Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 is indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim. A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. MPEP 2173.05(h).
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the second duration" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benedictus et al. (US 2005/0189044), hereinafter (“Benedictus”), and provided by applicant.
Re claim 1, Benedictus discloses an armor component comprising a metal product, the metal product comprising a 7xxx series aluminum alloy (p. [0002]), wherein the metal product exhibits a yield strength of from about 400 MPa to 495 MPa (Table 3), wherein the metal product exhibits an ultimate tensile strength of from about 450 MPa to 545 MPa (Table 12), wherein the metal product exhibits an elongation of about 9% to 16% (Table 6), and wherein the 7xxx series aluminum alloy comprises: about 7.1 wt.% to 7.5 wt.% Zn (Abstract), about 1.90 wt.% to 2.25 wt.% Mg (Abstract), about 1.3 wt.% to 1.8 wt.% Cu (Abstract), about 0.05 wt.% to 0.4 wt.% of a dispersoid forming element (p. [0026]), about 0.01 wt.% to 0.06 wt.% Ti (Abstract), up to about 0.15 wt.% Si (p. [0034]), up to 0.15 wt.% Fe (p. [0019]), and Al (Abstract).
Re claim 2, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the metal product exhibits an absorbed impact energy of from 40 J/cm2 to 100 J/cm2 (inherent).
Re claim 3, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the yield strength is from about 410 MPa to about 470 MPa (Table 3), wherein the ultimate tensile strength is from about 470 MPa to about 530 MPa (Table 12), and the elongation is from about 12% to 16% (Table 6).
Re claim 4, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the metal product exhibits ballistic properties that meets a US military specification (inherent), or wherein the metal product meets Type B mechanical and ballistic requirements of a US military specification (inherent).
Re claim 5, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 4, wherein the US military specification is a MIL-DTL-32375B specification or a MIL-DTL-32375C specification (inherent).
Re claim 6, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the metal product exhibits an exfoliation corrosion susceptibility of EA or EB according to an ASTM G34 standard (p. [0091]).
Re claim 7, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the metal product exhibits a stress-corrosion cracking resistance of at least 30 days according to an ASTM G64 standard (inherent).
Re claim 8, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the yield strength is along a LT direction, wherein the ultimate tensile strength is along a LT direction, and wherein the elongation is along a LT direction.
Re claim 9, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the dispersoid forming element comprises one or more of Zr, Sc, V, Hf, Ti, Cr, or Mn (p. [0006]).
Re claim 10, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the metal product is a plate having a thickness of from 12.7 mm to 76.2 mm (p. [0010]).
Re claim 11, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the 7xxx series aluminum alloy comprises a ratio of Zn to Mg of less than or about 4 (Abstract).
Re claim 12, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the dispersoid forming element comprises Zr in a range of from 0.06 wt.% to 0.15 wt.% (p. [0014]).
Re claim 13, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the 7xxx series aluminum alloy comprises impurities of up to 0.15 wt.% and a balance Al (p. [0019]).
Re claim 14, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, having been subjected to an over-aging treatment comprising heating to a first temperature of from 110 °C to 130 °C for a first duration of from 4 hours to 12 hours, and followed by heating to a second temperature of from 160 °C to 200 °C for a second duration of from 4 hours to 40 hours (product-by-process; see MPEP 2113).
Re claim 15, Benedictus discloses the armor component of claim 1, wherein the second duration is from 10 hours to 18 hours (product-by-process; see MPEP 2113).
Re claim 16, Benedictus (p. [0058+]) discloses a method of producing an armor component, the method comprising: casting a 7xxx series aluminum alloy into an ingot; homogenizing the ingot; hot rolling the ingot to obtain a metal product; solution heat treating the metal product; quenching the metal product; stretching the metal product to obtain a permanent elongation from 1% to 6%; and subjecting the metal product to an over-aging treatment, wherein the over-aging treatment comprises heating the metal product to a first temperature of from 110 °C to 130 °C for a first duration of from 4 hours to 12 hours and followed by heating the metal product to a second temperature of from 160 °C to 200 °C for a second duration of from 4 hours to 40 hours, wherein the metal product exhibits a yield strength of from about 400 MPa to 495 MPa, wherein the metal product exhibits an ultimate tensile strength of from about 450 MPa to 545 MPa, wherein the metal product exhibits an elongation of about 9% to 16%, and wherein the 7xxx series aluminum alloy comprises: about 7.1 wt.% to 7.5 wt.% Zn, about 1.90 wt.% to 2.25 wt.% Mg, about 1.3 wt.% to 1.8 wt.% Cu, about 0.05 wt.% to 0.4 wt.% of a dispersoid forming element, about 0.01 wt.% to 0.06 wt.% Ti, up to about 0.15 wt.% Si, up to 0.15 wt.% Fe, and Al.
Re claim 17, Benedictus discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising cold rolling the metal product (p. [0048]).
Re claim 18, Benedictus discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the over-aging treatment generates a microstructure in the metal product providing the yield strength, the ultimate tensile strength, and the elongation.
Re claim 19, Benedictus discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the second duration is from 10 hours to 18 hours.
Re claim 20, Benedictus discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the metal product exhibits ballistic properties that meets a US military specification, or wherein the metal product meets Type B mechanical and ballistic requirements of a US military specification.
Conclusion
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641