DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title or similar is suggested: RING LAMP WITH ANNULAR HOUSING AND LED ILLUMINATING MEANS ACCOMODATED THEREIN .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claims 1-2 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng (U.S. Patent No. 12638,146).
Regarding Claim 1, Zheng discloses in Figures 1-2, a ring lamp, comprising a receiving housing (face ring 2 with annular sidewall 21) which is annular, in particular circular, oval, rectangular, or square, and which surrounds an intermediate space, and in which an illuminating means (light strip 3), preferably an LED illuminating means, is accommodated, said illuminating means extending correspondingly in an annular, in particular circular, oval, rectangular, or square manner, and a cover element (cover 1 with back cover 11) which is annular, in particular circular, oval, rectangular, or square, and which closes the receiving housing 2, wherein the illuminating means 3 is electrically connected to a line 72 via contacts, preferably contact surfaces, directly or indirectly via a plug 71 wherein the line 72 is guided as a flat line out of the receiving housing 2, or on the side of the receiving housing 1 facing away from the illuminating means , a protruding feedthrough is arranged, through which the line 72 is guided, in particular as a flat line (the term flat line is seen to be capable of being disposed in a flat manner).
Regarding Claim 2, Zheng discloses in Figures 1-2, the ring lamp (1) according to claim 1, characterized in that wherein the line 72 is designed as a flat line made of a strip of a flexible insulating material, in particular plastics material, with conductor tracks and contacts, preferably contact surfaces, applied thereto.
Regarding Claim 5, Zheng discloses in Figure 6, the ring lamp according to claim 1, wherein an opening is provided in the receiving housing 2, at which the feedthrough (for the cord connector 72) is arranged.
Regarding Claim 6, Zheng discloses in Figures 1-2, the ring lamp (1) according to claim 5, characterized in that wherein the line 72 is in contact with the illuminating means 3 through the opening (Col 7, lines 23-30).
Regarding Claim 7, Zheng inherently discloses the ring lamp according claim 1, wherein the line 72 is at least a 2-wire, preferably 3- wire, line (inherently a wire from an outside external source has at least a positive and negative conductor).
Regarding Claim 8, Zheng inherently discloses the ring lamp (1) according to claim 1, wherein the flat line 72 has at least one of the following properties: a) a current carrying capacity of 4-8 A, preferably at least 6 apses (the common amperage of an AC power line is 10-15amps).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applicant is respectfully advised that in examining a pending application, the claims are interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably convey. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d. 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). MPEP § 2111.01.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (U.S. Patent No. 12,638,146).
Regarding Claim 3, Zheng does not disclose the line 72 is soldered to a contact of the illuminating means 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use soldering, because a person of ordinary skill would have had good reason to pursue the known option(s) of soldering electrical connections to create a low loss or low resistive connection which is considered to be within his or her technical grasp. This leads to the anticipated success of proving a low resistive electrical connection and it is determined that soldered electrical connections is not of innovation, but of ordinary skill and common sense. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 4, Zheng does not explicitly disclose the ring lamp (1) according claim 1, wherein the receiving housing 2 and/or the line (16) comprises a self-adhesive layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use adhesive to adhere the line 72 or housing 2, because a person of ordinary skill would have had good reason to pursue the known option(s) of adhering a housing or line to a support surface which is considered to be within his or her technical grasp. This leads to the anticipated success of easily affixing the housing or cord to a surface and it is determined that the use of adhesive is not of innovation, but of ordinary skill and common sense. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (U.S. Patent No. 12,638,146) in view of Kwiatt (U.S. PG Publication No. 2007/177381).
Zheng does not disclose a furniture component to which at least one ring lamp according to claim 1 is attached, wherein the line is guided through a recess in the furniture component
Kwiatt discloses in Figures 1-2B, a furniture component to which at least one ring lamp 100 110 is attached, wherein the power line is guided through a recess in the furniture component (the power line is guided through an opening to connect with the light segment 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a ring light with furniture. All the claimed elements in Zheng and Kwiatt were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the ring light with the furniture as claimed with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result providing decorative lighting to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Swaris (U.S. PG Publication No. 2006/0087844), Bennett (U.S. Patent No. 10,332,667) and Lin (U.S. Patent No. 11,143,366) disclose annular housings with a light strip disposed therein.
/ROBERT J MAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875