In response to communications filed 14 July 2025, this is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations in claim 1 are:
data foundation unit is configured to format
“hidden feature extraction unit configured to transform
time-aware clustering unit configured to determine
correlation classification unit configured to classify
real-time recommendation unit configured to output
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 11, and 15 recite the steps of
formatting the raw input data for further processing;
transforming the formatted raw input data for hidden feature extraction and extracting hidden features based on the transformation and outputting the result of the hidden feature extraction;
determining the time-evolution of an indicator, wherein the indicator is associated with the output of the hidden feature extraction;
computing a value associated with the similarity of two indicators based on the time-evolution of the indicators;
sorting the indicators into groups based on the value;
computing pairwise correlations between the indicators within each group; and
classifying the correlations.
These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas. The steps of “formatting,” “transforming,” “determining,” “computing,” “sorting,” “computing,” and “classifying” can be performed as mental observations and/or evaluations, perhaps using pen and paper. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 11, and 15 further recite
Receiving raw input data from at least one data source;
outputting a list of recommendations based on the classification of the correlations; and
outputting the list of recommendations.
However, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, because they amount to an insignificant extra-solution activity, such as mere data gathering (“receiving”) and/or outputting (“outputting”). See MPEP § 2106.05(g).
Claims 1, 11, and 15 further recite a “data foundation unit”; a “data collector unit”; a “hidden feature extraction unit [of a data correlator unit]”; a “time-aware clustering unit [of the data correlator unit]”; a “correlation classification unit”; a “real-time recommendation unit”; and a “data visualization unit comprising an output interface” to perform the steps analyzed above. Claim 15 further recites
A computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause one or more processors to carry out [the steps analyzed above].
Claim 1, 11, and 15 further recite that the sorting is performed “using artificial intelligence.” However, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, because they amount to merely implementing the judicial exception on a generic computer. See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
The additional limitations of claims 2-10 and 12-14, not explicitly addressed above, likewise fall within the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas. Considering the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when considering the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than insignificant extra-solution activities and/or implementing the judicial exception on a generic computer. In addition, Pallath provided evidence in paragraph [0001] that the steps of “receiving” and “outputting” were well-understood, routine, and conventional activities performed in the field of “time series data mining.” See also MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). Therefore claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the computer-readable medium, when read in light of the specification and in view of one skilled in the art, may be a carrier wave signal. A signal is not a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See, In re Nuijten, 500 F. 3rd 1346 (Fed. Cir. 2007). See also, Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer Readable Media, 1351 OG 212 (2010). It may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 USC § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim to read --A non-transitory computer readable medium-- (claim 15, line 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1-10, the claim limitations identified in paragraph [10] invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. Therefore, the specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the full scope of the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-10, the claim limitations identified in paragraph [10] invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The limitations at issue are directed to functions performed by software, however, the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer functions are not explained in sufficient detail. The algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the functions must be described so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed; simply restating the function recited in the claim is not sufficient. See MPEP § 2161.01(I). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8-9, 11, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1: “the transformation” lacks antecedent basis and should be --a transformation-- (line 10)
claim 1: “the similarity” lacks antecedent basis and should be --a transformation-- (line 17)
claim 1: “artificial” appears to be a typographical error for --artificial intelligence--(line 18)
claim 1: “the recommendations” have antecedent basis to --the list of recommendations-- (line 2)
claim 8: “the recommendations” have antecedent basis to --the list of recommendations-- (line 2)
claim 9: “a scenario” has antecedent basis to --the scenario-- (line 1)
claim 9: “the type” lacks antecedent basis and should be --a type-- (line 3)
claim 9: “the amount of correction” has antecedent basis to --the threshold-- (line 3)
claim 11: “the transformation” lacks antecedent basis and should be --a transformation-- (line 9)
claim 11: “the similarity” lacks antecedent basis and should be --a transformation-- (line 14)
claim 15: “one or more processors” has antecedent basis to --the processor-- (line 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pallath et al. (US 2018/0150547 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pallath teaches a system for data correlation comprising:
a data foundation unit including an input interface, wherein the input interface is configured to receive raw input data from at least one data source (see Pallath [0040], “Time series data may be received,” where the “original data that is collected” is raw input),
wherein the data foundation unit is configured to format the raw input data for further processing (see Pallath [0040], “data may be organized”);
a data correlator unit including:
a hidden feature extraction unit configured to transform the formatted raw input data for hidden feature extraction and to extract hidden features based on the transformation and to output the result of the hidden feature extraction (see Pallath [0042], “Subsequences may be determined”),
a time-aware clustering unit configured to determine the time-evolution of an indicator, wherein the indicator is associated with the output of the hidden feature extraction (see Pallath [0047]-[0048], “clustering algorithm arranges each of the subsequences,” where the “same, or similar, pattern of data within the subsequences” is an indicator),
wherein the time-aware clustering unit is configured to (i) compute a value associated with the similarity of two indicators based on the time-evolution of the indicators (see Pallath [0049], “proximity measure and the identified centroids of the clusters”),
(ii) to sort the indicators into groups based on these values by using artificial (see Pallath [0048], the indicators are sorted into “clusters,” i.e., groups, using a “clustering algorithm” artificial intelligence), and
(iii) to compute pairwise correlations between the indicators within each group (see Pallath [0051], “distance between points in the resulting clusters may be measured”);
a correlation classification unit configured to classify the correlations (see Pallath [0052], “classifying subsequently received data”);
a real-time recommendation unit configured to output a list of recommendations based on the classification of the correlations (see Pallath [0056], “make various predictions regarding future data points that may be in time series for future time periods”); and
a data visualization unit comprising an output interface and configured to output the list of recommendations (see Pallath Fig. 6 and [0096], “predict the electricity usage in next specified time points”).
Regarding claim 11, Pallath teaches a method for data correlation, wherein in the method comprises:
receiving, by a data foundation unit comprising an input interface, raw input data from at least one data source (see Pallath [0040], “Time series data may be received,” where the “original data that is collected” is raw input data);
formatting, by the data foundation unit, the raw input data for further processing (see Pallath [0040], “data may be organized”);
transforming, by a hidden feature extraction unit of a data correlator unit, the formatted raw input data for hidden feature extraction and extracting hidden features based on the transformation and outputting the result of the hidden feature extraction (see Pallath [0042], “Subsequences may be determined”);
determining, by a time-aware clustering unit of the data correlator unit, the time-evolution of an indicator, wherein the indicator is associated with the output of the hidden feature extraction (see Pallath [0047]-[0048], “clustering algorithm arranges each of the subsequences,” where the “same, or similar, pattern of data within the subsequences” is an indicator);
computing, by the time-aware clustering unit, a value associated with the similarity of two indicators based on the time-evolution of the indicators (see Pallath [0049], “proximity measure and the identified centroids of the clusters”);
sorting, by the time-aware clustering unit, the indicators into groups based on the value by using artificial intelligence (see Pallath [0048], the indicators are sorted into “clusters,” i.e., groups, using a “clustering algorithm” artificial intelligence);
computing, by the time-aware clustering unit, pairwise correlations between the indicators within each group (see Pallath [0051], “distance between points in the resulting clusters may be measured”);
classifying the correlations by a correlation classification unit (see Pallath [0052], “classifying subsequently received data”);
outputting, by a real-time recommendation unit, a list of recommendations based on the classification of the correlations (see Pallath [0056], “make various predictions regarding future data points that may be in time series for future time periods”);
outputting, by a data visualization unit comprising an output interface, the list of recommendations (see Pallath Fig. 6 and [0096], “predict the electricity usage in next specified time points”).
Regarding claim 15, Pallath teaches a computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause one or more processors to carry out the method of claim 11 (see Pallath [0104]-[0105] and the rejection of claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 2, Pallath teaches wherein the data visualization unit is further configured to initialize actions associated with the recommendations (see Pallath [0037], “instruct the service(s) 116 to perform various action(s) . . . based on the prediction(s)”)
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Pallath teaches wherein the hidden feature extraction unit is configured to decompose the formatted raw input data in trend, seasonality, residuals, or perceptual change (see Pallath [0041], the formatted raw input is decomposed into “time window” residuals).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Pallath teaches wherein the time-aware clustering unit is using dynamic time-warping (DTW), cross-lagged correlation, piecewise aggregate approximation (PAA), or symbolic aggregate approximation (SAX) to determine the value associated with the similarity of the indicators (see Pallath [0094] and [0045]-[0048], “symbolic representation”).
Regarding claim 6, Pallath teaches wherein the correlation classification unit is using a K-means neural network to classify correlations between the indicators (see Pallath [0047]-[0048], “K-means algorithm”).
Regarding claim 7, Pallath teaches wherein the real-time classification unit is using collaborative filtering or Markov models to create the list of recommendations (see Pallath [0084]-[0086], where “frequent sequence mining” is collaborative filtering).
Regarding claim 8, Pallath teaches wherein the correlation classification unit determines the recommendations based on a scenario (see Pallath [0096], “energy management scenario”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallath et al. (US 2018/0150547 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Schwiep et al. (US 2022/0292308 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Pallath does not explicitly teach wherein the hidden feature extraction unit is using auto-regressive seasonal extraction.
However, Schwiep teaches wherein the hidden feature extraction unit is using auto-regressive seasonal extraction (see Schwiep [0095], “different lists of features . . . seasonal” and “autoregressive integrated moving average”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use auto-regressive seasonal extraction, as taught by Schwiep, in combination with Pallath, because the “model development module 108 can propose and/or create models based on different lists of features available for the data set” (see Schwiep [0095]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallath et al. (US 2018/0150547 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Sharma et al. (US 2015/0235139 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Pallath does not explicitly teach wherein a scenario defines a threshold for the correlation of two indicators.
However, Sharma teaches wherein a scenario defines a threshold for the correlation of two indicators (see Sharma [0046], “threshold such that all normal time series distances are to its left and abnormal ones are to its right”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define a threshold, as taught by Sharma, in combination with Pallath, because “The discriminative power (also referred to as information gain) of a subsequence is a function of how well it can separate the normal and abnormal classes” (see Sharma [0046]).
Pallath as modified teaches wherein the scenario further defines a recommendation for the two indicators based on the type of indicator and the amount of correlation (see Pallath and Sharma [0046], where a recommendation for two indications based on a “aggregated electricity usage” type, as taught by Pallath, is further based on the “threshold” taught by Sharma).
Regarding claim 10, Pallath as modified teaches wherein the scenario further includes an amount of lag between the two indicators (see Pallath [0023], “determine the effects of a lag in the data”).
Conclusion
/Kristopher Andersen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159