Response to Amendments
The amendment filed 27th August 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 27th May 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9 line 2, “…of an outer wall surface…” should read “…of the outer wall surface…” so that there is a proper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2017/0113798).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 3-5, 9) a low-noise thrust generation apparatus, comprising:
an air duct/wind guide part (300) that is formed in a ring shape, has a first air flow path/wind passage (350) formed inside, and includes an injection port/discharge part (326) communicating with the first air flow path/wind passage (350) to inject air supplied to the first air flow path//wind passage (350) downward (Para 0043-0044); and
an air guide/connecting duct (400) that has a second air flow path/connecting path (410) formed inside to be communicated with the first air flow path/wind passage (350), and coupled with the air duct/ wind guide part (300) to transmit air introduced into the second air flow path/ connecting path (410) to the first air flow path/wind passage (350) (Para 0043),
wherein the air duct/wind guide part (300) comprises an outer plate comprising an outer wall surface and an inner plate comprising an inner wall surface (clearly shown in the figure below),
wherein the outer plate comprises a top plate extending radially inwardly and comprising an inner end portion (clearly shown in the figure below), the top plate being convexly rounded upward so that the inner end portion faces radially outward (clearly seen in the figure below),
wherein the inner plate extends radially inwardly from a lower end of the outer plate and extends inclinedly upwardly as the inner plate goes radially inward, the inner plate comprising an upper end portion extended toward a radial outer side of the air duct (clearly seen in the figure below),
wherein the upper end portion of the inner plate overlaps a radial outer side of the inner end portion of the top plate (clearly seen in the figure below),
wherein the injection port/discharge part (326) is formed between the top plate and the inner plate of the air duct and extends along a circumferential direction on an upper side of the inner wall surface of the air duct (clearly seen in figure 5) (Para 00520, 0055),
wherein the radial outer side of the inner end portion of the top plate and a radial inner side of the upper end portion of the inner plate are spaced apart from each other such that the injection port/ discharge part (326) is formed through a gap therebetween (clearly seen in the figure below), and
wherein the injection port/ discharge part (326) extends continuously along the circumferential direction (clearly seen in figure 5) (Para 0052, 0054).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein the air duct/wind guide part (300) has a cross-section in a shape of an airfoil (clearly seen in figure 9; air duct/wind guide part produce lift thus is an airfoil),
wherein the outer wall surface is an upper surface of the airfoil, and the inner wall surface is a lower surface of the airfoil (clearly shown in the figure below),
wherein an upper side is a leading edge of the airfoil, and a lower side is a trailing edge of the airfoil (clearly shown in the figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein the air duct/wind guide part (300) has a cross-sectional area of the inner wall surface that becomes narrower as the inner wall surface goes downward from the injection port/discharge part (326) by a certain distance and the cross sectional area of the inner wall surface becomes wider as the inner wall surface goes downward form the certain distance to a lower end of the air duct/wind guide part (300) (clearly shown in the figure below).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein the injection port/ discharge part (326) has a uniform or non-uniform gap width formed along the circumferential direction of the inner wall surface of the air duct/wind guide part (300) (clearly seen in figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) an unmanned aerial vehicle/drone (50) (Para 0057), comprising:
a body (100) provided with an air inlet/inlet part (102a) (Para 0057); and
the low-noise thrust generation apparatus of claim 1,
wherein a front end of the air guide/connecting duct (400) is coupled to the body (100) to transmit air introduced into the body (100) to the air duct/wind guide part (300) (clearly seen in figures 9) (Para 0053, 0057).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the unmanned aerial vehicle wherein the thrust generation apparatus is arranged in plurality, radially spaced apart around the body (100) (clearly seen in figure 9).
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the unmanned aerial vehicle further comprising:
an air supplier/inlet units (201-204) provided inside the body to supply air to the air guide/connecting duct (400) (Para 0057).
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein the air guide/connecting duct (400) is formed of a pipe having a constant cross-sectional area (clearly seen in figures 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0113798) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jia (US 10,336,452).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus further comprising:
an air supplier/inlet units (201-204) to supply air to the air duct/ wind guide part (300) (Para 0057),
but it is silent about the low-noise thrust generation apparatus further comprising:
an air supplier that is provided on the second air flow path of the air guide.
Jia ‘452 teaches (figures 1-14) a low-noise thrust generation apparatus, comprising:
an air duct/nozzle (60) comprising a first air flow path/upper passage (64) and an air guide/ cylindrical channel (56) that has a second air flow path wherein an air supplier/turbine (44) is provided on the second air flow path of the air guide/ cylindrical channel (56) (Col. 5 Lines 49-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. ‘798 to incorporate the teachings of Jia ‘452 to configure the low-noise thrust generation apparatus further comprising:
an air supplier that is provided on the second air flow path of the air guide.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would directly supply air to the wind guide part/air duct concentrating the air flow and maximizing the thrust generated by the wind guide part/air duct.
Regarding claim 4, modified Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein the air supplier/ inlet units (201-204) includes a blower fan/inlet fan (210) that is configured to transfer the air by rotation, a motor (220) that is configured to rotate the blower fan/inlet fan (210), and a driving unit/battery (230) that is configured to drive the motor (Para 0040).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0113798).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus comprising an injection angle of the injection port with respect to a vertical direction and an inclination of the inner plate with respect to the vertical direction (clearly shown in the figure below),
but it is silent about the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein an injection angle of the injection port is 40֯ to 70֯ degrees with respect to a vertical direction, and an inclination of the inner plate is 10֯ to 20֯ with respect to the vertical direction.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein an injection angle of the injection port is 40֯ to 70֯ degrees with respect to a vertical direction, and an inclination of the inner plate is 10֯ to 20֯ with respect to the vertical direction, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would help to customize the injection angle and inclination of the inner plate as needed.
Regarding claim 9, modified Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 2-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus comprising a diameter of a lower end of the outer surface wall of the air duct /wind guide part (300) (clearly shown in the figure below)
but it is silent about the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein a diameter of a lower end of an outer wall surface of the air duct is 55 mm to 70 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein a diameter of a lower end of an outer wall surface of the air duct is 55 mm to 70 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would help to customize the size of the air duct as needed.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0113798) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cerra et al. (US 2010/0313545).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 3-6, 9) the low-noise thrust generation apparatus of claim 1 but it is silent about the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein an end portion of the top plate, where the injection port is formed, is formed in a chevron shape in which a length extended from the outer plate repeatedly increases and decreases along the circumferential direction to form a chevron-shaped injection port.
Cerra et al. ‘545 teaches (figures 1-2) a jet engine nozzle (20) with a chevrons extending from an aft section of the nozzle (20) (Para 0022)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. ‘798 to incorporate the teachings of Cerra et al. ‘545 to configure the low-noise thrust generation apparatus wherein an end portion of the top plate, where the injection port is formed, is formed in a chevron shape in which a length extended from the outer plate repeatedly increases and decreases along the circumferential direction to form a chevron-shaped injection port.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would assist in noise reduction.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2017/0113798) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Wolff et al. (US 2012/0091257).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. ‘798 teaches (figures 3-6, 9) the unmanned aerial vehicle wherein the air guide/connecting duct (400) is coupled to the body (100) (Para 0057)
but it is silent about the unmanned aerial vehicle wherein the air guide is coupled so as to be rotatable along an axial direction, and changes a thrust direction of the air duct by the rotation.
Wolff et al. ‘257 teaches (figure 1) an air vehicle (100) comprising controllably, selectively and independently varying the thrust vectors by changing tilt angle of forward ducted fan units (420a, 420b) (Para 0067).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jia ‘452 to incorporate the teachings of Wolff et al. ‘257 to configure the unmanned aerial vehicle comprising tilting air duct. This results in the unmanned aerial vehicle wherein the air guide is coupled so as to be rotatable along an axial direction, and changes a thrust direction of the air duct by the rotation.
wherein the air guide is coupled so as to be rotatable along an axial direction, and changes a thrust direction of the air duct by the rotation.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enhance flight aerodynamics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 27th August 2026, with respect to amended claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of as explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642