DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 19/148,144, filed on 15 July 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informality: The amended claims are not commenced on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of the claims contain other parts of the amendment. See 37 CFR 1.121. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a. “acquisition module” in claim 8
b. “determination module” in claim 8
c. “control module” in claim 8
d. “control terminal” in claim 9
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Regarding the limitations reciting the “acquisition module”, “determination module”, “control module” and “control terminal”, the specification discloses a computer in Figures 1 and 9 and paragraphs [0037], [0082] and [0164]-[0176] and an algorithm for performing the claimed functions in Figures 2 and 8 and their corresponding paragraphs, in the specification filed on 15 July 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding Claim 11
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to transitory forms of signal transmission. The preamble of the claim recites a "storage medium". The broadest reasonable interpretation of the "storage medium" encompasses non-statutory transitory forms of signal transmission, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signals per se and therefore it is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not contain any additional features with physical or tangible form, therefore it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. See MPEP 2106.03(I-II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yaowen et al. (CN 112201243 A and Yaowen hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Yaowen teaches a vehicle interaction method applied to a control terminal (see all Figs.; [0008]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference CN_112201243_A), the vehicle interaction method comprising:
acquiring orientation and position information of an intelligent remote controller in response to an interaction instruction sent by the intelligent remote controller (see Figs. 1-2, user terminal 200; [0008 "The control device is configured to determine the position and orientation of a movable user terminal and, based on the determined position and orientation, identify the controlled device that the user terminal is facing or pointing to as an object to be controlled by the user's voice commands."], [0014], [0038] and [0042 "Furthermore, the control device 10 is configured to send control signals to the controlled device 30 in response to a user's voice command: the controlled device 30 is the controlled device 30 that the user terminal 200 is facing or pointing to when the voice command is issued. Therefore, the control device 10 needs to obtain the time when the voice command is issued and then calculate the position and orientation of the user terminal 200 at that time."]-[0044]);
determining a target device that interacts with the intelligent remote controller from a plurality of interaction devices of a vehicle according to the orientation and position information (see Fig. 1, controlled device 30; [0008 "The control device is configured to determine the position and orientation of a movable user terminal and, based on the determined position and orientation, identify the controlled device that the user terminal is facing or pointing to as an object to be controlled by the user's voice commands."], [0038]-[0039 "For example, it can be used as an in-vehicle human-machine interaction device to control multiple in-vehicle devices as controlled devices 30, including but not limited to: vehicle air conditioning or ventilation system, various windows, lighting devices, window lights, vehicle display screen, storage box, trunk lid, and various doors."] and [0056]-[0057]); and
controlling the target device to respond to the interaction instruction (see [0009 "According to an optional embodiment, the control device is configured to send control signals to a controlled device in response to a user's voice command, the controlled device being the one that the user terminal is facing or pointing at when the voice command is issued."] and [0042]).
Regarding Claim 8
Yaowen teaches a vehicle interaction apparatus (see all Figs.; [0008]), comprising:
an acquisition module configured to acquire orientation and position information of an intelligent remote controller in response to an interaction instruction sent by the intelligent remote controller (see Figs. 1-2, user terminal 200; [0008 "The control device is configured to determine the position and orientation of a movable user terminal and, based on the determined position and orientation, identify the controlled device that the user terminal is facing or pointing to as an object to be controlled by the user's voice commands."], [0014], [0038] and [0042 "Furthermore, the control device 10 is configured to send control signals to the controlled device 30 in response to a user's voice command: the controlled device 30 is the controlled device 30 that the user terminal 200 is facing or pointing to when the voice command is issued. Therefore, the control device 10 needs to obtain the time when the voice command is issued and then calculate the position and orientation of the user terminal 200 at that time."]-[0044]);
a determination module configured to determine a target device that interacts with the intelligent remote controller from a plurality of interaction devices of a vehicle according to the orientation and position information (see Fig. 1, controlled device 30; [0008 "The control device is configured to determine the position and orientation of a movable user terminal and, based on the determined position and orientation, identify the controlled device that the user terminal is facing or pointing to as an object to be controlled by the user's voice commands."], [0038]-[0039 "For example, it can be used as an in-vehicle human-machine interaction device to control multiple in-vehicle devices as controlled devices 30, including but not limited to: vehicle air conditioning or ventilation system, various windows, lighting devices, window lights, vehicle display screen, storage box, trunk lid, and various doors."] and [0056]-[0057]); and
a control module configured to control the target device to respond to the interaction instruction (see [0009 "According to an optional embodiment, the control device is configured to send control signals to a controlled device in response to a user's voice command, the controlled device being the one that the user terminal is facing or pointing at when the voice command is issued."] and [0042]).
Regarding Claim 9
Yaowen teaches a vehicle interaction system, comprising an intelligent remote controller and a control terminal (see Figs. 1-2, user terminal 200 and control device 10; [0008]),
wherein the intelligent remote controller is communicatively connected to the control terminal (see Fig. 1, all; [0008 "The control device is configured to determine the position and orientation of a movable user terminal and, based on the determined position and orientation, identify the controlled device that the user terminal is facing or pointing to as an object to be controlled by the user's voice commands."]-[0011] and [0038]), and
the vehicle interaction system comprises:
the intelligent remote controller configured to send an interaction instruction to the control terminal in response to a user operation (see [0008]-[0009 "According to an optional embodiment, the control device is configured to send control signals to a controlled device in response to a user's voice command, the controlled device being the one that the user terminal is facing or pointing at when the voice command is issued."] and [0040]-[0042]); and
the control terminal configured to acquire orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller in response to the interaction instruction sent by the intelligent remote controller (see [0008 "The control device is configured to determine the position and orientation of a movable user terminal and, based on the determined position and orientation, identify the controlled device that the user terminal is facing or pointing to as an object to be controlled by the user's voice commands."], [0014], [0038] and [0042 "Furthermore, the control device 10 is configured to send control signals to the controlled device 30 in response to a user's voice command: the controlled device 30 is the controlled device 30 that the user terminal 200 is facing or pointing to when the voice command is issued. Therefore, the control device 10 needs to obtain the time when the voice command is issued and then calculate the position and orientation of the user terminal 200 at that time."]-[0044]);
determine a target device that interacts with the intelligent remote controller from a plurality of interaction devices of a vehicle according to the orientation and position information (see Fig. 1, controlled device 30; [0008 "The control device is configured to determine the position and orientation of a movable user terminal and, based on the determined position and orientation, identify the controlled device that the user terminal is facing or pointing to as an object to be controlled by the user's voice commands."], [0038]-[0039 "For example, it can be used as an in-vehicle human-machine interaction device to control multiple in-vehicle devices as controlled devices 30, including but not limited to: vehicle air conditioning or ventilation system, various windows, lighting devices, window lights, vehicle display screen, storage box, trunk lid, and various doors."] and [0056]-[0057]); and
control the target device to respond to the interaction instruction (see [0009 "According to an optional embodiment, the control device is configured to send control signals to a controlled device in response to a user's voice command, the controlled device being the one that the user terminal is facing or pointing at when the voice command is issued."] and [0042]).
Regarding Claim 10
Yaowen teaches an electronic device (see Fig. 1, human-computer interaction device 100; [0008] and [0038]), comprising:
a memory, a processor, and a vehicle interaction program stored in the memory and executable on the processor (see Fig. 1, control device 10 and storage device 40; [0011] and [0047]-[0050 "In this case, the user terminal 200 can directly transmit the received voice signal to the human-computer interaction device 100 for processing by the control device 10 without processing the voice signal received by the voice input device 250."]),
wherein the vehicle interaction program is configured to implement steps of the vehicle interaction method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1).
Regarding Claim 11
Yaowen teaches a storage medium, on which a vehicle interaction program is stored (see Fig. 1, storage device 40; [0011] and [0047 "In addition, the human-computer interaction device 100 also includes a storage device 40 that is communicatively connected to the control device 10. The storage device 40 stores the position information of each controlled device 30. The control device 10 uses the position information when determining the controlled device 30 that the user terminal 200 is facing or pointing to."]),
wherein the vehicle interaction program, when executed by a processor, implements steps of the vehicle interaction method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaowen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dong et al. (US 20240153375 A1 and Dong hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 2
Yaowen teaches the vehicle interaction method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein the intelligent remote controller is provided with an attitude sensor (see Fig. 1, on-board sensors 20; [0043 "Sensor 220 is, for example, an accelerometer (such as a three-axis or six-axis accelerometer), a gyroscope (such as a three-axis or six-axis gyroscope), a magnetometer (such as a three-axis or six-axis magnetometer), or any combination thereof."]-[0044]), and
the acquiring the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller comprises:
acquiring attitude data collected by the attitude sensor (see [0008]-[0010] and [0043 "When determining the position and orientation of the user terminal 200, the control device 10 utilizes the position and/or orientation data of the user terminal 200 measured by the sensor 220 in the user terminal 200. Sensor 220 is, for example, an accelerometer (such as a three-axis or six-axis accelerometer), a gyroscope (such as a three-axis or six-axis gyroscope), a magnetometer (such as a three-axis or six-axis magnetometer), or any combination thereof."]-[0045]); and
determining the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller in a vehicle's cabin according to the attitude data (see [0008]-[0010], [0039] and [0043]-[0044 "When the human-computer interaction device 100 is used in a vehicle, on-board sensors 20 for detecting the vehicle's position and/or orientation may also be arranged in the vehicle. In this case, the control device 10 can determine the position of the user terminal 200 inside the vehicle and its orientation relative to the vehicle based on the measurement results of the sensor 220 of the user terminal 200 and the measurement results of the vehicle-mounted sensor 20."]).
Although it may be inherent, Yaowen does not explicitly teach determining the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller in a coordinate system.
Dong teaches an interaction method applied to a control terminal (see all Figs.; [0008]), the interaction method comprising:
acquiring orientation and position information of an intelligent remote controller in response to an interaction instruction sent by the intelligent remote controller (see Figs. 10, 14 and 22-23, all; [0008 "In response to the first operation, the electronic device may obtain, by using the UWB chip, spatial position-attitude information of the electronic device when the electronic device separately points to the first home device in n orientations, where the spatial position-attitude information of the electronic device may include spatial position information and spatial attitude information."] and [0185 "S1003: The mobile phone 100 obtains spatial position-attitude information of the mobile phone 100 when the mobile phone 100 is in each of the n orientations. The spatial position-attitude information includes the spatial position information and the spatial attitude information."]); and
determining a target device that interacts with the intelligent remote controller from a plurality of interaction devices according to the orientation and position information (see Figs. 10, 14 and 22-23, all; [0008 The electronic device may receive a first operation of a user, where the first operation is used to trigger the electronic device to mark a position of a first home device in a plurality of home devices. In response to the first operation, the electronic device may obtain, by using the UWB chip, spatial position-attitude information of the electronic device when the electronic device separately points to the first home device in n orientations, where the spatial position-attitude information of the electronic device may include spatial position information and spatial attitude information."] and [0224 "S1004: The mobile phone 100 calculates the spatial position information of the first home device based on the spatial position-attitude information of the mobile phone 100 in the n orientations."]);
wherein the intelligent remote controller is provided with an attitude sensor (see [0107 "In some embodiments, the sensor module 380 may include three acceleration sensors and three gyroscope sensors. The three acceleration sensors and the three gyroscope sensors may form a 6-axis IMU. Alternatively, the sensor module 380 may include three acceleration sensors, three gyroscope sensors, and three magnetometers. The three acceleration sensors, the three gyroscope sensors, and the three magnetometers may form a 9-axis IMU. The IMU may measure a pitch angle, a yaw angle, and a roll angle of the electronic device 100. In the following embodiments, the pitch angle, the yaw angle, and the roll angle of the electronic device 100 are described with reference to the accompanying drawings."]), and
the acquiring the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller comprises:
acquiring attitude data collected by the attitude sensor (see [0008 "In response to the first operation, the electronic device may obtain, by using the UWB chip, spatial position-attitude information of the electronic device when the electronic device separately points to the first home device in n orientations, where the spatial position-attitude information of the electronic device may include spatial position information and spatial attitude information."] and [0107]); and
determining the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller in a coordinate system according to the attitude data (see [0029 "The spatial position information ii of the electronic device in the orientation i is coordinates (xi, yi, zi) of the electronic device in a UWB coordinate system constructed by using the m UWB base stations when the electronic device points to the first home device in the orientation i."]-[0030 "The spatial attitude information i of the electronic device in the orientation i includes a pitch angle φi, a yaw angle ϕi, and a roll angle θi of a carrier coordinate system of the electronic device relative to the UWB coordinate system when the electronic device points to the first home device in the orientation i, and the carrier coordinate system is preconfigured in the electronic device."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Yaowen to determine the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller in a coordinate system, as taught by Dong, in order to determine a positional relationship between the intelligent remote controller and the target device in space.
Regarding Claim 7
Yaowen teaches the vehicle interaction method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Yaowen is silent regarding wherein after the acquiring the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller, the method further comprises:
if no target device is identified according to the orientation and position information, outputting a preset prompt signal to prompt a user to adjust the orientation and position of the intelligent remote controller.
Dong teaches wherein after the acquiring the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller, the method further comprises:
if no target device is identified according to the orientation and position information, outputting a preset prompt signal to prompt a user to adjust the orientation and position of the intelligent remote controller (see Figs. 10, 14 and 22-23, all; [0008], [0177 "S1002: The mobile phone 100 sends first prompt information. The first prompt information is used to prompt the user to control the mobile phone 100 to separately point to the first home device in n orientations"]-[0185] and [0262]-[0263 "In some embodiments, after S1005′, if the calculation error of the spatial position information of the first home device is greater than or equal to the preset error threshold, the mobile phone 100 may send fourth prompt information. The fourth prompt information is used to request the user to determine whether to re-mark the position of the first home device ... In response to a third operation performed by the user on the fourth prompt information, the mobile phone 100 may re-execute S1002 to S1004 to re-calculate the spatial position information of the first home device. The third operation is used to trigger the mobile phone 100 to perform position marking again."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Yaowen to include a step of outputting a preset prompt signal to prompt a user to adjust the orientation and position of the intelligent remote controller if no target device is identified according to the orientation and position information, as taught by Dong, in order to direct the user to mark a position of the target device with the intelligent remote controller to establish the target devices location in a space.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaowen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Foxlin et al. (US 20070081695 A1 and Foxlin hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 3
Yaowen teaches the vehicle interaction method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Yaowen is silent regarding wherein a front end and a rear end of the intelligent remote controller are respectively provided with at least one positioning device,
identification numbers of the respective positioning devices are different from each other, and
the acquiring the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller further comprises:
acquiring coordinate information of each of the positioning devices, wherein the identification number of each positioning device is included in the coordinate information;
determining a front point and a rear point of the intelligent remote controller in a vehicle's cabin coordinate system according to the coordinate information; and
generating a directional ray toward the front point by taking the rear point as an initial point, and determining the coordinate information and the directional ray as the orientation and position information.
Foxlin teaches an interaction method applied to a control terminal (see all Figs.; [0012]-[0017]), the interaction method comprising:
acquiring orientation and position information of an intelligent remote controller (see [0012 "In general, in one aspect, the spatial location and azimuth of an object are computed from the locations, in a single camera image, of exactly two points on the object and information about an orientation of the object."]-[0017] and [0039]-[0040]);
wherein a front end and a rear end of the intelligent remote controller are respectively provided with at least one positioning device (see Figs. 1A-2, markers 106a-106b/points 1-2; [0012]-[0017], [0030 "Two markers 106 a and 106 b are visible on the object 104. We will refer to them as points 1 (106 a) and 2 (106 b) in the mathematical computations that follow. "] and [0045]),
identification numbers of the respective positioning devices are different from each other (see Figs. 1A-2, points 1-2; [0030 "Two markers 106 a and 106 b are visible on the object 104. We will refer to them as points 1 (106 a) and 2 (106 b) in the mathematical computations that follow. "]-[0034] and [0045]), and
the acquiring the orientation and position information of the intelligent remote controller further comprises:
acquiring coordinate information of each of the positioning devices, wherein the identification number of each positioning device is included in the coordinate information (see Figs. 1A-1B, all; [0012 "In general, in one aspect, the spatial location and azimuth of an object are computed from the locations, in a single camera image, of exactly two points on the object and information about an orientation of the object."] and [0030 "We will refer to them as points 1 (106 a) and 2 (106 b) in the mathematical computations that follow. Let r1W =[x1W y1W z1W] and r2W =[x2W y2W z2W] represent the coordinates of points 1 and 2 in a world-space with its z axis (zW in coordinate frame 110 w) pointing straight down in the direction of gravity, and let L be the distance between the two points."]-[0039]);
determining a front point and a rear point of the intelligent remote controller in a coordinate system according to the coordinate information (see Figs. 1A-2, markers 106a-106b/points 1-2; [0012]-[0017 "In general, in one aspect, one or more groups of four or more collinear markers are located in an image, and for each group, first and second outer markers are determined, the distances from each outer marker to the nearest marker in the same group are compared, and the outer marker with a closer nearest marker is identified as the first outer marker."], [0030 "Two markers 106 a and 106 b are visible on the object 104. We will refer to them as points 1 (106 a) and 2 (106 b) in the mathematical computations that follow. Let r1W =[x1W y1W z1W] and r2W =[x2W y2W z2W] represent the coordinates of points 1 and 2 in a world-space with its z axis (zW in coordinate frame 110 w) pointing straight down in the direction of gravity, and let L be the distance between the two points.."]-[0040] and [0045]); and
generating a directional ray toward the front point by taking the rear point as an initial point, and determining the coordinate information and the directional ray as the orientation and position information (see Figs. 1A-2, x-axis xb; [0012 "In general, in one aspect, the spatial location and azimuth of an object are computed from the locations, in a single camera image, of exactly two points on the object and information about an orientation of the object."]-[0013 "The one or more additional points includes a fourth point that is collinear with the two points, and identifying the two points also includes using the location in said image of said fourth point to distinguish the linear array of points to which it belongs from other linear arrays of points. "], [0030 "For convenience and without loss of generality, we assume that the b-frame (internal reference frame) coordinates of the object 104 have an origin at point 1 and x-axis xb pointing towards point 2 … Thus, if the origin of the w-frame 110 w is made to coincide with the origin of c-frame 110 c at the camera center of projection, then we have:"], [0039 "Which can be solved to yield two solutions for cos ψ, and thus four solutions for ψ. Plugging all four candidates back into equation (5), only two of them will produce agreement, and only one of these will have a positive value of x1 c as required for a point in front of the camera. This unique correct solution for yaw can be plugged back through the equations to solve for the remaining three unknown pose variables (x1W, y1W, z1W)."]-[0040 "There may be many other mathematical approaches to solving for the unknown variables, but this example serves to illustrate that a priori pitch and roll information from inertial sensors can be combined with four scalar measurements ((u, v) of two points) from computer vision or other bearing sensors to solve for the 6-DOF pose."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Yaowen to further include the at least one positioning device at the front end and a rear end of the intelligent remote controller and the steps for generating a directional ray from the positioning devices, as taught by Foxlin, in order to determine a 6-DOF pose of the intelligent remote controller using only information from inertial sensors and positioning devices.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaowen (as modified by Foxlin) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Goldberg et al. (US 20200233502 A1 and Goldberg hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Yaowen teaches the vehicle interaction method according to claim 3 (as discussed above in claim 3),
Yaowen further teaches the determining the target device that interacts with the intelligent remote controller from the plurality of interaction devices of the vehicle according to the orientation and position information comprises:
determining the effective device with a shortest distance from the intelligent remote controller as the target device (see [0013], [0045] and [0056 "According to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the following device can be identified as the controlled device 30 that the user terminal 200 is facing or pointing to: the intersection of the device with the calibration direction. When multiple controlled devices 30 intersect with the calibration direction, the controlled device that is closest to the mobile terminal 200 along the calibration direction is identified as the controlled device 30 that the user terminal 200 is facing or pointing to.").
Yaowen is silent regarding wherein an interaction effective area is preset in each of the interaction devices;
identifying the directional ray in the orientation and position information, and determining an interaction device corresponding to the interaction effective area through which the directional ray passes as an effective device; and
determining the effective device from the initial point of the directional ray as the target device.
Goldberg teaches an interaction method applied to a control terminal (see all Figs.; [0004]), the interaction method comprising:
acquiring orientation and position information of an intelligent remote controller in response to an interaction instruction sent by the intelligent remote controller (see Figs. 2-4, all; Fig. 5, step 602; [0004], [0036] and [0074 "At operation 602, a position and direction is determined while a user is aiming at a controllable device. Operation 602 may be similar to operation 302. FIG. 7A shows an example of the computing device 102 disposed at a position 702 in the physical space 200 and being aimed at the controllable device 240.'"]-[0075]);
determining a target device that interacts with the intelligent remote controller from a plurality of interaction devices according to the orientation and position information (see Figs. 6 and 7B, all, especially Fig. 6, steps S602-S610; [0075]-[0076 "At operation 606, the ray is compared to at least one stored intersection volume associated with a controllable device. In some implementations, it is determined whether the ray intersects any of the at least one stored intersection volumes."] and [0077 "At operation 608, the controllable device that is being aimed at is identified based on proximity of the ray to the stored intersection volume. In some implementations, the controllable device is identified based on determining that the ray intersects with an intersection volume associated with the controllable device."]); and
controlling the target device to respond to the interaction instruction (see Fig. 6, steps S610-S614; [0078]-[0079 "At operation 612, a user input to control the identified controllable device is received. For example, a user may actuate a user interface element on the device user interface to adjust a setting of the identified controllable device or cause the controllable device to perform an action. The various types of instructions that can be performed are determined based on the type of controllable device, and in some case the access level/permissions defined for the controllable device."]);
wherein an interaction effective area is preset in each of the interaction devices (see Figs. 5G and 7B, "intersection volumes"; [0026 "In some implementations, the computing device may also establish an intersection volume associated with the controllable device. The size and shape of the intersection volume may be based on properties of the controllable device."]-[0027], [0034]-[0035], [0071 "FIG. 5G also shows intersection volumes 542, 544, and 548, which are associated with other controllable devices in the physical space 200. As can be seen, the intersections volumes may have different shapes and sizes."] and [0076]-[0077]), and
the determining the target device that interacts with the intelligent remote controller from the plurality of interaction devices according to the orientation and position information comprises:
identifying the directional ray in the orientation and position information, and determining an interaction device corresponding to the interaction effective area through which the directional ray passes as an effective device (see Fig. 7B, ray 704 and intersection volumes 540; [0004], [0027 "For example, a computing device may generate a ray based on a location and direction determined while the user is aiming at the controllable device. The computing device may then evaluate the ray against the coordinates and/or intersection volumes associated with controllable devices in the three-dimensional representation of the physical space. If the ray intersects one of the intersection volumes or passes near the coordinates, the interface controlling the associated controllable device may be displayed."], [0034] and [0076 "At operation 606, the ray is compared to at least one stored intersection volume associated with a controllable device. In some implementations, it is determined whether the ray intersects any of the at least one stored intersection volumes. Alternatively, it may be determined which of the at least one stored intersection volumes the ray is closest to. The stored intersection volumes may be retrieved from the memory 110 (e.g., from the device control data 128) or from a remote computing device such as the location data source 106. FIG. 7B shows an example of the ray 704 and the intersection volumes 540, 542, 544, 546, and 548. In this example, the ray 704 intersection the intersection volume 540 at an intersection point 706."]-[0077]); and
determining the effective device with a shortest distance from the initial point of the directional ray as the target device (see [0027] and [0076 "Alternatively, it may be determined which of the at least one stored intersection volumes the ray is closest to. The stored intersection volumes may be retrieved from the memory 110 (e.g., from the device control data 128) or from a remote computing device such as the location data source 106").
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Yaowen to include and interaction effective area in each of the interaction devices, identify the directional ray in the orientation and position information, and determine an interaction device corresponding to the interaction effective area through which the directional ray passes as an effective device, as taught by Goldberg, in order to display a target device which is pointed at by a user to permit the user to adjust settings for the target device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaowen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Agardh et al. (US 20170162036 A1 and Agardh hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 6
Yaowen teaches the vehicle interaction method according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Yaowen is silent regarding wherein the controlling the target device to respond to the interaction instruction comprises:
acquiring an interaction function mapping relationship matched with the target device, wherein the interaction function mapping relationship is a mapping relationship between a button signal triggered by the intelligent remote controller and an interaction function of the interaction devices; and
acquiring a target button signal in the interaction instruction, and determining a target interaction function designated by the target button signal according to the interaction function mapping relationship, to control the target device to execute the target interaction function.
Agardh teaches an interaction method applied to a control terminal (see [0006]-[0008]), the interaction method comprising:
acquiring orientation and position information of an intelligent remote controller in response to an interaction instruction sent by the intelligent remote controller (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0007 "The control unit is configured to determine the position of the remote control device in relation to the positioning device based on the radio signal received from the positioning device via the at least two antennas … The orientation of the housing of the remote control device in relation to the positioning device may comprise an angle between a straight line from the remote control device to the positioning device and a longitudinal axis of the housing of the remote control device."]-[0008], [0012], [0026] and [0036]-[0037]);
determining a target device that interacts with the intelligent remote controller from a plurality of interaction devices according to the orientation and position information (see Figs. 1-2, all; [0008 "The control unit is furthermore configured to select a controllable device of the plurality of controllable devices depending on the position information of the remote control device."], [0012 "Consequently, depending on the orientation of the remote control device, upon actuating the one pushbutton, either control information for increasing the volume of the TV or a control information for increasing the brightness of the illumination device is sent to the corresponding controllable device."], [0026] and [0045]); and
controlling the target device to respond to the interaction instruction (see [0009 "Finally, the control unit is configured to send a control information for controlling the selected controllable device via the control signal with the sending unit to the selected controllable device."], [0012], [0026] and [0045]);
wherein the controlling the target device to respond to the interaction instruction comprises:
acquiring an interaction function mapping relationship matched with the target device, wherein the interaction function mapping relationship is a mapping relationship between a button signal triggered by the intelligent remote controller and an interaction function of the interaction devices (see Fig. 3, all; [0012 "For example, the user interface may comprise a plurality of pushbuttons, and the plurality of controllable devices may comprise for example a TV and an illumination device. Depending on the selected controllable device one pushbutton may be assigned to a control function for increasing the volume of the TV or a control function for increasing the brightness of the illumination device. Consequently, depending on the orientation of the remote control device, upon actuating the one pushbutton, either control information for increasing the volume of the TV or a control information for increasing the brightness of the illumination device is sent to the corresponding controllable device."] and [0050]-[0051 "For example, pushbutton 82 may represent a function to tune up the volume in connection with a TV or a music player, and a function to increase a light intensity in connection with an illumination system. Pushbutton 84 may represent a function to tune down the volume in connection with the TV or the music player, and a function to lower the light intensity in connection with the illumination system."]); and
acquiring a target button signal in the interaction instruction, and determining a target interaction function designated by the target button signal according to the interaction function mapping relationship, to control the target device to execute the target interaction function (see [0012 "Depending on the selected controllable device one pushbutton may be assigned to a control function for increasing the volume of the TV or a control function for increasing the brightness of the illumination device. Consequently, depending on the orientation of the remote control device, upon actuating the one pushbutton, either control information for increasing the volume of the TV or a control information for increasing the brightness of the illumination device is sent to the corresponding controllable device."] and [0050]-[0051 "For example, pushbutton 82 may represent a function to tune up the volume in connection with a TV or a music player, and a function to increase a light intensity in connection with an illumination system. Pushbutton 84 may represent a function to tune down the volume in connection with the TV or the music player, and a function to lower the light intensity in connection with the illumination system."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Yaowen to include the steps of acquiring an interaction function mapping relationship matched with the target device being a mapping relationship between a button signal triggered by the intelligent remote controller and an interaction function of the interaction device, acquiring a target button signal in the interaction instruction, and determining a target interaction function designated by the target button signal according to the interaction function mapping relationship, as taught by Agardh, in order to enable a user to easily adjust settings of a variety of target devices with buttons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656