DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/10/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: target curvature calculation unit, target steering angle calculation unit in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification does not provide adequate description of structure capable of performing the claimed limitations. (see below rejections under 35 USC 112)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitations: target curvature calculation unit and target steering angle calculation unit are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function(s).
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art the limitations can be performed upon either a separate processor/CPU or by software (instructions/programming block) on the controller. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure(s) perform(s) the claimed function(s).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function(s). The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20220089219A1 (“Takebayashi”).
Claim 1:
A vehicle control device that causes a vehicle to travel along a target route created by connecting a plurality of types of lines, the vehicle control device comprising: a target curvature calculation unit that calculates a smoothed value of target curvatures of a plurality of points on the target route including a calculation target point and a predetermined number of points before and after the calculation target point, any one of the points being a joint of different types of lines, in order to calculate a smoothed target curvature for the calculation target point; a target steering angle calculation unit that calculates a target steering angle based on the smoothed target curvature; and a control unit that controls steering based on the target steering angle when the vehicle travels. (Takebayashi at least the abstract, FIGs. 3-8, [0017], [0046], [0065])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takebayashi in view of US20190382014A1 (“Wang”).
As per claim 2, Takebayashi teaches the limitation of the invention as described above. Takebayashi does not disclose:
the target curvature calculation unit calculates, as the smoothed target curvature, an average value of target curvatures at the plurality of points or a weighted average value of the target curvatures acquired by weighting the target curvatures at the plurality of points and calculating a weighted average value of the target curvatures.
Wang teaches the aforementioned limitations (Wang at least [0093-0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takebayashi with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve the efficiency of obtaining curvatures and thus efficiency of driving control (Wang [0058]). The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 2.
As per claim 3, Takebayashi in combination with the other reference teaches the limitation of the invention as described above. Takebayashi does not disclose:
when determining positions of the plurality of points, the target curvature calculation unit determines, as a position of an adjacent point, a position advanced by a distance obtained by multiplying a vehicle speed by a preset predetermined time based on the calculation target point, and repeats this calculation in order to determine the positions of the plurality of points.
Wang teaches the aforementioned limitations (Wang at least [0026-0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takebayashi with the aforementioned limitations taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 2.
As per claim 4, Takebayashi in combination with the other reference teaches the limitation of the invention as described above. Takebayashi additionally teaches:
the target curvature calculation unit uses a target vehicle speed as the vehicle speed. (Takebayashi at least [0054-0055], [0079])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach aspects of the invention: US20150134222A1, US20220089161A1, US20240385626A1, US20150354968A1.
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669