DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is in response to Pre Amendment received on 09 July 2025.
Claims 4-7, 11-12, 15-18, 20-21, 29, 33-36, and 38-40 have been canceled.
No new claims have been added.
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13-14, 19, 22-28, 30-32, and 37 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/09/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner. However, the Patent(s) and/or publication(s) cited in the office actions submitted in the information disclosure statements have not been separately considered. A copy of the PTO-1449 is attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13-14, 19, 22-28, 30-32, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13-14, 19, and 22 are directed to a network entity (i.e., a machine). Claims 23-28 and 30-32 are directed to a device (i.e., a machine). Claim 37 is directed to a method (i.e., a process). Therefore, claims 1-3, 8-10, 13-14, 19, 22-28, 30-32, and 37 all fall within the one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A Prong 1
Independent claim 1 substantially recites:
receive, from one or more users, one or more sets of delivery criteria for delivery of one or more assets for the one or more users;
determine delivery planning information for delivery of the one or more assets based on the one or more sets of delivery criteria; and
transmit, to the one or more users, one or more delivery notifications associated with the delivery of the one or more assets, wherein delivery information of the one or more delivery notifications is based on a respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users. These limitations recite a method or organizing human activity. Transmitting delivery notifications associated with the delivery of the one or more assets is “Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People” which includes social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions and/or “Commercial Interactions” which includes agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations and/or a “Mental Process” (concepts performed in the human mind) which includes observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.
Independent claims 23 and 37 substantially recite:
transmit/transmitting to an entity associated with a delivery service, a set of delivery criteria comprising delivery instructions for delivery of one or more assets for the user; and
receive/receiving, from the entity, a delivery notification comprising delivery information, wherein an amount of the delivery information in the delivery notification is based on a level of service associated with the user. These limitations recite a method or organizing human activity. Transmitting delivery instructions and receiving a delivery notification is “Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People” which includes social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions and/or “Commercial Interactions” which includes agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations.
Step 2A Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the additional elements: “a network entity,” “at least one memory,” “at least one processor,” and “one or more devices” to perform the “receive,” “determine,” and transmit” steps; claim 23 recites the additional elements: “a device,” system,” “wireless communications,” “at least one memory,” “at least one processor,” and “a network entity” to perform the “transmit” and “receive” steps; and claim 37 recites the additional elements: “wireless communications,” “a network entity,” and “a device” to perform the “transmitting” and “receiving” steps. The claimed computer components in the steps of claims 1, 23, and 37 are recited at a high-level of generality and are merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea (i.e., “a network entity,” “at least one memory,” “at least one processor,” and “one or more devices” in claim 1; “a device,” system,” “wireless communications,” “at least one memory,” “at least one processor,” and “a network entity” in claim 23; and “wireless communications,” “a network entity,” and “a device” in claim 37) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using the generic computer components recited above. The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component as recited above. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Step 2B
The independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the (“network entity,” “at least one memory,” “at least one processor,” and “one or more devices” in claim 1 to perform the “receive,” “determine,” and transmit” steps; “device,” system,” “wireless communications,” “at least one memory,” “at least one processor,” and “network entity” in claim 23 to perform the “transmit” and “receive” steps; and “device,” system,” “wireless communications,” “at least one memory,” “at least one processor,” and “network entity” in claim 37 to perform the “transmitting” and “receiving” steps) amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are patent ineligible.
As per dependent claims 2-3, 8-10, 24-28, and 30-32 the limitation merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Dependent claim 2 recites each of the one or more sets of delivery criteria comprises delivery instructions for each user of the one or more users, and wherein an amount of the delivery instructions for each of the one or more sets of delivery criteria is based on the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users. Dependent claim 3 recites the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users is one of a basic level of service or a priority level of service. Dependent claim 8 recites an amount of the delivery information in each of the one or more delivery notifications is based on the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users. Dependent claim 9 recites respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users is one of a basic level of service or a priority level of service. Dependent claim 10 recites a delivery notification of the one or more delivery notifications for a user of the one or more users with the priority level of service comprises a higher amount of the delivery information than a delivery notification of the one or more delivery notifications for a user of the one or more users with the basic level of service. Dependent claim 24 recites wherein an amount of the delivery instructions in the set of delivery criteria is based on the level of service associated with the user. Dependent claim 25 recites the level of service associated with the user is one of a basic level of service or a priority level of service. Dependent claim 26 recites wherein the priority level of service is associated with a higher amount of the delivery instructions than an amount of the delivery instructions associated with the basic level of service. Dependent claim 27 recites the delivery instructions for the user with the priority level of service comprise a destination location, a time of delivery, and a delivery path. Dependent claim 28 recites wherein the delivery instructions for the user with the priority level of service further comprises at least one of a level of care of handling during transport, a temperature range during the transport, an avoidance of roads with poor driving conditions, asset characteristics, or at least one type of delivery vehicle. the level of service associated with the user is one of a basic level of service or a priority level of service. Dependent claim 30 recites the priority level of service is associated with a higher amount of the delivery information in the delivery notification than an amount of delivery information for a delivery notification associated with the basic level of service. Dependent claim 31 recites the delivery information for the user with the priority level of service comprises a time of delivery and a delivery path. Dependent claim 32 recites wherein the delivery information for the user with the priority level of service further comprises at least one of environmental information, temperature information, battery percentage of an associated monitoring device, delivery substation details, fuel details, a type of delivery vehicle, or a change in the delivery path. For the reasons described above with respect to claims 2-3, 8-10, 24-28, and 30-32, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per dependent claim 13, the recitation “determine the delivery planning information for delivery of the one or more assets based on the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users” is further directed to a method of organizing human activity and/or a mental process as described in claim 1. Therefore, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per dependent claim 14, the recitation “determine a delivery path and a time of delivery for each of the one or more assets” is further directed to a method of organizing human activity and/or a mental process as described in claim 1. Therefore, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per dependent claim 19, the recitation “determine the delivery planning information for delivery of the one or more assets further based on one or more risk factors associated with potential delivery paths for delivery of the one or more assets” is further directed to a method of organizing human activity and/or a mental process as described in claim 1. Therefore, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
As per dependent claim 22, the recitation “determine at least one of one or more alternative delivery paths or one or more alternative delivery vehicles based on risk factor data obtained from sensed conditions sensed during delivery” is further directed to a method of organizing human activity and/or a Mental process as described in claim 1. Therefore, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent Claims 2-3, 8-10, 13-14, 19, 22, 24-28, and 30-32 have been given the full two part analysis including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. Dependent Claims 2-3, 8-10, 13-14, 19, 22, 24-28, and 30-32, when analyzed individually, and in combination, are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The dependent claims fail to establish that the claims do not recite an abstract idea because the additional recited limitations of the dependent claims merely further narrow the abstract idea of the independent claims. The dependent claims recite no additional elements that would integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the judicial exception and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, dependent claims 2-3, 8-10, 13-14, 19, 22, 24-28, and 30-32 are rejected as being ineligible for patenting under 35 U.S.C. 101 based upon the same analysis
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13-14, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferguson et al. (US PG Pub. 20190114564 A1).
As per claim 1, Ferguson et al. discloses a network entity associated with a delivery service, the network entity comprising:
at least one memory (Ferguson et al.: [0023], FIG. 6 [612]); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Ferguson et al.: [0023], FIG. 6 [614]); and configured to:
receive, from one or more devices associated with one or more users, one or more sets of delivery criteria for delivery of one or more assets for the one or more users (Ferguson et al.: [0028],[0048] In some cases, such as based on the contents of parcel 170 or based on a request by an interested party, parcel pickup/receiving unit 130 may determine or receive a service level for parcel 170. For example, the service level may be based on shipping parcel 170 at the lowest cost; over the shortest shipping time; over a designated shipping time; using certain customer requests, such as a request for specialized care or a request that the parcel not be delivered by a UAV; or any other factor. In some cases, the service level may be designated or described as Same Day Service, Next Day Air, Next Day Air Early AM, Next Day Air Saver, 2nd Day Air, 2nd Day Air Early AM, 3 Day Select, Ground, or another designation);
determine delivery planning information for delivery of the one or more assets based on the one or more sets of delivery criteria (Ferguson et al.: [0056],[0066] For example, the route plans logic 215 may comprise the logic used for determining or predicting the availability, range, and potential routes of transporters, and may be used to assemble routes into route plans based on predicted navigation data associated with the route plans being within certain constraints, for example, that the delivery/pickup of a parcel must be made to a particular location within a particular timeframe. In some cases, this may be determined or predicted using parcel transporter data 234 and navigation data received from sensors 120 and data collectors 140 of FIG. 1); and
transmit, to the one or more devices associated with the one or more users, one or more delivery notifications associated with the delivery of the one or more assets, wherein delivery information of the one or more delivery notifications is based on a respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users (Ferguson et al.:[0072] In some cases, candidate route plan evaluator 250 may determine if an indicated goal may be accomplished by any of the candidate route plans. For example, if a customer requests Same Day Delivery, candidate route plan evaluator 250 may determine, from among the candidate route plans, if one or more of the candidate route plans meets the Same Day Delivery service level by having a predicted delivery time that falls within the criteria for the designated service level. In some cases, the candidate route plan evaluator 250 may rank the candidate route plans meeting the criteria for the service level. In some cases, if no candidate route plan meets the criteria for the requested service level (or more generally, a requested goal), a notification may be provided to the customer that the requested service level is not available. In some cases, the notification may comprise a suggested service level for the customer based on the candidate route plans. For example, if Same Day Delivery is not available, then a notification may be provided to the customer indicating another service level, such as Next Day Air, based on at least one candidate route plan that may deliver the parcel in the time frame specified by the Next Day Air service level. Using another example, a customer may request a goal of picking up a parcel during a specific time frame. In this case, candidate route plan evaluator 250 may determine and rank the candidate route plans having a pickup time within the specific time frame requested by the customer).
As per claim 13, Ferguson et al. discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the delivery planning information for delivery of the one or more assets based on the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users (Ferguson et al.: [0072]).
As per claim 14, Ferguson et al. discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein, to determine the delivery planning information for delivery of the one or more assets, the at least one processor is configured to determine a delivery path and a time of delivery for each of the one or more assets (Ferguson et al.: [0017]-[0018]).
As per claim 19, Ferguson et al. discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the delivery planning information for delivery of the one or more assets further based on one or more risk factors associated with potential delivery paths for delivery of the one or more assets ( Ferguson et al.: [0051] In some embodiments, route plans may be determined for various scenarios or forecasted scenarios, such as a 50% chance of rain; high winds; heavy traffic patterns; isolated traffic events, such as a traffic accident; temporary no-fly zones, such as sporting events or parades; and the like).
As per claim 22, Ferguson et al. discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein at least one processor is configured to determine at least one of one or more alternative delivery paths or one or more alternative delivery vehicles based on risk factor data obtained from sensed conditions sensed during delivery (Ferguson et al. [0052] In some cases, routes and route plans may be dynamic or conditional. For example, a dynamic or conditional route plan may be a route plan conditioned or based on a particular event occurring. In some cases, conditional routes and route plans may be based on potential or predicated events, such as changes in the number and location of stops along a route plan, which may occur as customers request additional deliveries or pickups. In some cases, routes may be dynamic or conditional to account for changes in environmental factors such as the weather; traffic patterns; unexpected obstacles, such as delivery to a specified or determined alternative delivery location; and other similar events)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US PG Pub. 20190114564 A1) in view of Belcher et al. (US PG Pub. 20250363444 A1).
As per claim 2, Ferguson et al. discloses the network entity of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more sets of delivery criteria comprises delivery instructions for each user of the one or more users ([0028] (Ferguson et al.: [0028],[0048] In some cases, such as based on the contents of parcel 170 or based on a request by an interested party, parcel pickup/receiving unit 130 may determine or receive a service level for parcel 170. For example, the service level may be based on shipping parcel 170 at the lowest cost; over the shortest shipping time; over a designated shipping time; using certain customer requests, such as a request for specialized care or a request that the parcel not be delivered by a UAV; or any other factor).
Ferguson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Belcher et al. discloses:
wherein an amount of the delivery instructions for each of the one or more sets of delivery criteria is based on the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users (Belcher et al.: [0082] 1. FIG. 3 shows a screenshot from a mobile application of a customer choosing a courier at checkout who is a registered AnyLock partner. The customer completes a purchase and choses standard home delivery from a Glue AnyLock courier partner);( Belcher et al.: [0086] 3. FIG. 5 shows screenshots from a mobile application of the courier partner sending an SMS to the customer offering an AnyLock upgrade; Belcher et al. [0087] Once the courier partner has a known delivery slot, they send an SMS to the customer requesting that they confirm their delivery. Included in this SMS is an option to upgrade to an AnyLock InHome delivery (an enhanced delivery mode); Belcher et al. [0088] If the customer chooses to remain with the courier partner's standard home delivery, the customer is taken to the courier's own site to confirm the delivery or confirms the delivery by text message (or the customer may simply do nothing and the delivery remains a standard one by default, i.e., unenhanced delivery mode). If the customer chooses this path the AnyLock journey ends. (Belcher et al. [0091] 4. The customer may choose to upgrade to AnyLock and is transferred via web link to Glue AnyLock mobile optimised web module. Belcher et al.: [0096] 6. FIG. 7 shows screenshots from the mobile application illustrating the customer enters delivery details against one of the four AnyLock delivery methods); (Belcher et al.: [0097] The customer completes AnyLock Web Module providing delivery instructions The AnyLock module provides: [0098] a. Further information about AnyLock and the different AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: Belcher et al.: [0099] b. The option to choose from one of four AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: [0100] c. The option to add the required AnyLock delivery information to enable the courier to complete the AnyLock delivery; Belcher et al.: [0101] d. The option to confirm an AnyLock delivery; and/or Belcher et al.: [0102] e. The option at any point to go back to a standard courier delivery). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. to including an amount of delivery instructions/additional instructions based on a service level as taught by Belcher et al. to provide the user an upgrade from a standard delivery to an enhanced delivery mode with added delivery instructions (Belcher et al.: [0087]-[0088]).
As per claim 3, Ferguson et al. in view of Belcher et al. discloses the network entity of claim 2. Ferguson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however Belcher et al. discloses:
wherein the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users is one of a basic level of service or a priority level of service. (Belcher et al. [0088] If the customer chooses to remain with the courier partner's standard home delivery, the customer is taken to the courier's own site to confirm the delivery or confirms the delivery by text message (or the customer may simply do nothing and the delivery remains a standard one by default, i.e., unenhanced delivery mode). If the customer chooses this path the AnyLock journey ends. (Belcher et al. [0091] 4. The customer may choose to upgrade to AnyLock and is transferred via web link to Glue AnyLock mobile optimised web module. Belcher et al.: [0096] 6. FIG. 7 shows screenshots from the mobile application illustrating the customer enters delivery details against one of the four AnyLock delivery methods); (Belcher et al.: [0097] The customer completes AnyLock Web Module providing delivery instructions The AnyLock module provides: [0098] a. Further information about AnyLock and the different AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: Belcher et al.: [0099] b. The option to choose from one of four AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: [0100] c. The option to add the required AnyLock delivery information to enable the courier to complete the AnyLock delivery; Belcher et al.: [0101] d. The option to confirm an AnyLock delivery; and/or Belcher et al.: [0102] e. The option at any point to go back to a standard courier delivery). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. to including an amount of delivery instructions/additional instructions based on a service level as taught by Belcher et al. to provide the user an upgrade from a standard delivery to an enhanced delivery mode (Belcher et al.: [0087]-[0088])
Claims 8-10, 23, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US PG Pub. 20190114564 A1) in view of Reblin et al. (US PG Pub. 20080005043 A1).
As per claim 8, Ferguson et al. discloses the network entity of claim 1. Ferguson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Reblin et al. discloses:
wherein an amount of the delivery information in each of the one or more delivery notifications is based on the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users (Reblin et al.: [0017]. In one level of service, users may receive a notification of delivery, but would not receive any information about the type of mail. At a higher level of service, users may receive additional information describing the specific mix of items delivered to the box, based on code information, such as intelligent bar code information, on the mail). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. to include delivery notification information based on levels of service as taught by Reblin et al. to provide the user with a variety of delivery information, such as, as a mix of the simpler levels, a concise notification of delivery, or a higher level of service that may provide detailed information and/or images based on their needs (Reblin et al.: [0017]-[0018])
As per claim 9, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. discloses the network entity of claim 8. Ferguson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Reblin et al. discloses:
wherein the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users is one of a basic level of service or a priority level of service (Reblin et al.: [0025] FIG. 3A illustrates an exemplary screen shot 311 that may be available to a user that has subscribed to a low-level of the Notify service. With this exemplary low-level subscription, a user may receive only a simple notification that mail has arrived, or will arrive in their rental box, and the date of arrival…. FIG. 3C illustrates an exemplary screen shot 313 that may be available to a user having a high-level subscription. As a result of the high-level subscription, the user may be provided with actual images of the pieces of mail 101 captured during the mail processing along with other information, such as expected delivery date. It is to be understood that the number of subscription levels and the data provided to each level is exemplary only. The number of levels may be changed along with data or the combination of data that is provided to each level). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. to include delivery notification information based on levels of service as taught by Reblin et al. to provide the user with a variety of delivery information, such as, a low-level subscription or a high-level subscription to provide a mix of the simpler levels, a concise notification of delivery, or a higher level of service that may provide detailed information and/or images based on their needs (Reblin et al.: [0017]-[0018],[0025]).
As per claim 10, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. discloses the network entity of claim 9. Ferguson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Reblin et al. discloses:
wherein a delivery notification of the one or more delivery notifications for a user of the one or more users with the priority level of service comprises a higher amount of the delivery information than a delivery notification of the one or more delivery notifications for a user of the one or more users with the basic level of service (Reblin et al.: 0025] FIG. 3A illustrates an exemplary screen shot 311 that may be available to a user that has subscribed to a low-level of the Notify service. With this exemplary low-level subscription, a user may receive only a simple notification that mail has arrived, or will arrive in their rental box, and the date of arrival. FIG. 3B illustrates an exemplary screen shot 312 that may be available to a user having a mid-level subscription. In this exemplary screen shot 312, the Notify system provides, through the use of the OCR data, additional information to the user, such as information pertaining to the sender of the mail delivered, or to be delivered, to the user's rental box. FIG. 3C illustrates an exemplary screen shot 313 that may be available to a user having a high-level subscription. As a result of the high-level subscription, the user may be provided with actual images of the pieces of mail 101 captured during the mail processing along with other information, such as expected delivery date. It is to be understood that the number of subscription levels and the data provided to each level is exemplary only. The number of levels may be changed along with data or the combination of data that is provided to each level). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. to include providing higher or lower amounts of delivery notification information based on levels of service as taught by Reblin et al. to provide the user with a variety of delivery information, such as, a low-level subscription or a high-level subscription to provide a mix of the simpler levels, a concise notification of delivery, or a higher level of service that may provide detailed information and/or images based on their needs (Reblin et al.: [0017]-[0018],[0025])
As per claim 23, Ferguson et al. discloses a device and method associated with a user for wireless communications, the device comprising:
at least one memory (Ferguson et al.: [0023], FIG. 6 [612]); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Ferguson et al.: [0023], FIG. 6 [614]); and configured to:
transmit, to a network entity associated with a delivery service, a set of delivery criteria comprising delivery instructions for delivery of one or more assets for the user (Ferguson et al.: [0028],[0048] In some cases, such as based on the contents of parcel 170 or based on a request by an interested party, parcel pickup/receiving unit 130 may determine or receive a service level for parcel 170. For example, the service level may be based on shipping parcel 170 at the lowest cost; over the shortest shipping time; over a designated shipping time; using certain customer requests, such as a request for specialized care or a request that the parcel not be delivered by a UAV; or any other factor. In some cases, the service level may be designated or described as Same Day Service, Next Day Air, Next Day Air Early AM, Next Day Air Saver, 2nd Day Air, 2nd Day Air Early AM, 3 Day Select, Ground, or another designation).
Ferguson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Reblin et al. discloses:
receive, from the network entity, a delivery notification comprising delivery information, wherein an amount of the delivery information in the delivery notification is based on a level of service associated with the user (Reblin et al.: [0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a flowchart of exemplary steps associated with the Notify system operations, consistent with the present invention. Initially, the mail is processed and the Notify system captures and stores data received during the mail sorting process (step 410). For example, this data may include data captured through the scanning of codes, such as barcodes, located on the pieces of mail 101 or images of the pieces of mail 101. The data may then be processed and matched with the pertinent user based upon the delivery address (step 420). That is, based on the captured data, the destination of the mail may be determined. In addition, the data may also be processed based upon the level of subscription of the pertinent user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. to include providing delivery notification information based on levels of service as taught by Reblin et al. to provide the user with a variety of delivery information to provide a mix of the simpler levels, a concise notification of delivery, or a higher level of service that may provide detailed information and/or images based on their needs (Reblin et al.: [0017]-[0018],[0025])
As per claim 25, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. discloses the device of claim 23, wherein the level of service associated with the user is one of a basic level of service or a priority level of service. Ferguson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Reblin et al. discloses:
wherein the respective level of service associated with each user of the one or more users is one of a basic level of service or a priority level of service (Reblin et al.: [0025] FIG. 3A illustrates an exemplary screen shot 311 that may be available to a user that has subscribed to a low-level of the Notify service. With this exemplary low-level subscription, a user may receive only a simple notification that mail has arrived, or will arrive in their rental box, and the date of arrival…. FIG. 3C illustrates an exemplary screen shot 313 that may be available to a user having a high-level subscription. As a result of the high-level subscription, the user may be provided with actual images of the pieces of mail 101 captured during the mail processing along with other information, such as expected delivery date. It is to be understood that the number of subscription levels and the data provided to each level is exemplary only. The number of levels may be changed along with data or the combination of data that is provided to each level). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. to include delivery notification information based on levels of service as taught by Reblin et al. to provide the user with a variety of delivery information, such as, a low-level subscription or a high-level subscription to provide a mix of the simpler levels, a concise notification of delivery, or a higher level of service that may provide detailed information and/or images based on their needs (Reblin et al.: [0017]-[0018],[0025]).
As per claim 30, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. discloses the device of claim 25. Ferguson et al. does not explicitly disclose, however Reblin et al. discloses:
wherein the priority level of service is associated with a higher amount of the delivery information in the delivery notification than an amount of delivery information for a delivery notification associated with the basic level of service. (Reblin et al.: [0027] FIG. 4 illustrates a flowchart of exemplary steps associated with the Notify system operations, consistent with the present invention. Initially, the mail is processed and the Notify system captures and stores data received during the mail sorting process (step 410). For example, this data may include data captured through the scanning of codes, such as barcodes, located on the pieces of mail 101 or images of the pieces of mail 101. The data may then be processed and matched with the pertinent user based upon the delivery address (step 420). That is, based on the captured data, the destination of the mail may be determined. In addition, the data may also be processed based upon the level of subscription of the pertinent user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. to include providing delivery notification information based on levels of service as taught by Reblin et al. to provide the user with a variety of delivery information to provide a mix of the simpler levels, a concise notification of delivery, or a higher level of service that may provide detailed information and/or images based on their needs (Reblin et al.: [0017]-[0018],[0025])
Claims 24, 26-28, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US PG Pub. 20190114564 A1) in view of Reblin et al. (US PG Pub. 20080005043 A1) as applied to claim 23 above and in further view of Belcher et al. (US PG Pub. 20250363444 A1).
As per claim 24, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. discloses the device of claim 23. Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Belcher et al. discloses wherein an amount of the delivery instructions in the set of delivery criteria is based on the level of service associated with the user (Belcher et al.: [0082] 1. FIG. 3 shows a screenshot from a mobile application of a customer choosing a courier at checkout who is a registered AnyLock partner. The customer completes a purchase and choses standard home delivery from a Glue AnyLock courier partner);( Belcher et al.: [0086] 3. FIG. 5 shows screenshots from a mobile application of the courier partner sending an SMS to the customer offering an AnyLock upgrade; Belcher et al. [0087] Once the courier partner has a known delivery slot, they send an SMS to the customer requesting that they confirm their delivery. Included in this SMS is an option to upgrade to an AnyLock InHome delivery (an enhanced delivery mode); Belcher et al. [0088] If the customer chooses to remain with the courier partner's standard home delivery, the customer is taken to the courier's own site to confirm the delivery or confirms the delivery by text message (or the customer may simply do nothing and the delivery remains a standard one by default, i.e., unenhanced delivery mode). If the customer chooses this path the AnyLock journey ends. (Belcher et al. [0091] 4. The customer may choose to upgrade to AnyLock and is transferred via web link to Glue AnyLock mobile optimised web module. Belcher et al.: [0096] 6. FIG. 7 shows screenshots from the mobile application illustrating the customer enters delivery details against one of the four AnyLock delivery methods); (Belcher et al.: [0097] The customer completes AnyLock Web Module providing delivery instructions The AnyLock module provides: [0098] a. Further information about AnyLock and the different AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: Belcher et al.: [0099] b. The option to choose from one of four AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: [0100] c. The option to add the required AnyLock delivery information to enable the courier to complete the AnyLock delivery; Belcher et al.: [0101] d. The option to confirm an AnyLock delivery; and/or Belcher et al.: [0102] e. The option at any point to go back to a standard courier delivery). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. to including an amount of delivery instructions/additional instructions based on a service level as taught by Belcher et al. to provide the user an upgrade from a standard delivery to an enhanced delivery mode with added delivery instructions (Belcher et al.: [0087]-[0088]).
As per claim 26, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. discloses the device of claim 25. Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Belcher et al. discloses wherein the priority level of service is associated with a higher amount of the delivery instructions than an amount of the delivery instructions associated with the basic level of service (Belcher et al.: [0082] 1. FIG. 3 shows a screenshot from a mobile application of a customer choosing a courier at checkout who is a registered AnyLock partner. The customer completes a purchase and choses standard home delivery from a Glue AnyLock courier partner);( Belcher et al.: [0086] 3. FIG. 5 shows screenshots from a mobile application of the courier partner sending an SMS to the customer offering an AnyLock upgrade; Belcher et al. [0087] Once the courier partner has a known delivery slot, they send an SMS to the customer requesting that they confirm their delivery. Included in this SMS is an option to upgrade to an AnyLock InHome delivery (an enhanced delivery mode); Belcher et al. [0088] If the customer chooses to remain with the courier partner's standard home delivery, the customer is taken to the courier's own site to confirm the delivery or confirms the delivery by text message (or the customer may simply do nothing and the delivery remains a standard one by default, i.e., unenhanced delivery mode). If the customer chooses this path the AnyLock journey ends. (Belcher et al. [0091] 4. The customer may choose to upgrade to AnyLock and is transferred via web link to Glue AnyLock mobile optimised web module. Belcher et al.: [0096] 6. FIG. 7 shows screenshots from the mobile application illustrating the customer enters delivery details against one of the four AnyLock delivery methods); (Belcher et al.: [0097] The customer completes AnyLock Web Module providing delivery instructions The AnyLock module provides: [0098] a. Further information about AnyLock and the different AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: Belcher et al.: [0099] b. The option to choose from one of four AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: [0100] c. The option to add the required AnyLock delivery information to enable the courier to complete the AnyLock delivery; Belcher et al.: [0101] d. The option to confirm an AnyLock delivery; and/or Belcher et al.: [0102] e. The option at any point to go back to a standard courier delivery). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. to including an amount of delivery instructions/additional instructions based on a service level as taught by Belcher et al. to provide the user an upgrade from a standard delivery to an enhanced delivery mode with added delivery instructions (Belcher et al.: [0087]-[0088]).
As per claim 27, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. and Belcher et al. discloses the device of claim 26. Ferguson et al. discloses delivery instructions for the user include a delivery path (Ferguson et al.: In some cases, it may be determined that a route plan should be abandoned or modified based on newly received information from the carrier or a customer. For instance, a new delivery/pickup request may be received. Based on determining that the route plan needs to be modified or abandoned, a new route plan or adjusted route plan may be implemented).
Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Belcher et al. disclose:
wherein the delivery instructions for the user with the priority level of service comprise a destination location (Belcher et al.: [0084] customer address), a time of delivery (Belcher et al. [0084] time), Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. to including a delivery instructions/additional instructions based on a priority service level as taught by Belcher et al. to provide the user an upgrade from a standard delivery to an enhanced delivery mode with added delivery instructions (Belcher et al.: [0087]-[0088]).
As per claim 28, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. and Belcher et al. discloses the device of claim 27. Ferguson et al. further discloses wherein the delivery instructions for the user with the Ferguson et al.: [0016] Historical information may also include customer-based (including shipper-based and recipient-based preferences) delivery/pickup preferences, such as release/pickup zones, customer-requested no-fly zones, customer-requested transporter types, customer-requested delivery times, carrier-determined customer patterns, shipper preferences, and the like); (Ferguson et al.: [0028],[0048] For example, the service level may be based on shipping parcel 170 at the lowest cost; over the shortest shipping time; over a designated shipping time; using certain customer requests, such as a request for specialized care or a request that the parcel not be delivered by a UAV; or any other factor).
Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Belcher et al. disclose:
delivery instructions for the user with the priority level of service (Belcher et al.: [0082] 1. FIG. 3 shows a screenshot from a mobile application of a customer choosing a courier at checkout who is a registered AnyLock partner. The customer completes a purchase and choses standard home delivery from a Glue AnyLock courier partner);( Belcher et al.: [0086] 3. FIG. 5 shows screenshots from a mobile application of the courier partner sending an SMS to the customer offering an AnyLock upgrade; Belcher et al. [0087] Once the courier partner has a known delivery slot, they send an SMS to the customer requesting that they confirm their delivery. Included in this SMS is an option to upgrade to an AnyLock InHome delivery (an enhanced delivery mode); Belcher et al. [0088] If the customer chooses to remain with the courier partner's standard home delivery, the customer is taken to the courier's own site to confirm the delivery or confirms the delivery by text message (or the customer may simply do nothing and the delivery remains a standard one by default, i.e., unenhanced delivery mode). If the customer chooses this path the AnyLock journey ends. (Belcher et al. [0091] 4. The customer may choose to upgrade to AnyLock and is transferred via web link to Glue AnyLock mobile optimised web module. Belcher et al.: [0096] 6. FIG. 7 shows screenshots from the mobile application illustrating the customer enters delivery details against one of the four AnyLock delivery methods); (Belcher et al.: [0097] The customer completes AnyLock Web Module providing delivery instructions The AnyLock module provides: [0098] a. Further information about AnyLock and the different AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: Belcher et al.: [0099] b. The option to choose from one of four AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: [0100] c. The option to add the required AnyLock delivery information to enable the courier to complete the AnyLock delivery; Belcher et al.: [0101] d. The option to confirm an AnyLock delivery; and/or Belcher et al.: [0102] e. The option at any point to go back to a standard courier delivery). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. to including a delivery instructions/additional instructions based on a priority service level as taught by Belcher et al. to provide the user an upgrade from a standard delivery to an enhanced delivery mode with added delivery instructions (Belcher et al.: [0087]-[0088]).
As per claim 31, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. discloses the device of claim 30. Ferguson et al. further discloses delivery information for the user include a delivery path (Ferguson et al.: In some cases, it may be determined that a route plan should be abandoned or modified based on newly received information from the carrier or a customer. For instance, a new delivery/pickup request may be received. Based on determining that the route plan needs to be modified or abandoned, a new route plan or adjusted route plan may be implemented).
Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Belcher et al. disclose:
wherein the delivery information for the user with the priority level of service comprise a time of delivery (Belcher et al. [0084] time), Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. to including a delivery instructions/additional instructions based on a priority service level as taught by Belcher et al. to provide the user an upgrade from a standard delivery to an enhanced delivery mode with added delivery instructions (Belcher et al.: [0087]-[0088]).
As per claim 32, Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. and Belcher et al. disclose discloses the device of claim 31. Ferguson et al. further discloses wherein the delivery information for the user with the Ferguson et al.: [0016] Historical information may also include customer-based (including shipper-based and recipient-based preferences) delivery/pickup preferences, such as release/pickup zones, customer-requested no-fly zones, customer-requested transporter types, customer-requested delivery times, carrier-determined customer patterns, shipper preferences, and the like); (Ferguson et al.: [0028],[0048] For example, the service level may be based on shipping parcel 170 at the lowest cost; over the shortest shipping time; over a designated shipping time; using certain customer requests, such as a request for specialized care or a request that the parcel not be delivered by a UAV; or any other factor).
Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Belcher et al. disclose:
delivery information for the user with the priority level of service (Belcher et al.: [0082] 1. FIG. 3 shows a screenshot from a mobile application of a customer choosing a courier at checkout who is a registered AnyLock partner. The customer completes a purchase and choses standard home delivery from a Glue AnyLock courier partner);( Belcher et al.: [0086] 3. FIG. 5 shows screenshots from a mobile application of the courier partner sending an SMS to the customer offering an AnyLock upgrade; Belcher et al. [0087] Once the courier partner has a known delivery slot, they send an SMS to the customer requesting that they confirm their delivery. Included in this SMS is an option to upgrade to an AnyLock InHome delivery (an enhanced delivery mode); Belcher et al. [0088] If the customer chooses to remain with the courier partner's standard home delivery, the customer is taken to the courier's own site to confirm the delivery or confirms the delivery by text message (or the customer may simply do nothing and the delivery remains a standard one by default, i.e., unenhanced delivery mode). If the customer chooses this path the AnyLock journey ends. (Belcher et al. [0091] 4. The customer may choose to upgrade to AnyLock and is transferred via web link to Glue AnyLock mobile optimised web module. Belcher et al.: [0096] 6. FIG. 7 shows screenshots from the mobile application illustrating the customer enters delivery details against one of the four AnyLock delivery methods); (Belcher et al.: [0097] The customer completes AnyLock Web Module providing delivery instructions The AnyLock module provides: [0098] a. Further information about AnyLock and the different AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: Belcher et al.: [0099] b. The option to choose from one of four AnyLock delivery methods; Belcher et al.: [0100] c. The option to add the required AnyLock delivery information to enable the courier to complete the AnyLock delivery; Belcher et al.: [0101] d. The option to confirm an AnyLock delivery; and/or Belcher et al.: [0102] e. The option at any point to go back to a standard courier delivery). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ferguson et al. in view of Reblin et al. to including a delivery instructions/additional instructions based on a priority service level as taught by Belcher et al. to provide the user an upgrade from a standard delivery to an enhanced delivery mode with added delivery instructions (Belcher et al.: [0087]-[0088]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Bolton et al. (US PG Pub. 20210090025 A1) discloses systems and methods for synchronized delivery which includes a carrier server that may be configured to receive and store customer preferences regarding whether the customer desires to opt in and/or opt out of synchronized delivery services, and store information/data indicative of a standing customer preference requesting and/or permitting the carrier to modify a shipment/item service level under various circumstances.
2) Chen et al. (US PG Pub. 20210264489 A1) discloses a message exchange system which provides a customer management tool that allows customers to manage their customer criteria which includes data describing the customer's preferences for message delivery (e.g. a minimum level of service, maximum cost value to deliver a message, preference between cost and quality, etc).
3) Isokawa et al. (US PG Pub. 20250086567 A1) discloses a transportation and delivery planning apparatus and method which enables a user to issue an instruction to the transportation delivery planning apparatus to obtain the transportation delivery instruction and the service information of a service trip from the transportation delivery instruction management system; and the number of transportation delivery instructions for the day can be obtained and is displayed in the transportation delivery instruction count display area.
4) Lee Yul Hee et al. (KR 20220021318 A) discloses computerized systems and methods for facilitating package delivery by automatically assigning a package for delivery to one of a plurality of groups based on a delivery address associated with the package, generating a map of the plurality of groups, and transmitting the map for display on the delivery person's user device.
5) Charles Helms, “ Add Delivery Instructions to USPS: Steps and Limits”, Dec 28, 2020, trackingadvice.com, 22 pages discloses that there are times when you want to add specific delivery instructions on your parcel. For instance, when delivering a parcel containing fragile goods. You can add specific delivery instructions to the USPS. This can be done using its Delivery Instructions service. You need to add the instructions online. Once you are done, the packages will be delivered at a specific location at your address, a different domestic address, or at the Post Office.
/F.A.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3628 /SHANNON S CAMPBELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628