Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended their application as follows:
Amended: 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 14-16
Cancelled: 5, 10, 12-13 and 17
Added: 18-23
Therefore, claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-16 and 18-23 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 11, 14, 18, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2012/0268500 A1, hereinafter “Chang”) in view of Shiohara et al. (US 2014/0146333 A1, hereinafter “Shiohara”).
As to claim 6, Chang (Fig. 2) discloses an apparatus for partial refreshing at an arbitrary position (111) on an electronic shelf label (100), comprising:
a positional region division module (Fig. 1 element 130) configured to divide positional regions of pixels of a target image in an electronic shelf label (Fig. 2A; Para. 0037), wherein non-refresh-required pixels are assigned to an identical positional region (110), and pixels which have identical pixel transition requirements assigned to an identical positional region (Fig. 5A elements a long black bar; Para. 0071), the positional region of the non-refresh-required pixels (110) and the positional region of the pixels (111) which have identical pixel transition requirements are different positional regions, the identical pixel transition requirements are identical pixel color transition requirements (a long black bar); and
a refreshing module (130) configured to refresh the pixels of the target image according to the drive waveform (Para. 0037), the positional region comprising pixels requiring no refreshing is separately assigned a code which differs from all codes corresponding to positional regions with pixels that need to be refreshed.
a code (Para. 0034) and drive waveform determination module (Fig. 1 element 130) configured to determine a code of each positional region and a drive waveform corresponding to the code, and the positional region comprising pixels requiring no refreshing is separately assigned a code which differs from all codes corresponding to positional regions with pixels that need to be refreshed (Para. 0037-0042, the command to refresh partial display area, which would have code/function to display the partial area and code /function to not display the remaining display area. The command is interpreted to read on claimed limitation “code”.).
Chang does not disclose wherein positional regions whose pixels have different colors after transition are assigned mutually different codes.
However, Shiohara (Fig. 4A-4C) teaches wherein positional regions whose pixels have different colors after transition are assigned mutually different codes (Para. 0143, 0166-0167).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Chang to display different colors in the device disclosed by Chang. The motivation would have been to display the status of the function/product (Shiohara Para. 0167).
The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 1 and similar media of claim 11.
As to claim 7, Chang discloses the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the positional region division module is specifically configured to:
obtain a current image (Fig. 2A element 110, currently displayed image) and a target image of the electronic shelf label (Para. 0037);
compare data of identical positions in the current image (Fig. 5B element 111) and the target image one by one to determine the non-refresh-required pixels (111a) and the pixels which have identical pixel transition requirements (long black bar; Para. 0071);
divide the non-refresh-required pixels into an identical positional region (Para. 0072); and
divide the pixels which have identical pixel transition requirements into the identical positional region which is different from the positional region of non-refresh-required pixels (Para. 0071).
The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 2 and similar media of claim 14.
As to claim 20, Chang in view of Shiohara disclose the apparatus according to claim 6. Shiohara further teaches wherein the identical pixel transition requirements are requirements for transitioning to an identical color of the pixels (Fig. 10; Para. 0247, the control command for blue color).
The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 18 and similar media of claim 22.
Claim(s) 3-4, 8-9, 15-16, 19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang and Shiohara as applied to claims 1, 6 and 11 respectively above, and further in view of Yashiro et al. (US 8,902,151 B2; hereinafter “Yashiro”).
As to claim 8, Chang in view of Shiohara disclose the device according to claim 6. Shiohara further teaches wherein the code and drive waveform determination module is specifically configured to:
determine the code of each positional region according to the pixel transition requirement (Fig. 10; Para. 0247; control commands for different colors).
Shiohara does not expressly disclose determine a drive waveform corresponding to each code, wherein the drive waveform corresponding to the code of the positional region where the non-refresh-required pixels are assigned is consistent with a reference voltage waveform.
However, Yashiro teaches determine a drive waveform corresponding to each code, wherein the drive waveform corresponding to the code of the positional region where the non-refresh-required pixels are assigned is consistent with a reference voltage waveform (Fig. 6-7; Col. 16 lines 47-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Yashiro to include a retaining phase in the device disclosed by Chang/Shiohara. The motivation would have been to provide an improved image display speed (Yashiro; Col. 2 lines 50-55).
The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 3 and similar media of claim 15.
As to claim 9, Chang does not disclose the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the drive waveform comprises a charge balancing phase, an activation phase and a color rendering phase.
However, Yashiro (Fig. 6) teaches wherein the drive waveform comprises a charge balancing phase (20; Col. 13 lines 49-56), an activation phase (Fig. 10 element driving to develop/reduce color) and a color rendering phase (Fig. 7 element retain phase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Yashiro to include a retaining phase in the device disclosed by Chang/Shiohara. The motivation would have been to provide an improved image display speed (Yashiro; Col. 2 lines 50-55).
The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 4 and similar media of claim 16.
As to claim 21, Chang does not disclose the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the separately assigned code is a data protection code, and the drive waveform corresponding to the data protection code is consistent with a reference voltage waveform.
However, Yashiro (Fig. 6) teaches wherein the separately assigned code is a data protection code (Fig. 10 element driving to retain color; Fig. 4; Col. 17 lines 60-67 to Col. 18 lines 1-16; the command/function to apply retaining voltage), and the drive waveform corresponding to the data protection code is consistent with a reference voltage waveform (Fig. 7 element retain phase).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Yashiro to include a retaining phase in the device disclosed by Chang/Shiohara. The motivation would have been to provide an improved image display speed (Yashiro; Col. 2 lines 50-55).
The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 19 and similar media of claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2023/0290315 A1) discloses comparing pixel data (Fig. 5).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625