DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto et al (WO2021/0846690 for the translation (US 2022/0407574).
Regarding claim 1, Goto et al teach a wireless communication device (see figure 1, 2, 5) that performs millimeter wave communication (see paragraph 0070, millimeter wave band”) using an antenna module including a plurality of antenna elements (see figure 5), the wireless communication device comprising a control unit (see figure 5, component 260, “control unit”) that determines a number of the antenna elements to be used for the millimeter wave communication from among the plurality of antenna elements included in the antenna module according to a comparison result between a temperature of the antenna module and a temperature threshold (see figure 5 and figure 10, 12, and paragraph 0007) wherein the control unit selects the temperature threshold from among a plurality of thresholds (see figure 5 and figure 10, 12, and paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 2, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Goto et al further teach wherein the temperature threshold is lower than a stop temperature threshold for determining whether or not to stop the millimeter wave communication using the antenna module (see figure 5 and figure 10, 12).
Regarding claim 3, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Goto et al further teach wherein in a case where the temperature of the antenna module exceeds the temperature threshold, the control unit reduces the number of the plurality of antenna elements to be used for the millimeter wave communication (see figure 5 and figure 10, 12 “remove antenna module candidate whose temperature is equal to or higher than th2 from candidates”).
Regarding claim 4, which inherits the limitations of claim 3, Goto et al further teach wherein in a case where the temperature of the antenna module exceeds a second temperature threshold higher than the temperature threshold while the millimeter wave communication is performed with the reduced number of the plurality of antenna elements, the control unit further reduces the number of the plurality of antenna elements to be used for the millimeter wave communication (see figure 10, and 12 the iteration).
Regarding claim 18, the claimed method including the features corresponds to subject matter mentioned above in the rejection of claim 1 is applicable hereto.
Claim(s) 1 – 12 and 16 – 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al ( (US 2020/0367176).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al teach a wireless communication device (see figure 1 – 3) that performs millimeter wave communication (see paragraph 0004 “mmWave radio channels”) using an antenna module including a plurality of antenna elements (see figure 3 and 10), the wireless communication device comprising a control unit that determines a number of the antenna elements to be used for the millimeter wave communication from among the plurality of antenna elements included in the antenna module according to a comparison result between a temperature of the antenna module and a temperature threshold (see paragraph 0141 – 0149 and figure 8 and 9, paragraph 0111 table 1), wherein the control unit selects the temperature threshold from among a plurality of thresholds (see figure 8 and 9, paragraph 0111 table 1).
Regarding claim 2, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Lee et al further teach wherein the temperature threshold is lower than a stop temperature threshold for determining whether or not to stop the millimeter wave communication using the antenna module (see figure 8 and 9 and paragraph 0147).
Regarding claim 3, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Lee et al further teach wherein in a case where the temperature of the antenna module exceeds the temperature threshold, the control unit reduces the number of the plurality of antenna elements to be used for the millimeter wave communication (see figure 8 and 9, and paragraph 00145 and 0146).
Regarding claim 4, which inherits the limitations of claim 3, Lee et al further teach wherein in a case where the temperature of the antenna module exceeds a second temperature threshold higher than the temperature threshold while the millimeter wave communication is performed with the reduced number of the plurality of antenna elements, the control unit further reduces the number of the plurality of antenna elements to be used for the millimeter wave communication (see paragraph 0146).
Regarding claim 5, which inherits the limitations of claim 3, Lee et al further teach wherein in a case where the temperature of the antenna module becomes equal to or lower than a third temperature threshold lower than the temperature threshold while the millimeter wave communication is performed with the reduced number of the plurality of antenna elements, the control unit increases the number of the plurality of antenna elements to be used for the millimeter wave communication (see paragraph 0145).
Regarding claim 6, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Lee et al further teach wherein the control unit selects the temperature threshold according to a communication amount of the millimeter wave communication (see paragraph 087 – 0089, 0091).
Regarding claim 7, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Lee et al further teach wherein the control unit selects the temperature threshold according to an application which uses the millimeter wave communication (see paragraph 0112).
Regarding claim 8, which inherits the limitations of claim 7, Lee et al further teach wherein the control unit determines the number of the plurality of antenna elements by switching a first threshold corresponding to a first application and a second threshold corresponding to a second application as the temperature threshold, and the first threshold is lower than the second threshold (see table 1, figure 8 , 9, and paragraph 0145 and 0146).
Regarding claim 9, which inherits the limitations of claim 8, Lee et al further teach wherein the first application has a larger communication amount than the second application (see paragraph 0112).
Regarding claim 10, which inherits the limitations of claim 7, Lee et al further teach wherein the control unit selects the temperature threshold according to the application being executed (see figure 1, and paragraph 0112).
Regarding claim 11, which inherits the limitations of claim 7, Lee et al further teach wherein in a case where a plurality of the applications is being executed, the control unit selects the temperature threshold according to the application which is active (see paragraph 0111 – 0113) .
Regarding claim 12, which inherits the limitations of claim 7, Lee et al further teach wherein in a case where a plurality of the applications is being executed, the control unit selects the temperature threshold according to priority of the application (see paragraph 0111 – 0113).
Regarding claim 16, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Lee et al further teach wherein the control unit generates the temperature threshold using a learned model (see paragraph 0092 – 0094 “learning model”).
Regarding claim 17, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Lee et al further teach wherein the wireless communication device includes a plurality of the antenna modules, and the control unit sets the temperature threshold for each of the plurality of antenna modules (see paragraph 0090, 0091).
Regarding claim 18, the claimed method including the features corresponds to subject matter mentioned above in the rejection of claim 1 is applicable hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al ( (US 2020/0367176).
Regarding claim 13 - 15, which inherits the limitations of claim 1, Lee et al does not expressly disclose wherein the control unit selects the temperature threshold according to at least one of transmission power and reception power of the antenna module (see paragraph 0101). Lee et al disclosed that a threshold temperature is selected in accordance with the power consumption (paragraph [0131], table 1, "According to an embodiment, the operation type of the electronic device may include at least one of the type of application in execution, the system usage rate, power consumption, or whether the electronic device is gripped or charged."). Therefore, using transmitted power and received power as said power consumption threshold is within the scope of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Conclusion
JAISON . JOSEPH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/JAISON JOSEPH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633