DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Note
Claims 1 and 19 are not rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to abstract idea for the following reason:
The claims recite additional elements, including sensor configured to detect one or more obstacles and portable electronic devices configured to determine a relative distance based on the detected signals. The claims directed to communication between a plurality of transmitting and receiving devices and integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Specifically, these additional elements improve search and rescue operations by increasing efficiency through detecting the nearby exit and unobstructed path and provide communication with the portable electronic devices. Accordingly, because the claims integrate into a practical application under step 2A prong two, the claims are not rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to abstract idea. The dependent claims further limit depend on independent claims 1 and 19 and for the same reasons, they are not rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20170161004 in view of Molloy et al. US 20190371138 and further in view of Ross et al. US 20220155407.
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teach A portable rescue device (PRD) carried by a user, the PRD comprising: a display unit; a wireless receiver configured to receive a distress signal from a portable distress device (PDD) associated with a personnel, wherein the PDD is configured to utilize 2.4 GHz radio frequency (RF) protocols, long range (LoRa), ultra-wideband (UWB), a short-range wireless communication protocol in accordance with the IEEE 802.15.1 standard, angle of arrival (AoA), or a wireless local area network (WLAN) in accordance with IEEE 802.11 protocols, to transmit the distress signal; and a processor communicably coupled to each of the display unit, the wireless receiver, and the at least one sensor, wherein the processor is configured to: determine a signal strength of the distress signal along one or more directions; determine, based on the signal strength of the distress signal, a first direction between the wireless receiver and the PDD along which the distress signal has a maximum signal strength, wherein the first direction corresponds to a minimum distance between the wireless receiver and the PDD, (Lee et al. US 20170161004 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0015]; [0044]; [0050]-[0052]; [0054]-[0057]; [0060]-[0065]; [0082]; [0104]; [0108]-[0122]; [0124]-[0130]; [0134]; [0138]; [0148]; [0155]-[0156]; [0160]; [0165]-[0166]; [0188]; [0196]-[0205]; figures 1-18)
Referring to FIG. 1, according to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, an electronic device 100 in a network environment is described. The electronic device 100, as a device carriable by the user, may include a bus 106, a processor (e.g., including processing circuitry) 102, a memory 104, an input/output (I/O) interface (e.g., including I/O interface circuitry) 108, a display 110, and a communication module (e.g., including communication circuitry) 112. In some embodiments, the electronic device 100 may exclude at least one of the components or may add another component (Lee et al par. 50). As used herein, the term “distress signal” may refer, for example, to a signal for requesting a rescue that is sent from a device of a user in distress that is positioned near (e.g., in operable proximity to) the electronic device 100. The distress signal may include, for example, at least one of identification information, location information, bio information, sensing data, and image information regarding the user device (Lee et al. par. 63). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the rescuer's terminal 1830 may directly receive distress signals from the rescuee's terminal 1832 positioned around. The rescuer's terminal 1830 measures the received signal strength and AOA of distress signals by periodically scanning the distress signals and computes the distance from the rescuee's terminal 1832 based on the received signal strength. The location of the rescuee's terminal 1832 may be determined based on the distance computed and the AOA measured. The rescuee's terminal 1830 determines whether the AOA and received signal strength (or location) of the rescuee's terminal 1832 varies depending on the result of scanning the distress signals, and when a variation in the AOA and received signal strength (or location) exceeds a predetermined range, determines that the rescuee's terminal 1832 is on the move and requires a quick rescue. Then, the rescuer's terminal 1830 displays search information indicating and guiding to the location where the rescuee's terminal 1832 has finally been sensed (Lee et al. par. 205).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets electronic device 100 and rescuer’s terminal 1830 as the portable rescue device (PRD) and rescuee’s terminal 1832 as the portable distress device (PDD).
Lee et al. do not explicitly teach at least one sensor configured to generate at least one obstacle signal indicative of one or more obstacles in an ambient environment around the PRD; wherein the signal strength is determined from the group consisting of received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR), and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR); determine one or more path obstacles disposed in the first direction between the wireless receiver and the PDD based on the at least one obstacle signal received from the at least one sensor; determine at least one obstacle-free path between the wireless receiver and the PDD based on the one or more path obstacles and the first direction, wherein the at least one obstacle-free path is unobstructed by the one or more path obstacles; determine at least one set of guiding directions for guiding the user to the PDD along the at least one obstacle-free path, wherein the at least one set of guiding directions comprises at least one guiding direction; and display, via the display unit, the at least one set of guiding directions.
Molloy et al. teach at least one sensor configured to generate at least one obstacle signal indicative of one or more obstacles in an ambient environment around the PRD; (Molloy et al. US 20190371138 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0005]; [0015]-[0016]; [0022]; [0053]; [0060]-[0070]; [0076]-[0084]; [0086]-[0087]; [0090]-[0100]; figures 1-8;)
At step 1.3, the search assistance server 225 may monitor and process the building sensor data and the individual sensor data. The search assistance server 225 may detect the occurrence of an emergency event (e.g., a building fire) based on the building sensor data indicating the presence of a fire. Based on detecting the occurrence of the emergency event, the search assistance server 225 may generate signaling instructions (at step 1.4). As described herein, the signaling instructions may control the operations of signaling devices 220 and/or user devices 210 to direct or guide an individual to an exit or responder (or a responder to an individual). The search assistance server 225 may provide the signaling instructions to the signaling devices 220, user devices 210 associated with the individual, and/or user devices 210 associated with a responder. In response to receiving the signaling instructions, the signaling devices 220 and the user devices 210 may execute the signaling instructions in such a way that guides the individual to an exit or the responder (or vice versa). As an example, the signaling instructions may instruct the signaling devices 220 to illuminate lights at a certain intensity or color, output sounds at various volumes and tones, speech/spoken words, etc. Also, the signaling instructions may be displayed on the user devices 210 in the form of a map with a current location and a path from the individual to an exit or responder (or path from the responder to the individual). The signaling instructions may also direct the user device 210 to present content and/or output audio based on the proximity of the individual to the exit or responder (or vice versa) (Molloy et al. par. 62). The sensor data monitoring module 610 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that monitors and stores sensor data received from the sensor devices 215 and from the user device 210. For example, the sensor data monitoring module 610 may monitor and store building sensor data (e.g., from data reported by the sensor devices 215 implemented within a building) and individual sensor data (e.g., from data reported by data reported by user device 210 associated with an individual within the building) (Molloy et al. par. 76). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the user devices 210 carried by the responder as (PRD) and the user devices carried by the user as (PDD). The user devices can obtain the hazard or obstruction information from the sensor devices 215 and display on the user devices.
determine one or more path obstacles disposed in the first direction between the wireless receiver and the PDD based on the at least one obstacle signal received from the at least one sensor; determine at least one obstacle-free path between the wireless receiver and the PDD based on the one or more path obstacles and the first direction, wherein the at least one obstacle-free path is unobstructed by the one or more path obstacles; determine at least one set of guiding directions for guiding the user to the PDD along the at least one obstacle-free path, wherein the at least one set of guiding directions comprises at least one guiding direction; and display, via the display unit, the at least one set of guiding directions.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system continue updated an new path with no obstruction via path determination module 650 that obtain from the sensor data. The system provide guidance direction on the user device or responder’s user devices and with additional of signaling device 220 (light and audio) to help user exit the emergency environment.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply sensor devices taught by Molloy et al. reference into the modified system of Lee et al. reference in order to evacuate as fast as possible.
The combination of Lee et al. and Molloy et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the signal strength is determined from the group consisting of received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR), and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR).
Ross et al. teach wherein the signal strength is determined from the group consisting of received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR), and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR); (Ross et al. US 20220155407 abstract; paragraphs [0006]; [0022]-[0025]; [0042]; [0048]-[0050]; [0073]-[0079]; [0089]-[0091]; [0095]; [0107-[0109]; figures 1-11;)
As used herein, a network signature may include various parameters, also referred to herein as “network parameters,” associated with one or more networks, network signals, and/or network interfaces. The network parameters may include, but are not limited to, frequency, reference signal strength, access point names (“APN”) and bearer information (for use in, inter alia, LTE, eHRPD, or EvDO networks), public land mobile network (“PLMN,” including GSM/2G, UMTS/3G, LTE/4G, offered by a single operator within a given country, often referred to as a “cellular network”), area codes, global cell ID, active SIM carrier names, network types (e.g., 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE, etc.), device models, platform types, signal strengths (RSRP, RSRQ, SNR, RSSI, etc.), download/upload throughput, download/upload latency, download/upload jitter, Wi-Fi SSID (i.e., a network name), international mobile equipment identity (“IMEI”), international mobile subscriber identity (“IMSI”), layer 3 (“L3”) messages in GSM, non-access stratum (“NAS”) messages (e.g., in universal mobile telecommunications services (“UMTS”) and LTE telecommunications protocols) including QoS parameters, signaling messages, radio-resource control (“RRC”) messages (including master information block (“MIB”) and system information block (“SIB”), broadcast by eNodeB/HeNB), channel configuration messages, packet service data, transmission control protocol/internet protocol (“TCP/IP”), user datagram protocol (“UDP”), session initiation protocol (“SIP”), CDMA layer 1 messages (e.g., including SID, NID, BID, band class, channel, Rx power, Tx power, dominant, active and neighbor set PN and Eclo), LTE layer 1 messages (e.g., including RSRP, RS SNR, RSRQ, PCI, ECI, downlink EARFCN, uplink EARFCN, band, bandwidth, MCC/MNC, modulation schemes, MCS intex, TxMode, CQI, RSSI, and TxPower), WCDMA layer 1 messages (e.g., including RSSI, RSCP, Eclo, Active set and neighbor set measurements, Cell ID (node, RNC), LAC, RAC, UETxPower, UL interface, MCC/MNC, and downlink/uplink UARFCN), general layer 1 messages (e.g. including physical layer throughput, BLER, 5G voice codec type (e.g., AMR NB/WB), LTE voice codec type, WCDMA voice codec type, CDMA voice codec type, GSM voice codec type, LTE random access configuration and execution messages, intra/inter/IRAT handover configuration parameters and execution measurements, IRAT, cells, frequency, delays, and failures), other layer 1 messages (e.g., including carrier aggregation parameters, RF metrics for Pcell and Scell, activation/deactivation messages, throughput, HSDPA/HUSPA configuration parameters, activation/deactivation messages, EVDO configuration parameters (e.g., DRC intext, ASP PN), Rx/Tx power, Eclo, SINR, number of users, and TCH throughput), and/or similar parameters of a network or network interface (defined below). Such parameters may be measured or received using common sensors and/or Wi-Fi/cellular hardware and firmware coupled to a processor (e.g., a processor of a robot). Although the present disclosure may typically only mention a subset of these parameters, one skilled in the art may appreciate that any of these parameters may be utilized in defining a network signature, as discussed further below (Ross et al. par. 50).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply RSRP, RSSI, SINR SNR, RSRQ taught by Ross et al. reference into the modified system of Lee et al. and Molloy et al. reference in order to improve location detection.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of a lidar unit, a sonar unit, an infrared sensor, and a visible light sensor.
Sensor units 114 may include sensors that are internal to robot 102 or external, and/or have components that are partially internal and/or partially external. In some cases, sensor units 114 may include one or more exteroceptive sensors, such as sonars, light detection and ranging (“LiDAR”) sensors, radars, lasers, cameras including video cameras (e.g., red-blue-green (“RBG”) cameras, infrared cameras, three-dimensional (“3D”) cameras, thermal cameras, etc.), time of flight (“ToF”) cameras, structured light cameras, antennas, motion detectors, microphones, and/or any other sensor known in the art. According to some exemplary embodiments, sensor units 114 may collect raw measurements (e.g., currents, voltages, resistances, gate logic, etc.) and/or transformed measurements (e.g., distances, angles, detected points in obstacles, etc.). In some cases, measurements may be aggregated and/or summarized. Sensor units 114 may generate data based at least in part on distance or height measurements. Such data may be stored in data structures, such as matrices, arrays, queues, lists, stacks, bags, etc. (Ross et al. par. 73).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a plurality of sensors configured to generate a corresponding plurality of obstacle signals indicative of the one or more obstacles in the ambient environment, and wherein the processor is further configured to fuse the plurality of obstacle signals in order to determine the one or more path obstacles.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). The sensor devices 215 may include one or more temperature sensors, cameras, motion sensors, heat sensors, fluid sensors, smoke sensors, noise sensors, object detection sensors, location determination devices, radio signal detection devices, or the like. The sensor devices 215 may be implemented within a building and may report data that the search assistance server 225 may use to detect the occurrence of an emergency event, determine safe paths between an individual and an exit or responder, and determine the presence and status of an individual. In embodiments, the sensor devices 215 may include location detection devices, such as beacons or network devices that may be used to determine specific locations of individual user devices 210 (Molloy et al. par. 69). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 3, wherein the plurality of obstacle signals comprise: at least one of an infrared signal and a visible light signal; and at least one of a lidar signal and a sonar signal.
Sensor units 114 may include sensors that are internal to robot 102 or external, and/or have components that are partially internal and/or partially external. In some cases, sensor units 114 may include one or more exteroceptive sensors, such as sonars, light detection and ranging (“LiDAR”) sensors, radars, lasers, cameras including video cameras (e.g., red-blue-green (“RBG”) cameras, infrared cameras, three-dimensional (“3D”) cameras, thermal cameras, etc.), time of flight (“ToF”) cameras, structured light cameras, antennas, motion detectors, microphones, and/or any other sensor known in the art. According to some exemplary embodiments, sensor units 114 may collect raw measurements (e.g., currents, voltages, resistances, gate logic, etc.) and/or transformed measurements (e.g., distances, angles, detected points in obstacles, etc.). In some cases, measurements may be aggregated and/or summarized. Sensor units 114 may generate data based at least in part on distance or height measurements. Such data may be stored in data structures, such as matrices, arrays, queues, lists, stacks, bags, etc. (Ross et al. par. 73).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to display, via the display unit, the signal strength of the distress signal and the one or more path obstacles.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system continue updated an new path with no obstruction via path determination module 650 that obtain from the sensor data. The system provide guidance direction on the user device or responder’s user devices and with additional of signaling device 220 (light and audio) to help user exit the emergency environment.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a parameter associated with the one or more path obstacles based on the at least one obstacle signal, wherein the parameter is indicative of a construction of the one or more path obstacles; and display, via the display unit, the parameter.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system continue updated an new path with no obstruction via path determination module 650 that obtain from the sensor data. The system provide guidance direction on the user device or responder’s user devices and with additional of signaling device 220 (light and audio) to help user exit the emergency environment. Examiner interprets the sensor devices 215 include camera is capable of capture construction material that block the path and present on the user devices 210 and identify a new path with no obstruction as mention in the paragraphs 63, 81 and 97 above.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine one or more openings through the one or more path obstacles based on the at least one obstacle signal; and display, via the display unit, the one or more openings.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system continue updated an new path with no obstruction via path determination module 650 that obtain from the sensor data. The system provide guidance direction on the user device or responder’s user devices and with additional of signaling device 220 (light and audio) to help user exit the emergency environment. Examiner interprets the sensor devices 215 include camera is capable of capture construction material that block the path and present on the user devices 210 and identify a new path with no obstruction as mention in the paragraphs 63, 81 and 97 above.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine the one or more path obstacles further based on object detection.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system continue updated an new path with no obstruction via path determination module 650 that obtain from the sensor data. The system provide guidance direction on the user device or responder’s user devices and with additional of signaling device 220 (light and audio) to help user exit the emergency environment. Examiner interprets the sensor devices 215 include camera is capable of capture construction material that block the path and present on the user devices 210 and identify a new path with no obstruction as mention in the paragraphs 63, 81 and 97 above.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, further comprising a memory communicably coupled to the processor, wherein the memory is configured to store the at least one set of guiding directions.
In an aspect of the invention, a system includes: a CPU, a computer readable memory and a computer readable storage medium associated with a computing device; program instructions to determine a location of an individual in a building relative to the location of a responder or relative to a location of an exit of the building; program instructions to determine the location of obstacles or hazards within the building; program instructions to determine a path from the individual to the responder or a path from the individual to the exit based on determining the location of the individual and the location of the obstacles or hazards; program instructions to generate signaling instructions based on the path; and program instructions to output the signaling instructions to one or more signaling devices, wherein the outputting the signaling instructions control operations of the one or more signaling devices to guide the individual to the responder, the responder to the individual, or the individual to the exit based on the path. The program instructions are stored on the computer readable storage medium for execution by the CPU via the computer readable memory (Molloy et al. par. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, further comprising an audio device communicably coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is further configured to output, via the audio device, the at least one set of guiding directions.
For example, alarms may sound with higher or lower volumes and with different tones based depending on whether the length of the path between the individual and exit/responder is increasing or decreasing. Additionally, or alternatively, speech may be outputted with spoken commands, such as dynamic directions guiding the individual to an exit/responder or vice versa. The speech may also include a message, such as “help is on the way”, distance and time to target (e.g., individual to exit/responder, or vice versa), name/description of individuals to be rescued, etc. Further, signaling instructions on the user devices 210 may be modified to output different audio and/or displayed content based on the length of the path between the individual relative to an exit/responder. In this way, an individual may more easily and safely evacuate a building during an emergency situation by following the guidance of the signaling devices 220 and user device 210 that execute signaling instructions. Similarly, a responder may more easily locate an individual during an evacuation procedure (Molloy et al. par. 64). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to dynamically update the at least one set of guiding directions based on a position of the user along the at least one obstacle-free path.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system continue updated an new path with no obstruction via path determination module 650 that obtain from the sensor data. The system provide guidance direction on the user device or responder’s user devices and with additional of signaling device 220 (light and audio) to help user exit the emergency environment. Examiner interprets the sensor devices 215 include camera is capable of capture construction material that block the path and present on the user devices 210 and identify a new path with no obstruction as mention in the paragraphs 63, 81 and 97 above.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a remaining distance between the PDD and the wireless receiver along the at least one obstacle-free path; and display, via the display unit, the remaining distance.
For example, alarms may sound with higher or lower volumes and with different tones based depending on whether the length of the path between the individual and exit/responder is increasing or decreasing. Additionally, or alternatively, speech may be outputted with spoken commands, such as dynamic directions guiding the individual to an exit/responder or vice versa. The speech may also include a message, such as “help is on the way”, distance and time to target (e.g., individual to exit/responder, or vice versa), name/description of individuals to be rescued, etc. Further, signaling instructions on the user devices 210 may be modified to output different audio and/or displayed content based on the length of the path between the individual relative to an exit/responder. In this way, an individual may more easily and safely evacuate a building during an emergency situation by following the guidance of the signaling devices 220 and user device 210 that execute signaling instructions. Similarly, a responder may more easily locate an individual during an evacuation procedure (Molloy et al. par. 64). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the at least one obstacle-free path comprises a plurality of obstacle-free paths, wherein the at least one set of guiding directions comprises a plurality of sets of guiding directions corresponding to the plurality of obstacle-free paths, and wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a plurality of distances between the PDD and the wireless receiver corresponding to the plurality of obstacle-free paths; display, via the display unit, the plurality of sets of guiding directions corresponding to the plurality of obstacle-free paths; and display, via the display unit, the plurality of distances corresponding to the plurality of obstacle-free paths.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). For example, alarms may sound with higher or lower volumes and with different tones based depending on whether the length of the path between the individual and exit/responder is increasing or decreasing. Additionally, or alternatively, speech may be outputted with spoken commands, such as dynamic directions guiding the individual to an exit/responder or vice versa. The speech may also include a message, such as “help is on the way”, distance and time to target (e.g., individual to exit/responder, or vice versa), name/description of individuals to be rescued, etc. Further, signaling instructions on the user devices 210 may be modified to output different audio and/or displayed content based on the length of the path between the individual relative to an exit/responder. In this way, an individual may more easily and safely evacuate a building during an emergency situation by following the guidance of the signaling devices 220 and user device 210 that execute signaling instructions. Similarly, a responder may more easily locate an individual during an evacuation procedure (Molloy et al. par. 64) The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system continue updated an new path with no obstruction via path determination module 650 that obtain from the sensor data. The system provide guidance direction on the user device or responder’s user devices and with additional of signaling device 220 (light and audio) to help user exit the emergency environment. Examiner interprets the sensor devices 215 include camera is capable of capture construction material that block the path and present on the user devices 210 and identify a new path with no obstruction as mention in the paragraphs 63-64, 81 and 97 above.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The PRD of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the at least one obstacle-free path without any predetermined map data.
In operation 1520, the server identifies the presence or absence of a rescuee based on the rescuee information, analyzes the sensing data, and determines a search area or target location of rescue based on the result of analysis. When the server has information about a plan or layout of the distress site, the target location may be a particular area (e.g., a space or room where a particular router is located) in the distress site. When the server is unaware of the structure or layout of the distress site, the target location may be a particular geographical location (e.g., a longitude, latitude, or altitude). The target location of rescue may be determined based on the location of the rescuee's terminal as obtained from the distress signal and the location of sensors as obtained from the sensing data. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the server may determine the search area/target location of rescue further considering accommodation information regarding a hotel guest or office worker (Lee et al. par. 188).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interpret the structure or layout of the distress site as the predetermined map data. Examiner interprets the system detecting distress signal from the rescuee’s terminal and the location of sensors for determining a path to rescue a victim.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose An article of personal protective equipment (PPE) comprising the PRD of claim 1.
Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device 100 of FIG. 1, as a wearable device carriable by the user or wearable on the user's body, may be, e.g., an HMD device 400 worn on the user's head. The HMD device 400 may be configured in the form of a helmet so that it may be fastened onto the user's head even when the user moves while he has difficulty using his hands, such as when he enjoys adventure, is rescuing or is rescued. As an example, the HMD device 400 may, for example, be a fire-retardant helmet used by a firefighter in a fire site. Further, the HMD device 400 may have an embedded display 410 or may interwork with a display 455 of an external device 450 (Lee et al. par. 104). Figure 4 clearly show the face mask.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The article of PPE of claim 16, further comprising a face mask, wherein the display unit is disposed on the face mask.
Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device 100 of FIG. 1, as a wearable device carriable by the user or wearable on the user's body, may be, e.g., an HMD device 400 worn on the user's head. The HMD device 400 may be configured in the form of a helmet so that it may be fastened onto the user's head even when the user moves while he has difficulty using his hands, such as when he enjoys adventure, is rescuing or is rescued. As an example, the HMD device 400 may, for example, be a fire-retardant helmet used by a firefighter in a fire site. Further, the HMD device 400 may have an embedded display 410 or may interwork with a display 455 of an external device 450 (Lee et al. par. 104). Figure 4 clearly show the face mask.
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al. teach A rescue method comprising: receiving, via a wireless receiver, a distress signal from a portable distress device (PDD) associated with a personnel, wherein the PDD is configured to utilize 2.4 GHz radio frequency (RF) protocols, long range (LoRa), ultra-wideband (UWB), a short-range wireless communication protocol in accordance with the IEEE 802.15.1 standard, angle of arrival (AoA), or a wireless local area network (WLAN) in accordance with IEEE 802.11 protocols, to transmit the distress signal; determining, via a processor communicably coupled to the wireless receiver, a signal strength of the distress signal along one or more directions; determining, via the processor, a first direction between the wireless receiver and the PDD along which the distress signal has a maximum signal strength based on the signal strength of the distress signal, wherein the first direction corresponds to a minimum distance between the wireless receiver and the PDD,
(Lee et al. US 20170161004 abstract; paragraphs [0009]-[0015]; [0044]; [0050]-[0052]; [0054]-[0057]; [0060]-[0065]; [0082]; [0104]; [0108]-[0122]; [0124]-[0130]; [0134]; [0138]; [0148]; [0155]-[0156]; [0160]; [0165]-[0166]; [0188]; [0196]-[0205]; figures 1-18)
Referring to FIG. 1, according to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, an electronic device 100 in a network environment is described. The electronic device 100, as a device carriable by the user, may include a bus 106, a processor (e.g., including processing circuitry) 102, a memory 104, an input/output (I/O) interface (e.g., including I/O interface circuitry) 108, a display 110, and a communication module (e.g., including communication circuitry) 112. In some embodiments, the electronic device 100 may exclude at least one of the components or may add another component (Lee et al par. 50). As used herein, the term “distress signal” may refer, for example, to a signal for requesting a rescue that is sent from a device of a user in distress that is positioned near (e.g., in operable proximity to) the electronic device 100. The distress signal may include, for example, at least one of identification information, location information, bio information, sensing data, and image information regarding the user device (Lee et al. par. 63). The display 710 outputs search information containing contents necessary for the rescuer to search a distress site. An example of the search information includes information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area rescued, together with guide information 712 for an area where he is to enter. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the guide information 712 may be an image of an aisle, wall, or room of a building, as the distress site, based on the position of the rescuer 720. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the guide information may, for example, be at least a portion of a plan view of the building, as the distress site (Lee et al. par. 125). The information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be placed on a portion on the display 710 which corresponds to the direction and distance where the area is actually positioned with respect to the position of the rescuer 720. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be displayed in a larger size as the area is positioned closer to the rescuer 720 or needs a quicker rescue. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the information 702, 704, 706, and 708 regarding each area may be displayed in different colors depending on distances or rescue priorities. According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, an area required to be first rescued may display a red alert lamp that flickers. Further, based on per-area priorities, the search information may be displayed in red for a higher-priority area and in blue for a lower-priority area (Lee et al. par. 126). According to an example embodiment of the present disclosure, the rescuer's terminal 1830 may directly receive distress signals from the rescuee's terminal 1832 positioned around. The rescuer's terminal 1830 measures the received signal strength and AOA of distress signals by periodically scanning the distress signals and computes the distance from the rescuee's terminal 1832 based on the received signal strength. The location of the rescuee's terminal 1832 may be determined based on the distance computed and the AOA measured. The rescuee's terminal 1830 determines whether the AOA and received signal strength (or location) of the rescuee's terminal 1832 varies depending on the result of scanning the distress signals, and when a variation in the AOA and received signal strength (or location) exceeds a predetermined range, determines that the rescuee's terminal 1832 is on the move and requires a quick rescue. Then, the rescuer's terminal 1830 displays search information indicating and guiding to the location where the rescuee's terminal 1832 has finally been sensed (Lee et al. par. 205).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets electronic device 100 and rescuer’s terminal 1830 as the portable rescue device (PRD) and rescuee’s terminal 1832 as the portable distress device (PDD). Examiner interprets a different of color for different of distances and different priority of rescue as the different indicia present to the rescuer (fire fighter) as discussed in the par. 125-126 above.
Lee et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the signal strength is determined from the group consisting of received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR), and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR); generating, via at least one sensor communicably coupled to the processor, at least one obstacle signal indicative of one or more obstacles in an ambient environment; determining, via the processor, one or more path obstacles disposed in the first direction between the wireless receiver and the PDD; determining, via the processor, at least one obstacle-free path between the wireless receiver and the PDD based on the one or more path obstacles and the first direction, wherein the at least one obstacle-free path is unobstructed by the one or more path obstacles; determining, via the processor, at least one set of guiding directions for guiding a user to the PDD along the at least one obstacle-free path, wherein the at least one set of guiding directions comprises at least one guiding direction; and displaying, via a display unit communicably coupled to the processor, the at least one set of guiding directions.
Molloy et al. teach generating, via at least one sensor communicably coupled to the processor, at least one obstacle signal indicative of one or more obstacles in an ambient environment; (Molloy et al. US 20190371138 abstract; paragraphs [0003]-[0005]; [0015]-[0016]; [0022]; [0053]; [0060]-[0070]; [0076]-[0084]; [0086]-[0087]; [0090]-[0100]; figures 1-8;)
At step 1.3, the search assistance server 225 may monitor and process the building sensor data and the individual sensor data. The search assistance server 225 may detect the occurrence of an emergency event (e.g., a building fire) based on the building sensor data indicating the presence of a fire. Based on detecting the occurrence of the emergency event, the search assistance server 225 may generate signaling instructions (at step 1.4). As described herein, the signaling instructions may control the operations of signaling devices 220 and/or user devices 210 to direct or guide an individual to an exit or responder (or a responder to an individual). The search assistance server 225 may provide the signaling instructions to the signaling devices 220, user devices 210 associated with the individual, and/or user devices 210 associated with a responder. In response to receiving the signaling instructions, the signaling devices 220 and the user devices 210 may execute the signaling instructions in such a way that guides the individual to an exit or the responder (or vice versa). As an example, the signaling instructions may instruct the signaling devices 220 to illuminate lights at a certain intensity or color, output sounds at various volumes and tones, speech/spoken words, etc. Also, the signaling instructions may be displayed on the user devices 210 in the form of a map with a current location and a path from the individual to an exit or responder (or path from the responder to the individual). The signaling instructions may also direct the user device 210 to present content and/or output audio based on the proximity of the individual to the exit or responder (or vice versa) (Molloy et al. par. 62). The sensor data monitoring module 610 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that monitors and stores sensor data received from the sensor devices 215 and from the user device 210. For example, the sensor data monitoring module 610 may monitor and store building sensor data (e.g., from data reported by the sensor devices 215 implemented within a building) and individual sensor data (e.g., from data reported by data reported by user device 210 associated with an individual within the building) (Molloy et al. par. 76). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the user devices 210 carried by the responder as (PRD) and the user devices carried by the user as (PDD). The user devices can obtain the hazard or obstruction information from the sensor device 215 and display on the user devices.
determining, via the processor, one or more path obstacles disposed in the first direction between the wireless receiver and the PDD; determining, via the processor, at least one obstacle-free path between the wireless receiver and the PDD based on the one or more path obstacles and the first direction, wherein the at least one obstacle-free path is unobstructed by the one or more path obstacles; determining, via the processor, at least one set of guiding directions for guiding a user to the PDD along the at least one obstacle-free path, wherein the at least one set of guiding directions comprises at least one guiding direction; and displaying, via a display unit communicably coupled to the processor, the at least one set of guiding directions.
As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may generate the signaling instructions based on a path between the individual and responder or exit. The search assistance server 225 may determine the path based on a floor layout of the building and building sensor data identifying blocked paths (e.g., paths that may not be passable due to a hazard, such as fire, flooding, excess smoke etc.). The search assistance server 225 may determine the path further based on the location of the individual and the location of an unobstructed exit and/or the responder. As described herein, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on Global Positioning System (GPS) information received from the individual's user device 210. Additionally, or alternatively, the search assistance server 225 may determine the location of the individual based on the strength of radio signals emitted by the individual's user device 210, communication with one or more beacons or other location determination devices implemented with the building, motion sensor data, object detection sensor data, heat detection sensor data, and/or other location determination technique (Molloy et al. par. 63). The path determination module 650 may include a program module (e.g., program module 42 of FIG. 1) that determines a path between the individual and an exit or responder (or a path between the responder and the individual so that the responder may search for the individual). In embodiments, the path may be determined based on the presence of hazards. For example, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards within the building (e.g., a location of a building emergency) based on the building sensor data captured and monitored by the sensor data monitoring module 610. Additionally, or alternatively, the path determination module 650 may detect the presence of hazards and/or detect path obstructions within the building via real-time video object detection from video captured by camera devices within the building supplemented by video captured by user devices 210 of the individual and/or responder. Further, the path determination module 650 may monitor obstructions and/or hazards and update the path based on the presence of new obstructions/hazards (e.g., a wall collapsing or other new obstacle that would block a previously identified path). In this way, the path determination module 650 may identify a path that avoids the detected hazards, and may identify new paths as prior paths become unpassable from new hazards/obstructions. In embodiments, the individual data repository 630 may store information identifying the path between the individual and a responder (Molloy et al. par. 81). As described herein, the signaling instructions may also be provided to user devices 210 (e.g., the individual's user device 210 and/or a user device 210 associated with the responder) to guide the individual and/or responder. Examples of signaling instructions may include instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output light of a certain color or blinking pattern based on the length of the path between the responder and individual, instructions to direct the signaling devices 220 to output audible alarms of certain patterns/tones, spoken words with directions, messages, etc, instructions to display location information and/or directions on the individual's and/or responder's user devices 210, etc. (Molloy et al. par. 97).
According to the cited passages and figure, examiner interprets the system continue updated an new path with no obstruction via path determination module 650 that obtain from the sensor data. The system provide guidance direction on the user device or responder’s user devices and with additional of signaling device 220 (light and audio) to help user exit the emergency environment.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply sensor devices taught by Molloy et al. reference into the modified method of Lee et al. reference in order to evacuate as fast as possible.
The combination of Lee et al. and Molloy et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the signal strength is determined from the group consisting of received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR), and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR).
Ross et al. teach wherein the signal strength is determined from the group consisting of received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR), and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR); (Ross et al. US 20220155407 abstract; paragraphs [0006]; [0022]-[0025]; [0042]; [0048]-[0050]; [0073]-[0079]; [0089]-[0091]; [0095]; [0107-[0109]; figures 1-11;)
As used herein, a network signature may include various parameters, also referred to herein as “network parameters,” associated with one or more networks, network signals, and/or network interfaces. The network parameters may include, but are not limited to, frequency, reference signal strength, access point names (“APN”) and bearer information (for use in, inter alia, LTE, eHRPD, or EvDO networks), public land mobile network (“PLMN,” including GSM/2G, UMTS/3G, LTE/4G, offered by a single operator within a given country, often referred to as a “cellular network”), area codes, global cell ID, active SIM carrier names, network types (e.g., 2G, 3G, 4G, 5G, LTE, etc.), device models, platform types, signal strengths (RSRP, RSRQ, SNR, RSSI, etc.), download/upload throughput, download/upload latency, download/upload jitter, Wi-Fi SSID (i.e., a network name), international mobile equipment identity (“IMEI”), international mobile subscriber identity (“IMSI”), layer 3 (“L3”) messages in GSM, non-access stratum (“NAS”) messages (e.g., in universal mobile telecommunications services (“UMTS”) and LTE telecommunications protocols) including QoS parameters, signaling messages, radio-resource control (“RRC”) messages (including master information block (“MIB”) and system information block (“SIB”), broadcast by eNodeB/HeNB), channel configuration messages, packet service data, transmission control protocol/internet protocol (“TCP/IP”), user datagram protocol (“UDP”), session initiation protocol (“SIP”), CDMA layer 1 messages (e.g., including SID, NID, BID, band class, channel, Rx power, Tx power, dominant, active and neighbor set PN and Eclo), LTE layer 1 messages (e.g., including RSRP, RS SNR, RSRQ, PCI, ECI, downlink EARFCN, uplink EARFCN, band, bandwidth, MCC/MNC, modulation schemes, MCS intex, TxMode, CQI, RSSI, and TxPower), WCDMA layer 1 messages (e.g., including RSSI, RSCP, Eclo, Active set and neighbor set measurements, Cell ID (node, RNC), LAC, RAC, UETxPower, UL interface, MCC/MNC, and downlink/uplink UARFCN), general layer 1 messages (e.g. including physical layer throughput, BLER, 5G voice codec type (e.g., AMR NB/WB), LTE voice codec type, WCDMA voice codec type, CDMA voice codec type, GSM voice codec type, LTE random access configuration and execution messages, intra/inter/IRAT handover configuration parameters and execution measurements, IRAT, cells, frequency, delays, and failures), other layer 1 messages (e.g., including carrier aggregation parameters, RF metrics for Pcell and Scell, activation/deactivation messages, throughput, HSDPA/HUSPA configuration parameters, activation/deactivation messages, EVDO configuration parameters (e.g., DRC intext, ASP PN), Rx/Tx power, Eclo, SINR, number of users, and TCH throughput), and/or similar parameters of a network or network interface (defined below). Such parameters may be measured or received using common sensors and/or Wi-Fi/cellular hardware and firmware coupled to a processor (e.g., a processor of a robot). Although the present disclosure may typically only mention a subset of these parameters, one skilled in the art may appreciate that any of these parameters may be utilized in defining a network signature, as discussed further below (Ross et al. par. 50).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply RSRP, RSSI, SINR SNR, RSRQ taught by Ross et al. reference into the modified method of Lee et al. and Molloy et al. reference in order to improve location detection.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. disclose The rescue method of claim 19, wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of a lidar unit, a sonar unit, an infrared sensor, and a visible light sensor.
Sensor units 114 may include sensors that are internal to robot 102 or external, and/or have components that are partially internal and/or partially external. In some cases, sensor units 114 may include one or more exteroceptive sensors, such as sonars, light detection and ranging (“LiDAR”) sensors, radars, lasers, cameras including video cameras (e.g., red-blue-green (“RBG”) cameras, infrared cameras, three-dimensional (“3D”) cameras, thermal cameras, etc.), time of flight (“ToF”) cameras, structured light cameras, antennas, motion detectors, microphones, and/or any other sensor known in the art. According to some exemplary embodiments, sensor units 114 may collect raw measurements (e.g., currents, voltages, resistances, gate logic, etc.) and/or transformed measurements (e.g., distances, angles, detected points in obstacles, etc.). In some cases, measurements may be aggregated and/or summarized. Sensor units 114 may generate data based at least in part on distance or height measurements. Such data may be stored in data structures, such as matrices, arrays, queues, lists, stacks, bags, etc. (Ross et al. par. 73).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20170161004, in view of Molloy et al. US 20190371138, in view of Ross et al. US 20220155407 and further in view of Ebner et al. US 20220136836.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 13.
The combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. do not explicitly teach The PRD of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to: select one of the plurality of obstacle-free paths based on a user input; and display, via the display unit, the set of guiding directions corresponding to the selected one of the plurality of obstacle-free paths while removing other of the plurality of sets of guiding directions from the display unit.
Ebner et al. teach The PRD of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to: select one of the plurality of obstacle-free paths based on a user input; and display, via the display unit, the set of guiding directions corresponding to the selected one of the plurality of obstacle-free paths while removing other of the plurality of sets of guiding directions from the display unit. (Ebner et al. US 20220136836 abstract; paragraphs [0005]-[0013]; [0029]-[0036]; [0038]-[0039]; figures 1-7)
When the graph representation 300 is complete, then referring to FIGS. 5 and 6A at 501 the system may receive a request to locate and/or navigate to an object. For example, the system may include an application operable on a mobile electronic device that outputs a user interface for an indoor mapping application. The system may select a starting location 504 of the requester by receiving a location or object ID entered into an input field 603, by receiving a selection of the location 601 as output on a displayed map or by another process, such as by choosing from a list of possible starting points within the map. Some systems may include a speech to text converter in which a user may enter a destination via microphone. A starting point may be detected as a relative position on the map with respect to the reference point that was used to determine the locations of objects on the map. Alternatively, the starting point may be determined as the location of a closest known object. If the location is not already displayed on the displayed map, the location may be displayed after the user enters it (Ebner et al. par. 31).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets user can input the location to retrieve the map to the destination.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include an input and output interface on the mobile device taught by Ebner et al. reference into the modified system of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. reference in order to allow user to see the displayed map after the user enters it.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20170161004, in view of Molloy et al. US 20190371138, in view of Ross et al. US 20220155407 and further in view of Schmidt et al. US 7005980.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 16.
The combination of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. do not explicitly teach The article of PPE of claim 16, further comprising a self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA) or a powered air purifying respirator (PAPR).
Schmidt et al. teach The article of PPE of claim 16, further comprising a self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA) or a powered air purifying respirator (PAPR). (Schmidt et al. US 7005980 abstract; col. 1 lines 32-44; col. 3 lines 47-67; col. 4 lines 15-67; col. 5 lines 1-8; col. 8 lines 6-17; figures 1-11)
See figure 2 of Schmidt et al. reference the fire fighter equipped with SCBA and Schmidt et al. col. 8 lines 6-17.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply SCBA taught by Schmidt et al. reference into the modified system of Lee et al., Molloy et al. and Ross et al. reference in order to protect a responder in the hazard environment.
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686