DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-11, 15-16, 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Quilici et al. (US 20120320626 A1, hereinafter, “Quilici”).
Regarding claim 1, Quilici teaches a lighting system (Light fixture 1, see figures 1-5) comprising:
a first light source (see LED1 as seen in fig 1 below);
a second light source (see LED2 as seen in fig 1 below);
a first optic (3-4 and 7) configured to receive light (light from 6) from the first light source (LED1) for scattering into a first light (41);
a second optic (23-24) configured to receive light (light from 22) from the second light source (LED2) for directing into a second light (SL); and
an outer lens (5) comprising an ambient zone (see ambient zone AZ, as seen in fig 1 below) and a functional zone (see directional zone DL, as seen in fig 1 below), wherein the ambient zone (AZ) is configured to receive the first light (41), wherein the functional zone (FZ) is configured to receive the second light (see second light SL, as seen in fig 1 below), and wherein:
the ambient zone (AZ) diffuses the first light (41) into an ambient light (51) that travels in a plurality of directions when the ambient zone (AZ) receives the first light (41); and
the functional zone (FZ) diffuses the second light (SL) into a directional light (21) that travels substantially in a direction (downwards, as seen in fig 1 below) when the functional zone (FZ) receives the second light (SL).
Annotated figure 1 of Quilici has been reproduced below:
Regarding claim 2, Quilici teaches further comprising:
a first printed circuit board (PCB) (see PCB1, as seen in fig 1 above); and
a second printed circuit board (PCB) (see PCB2, as seen in fig 1 above),
wherein the first light source (LED1) is mounted on the first PCB (PCB1), and
wherein the second light source (LED2) is mounted on the second PCB (PCB2).
Regarding claim 3, Quilici teaches wherein the second optic (23-24) is positioned below the second PCB (PCB1) and above the first optic (3-4 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Quilici teaches wherein the first optic (3-4 and 7) is positioned below second optic (23-24) and above the outer lens (5), and wherein the second light (SL) passes through the first optic (3-4 and 7) before being received by the functional zone (FZ).
Regarding claim 5, Quilici teaches wherein the second optic (23-24) is adjacent to a bottom surface (bottom surface of PCB2) of the second PCB (PCB2) and a top surface (top surface of 3-4) of the first optic (3-4 and 7), and
wherein the bottom surface (bottom surface of PCB2) of the second PCB (PCB2) and the top surface of the first optic (3-4 and 7) are substantially parallel (evident from fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, Quilici teaches wherein the bottom surface (bottom surface of PCB2) of the second PCB (PCB2) and the top surface (top surface of 3-4) of the first optic (3-4 and 7) are substantially perpendicular (as seen in fig 1) to a surface (long surface of PCB1) of the first PCB (PCB1) that is adjacent to the first optic (3-4 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, Quilici teaches a lighting system (Light fixture 1, see figures 1-5) comprising:
a first light source (LED1);
a second light source (LED2):
a first optic (3-4 and 7) configured to receive light (light from 6) from the first light source (LED1) for generating a first light (41);
a second optic (23-24) configured to receive light (light from 22) from the second light source (LED2) for generating a second light (SL); and
an outer lens (5) comprising an ambient zone (AZ) and a functional zone (FZ), wherein the ambient zone (AZ) is configured to diffuse the first light (41) into an ambient light (51), and wherein the functional zone (FZ) is configured to diffuse the second light (SL) into a directional light (21).
Regarding claim 11, Quilici teaches wherein the functional zone (FZ) is positioned around a first end (lower end of 5) and/or
a second end of the outer lens (5).
Regarding claim 15, Quilici teaches a lighting system (Light fixture 1, see figures 1-5) comprising:
a first light source (LED1);
a second light source (LED2);
an optic (3-4, 23-24) configured to:
receive light (light from 6) from the first light source (LED1) for generating a first light (41); and
receive light (light from 22) from the second light source (LED2) for generating a second light (SL); and
an outer lens (5) comprising an ambient zone (AZ) and a functional zone (FZ), wherein the ambient zone (AZ) is configured to diffuse the first light (41) into an ambient light (51), and
wherein the functional zone (FZ) is configured to diffuse the second light (SL) into a directional light (21).
Regarding claim 16, Quilici teaches wherein the optic (3-4, 23-24) comprises a first portion (left and right parts of 3-4, 23-24) and a second portion (center part of 3-4, 23-24), wherein the light (light from 6) from the first light source (LED1) passes through the first portion (left and right parts of 3-4, 23-24) and the second portion (center part of 3-4, 23-24) for generating the first light (41), and
wherein the light from the second light source (LED2) passes through the second portion for generating the second light (SL) (21).
Regarding claim 20, Quilici teaches wherein the ambient zone (AZ) is larger in size (as FZ surrounds AZ) than the functional zone (FZ), and wherein the ambient zone (AZ) overlaps (see light rays overlapping at the border between AZ and FZ) with the functional zone (FZ).
Regarding claim 21, Quilici teaches a lighting system (Light fixture 1, see figures 1-5) comprising:
at least one PCB (PCB1 or PCB2);
at least one ambient LED (LED1):
at least one functional LED (LED2);
a first optic (3-4 and 7) configured to receive a light (light from 6) from the at least one ambient LED (LED1) and diffuse said light into a first light (41);
a second optic (23-24) configured to receive light (light from 22) from the at least one functional LED (LED2) and direct it into a second light (SL); and
an outer lens (5) comprising a functional zone (FZ) and an ambient zone (AZ), wherein the second light (SL) is further directed through the first optic (3-4 and 7),
wherein the first light (41) is more diffuse (due to 4) than the second light (SL), wherein the second light (SL) is configured to path through the functional zone (FZ) and the first light (41) is configured to pass through the ambient zone (AZ), and
wherein the functional zone (FZ) and the ambient zone (AZ) are at least partially the same (as light is partly overlapped, as seen in fig 1).
Regarding claim 23, Quilici a teaches lighting system (Light fixture 1, see figures 1-5) for a vehicle (as the light system of Quilici is geared for general use, one of ordinary skill could use it as overhead light for vehicles or busses), the lighting system (1) comprising:
at least one ambient LED (LED1):
at least one functional LED (LED2);
a first optic (3-4 and 7) configured to receive a light (light from 6) emitted by the at least one ambient LED (LED1) and diffuse said received light into a first light (41);
a second optic (23-24) configured to receive a light (light from 22) emitted by the at least one function LED (LED2) and direct the received light into a second light (SL); and
an outer lens (5) comprising an ambient zone (AZ) positioned to receive the first light (41) and a functional zone (FZ) positioned to receive the second light (SL), at least a portion (see light rays overlapping at the boundary of AZ and DZ, in figure 1 above) of the functional zone (FZ) overlapping the ambient zone (AZ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quilici.
Regarding claim 19, Quilici does not teach wherein a length of the outer lens is about 300 mm, and wherein a length of the functional zone is between 20 mm to 30 mm.
However, one of ordinary skill would have considered having specifying the lengths of functional zone and outer lens as desired, including a length of the outer lens about 300 mm, and a length of the functional zone between 20 mm to 30 mm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the lengths of the outer lens and functional zone of Quilici to be about 300 mm and between 20 mm to 30 mm respectively, since the applicant has not disclosed that specific lengths solve any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the outer lens of about 300 mm, and the functional zone between 20 mm to 30 mm in length. In this case, selecting given lengths would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, such as choosing a larger or smaller functional zone, or a ration of the functional zone with respect to the overall length of the outer lens.
Claims 7-9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quilici in view of Tahara et al. (US 20140376253 A1, hereinafter, “Tahara”).
Regarding claims 7-9, Quilici teaches further comprising: a control system (switches and/or control, see ¶ 16) electrically connected to the first PCB (PCB1),
wherein the switches and/or control is configured to cause the first light (41) source (LED1) or the second light (SL) source (LED2) to be turned on or off (necessarily occurring since the diffuse light and the directional beam may have separate switches and/or controls so that they may be operated independently, or may alternatively both be on the same switch, see ¶ 16) responsive to a user interaction (as switches activation originate by a user’s input, see ¶ 16, 23, 29 and 36).
Quilici does not explicitly teach (claim 7) the switches and/or control further comprising a sensor; and
(claim 8) wherein the sensor is a touch sensor, and wherein the touch sensor causes the second light source to be turned on or off responsive to a user touch on a touch surface of the outer lens; and
(claim 9) wherein the touch sensor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode, and wherein the touch surface of the outer lens (5) is positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode.
Tahara teaches a lighting system (map lamp 10, see figures 1-4) having a first light source (bulb 15), a second light source (bulb 16), an outer lens (lens 20) and including a switches and/or control (first and second type touch switch, see ¶ 12);
(claim 7) switches and/or control further comprising a sensor (first and second type touch switch, see ¶ 12).
(claim 8) wherein the sensor (first and second type touch switch) is a touch sensor, and wherein the touch sensor (first and second type touch switch) causes the second light source (16) to be turned on or off responsive to a user touch on a touch surface of the outer lens (20).
(claim 9) wherein the touch sensor (first and second type touch switch) comprises a first electrode (transparent electrode 25, see fig 3) and a second electrode (transparent electrode 26, see fig 3), and wherein the touch surface (surface of 20) of the outer lens (20) is positioned between (better seen in fig 3) the first electrode (25) and the second electrode (26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor as taught by Tahara into the teachings of Quilici, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because touch sensors have no moving parts. This removes the physical wear and tear commonly associated with mechanical switches, leading to a longer lifespan
Regarding claim 22, Quilici a teaches lighting system (Light fixture 1, see figures 1-5) comprising:
an ambient PCB (PCB1);
a functional PCB (PCB2);
at least one ambient LED (LED1) mounted to the ambient PCB (PCB1);
at least one directional LED (LED2) mounted to the functional PCB (PCB2);
a first optic (3-4 and 7) configured to receive a light (light from 6) from the at least one ambient LED (LED1) and diffuse said light into a first light (41);
a second optic (23-24) configured to receive light (light from 22) from the at least one functional LED (LED2) and direct it into a second light (SL) (21);
an outer lens (5) comprising a functional zone (FZ) and ambient zone (AZ); and
wherein the functional PCB (PCB2) is substantially perpendicular to the ambient PCB (PCB1),
wherein the second light (SL) is configured to path through the functional zone (FZ) and the first light (41) is configured to pass through the ambient zone (AZ), and wherein the functional zone (FZ) and the ambient zone (AZ) are at least partially the same (as seen in fig 1).
Quilici does not teach a touch sensor configured to sense a user touch of the outer lens.
Tahara teaches a lighting system (map lamp 10, see figures 1-4) having a first light source (bulb 15), a second light source (bulb 16), an outer lens (lens 20) and including a switches and/or control (first and second type touch switch, see ¶ 12);
a touch sensor (first and second type touch switch, see ¶ 12) configured to sense a user touch (as expected from a touch sensor) of the outer lens (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor as taught by Tahara into the teachings of Quilici, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because touch sensors have no moving parts. This removes the physical wear and tear commonly associated with mechanical switches, leading to a longer lifespan
Claims 12-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quilici in view of Dubosc et al. (FR 3010483 A1, hereinafter, “Dubosc”, cited by the Applicant in IDS filed on 11/4/2025).
Regarding claims 12-14, Quilici does not explicitly teach further comprising:
(claim 12) a printed circuit board, wherein the first light source and the second light source are mounted on the PCB; and
(claim 13) wherein the first optic is positioned below the PCB and above the outer lens: and
(claim 14) wherein the second optic is positioned between the PCB and the first optic.
Dubsoc teaches a lighting system (vehicle custom lighting device, see figures 1-4) having a first light source (primary light source 10, see fig 1), a second light source (complementary light sources 50);
(claim 12) a printed circuit board (printed circuit board 44, see fig 1), wherein the first light source (10) and the second light source (10) are mounted (better seen in fig 4) on the PCB (44); and
(claim 13) wherein the first optic (light guide 8, see fig 1) is positioned below the PCB (44) and above the outer lens (transparent panel 12); and
(claim 14) wherein the second optic (light redirecting member 52, see fig 4) is positioned between the PCB (44) and the first optic (8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to position the first and second light source on the PCB as taught by Dubsoc into the teachings of Quilici, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the cost and to further simplify the manufacturing and position of light sources and PCB.
Regarding claim 17, Quilici teaches further comprising:
(claim 17) a printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the first light source and the second light source are mounted on the PCB; and
(claim 18) wherein the PCB is positioned above the outer lens and the optic.
Dubsoc teaches a lighting system (vehicle custom lighting device, see figures 1-4) having a first light source (primary light source 10, see fig 1), a second light source (complementary light sources 50);
(claim 17) a printed circuit board (printed circuit board 44, see fig 1), wherein the first light source (10) and the second light source (10) are mounted (better seen in fig 4) on the PCB (44); and
(claim 18) wherein the PCB (44) is positioned above the outer lens (5) and the optic (transparent panel 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to position the first and second light source on the PCB as taught by Dubsoc into the teachings of Quilici, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the cost and to further simplify the manufacturing and position of light sources and PCB.
Conclusion
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875