DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of an amendment, filed 03 September 2026, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Status of the claims:
Claims 25 and 28-44 are pending.
Claims 25, 39, and 44 are amended.
Claims 1-24 and 26-27 are canceled.
Specification and Drawings:
Amendments to the specification have been submitted in the amendment filed 03 September 2026.
Amendments to the drawings have not been submitted in the amendment filed 03 September 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 40, 41, and 44 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 40, line 2, it appears that “simultaneous” should be changed to --simultaneously--.
In claim 41, line 7, it appears that “simultaneous” should be changed to --simultaneously--.
In claim 44, line 2, it appears that “ta” should be changed to --a--.
In claim 44, line 4, it appears that “of of a time” should be changed to --of a time--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 25, 28, 30, and 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukaura (JP 2010-188465).
With respect to claim 25, Fukaura discloses an engagement device comprising a suction device (figs. 1, 3), the suction device comprising a port (air suction port 3a) and an engagement end coupled to each other (bellows suction pad 2 coupled to port 3a), the engagement end being configured to contact a first surface portion of an object to define a chamber (end of bellows suction pad 2 contacts first surface of object 6, figs. 1b, 3b), the port being fluidly couplable to a vacuum source to place the vacuum source in fluid communication with the chamber (air suction port 3a is connected to vacuum source, not shown), wherein the engagement device comprises a pressor element coupled to the suction device (rod 4 coupled to bellows 2), the pressor element comprising an abutment surface arranged to contact a second surface portion of the object distinct from the first surface portion (work pressing part 4b contacts a second surface of object 6, fig. 1b), wherein the engagement end presents an engagement surface configured to contact the first surface portion of the object (surface of bellows suction pad 2 contacts object 6), the engagement surface being movable along a direction of motion relative to the abutment surface (surface of bellows suction pad 2 is movable relative to work pressing part 4b, figs. 1a, 1b), wherein, when the port is in fluid communication with the vacuum source and the vacuum source establishes a reduced pressure level through the chamber, the reduced pressure level in the chamber causes:- the suction device to apply a traction force to at least part of the first surface portion of the object (bellows suction pad applies force to lift object 6), and- the pressor element to apply a compression force to at least part of the second surface portion of the object through the abutment surface (work pressing part 4b presses on object 6 to prevent tilt of object 6), and wherein the suction device is configured, in response to the reduced pressure level established through the chamber, to transition from a first configuration in which the engagement surface is at a first distance from the abutment surface along the direction of motion to a second configuration in which the engagement surface is at a second distance from the abutment surface along the direction of motion, the first distance being greater than the second distance (when suction is further continued, the bellows 2 contracts, and the distance between the bottom of the bellows 2 and the work pressing part 4b decreases, pg. 3, para. 4 and 7, figs. 1a, 1b).
With respect to claim 28, Fukaura discloses the suction device comprises a first body (bellows 2) and a second body coupled to each other (cylindrical portion 2a coupled to bellows 2), the engagement end being at the first body, the port being at the second body (port 3a at cylindrical portion 2a), the pressor element being coupled to the first body or the second body of the suction device (rod 4 coupled to cylindrical portion 2a via support member 5).
With respect to claim 30, Fukaura discloses the pressor element extends from a first end to a second end (shaft 4a extends from work pressing part 4b to support member 5), the abutment surface being at the first end (work pressing part 4b at first end), the pressor element being coupled to the suction device at the second end (rod 4 is coupled at second end via support member 5 to cylindrical portion 2a).
With respect to claim 33, Fukaura discloses the engagement surface and the abutment surface are at least in part located respectively along a first plane and a second plane (work pressing parts 4b located in a first plane, bottom surface of bellows 2 located in a second plane, fig. 1a).
With respect to claim 34, Fukaura discloses the compression force is parallel and opposite to the traction force (bellows 2 draws object 6 upwardly, work pressing parts 4b push object 6 downwardly, fig. 1b).
With respect to claim 35, Fukaura discloses the first surface portion and the second surface portion are defined either: at a same surface of the object (fig. 1b), or respectively at a first surface and at a second surface of the object.
With respect to claim 36, Fukaura discloses a system comprising a plurality of engagement devices and a vacuum source in fluid communication with each of the plurality of engagement devices (a plurality of robot arms 1 connecting to one robot attachment part 10, pg. fig. 6, para. 8), wherein each of the plurality of engagement devices is the engagement device of claim 25.
With respect to claim 37, Fukaura discloses the plurality of engagement devices are arranged either: in a single direction such that the abutment surfaces of each engagement device are coplanar (plurality of robot arms including coplanar work pressing parts 4b, fig. 6), or in a first group of engagement devices and a second group of engagement devices, wherein the first group are arranged in a first direction such that the abutment surfaces of each engagement device of the first group are coplanar to each other and the engagement devices of the second group are arranged in a second direction such that the abutment surfaces of each engagement device of the second group are coplanar to each other.
With respect to claim 38, Fukaura discloses the plurality of engagement devices are arranged in a single direction such that the abutment surfaces of each engagement device are coplanar (plurality of robot arms including coplanar work pressing parts 4b, fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukaura (JP 2010-188465) in view of Nakayama et al. (US Patent No. 11,423,725).
With respect to claim 29, Fukaura discloses the second body comprises an interior fluidly couplable to the vacuum source through the port to place the vacuum source in fluid communication with the chamber (port 3a), but fails to disclose the first body being located at least in part within the interior, the first body being capable of sliding within the interior of the second body.
Nakayama et al. disclose in a similar system that it is old and well known to have a first body sliding within the interior of the second body (sleeve portion 34 slides within vacuum passage 20 of support member 12, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the engagement device of Fukaura by substituting the first body sliding within the interior of the second body, as taught by Nakayama et al., for the first body moving relative to the second body of Fukaura, as the substitution of an art-recognized equivalent for moving one mechanical element relative to another. MPEP 2144.06 II. In this instance, a skilled artisan would have recognized that the substitution of the first body sliding within the second body from the Nakayama et al. reference for the first body moving relative to the second body of the Fukaura reference involves no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, and that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted/provided one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Claims 31, 32, and 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukaura (JP 2010-188465) in view of Ikeda (US Patent Publ. No. 2020/0377314).
With respect to claim 31, Fukaura discloses the pressor element comprises a coupling element at the second end, the suction device and the pressor element are coupled to each other through the coupling element (rod 4 is coupled to suction device 2 via support member 5), but fails to disclose the pressor element comprises a through hole at the second end, and the through hole at least in part defines the coupling element.
Ikeda discloses in a similar system that it is old and well known to connect a pressor element and suction device with a through hole in the pressor element (cover member 2 is coupled to suction pad 3 via an air through hole through in the arm portion 4 and the cover member 2, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the engagement device of Fukaura by substituting the through hole coupling, as taught by Ikeda, for the coupling of Fukaura, as the substitution of an art-recognized equivalent for coupling one mechanical element to another. MPEP 2144.06 II. In this instance, a skilled artisan would have recognized that the substitution of the through hole coupling from the Nakayama et al. reference for the coupling of the Fukaura reference involves no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, and that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
With respect to claim 32, Fukaura fails to disclose at least one of the abutment surface, the first surface portion of the object, and the second surface portion of the object is planar.
Ikeda discloses in a similar system that it is old and well known to provide a planar pressor element (cover member 2 with planar surface 13, fig. 5) and an object having first and second planar surfaces (object 100, fig. 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the engagement device of Fukaura by substituting the planar pressor element, as taught by Ikeda, for the pressor element surface of Fukaura, to provide a larger surface area of the gripper for greater control of the object.
With respect to claim 39, Fukaura discloses a method comprising the steps of:- providing the engagement device of claim 25 (air suction port 3a, bellows suction pad 2 coupled to port 3a), coupling a vacuum source to the port of the engagement device (air suction port 3a is connected to a vacuum source, not shown), - contacting the first surface portion of the object with the engagement end (figs. 1a, 3b),- establishing a reduced pressure level through the chamber, where the reduced pressure level is lower than atmospheric pressure level (applying reduced pressure through port 3a, figs. 1b, 3c), - in response to the reduced pressure level established through the chamber, transitioning the suction device from a first configuration, in which an engagement surface of the engagement end is at a first distance along a direction of motion from the abutment surface, to a second configuration, in which the engagement surface is at a second distance along the direction of motion from the abutment surface, the first distance being greater than the second distance (when suction is further continued, the bellows 2 contracts, and the distance between the bottom of the bellows 2 and the work pressing part 4b decreases, pg. 3, para. 4 and 7, figs. 1a, 1b), - applying a traction force to at least part of the first surface portion of the object through the suction device (bellows suction pad applies force to lift object 6), and- applying a compression force to at least part of the second surface portion of the object through the abutment surface (work pressing part 4b presses on object 6 to prevent tilt of object 6).
Fukaura fails to disclose a method of packaging an object.
Ikeda discloses in a similar system that it is old and well known to provide an engagement device in a packaging method (objects 100 are packaged in container 300, fig. 13).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Fukaura by providing the engagement device in a packaging method, as taught by Ikeda, as one of many uses of the suction gripper, especially since Fukaura discloses picking and placing objects.
With respect to claim 40, Fukaura discloses wherein the steps of applying a traction force and applying a compression force are performed at least partly simultaneously (when suction is further continued, the bellows 2 contracts, and the distance between the bottom of the bellows 2 and the work pressing part 4b decreases and the pressing part 4b contacts the object, pg. 3, para. 4 and 7, figs. 1a, 1b).
With respect to claim 41, Fukaura discloses the engagement end presents an engagement surface (bottom of bellows 2), the engagement end being configured to contact the first surface portion of the object through the engagement surface (fig. 3b), the engagement surface is at least in part movable along a direction of motion (figs. 1a, 1b), and the method further comprises moving the engagement surface relative to the abutment surface at least partly simultaneously with one or more of the step of contacting the first surface portion, the step of applying a compression force at the second surface portion, and the step of applying a traction force (when suction is further continued, the bellows 2 contracts, and the distance between the bottom of the bellows 2 and the work pressing part 4b decreases and the pressing part 4b contacts the object, pg. 3, para. 4 and 7, figs. 1a, 1b).
With respect to claim 42, Fukaura discloses controlling the reduced pressure level through the chamber such that the traction force to the at least part of the first surface portion and the compression force to the at least part of the second surface portion are applied for a duration of time (the compression and suction is applied to the object 6 to lift the object), wherein at least one of a modulus of the traction force or a modulus of the compression force is based on the reduced pressure level (the modulus of traction/suction force is based on the reduced pressure caused by the vacuum force).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the objection to the specification, the amendments and applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection is hereby withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection of claims 33 and 44 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the claim amendments and applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 25 and 28--44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 43 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 43, the prior art fails to disclose or teach the method of claim 39, wherein: the object comprises a main body and a lid coupled to each other, the first surface portion being defined at least in part by the main body and the second surface portion being defined at least in part by the lid, and the method comprises providing an adhesive material configured to bind together the main body and the lid, the adhesive material being at a bonding zone of at least one of the main body and of the lid.
Claim 44 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 44, the prior art fails to disclose or teach the method of claim 39, further comprising receiving, by a control unit, properties data representative of a material property of an adhesive material, the material property comprising at least one of a time of drying of the adhesive material and/or of a viscosity of the adhesive material, wherein the reduced pressure level and/or the duration of time is based on the properties data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saitoh et al. (US Patent Publ. No. 2023/0405840) disclose an engagement device including a suction device movable with respect to a pressor element.
Shishido et al. (JP 2021-32345) disclose a movable suction device.
Polido et al. (US Patent Publ. No. 2020/0189122) disclose a movable suction device.
Nakayama (US Patent Publ. No. 2018/0297200) disclose a suction gripper.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA J. HODGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731