims 2 and 16
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Graube further discloses.
wherein the network device is an access point. {“The access points 130 may be configured to communicate with user mobile devices 120 and ESLs 110 to provide communications with the store management entity server 150.” [0098]}
Claims 3 and 17
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Graube further discloses.
wherein the first wireless communication device is associated with the user . {“a customer may place an order on his/her user mobile device while in or near the store”. [0107]}
Claims 5 and 19
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Graube further discloses:
wherein the second wireless communication device is associated with the assistant. {“the store picker may receive the shopping list on his/her user mobile device (e.g., 120) in block 2a (e.g., through a smart phone app).” [0107]}
Claims 7 and 21
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Robinson, Jr. further teaches:
wherein the user support request is configured to trigger a prompt on the second wireless communication device. {“the received information illustratively causes the enterprise mobile communication devices 18 of the one or more employees identified at step 620 to wake up and automatically launch the MCA application 312 stored in the memories 304 thereof. The process 600 then advances to step 630 where the processors 300 in the enterprise mobile communication devices 18 of the one or more employees identified at step 620 each control the displays 316 on the devices 18 to display a graphic user interface (GUI) including an indicator of the help request and an acknowledgement element.” [0118 ]}
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Robinson, Jr. is the same as set forth previously.
Claims 8 and 22
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Graube further discloses:
wherein the prompt comprises at least one of the identification of the shelving unit or the identification of the assistant. {The system identifies shelf positions and displays routes. [0108], [0216]}
Claims 11 and 25
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Graube further discloses:
wherein the user support request is transmitted via Bluetooth communications. {“System elements that may be deployed within a given store 10 may include a plurality of ESLs 110 deployed on shelves 50 that are configured to communicate with a number of access points 130 that are connected to a store management entity server 150.” [0087]}
Claims 12 and 26
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Graube further discloses:
receiving, by the network device from the second wireless communication device, an advertising response. {“Each ESL 110b receiving the responsive BLE signal 123 from the user mobile device 120 may report the received signal to the store management entity server 150 by communicating the information in a signal or message 125 that is sent via an access point 130.” [0102]; “The user mobile device responds with an advertising response packet.” [0132]}
Claim 27
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Graube further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured receive the advertising response via Bluetooth communications. {“In some embodiments, one ESL in the group may transmits a special advertising packet (e.g., using BLE), that causes the user mobile device to transmit an advertising response packet. In such embodiments, the ESLs in the set of ESLs may receive the same packet.” [0076]}
Claim 28
The combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above. Graube further discloses:
wherein the user support information includes customer real-time support information. {“The store picker may coordinate and/or communicate with the ordering customer through the user mobile device (e.g., through a phone call, messaging, or other communication function).” [0112]; “the user mobile device of the store picker or the store management entity server may transmit a live feed (i.e., a video feed) of the store shelves, on which one or more alternative products may be found. In block 7b, the store picker may make any corrections that need to be made in an app executing on the user mobile device regarding what or how many products have been pulled from the shelves.” [0116]}
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Graube (US 20220051310) and Robinson, Jr. in view of Laufer (US 20160005300).
Claims 6 and 20
While the combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr. teaches the limitations set forth above it does not explicitly teach, however, Laufer, in a similar field of endeavor directed to tracking, locating, identifying, or mapping movements of persons or personnel within a facility, teaches:
wherein the second wireless communication device is an electronic badge (E-Badge). {The system supports a badge transmitting wireless communications associated with a person (e.g., employee). [0045]}
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to modify the combination of Graube and Robinson, Jr., to improve the tracking and monitoring of personnel within a facility. (See [0045] of Laufer).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure (additional pertinent references can be found on attached form PTO-892):
US 20180165722, which teaches computer-enabled communications and applications so as to assist retailers, restaurant owners, service staff, retail associates and retail customers. Geo-fencing of parties in a retail environment selectively places a party requesting assistance with a relevant party able to provide the assistance at or proximal to a retail location.
US 20150278829, which teaches acquiring analytical information. The method may include providing a database configured to store user specific data and providing a user interface for displaying, inputting, or analyzing the data. A customer interface may be provided to allow for customer interaction with a business, retailer, or service provider. Customer data may be measured through online interactions, signals from mobile devices, and in-store interactions. User specific data and general customer data may be compiled in the database and feedback may be generated based on the data and presented through the user interface.
US 20170053330, which teaches: Systems and methods disclosed herein offer assistance to customers shopping at a real-world shopping venue carrying mobile devices connected to a communication network. This involves tracking a physical action of a customer present at the real-world shopping venue and determining to offer assistance to the customer based on the tracked physical action. Based on determining to offer assistance to the customer, a notification is sent to a mobile device of the customer. The notification identifies that live support is available to assist the customer while the customer is present at the real-world shopping venue.
“How Technology is Changing Retail” (NPL attached), which teaches: Retailing is undergoing a remarkable transformation brought by recent advances in technology. In this paper, we provide a deep discussion of and look ahead on how technology is changing retail, starting with a classification of technologies that impact retailing, in particular, in the COVID-19 and beyond world. We discuss different theoretical frameworks or lenses to better understand the role of technology in retailing. We identify and elaborate on the drivers and outcomes of technology adoption by shoppers, retailers, employees, and suppliers. We speculate on future retail scenarios and outline future research avenues on technology and retailing. We close by concluding that technology is not only reshaping retailing, but also allowing retailing to pivot in the face of new and unforeseen circumstances.
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629