DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
Claims 1 and 17 are not rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to abstract idea for the following reason:
The claims recite additional elements, including position sensor configured to detect user’s location and electronic devices configured to determine a relative distance based on the detected signals. The claims directed to communication between a plurality of transmitting and receiving devices and integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Specifically, these additional elements improve search and rescue operations by increasing efficiency through detecting the nearby devices for communication with the rescuers and displaying the rescuee’s terminal device location. Accordingly, because the claims integrate into a practical application under step 2A prong two, the claims are not rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to abstract idea. The dependent claims further limit depend on independent claims 1 and 17 and for the same reasons, they are not rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to abstract idea.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Element 40D1 and 40D2 disclose in the figure 1 and those elements could not allocated in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 is not ending with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the one or more abandoned location transmitting devices" in lines 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 13-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US 20170161004.
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. disclose A rescue device comprising: a processor; a position sensor communicably coupled to the processor; a display communicably coupled to the processor; and a plurality of wireless receivers communicably coupled to the processor; wherein the processor is configured to: receive, via the plurality of wireless receivers, a plurality of signals from a corresponding plurality of location transmitting devices associated with one or more individuals, wherein each signal from the plurality of signals is indicative of a location of a corresponding location transmitting device from the plurality of location transmitting devices in an emergency environment; (Lee et al. US 20170161004 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0015]; [0044]; [0050]-[0052]; [0054]-[0057]; [0060]-[0065]; [0082]; [0104]; [0108]-[0122]; [0124]-[0130]; [0134]; [0138]; [0148]; [0155]-[0156]; [0160]; [0165]-[0166]; [0198]-[0205]; figures 1-18)
Referring to FIG. 1, according to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, an electronic device 100 in a network environment is described. The electronic device 100, as a device carriable by the user, may include a bus 106, a processor (e.g., including processing circuitry) 102, a memory 104, an input/output (I/O) interface (e.g., including I/O interface circuitry) 108, a display 110, and a communication module (e.g., including communication circuitry) 112. In some embodiments, the electronic device 100 may exclude at least one of the components or may add another component (Lee et al. par. 50). The electronic device 100 may include at least one sensing module (not shown) electrically connected with the processor 102 and obtaining ambient environmental information and/or movement information regarding the electronic device 100. The sensing module to obtain the ambient environmental information may include at least one of a temperature/humidity sensor, a bio sensor, an illumination sensor, an ultraviolet (UV) sensor, a gas sensor, a smoke sensor, and an air pressure sensor. The sensing module to obtain movement information may include at least one sensor capable of sensing various linear acceleration information, rotational angular acceleration information, and/or position information regarding the electronic device, such as a linear acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a geomagnetic sensor (Lee et al. par. 60). As used herein, the term “distress signal” may refer, for example, to a signal for requesting a rescue that is sent from a device of a user in distress that is positioned near (e.g., in operable proximity to) the electronic device 100. The distress signal may include, for example, at least one of identification information, location information, bio information, sensing data, and image information regarding the user device (Lee et al. par. 63). As used herein, the “search information” may refer, for example to environmental information, guide information, and/or movement information regarding an area that the electronic device 100 attempts to or should search. The area guided by the search information may include an area within a predetermined distance of the electronic device 100, but without being limited thereto, may also include an area that, although not physically positioned nearby, allows the electronic device 100 to receive context information (environmental information and/or movement information) thereon by various communication schemes (including direct or indirect communication) with another device (e.g., an external sensor and/or user device) The search information may be varied over time and may be updated in real-time by communication between the electronic device 100 and various external sensors (Lee et al. par. 64).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the electronic device 100 as the rescue device, the sensing module as the position sensor and communication module 112 as the wireless receiver and transmitter. According to the par. 63-64, examiner interpret another devices transmit the rescue signal within the area and the electronic device 100 received the rescue signal.
determine, via the position sensor, a current position of the rescue device as the rescue device moves through the emergency environment; determine a plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices based on the plurality of signals, wherein each location from the plurality of locations is determined based on a corresponding signal from the plurality of signals received from the corresponding location transmitting device;
The electronic device 100 may obtain the ambient environmental information and/or movement information regarding the electronic device 100 based on sensing data obtained by various sensors. The sensing data may include at least one of information identifying each sensor, a sensor type, location information, and a value sensed. As an example of the sensed value, the electronic device 100 may obtain a linear acceleration of the electronic device 100 based on sensing data from the linear acceleration sensor. The electronic device 100 may obtain a rotational angular acceleration of the electronic device 100 based on sensing data from the gyro sensor. The electronic device 100 may obtain position information and movement information regarding the electronic device 100 based on sensing data from the gyro sensor and the geomagnetic sensor (Lee et al par. 61). As an example, a rescuer, e.g., a firefighter on the fire in building, may make use of distress information provided from the electronic device 100 to determine the location of rescuees in the building and move to the rescuees needing a quick rescue (Lee et al. par. 112).
determine respective distances and respective directions of the plurality of location transmitting devices relative to the current position of the rescue device; generate a plurality of indicia representing the plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices, wherein the plurality of indicia represents the respective distances and the respective directions relative to the current position of the rescue device;
The display 710 outputs search information containing contents necessary for the rescuer to search a distress site. An example of the search information includes information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area rescued, together with guide information 712 for an area where he is to enter. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the guide information 712 may be an image of an aisle, wall, or room of a building, as the distress site, based on the position of the rescuer 720. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the guide information may, for example, be at least a portion of a plan view of the building, as the distress site (Lee et al. par. 125). The information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be placed on a portion on the display 710 which corresponds to the direction and distance where the area is actually positioned with respect to the position of the rescuer 720. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be displayed in a larger size as the area is positioned closer to the rescuer 720 or needs a quicker rescue. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be displayed in different colors depending on distances or rescue priorities. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, an area required to be first rescued may display a red alert lamp that flickers. Further, based on per-area priorities, the search information may be displayed in red for a higher-priority area and in blue for a lower-priority area (Lee et al. par. 126).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets a different of color for different of distances and different priority of rescue as the different indicia present to the rescuer (fire fighter).
and display, via the display, the plurality of indicia, wherein the plurality of indicia is updated based on changes in the current position of the rescue device as the rescue device moves through the emergency environment.
As used herein, the “search information” may refer, for example to environmental information, guide information, and/or movement information regarding an area that the electronic device 100 attempts to or should search. The area guided by the search information may include an area within a predetermined distance of the electronic device 100, but without being limited thereto, may also include an area that, although not physically positioned nearby, allows the electronic device 100 to receive context information (environmental information and/or movement information) thereon by various communication schemes (including direct or indirect communication) with another device (e.g., an external sensor and/or user device) The search information may be varied over time and may be updated in real-time by communication between the electronic device 100 and various external sensors (Lee et al. par. 64). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the display 710 may display an image indicating the type of danger in a corresponding area, e.g., a fire image or gas image, along with the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the search information displayed on the display 710 may further display an arrow 714 indicating the direction along which the rescuer 720 is to enter from his current position, and the arrow 714 may be included and displayed in the guide information 712 (Lee et al. par. 129).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the search information continuously update in real-time by communication between the electronic device 100 (rescue device) and various external sensors. Therefore the position of the electronic device 100 relative to the various external sensors would be continuously update in real-time.
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. disclose The rescue device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a plurality of signal strengths of the plurality of signals, wherein the plurality of indicia represents the plurality of signal strengths of the plurality of signals.
According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the rescuer's terminal 1830 may directly receive distress signals from the rescuee's terminal 1832 positioned around. The rescuer's terminal 1830 measures the received signal strength and AOA of distress signals by periodically scanning the distress signals and computes the distance from the rescuee's terminal 1832 based on the received signal strength. The location of the rescuee's terminal 1832 may be determined based on the distance computed and the AOA measured. The rescuee's terminal 1830 determines whether the AOA and received signal strength (or location) of the rescuee's terminal 1832 varies depending on the result of scanning the distress signals, and when a variation in the AOA and received signal strength (or location) exceeds a predetermined range, determines that the rescuee's terminal 1832 is on the move and requires a quick rescue. Then, the rescuer's terminal 1830 displays search information indicating and guiding to the location where the rescuee's terminal 1832 has finally been sensed (Lee et al. par. 205).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. disclose The rescue device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a rescue map of the emergency environment; and overlay the plurality of indicia on the rescue map.
Then, the rescuer's terminal determines that the priority for area S3 is highest and that the priority for area S2 is lower than the priority for area S3, and the priority for area S1 is lower than the priority for area S2. In this example, the respective priorities for area S3, S2, and S1 may be represented as 1, 2, and 3, respectively. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, when a particular area is accompanied with a restriction, its priority may be determined to be, e.g., 0, meaning a ‘keep out’ (Lee et al. par. 155). In operation 1120, the rescuer's terminal analyzes the sensing data and determines a target location of rescue based on the result of analysis. When the rescuer's terminal previously determines information about a plan or layout of the distress site, the target location may be a particular area (e.g., a space or room where a particular router is located) in the distress site. When the rescuer's terminal is unaware of the layout of the distress site, the target location may be a particular geographical location (e.g., a longitude, latitude, or altitude). The target location of rescue may be determined based on the location of the rescuee's terminal as obtained from the distress signal and the location of sensors as obtained from the sensing data (Lee et al. par. 166).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the layout as the rescue map of the emergency area. Examiner interprets different priority rescue as the different indicia on the layout.
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. disclose The rescue device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the location of each of the plurality of location transmitting devices during a plurality of recurring time intervals.
Referring to FIG. 18, a distress site may, for example, refer to a building on fire. Multiple sensors 1804 are positioned inside the building to sense a dangerous situation, and a router (or a gateway) 1802 may be provided in each section separated physically or spatially to communicate with rescuees' terminals 1806 and sensors 1804 in a corresponding section. The router 1802 may periodically or aperiodically monitor the occurrence of distress signals or sensing data from the rescuees' terminals 1806 or sensors 1804 pre-registered, sensable by the router 1802, or positioned around (Lee et al. par. 200). The routers 1802 may sense signals (e.g., distress signals or identification signals) generated from the rescuees' terminals and report the result of sensing to the rescuer's terminal 1830, a building management server 1820, or a rescue team's server 1822. For example, the result of sensing may be delivered to the rescue team's server 1822 via at least one of the rescuer's terminal 1830 and the management server 1820. The rescuer's terminal 1830 or the server 1820 or 1822 may determine whether each rescuee's terminal 1806 moves or not and a movement route based on the sensing result from the routers 1802 (Lee et al. par. 201). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the rescuer's terminal 1830 may directly receive distress signals from the rescuee's terminal 1832 positioned around. The rescuer's terminal 1830 measures the received signal strength and AOA of distress signals by periodically scanning the distress signals and computes the distance from the rescuee's terminal 1832 based on the received signal strength. The location of the rescuee's terminal 1832 may be determined based on the distance computed and the AOA measured. The rescuee's terminal 1830 determines whether the AOA and received signal strength (or location) of the rescuee's terminal 1832 varies depending on the result of scanning the distress signals, and when a variation in the AOA and received signal strength (or location) exceeds a predetermined range, determines that the rescuee's terminal 1832 is on the move and requires a quick rescue. Then, the rescuer's terminal 1830 displays search information indicating and guiding to the location where the rescuee's terminal 1832 has finally been sensed (Lee et al. par. 205).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. disclose The rescue device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a change in the location of each of the plurality of location transmitting devices over a predetermined time period; determine one or more moving location transmitting devices from the plurality of location transmitting devices based on the change in the location of each of the plurality of location transmitting devices; and highlight one or more indicia from the plurality of indicia corresponding to the one or more locations of the one or more moving location transmitting devices
According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the rescuer's terminal 1830 may directly receive distress signals from the rescuee's terminal 1832 positioned around. The rescuer's terminal 1830 measures the received signal strength and AOA of distress signals by periodically scanning the distress signals and computes the distance from the rescuee's terminal 1832 based on the received signal strength. The location of the rescuee's terminal 1832 may be determined based on the distance computed and the AOA measured. The rescuee's terminal 1830 determines whether the AOA and received signal strength (or location) of the rescuee's terminal 1832 varies depending on the result of scanning the distress signals, and when a variation in the AOA and received signal strength (or location) exceeds a predetermined range, determines that the rescuee's terminal 1832 is on the move and requires a quick rescue. Then, the rescuer's terminal 1830 displays search information indicating and guiding to the location where the rescuee's terminal 1832 has finally been sensed (Lee et al. par. 205).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. disclose The rescue device of claim 4, wherein the processor is further configured to determine that the one or more abandoned location transmitting devices are stationary within the emergency environment for a predetermined time period.
According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the rescuer's terminal 1830 may directly receive distress signals from the rescuee's terminal 1832 positioned around. The rescuer's terminal 1830 measures the received signal strength and AOA of distress signals by periodically scanning the distress signals and computes the distance from the rescuee's terminal 1832 based on the received signal strength. The location of the rescuee's terminal 1832 may be determined based on the distance computed and the AOA measured. The rescuee's terminal 1830 determines whether the AOA and received signal strength (or location) of the rescuee's terminal 1832 varies depending on the result of scanning the distress signals, and when a variation in the AOA and received signal strength (or location) exceeds a predetermined range, determines that the rescuee's terminal 1832 is on the move and requires a quick rescue. Then, the rescuer's terminal 1830 displays search information indicating and guiding to the location where the rescuee's terminal 1832 has finally been sensed (Lee et al. par. 205).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the rescuee’ terminal 1832 as the transmitting device that left abandon within the emergency environment that need the quick rescue in response the distress signal.
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. disclose The rescue device of claim 1, further comprising a wireless alert unit communicably coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to: generate a plurality of alert signals; and transmit the plurality of alert signals to the plurality of location transmitting devices, such that upon receiving the plurality of alert signals, the plurality of location transmitting devices generates and transmits the plurality of signals.
According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the rescuers' terminals 602 and 604 may directly receive sensing data and distress signals from rescuees' terminals and sensors positioned nearby, not through the routers. At least one of the distress signals and sensing data may be transmitted through bluetooth or at a dedicated frequency (Lee et al. par. 121).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the resuees’ terminals as the transmitting devices and the distress signals as the plurality of alert signals.
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. disclose The rescue device of claim 1, wherein each signal comprises one of a wireless signal and an audible signal.
For example, the communication module 112 may include various communication circuitry configured to set up communication between the electronic device 100 and an external device. For example, the communication module 112 may be connected to a network through wireless communication or wired communication to communicate with an external device (e.g., a sensor 120, user device 130, router 140 (or an access point or gateway), and/or a server 150 in the Internet or the network) (Lee et al. par. 56). The audio module 280 may convert, e.g., a sound signal into an electrical signal and vice versa. At least a part of the audio module 280 may be included in e.g., the input/output interface 108 as illustrated in FIG. 1. The audio module 280 may process sound information input or output through e.g., a speaker 282, a receiver 284, an earphone 286, or a microphone 288 (Lee et al. par. 82). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, as per the search information, the rescuer's terminal may move where the rescuee's terminal is located and send a search signal or particular message that may be received by the rescuee's terminal. The rescuee's terminal may flicker a light emitting diode (LED) or give off a predetermined sound in response to the search signal or particular message, notifying the rescuee that the rescuer is nearby. Further, the rescuee's terminal may send at least one of image information, a rescue request message, and a distress signal to the rescuer's terminal in response to the search signal or particular message (Lee et al. par. 138).
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. disclose An article of personal protective equipment (PPE) comprising the rescue device of claim 1.
Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device 100 of FIG. 1, as a wearable device carriable by the user or wearable on the user's body, may be, e.g., an HMD device 400 worn on the user's head. The HMD device 400 may be configured in the form of a helmet so that it may be fastened onto the user's head even when the user moves while he has difficulty using his hands, such as when he enjoys adventure, is rescuing or is rescued. As an example, the HMD device 400 may, for example, be a fire-retardant helmet used by a firefighter in a fire site. Further, the HMD device 400 may have an embedded display 410 or may interwork with a display 455 of an external device 450 (Lee et al. par. 104).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. disclose The article of PPE of claim 14, further comprising a face mask, wherein the display is disposed within the face mask.
Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device 100 of FIG. 1, as a wearable device carriable by the user or wearable on the user's body, may be, e.g., an HMD device 400 worn on the user's head. The HMD device 400 may be configured in the form of a helmet so that it may be fastened onto the user's head even when the user moves while he has difficulty using his hands, such as when he enjoys adventure, is rescuing or is rescued. As an example, the HMD device 400 may, for example, be a fire-retardant helmet used by a firefighter in a fire site. Further, the HMD device 400 may have an embedded display 410 or may interwork with a display 455 of an external device 450 (Lee et al. par. 104). Figure 4 clearly show the face mask.
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al. disclose A rescue method comprising: determining, via a position sensor, a current position of a rescue device as the rescue device moves through an emergency environment; receiving, via a plurality of wireless receivers, a plurality of signals from a plurality of location transmitting devices associated with one or more individuals, wherein each signal from the plurality of signals is indicative of a location of a corresponding location transmitting device from the plurality of location transmitting devices in the emergency environment; (Lee et al. US 20170161004 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0015]; [0044]; [0050]-[0052]; [0054]-[0057]; [0060]-[0065]; [0082]; [0104]; [0108]-[0122]; [0124]-[0130]; [0134]; [0138]; [0148]; [0155]-[0156]; [0160]; [0165]-[0166]; [0198]-[0205]; figures 1-18)
Referring to FIG. 1, according to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, an electronic device 100 in a network environment is described. The electronic device 100, as a device carriable by the user, may include a bus 106, a processor (e.g., including processing circuitry) 102, a memory 104, an input/output (I/O) interface (e.g., including I/O interface circuitry) 108, a display 110, and a communication module (e.g., including communication circuitry) 112. In some embodiments, the electronic device 100 may exclude at least one of the components or may add another component (Lee et al. par. 50). The electronic device 100 may include at least one sensing module (not shown) electrically connected with the processor 102 and obtaining ambient environmental information and/or movement information regarding the electronic device 100. The sensing module to obtain the ambient environmental information may include at least one of a temperature/humidity sensor, a bio sensor, an illumination sensor, an ultraviolet (UV) sensor, a gas sensor, a smoke sensor, and an air pressure sensor. The sensing module to obtain movement information may include at least one sensor capable of sensing various linear acceleration information, rotational angular acceleration information, and/or position information regarding the electronic device, such as a linear acceleration sensor, a gyro sensor, or a geomagnetic sensor (Lee et al. par. 60). As used herein, the term “distress signal” may refer, for example, to a signal for requesting a rescue that is sent from a device of a user in distress that is positioned near (e.g., in operable proximity to) the electronic device 100. The distress signal may include, for example, at least one of identification information, location information, bio information, sensing data, and image information regarding the user device (Lee et al. par. 63). As used herein, the “search information” may refer, for example to environmental information, guide information, and/or movement information regarding an area that the electronic device 100 attempts to or should search. The area guided by the search information may include an area within a predetermined distance of the electronic device 100, but without being limited thereto, may also include an area that, although not physically positioned nearby, allows the electronic device 100 to receive context information (environmental information and/or movement information) thereon by various communication schemes (including direct or indirect communication) with another device (e.g., an external sensor and/or user device) The search information may be varied over time and may be updated in real-time by communication between the electronic device 100 and various external sensors (Lee et al. par. 64).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the electronic device 100 as the rescue device, the sensing module as the position sensor and communication module 112 as the wireless receiver and transmitter. According to the par. 63-64, examiner interpret another devices transmit the rescue signal within the area and the electronic device 100 received the rescue signal.
determining a plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices based on the plurality of signals, wherein each location from the plurality of locations is determined based on a corresponding signal from the plurality of signals received from the corresponding location transmitting device;
The electronic device 100 may obtain the ambient environmental information and/or movement information regarding the electronic device 100 based on sensing data obtained by various sensors. The sensing data may include at least one of information identifying each sensor, a sensor type, location information, and a value sensed. As an example of the sensed value, the electronic device 100 may obtain a linear acceleration of the electronic device 100 based on sensing data from the linear acceleration sensor. The electronic device 100 may obtain a rotational angular acceleration of the electronic device 100 based on sensing data from the gyro sensor. The electronic device 100 may obtain position information and movement information regarding the electronic device 100 based on sensing data from the gyro sensor and the geomagnetic sensor (Lee et al par. 61). As an example, a rescuer, e.g., a firefighter on the fire in building, may make use of distress information provided from the electronic device 100 to determine the location of rescuees in the building and move to the rescuees needing a quick rescue (Lee et al. par. 112).
determining respective distances and respective directions of the plurality of location transmitting devices relative to the current position of the rescue device; generating a plurality of indicia representing the plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices, wherein the plurality of indicia represents the respective distances and the respective directions relative to the current position of the rescue device;
The display 710 outputs search information containing contents necessary for the rescuer to search a distress site. An example of the search information includes information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area rescued, together with guide information 712 for an area where he is to enter. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the guide information 712 may be an image of an aisle, wall, or room of a building, as the distress site, based on the position of the rescuer 720. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the guide information may, for example, be at least a portion of a plan view of the building, as the distress site (Lee et al. par. 125). The information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be placed on a portion on the display 710 which corresponds to the direction and distance where the area is actually positioned with respect to the position of the rescuer 720. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be displayed in a larger size as the area is positioned closer to the rescuer 720 or needs a quicker rescue. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be displayed in different colors depending on distances or rescue priorities. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, an area required to be first rescued may display a red alert lamp that flickers. Further, based on per-area priorities, the search information may be displayed in red for a higher-priority area and in blue for a lower-priority area (Lee et al. par. 126).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets a different of color for different of distances and different priority of rescue as the different indicia present to the rescuer (fire fighter).
and displaying, via a display, the plurality of indicia, wherein the plurality of indicia is updated based on changes in the current position of the rescue device as the rescue device moves through the emergency environment.
As used herein, the “search information” may refer, for example to environmental information, guide information, and/or movement information regarding an area that the electronic device 100 attempts to or should search. The area guided by the search information may include an area within a predetermined distance of the electronic device 100, but without being limited thereto, may also include an area that, although not physically positioned nearby, allows the electronic device 100 to receive context information (environmental information and/or movement information) thereon by various communication schemes (including direct or indirect communication) with another device (e.g., an external sensor and/or user device) The search information may be varied over time and may be updated in real-time by communication between the electronic device 100 and various external sensors (Lee et al. par. 64). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the display 710 may display an image indicating the type of danger in a corresponding area, e.g., a fire image or gas image, along with the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the search information displayed on the display 710 may further display an arrow 714 indicating the direction along which the rescuer 720 is to enter from his current position, and the arrow 714 may be included and displayed in the guide information 712 (Lee et al. par. 129).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the search information continuously update in real-time by communication between the electronic device 100 (rescue device) and various external sensors. Therefore the position of the electronic device 100 relative to the various external sensors would be continuously update in real-time.
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al. disclose The rescue method of claim 17, further comprising: determining a change in the location of each of the plurality of location transmitting devices over a predetermined time period; determining one or more moving location transmitting devices from the plurality of location transmitting devices based on the change in the location of each of the plurality of location transmitting devices; and highlighting one or more indicia from the plurality of indicia corresponding to the one or more locations of the one or more moving location transmitting devices.
As used herein, the “search information” may refer, for example to environmental information, guide information, and/or movement information regarding an area that the electronic device 100 attempts to or should search. The area guided by the search information may include an area within a predetermined distance of the electronic device 100, but without being limited thereto, may also include an area that, although not physically positioned nearby, allows the electronic device 100 to receive context information (environmental information and/or movement information) thereon by various communication schemes (including direct or indirect communication) with another device (e.g., an external sensor and/or user device) The search information may be varied over time and may be updated in real-time by communication between the electronic device 100 and various external sensors (Lee et al. par. 64). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the display 710 may display an image indicating the type of danger in a corresponding area, e.g., a fire image or gas image, along with the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the search information displayed on the display 710 may further display an arrow 714 indicating the direction along which the rescuer 720 is to enter from his current position, and the arrow 714 may be included and displayed in the guide information 712 (Lee et al. par. 129). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the server or rescuer's terminal may first consider a movement of the rescuee's terminal in determining the target location of rescue or search area. As an example, sensing a movement of the rescuee's terminal shows a higher chance of the rescuee being alive and recurable and is thus assigned priority in rescue (Lee et al. par. 198). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the rescuer's terminal 1830 may directly receive distress signals from the rescuee's terminal 1832 positioned around. The rescuer's terminal 1830 measures the received signal strength and AOA of distress signals by periodically scanning the distress signals and computes the distance from the rescuee's terminal 1832 based on the received signal strength. The location of the rescuee's terminal 1832 may be determined based on the distance computed and the AOA measured. The rescuee's terminal 1830 determines whether the AOA and received signal strength (or location) of the rescuee's terminal 1832 varies depending on the result of scanning the distress signals, and when a variation in the AOA and received signal strength (or location) exceeds a predetermined range, determines that the rescuee's terminal 1832 is on the move and requires a quick rescue. Then, the rescuer's terminal 1830 displays search information indicating and guiding to the location where the rescuee's terminal 1832 has finally been sensed (Lee et al. par. 205).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the search information continuously update in real-time by communication between the electronic device 100 (rescue device) and various external sensors. Therefore the position of the electronic device 100 relative to the various external sensors would be continuously update in real-time.
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al. disclose The rescue method of claim 17, further comprising: generating a rescue map of the emergency environment; and overlaying the plurality of indicia on the rescue map, wherein the plurality of indicia is overlaid on the rescue map at positions corresponding to the plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices relative to the current position of the rescue device.
The information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be placed on a portion on the display 710 which corresponds to the direction and distance where the area is actually positioned with respect to the position of the rescuer 720. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be displayed in a larger size as the area is positioned closer to the rescuer 720 or needs a quicker rescue. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be displayed in different colors depending on distances or rescue priorities. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, an area required to be first rescued may display a red alert lamp that flickers. Further, based on per-area priorities, the search information may be displayed in red for a higher-priority area and in blue for a lower-priority area (Lee et al. par. 126). Then, the rescuer's terminal determines that the priority for area S3 is highest and that the priority for area S2 is lower than the priority for area S3, and the priority for area S1 is lower than the priority for area S2. In this example, the respective priorities for area S3, S2, and S1 may be represented as 1, 2, and 3, respectively. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, when a particular area is accompanied with a restriction, its priority may be determined to be, e.g., 0, meaning a ‘keep out’ (Lee et al. par. 155). In operation 1120, the rescuer's terminal analyzes the sensing data and determines a target location of rescue based on the result of analysis. When the rescuer's terminal previously determines information about a plan or layout of the distress site, the target location may be a particular area (e.g., a space or room where a particular router is located) in the distress site. When the rescuer's terminal is unaware of the layout of the distress site, the target location may be a particular geographical location (e.g., a longitude, latitude, or altitude). The target location of rescue may be determined based on the location of the rescuee's terminal as obtained from the distress signal and the location of sensors as obtained from the sensing data (Lee et al. par. 166).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the layout as the rescue map of the emergency area. Examiner interprets different priority rescue associated with distance as the different indicia on the layout.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20170161004 in view of Kim Ye Rim KR 20200017981.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
Lee et al. do not explicitly teach The rescue device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine one or more abandoned location transmitting devices from the plurality of location transmitting devices located in the emergency environment and associated with corresponding one or more individuals that are located outside the emergency environment; and disregard the corresponding one or more signals received from the one or more abandoned location transmitting devices when determining the plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices.
Kim Ye Rim teaches The rescue device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine one or more abandoned location transmitting devices from the plurality of location transmitting devices located in the emergency environment and associated with corresponding one or more individuals that are located outside the emergency environment; and disregard the corresponding one or more signals received from the one or more abandoned location transmitting devices when determining the plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices. (Kim Ye Rim KR 20200017981 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0011]; [0017]-[0024]; [0030]-[0031]; [0040]-[0047];figures 1-6)
Meanwhile, the central control unit (20) can determine the number of rescued persons rescued to a fire-safe area based on a design input database (DID) that takes into account the location information of the rescued persons. Specifically, the central control unit (20) can determine, based on the location information of the rescuers, that the first rescuer (321) and the second rescuer (322) are inside the first building (310), and the third rescuer (331) is outside the first building (310). That is, the central control unit (20) can determine that the third rescuee (331) has been rescued to a safe area and obtain a rescue path to rescue the first rescuee (321) and the second rescuee (322) trapped in the first household (320) (Kim Ye Rim par. 46).
According to the cited passages, examiner interpret the firefighter had rescue the third rescue 321 and move outside the emergency area so they will disregard the signal received from the third rescue 321. They will go back to the abandoned location within the emergency environment to rescues the other rescues like 321 and 322 as mention above.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply a central control unit for determine the number of rescued persons to a fire-safe area and obtain the rescue path to rescue those victims still trapped inside as taught by Kim Ye Rim reference into the modify system of Lee et al. reference in order to evacuate as fast as possible.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20170161004 in view of Kim Jun Young KR 20180033833.
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 1.
Lee et al. do not explicitly teach The rescue device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a plurality of quality parameters of the plurality of signals, wherein each quality parameter is indicative of a signal quality of a corresponding signal from the plurality of signals; compare the plurality of quality parameters with a corresponding plurality of quality thresholds; determine one or more low quality signals from the plurality of signals whose corresponding one or more quality parameters are less than the corresponding one or more quality thresholds; and disregard the one or more low quality signals when determining the plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices.
Kim Jun Young teaches The rescue device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a plurality of quality parameters of the plurality of signals, wherein each quality parameter is indicative of a signal quality of a corresponding signal from the plurality of signals; compare the plurality of quality parameters with a corresponding plurality of quality thresholds; determine one or more low quality signals from the plurality of signals whose corresponding one or more quality parameters are less than the corresponding one or more quality thresholds; and disregard the one or more low quality signals when determining the plurality of locations of the plurality of location transmitting devices. (Kim Jun Young KR 20180033833 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0015]; [0025]; [0037]-[0041]; [0068]-[0075]; figures 1-6;)
When the control server (400) receives at least one beacon information, it determines whether there is at least one beacon information with a signal strength value of the received beacon information that is greater than or equal to a preset threshold (S101). If there is no beacon information with a signal strength value greater than or equal to the threshold, it continues to receive beacon information. If there is at least one beacon information with a signal strength value greater than or equal to the threshold, it determines that a person in distress corresponding to the received beacon information is in distress (S103) and transmits notification information to the vessel that a distress situation has occurred (S105) (Kim Jun Young par. 69).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets, the system comparing the received signal with the reference threshold value and determine the distress situation has occurred in response to the received signal greater than or equal to the threshold. The system will disregard the one that has the low quality signal (below the threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply the threshold for beacon information with a signal strength value as taught by Kim Jun Young reference into the modify system of Lee et al. reference in order to determine the distress situation has occurred.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20170161004 in view of Schmidt et al. US 7005980.
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. teach The rescue device of claim 1, wherein each location transmitting device comprises one of a mobile phone, a wearable device, a smart tag, an RFID tag,
For example, examples of the electronic device of the various example embodiments of the present disclosure may include at least one of a smartphone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, a video phone, an e-book reader, a desktop PC, a laptop computer, a netbook computer, a workstation, a server, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), a MP3 player, a mobile medical device, a camera, or a wearable device, or the like, but is not limited thereto. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the wearable device may include at least one of an accessory-type device (e.g., a watch, a ring, a bracelet, an anklet, a necklace, glasses, contact lenses, or a head-mounted device (HMD)), a fabric- or clothes-integrated device (e.g., electronic clothes), a body attaching-type device (e.g., a skin pad or tattoo), or a body implantable device (e.g., an implantable circuit), or the like, but is not limited thereto (Lee et al. par. 44).
Lee et al. do not explicitly teach a personal alert safety system (PASS) device, and a mobile radio.
Schmidt et al. teach a personal alert safety system (PASS) device, and a mobile radio. (Schmidt et al. US 7005980 abstract; col. 1 lines 32-44; col. 3 lines 47-67; col. 4 lines 15-67; col. 5 lines 1-8; col. 8 lines 6-17; figures 1-11)
If the downed or lost person has a personal alert safety system (PASS), then following the audible signal emitted by the PASS will hopefully find the person in trouble. Some PASS systems also have an optional visual light to help find a person, assuming you can see well enough as you near the person in trouble. A PASS system is usually worn as part of a firefighters self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA) (Schmidt et al. col. 1 lines 38-44). The present invention solves these aforementioned problems by allowing for a radio signal to be initiated when a firefighter is in trouble, also allowing for each firefighter to have a special decoded signal (Schmidt et al. col. 2 lines 44-47).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute a personal alert safety system and radio as taught by Schmidt et al. reference into the modify system of Lee et al. reference in order to protect the firefighter in the hazard environment.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee et al. and Schmidt et al. disclose The article of PPE of claim 14, comprising a self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA), a powered air purifying respirator (PAPR), or a full facepiece respirator.
See figure 2 of Schmidt et al. reference the fire fighter equipped with SCBA and Schmidt et al. col. 8 lines 6-17.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20170161004 in view of Bernal-Silva et al. US 20060077056.
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 17.
Lee et al. do not explicitly teach The rescue method of claim 17, further comprising: determining a plurality of signal strengths of the plurality of signals, wherein the plurality of indicia represents the plurality of signal strengths of the plurality of signals as graduated bars or text displayed on the display.
Bernal-Silva et al. teach The rescue method of claim 17, further comprising: determining a plurality of signal strengths of the plurality of signals, wherein the plurality of indicia represents the plurality of signal strengths of the plurality of signals as graduated bars or text displayed on the display. (Bernal-Silva et al. US 20060077056 abstract; paragraph 39 figures 1-5)
As shown in the alternative embodiment of FIG. 1A, the indicator 58 can be replaced with a screen, such as a liquid crystal display (LCD) 57. The LCD 57 is used to display information as to the position of the article relative to the user. The LCD 57 can be used to simulate a graduated set of bars or lights, similar to the magnitude of a received signal of a cellular phone, as indicating the strength of the signal. In that regard, the program run by the microprocessor 50 controls the size and/or intensity of the bars to increase when the second unit 14, and therefore the article, is within close proximity to the position of user or the first unit 12. It is also contemplated that the LCD displays alphanumeric data as to the location or direction in which the article is located, relative to the user. Other visual display and announcing mechanisms for communicating to the user the position of the second unit 14 or the position of the article externally, are contemplated (Bernal-Silva et al. par. 39).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to substitute the graduated set of bars for indicate signal strength as taught by Bernal-Silva et al. reference into the modify system of Lee et al. reference in order for user easily recognize a status of the signal strength.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686