DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chando et al. (US 2022/0111959 A1) hereinafter Chando.
Regarding claim 1, Chando teaches a rotor assembly comprising:
a rotor mast (25) connected to a motor (13) and to a rotor hub, the rotor mast being rotatable about a first axis (Figs. 1-3; paras. 0025-0028),
a plurality of blades (11, 12) connected to the rotor hub;
the rotor hub including a shaft (70) (Fig. 1) connecting the blades, the shaft being rotatable about a second axis (Figs. 1-3);
a swashplate (53) connected to the rotor mast and to the shaft (Fig. 1, para. 0028); and
a single linkage (42) extending from a first end to a second end (Fig. 1, para. 0028) the first end being coupled to the shaft (the first end is coupled to the shaft via connecting member 62), the second end being coupled to the swashplate (the second end is coupled to the swash plate via motor mount 23) (Figs. 1-2; para. 0026-0029), the single linkage configured to transfer motion of the swashplate to rotation of the shaft about the second axis and thereby rotate the blades about the second axis simultaneously (paras. 0029-0029).
Regarding claim 2, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Chando further teaches the first end of the single linkage is formed on a pitch link (62) and the second end is formed on a control rod (41) (Fig. 1, para. 0024).
Regarding claim 3, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Chando further teaches the pitch link is coupled to the shaft at a center-most point of the shaft (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 2. Chando further teaches a first end of the pitch link is generally cylindrical and includes an aperture configured to receive the shaft, wherein the first end of the pitch link forms the first end of the single linkage (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 4. Chando further teaches a second end of the pitch link, opposite of the first end of the pitch link, is coupled to the control rod, wherein the second end of the pitch link is configured to pivot when lifted or lowered by the control rod (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Chando further teaches the shaft is configured to decrease a first angle of attack of a first blade and increase a second angle of attack of a second blade simultaneously (blades 11 and 12 are pitched in opposite direction, as the angle of attack of one blade decreases, the angle of attack of the other blade decreases; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Chando further teaches the shaft is connected to the rotor mast by two yoke protrusions (71, 72), the first end of the single linkage being disposed between the two yoke protrusions (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Chando teaches a rotor assembly comprising:
a rotor mast (25) connecting a motor (13) to a rotor hub, the rotor mast being rotatable about a first axis that extends through the rotor mast (Figs. 1-3, paras. 0025-0028).
at least two blades (11, 12) connected to the rotor hub (Figs. 1-2);
a shaft (70) connecting the at least two blades, the shaft being rotatable about a second axis;
a control rod (41);
a swashplate (53) connected to the shaft by the control rod (Figs. 1-3; para. 0028)
and a pitch link (62) connected to the shaft at a center of the shaft as measured along the second axis, the pitch link being configured to rotate the shaft around the second axis and thereby change an angle of attack of the at least two blades simultaneously (Figs. 1-2; para. 0026-0029).
Regarding claim 9, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 8. Chando further teaches the shaft is a single shaft that passes through a center of the rotor assembly as measured along the second axis (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 9. Chando further teaches the control rod is connected to the shaft by the pitch link (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 9. Chando further teaches a first end of the pitch link is generally cylindrical and includes an aperture configured to receive the shaft (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 9. Chando further teaches the pitch link extends towards the control rod in a direction perpendicular to the second axis (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 8. Chando further teaches the shaft is connected the rotor hub by two yoke protrusions (71, 72) (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 14, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Chando further teaches the pitch link is disposed between the two yokes (71, 72) protrusions (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Chando teaches a vehicle comprising:
a first rotor assembly comprising:
a first set of at least two blades (11, 12) (Figs. 1-3);
a first shaft (70) connected to the first set of at least two blades (Figs. 1-3),
the first shaft being rotatable about a first axis (Figs. 1-3); and
a first pitch link (62) connected to the first shaft at a center of the first shaft as measured along the first axis and configured to rotate the first shaft along the first axis and thereby change an angle of attack of the first set of at least two blades (Figs. 1-3, para. 0024); and
a second rotor assembly comprising:
a second set of at least two blades (11, 12) (Figs. 1-3);
a second shaft (70) connected to the second set of at least two blades, the second shaft being rotatable about a second axis (Figs. 1-3); and
a second pitch link (62) connected to the second shaft at a center of the second shaft as measured along the second axis and configured to rotate the second shaft along the second axis and thereby change an angle of attack of the second set of at least two blades (Figs. 1-3, para. 0024). Note that the vehicle is a fixed wings UAV and as known in the art each wing comprises the rotors assembly disclosed in Figs. 1-3.
Regarding claim 16, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 16. Chando further teaches the first rotor assembly includes a first swashplate (53) connected to the first shaft by a first control rod (41), and the second rotor assembly includes a second swashplate (53) connected to the second shaft by a second control rod (41) (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 17, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 16. Chando further teaches the first control rod is connected to the first shaft by the first pitch link, and the second control rod is connected to the second shaft by the second pitch link (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 18, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 16. Chando further teaches a first end of the first pitch link defines a cylindrical aperture configured to receive the first shaft, wherein a first end of the second pitch link defines a cylindrical aperture configured to receive the second shaft (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 16. Chando further teaches the first set of at least two blades are configured to be rotated by the connection to the first swashplate every revolution and the second set of at least two blades are rotated by the connection to the second swashplate every revolution (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, Chando teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 16. Chando further teaches the first shaft is configured to decrease a first angle of attack of a first blade of the first set of at least two blades and increase a second angle of attack of a second blade of the first set of at least two blades simultaneously; and the second shaft is configured to decrease a third angle of attack of a third blade of the second set of at least two blades and increase a fourth angle of attack of a fourth blade of the second set of at least two blades simultaneously (blades 11 and 12 are pitched in opposite direction, as the angle of attack of one blade decreases, the angle of attack of the other blade decreases; Figs. 1-2; para. 0026-0029).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 10,882,611 B2; US 2023/0091534 A1; US 2023/0009101 A1; US 2019/0193835 A1 each discloses rotor assemblies including pitch link and swashplate.
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745