DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7 July 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that cited prior art do not read fairly on the scope captured in new claims 13 – 24 (original claims 1 – 12 having been cancelled in the present amendment). Please consider the following respectful grounds of disagreement.
Where appropriate, previously cited prior art are relied upon for teachings of claim limitations; otherwise, teachings found within prior art produced in the updated search are identified. Grounds of rejection are not repeated here, for brevity.
Claim Objections
Prior objection to claims’ recitation of informalities, is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Prior rejection of claims’ recitation of limitations that did not fall within one of the categories of patent eligible subject matter, is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Claims 13 – 17, 19 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin et al. (2021/0064132; hereinafter Rubin) in view of Cheong et al. (2015/0293592; hereinafter Cheong).
Regarding claim 13, Rubin discloses a multiplatform communication and control system ([0100], [0109]: Interface and associated application system, communicating with non-limiting examples of wireless technology/protocols), comprising:
(a) one or more user input devices configured to detect an input signal generated by a user ([0143]: Control signals furnished by at least one among physical or electrical button, gesture, speech recognition or neuromuscular sensing);
(b) a wearable user interface device comprising at least one haptic transducer configured to provide haptic stimulation to the user (Wearable outputting alerts [0181] through haptic transducers [0263]); and
(c) a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more user input devices and the wearable user interface device (Controller and/or processor implementing signal recording/sensing, control signal generation [0122] for a particular one among multiple connected devices to be controlled [0182]), wherein the controller is configured to:
(i) detect the input signal [0042];
(ii) determine a plurality of selectable options for the input signal ([0046]: User input recognized as gesture enabling selection among a plurality of options);
(iii) assign respective selectable options to respective haptic signals ([0260]: Comprising two among the examples of feedback in the form of vibration, motion and force);
(v) detect, via the one or more user input devices, a volitional user input corresponding to a selected one of the selectable options in response to the corresponding haptic choice selections ([0053]: EMG sensors of armband provide control information for multiple applications); and
(vi) communicate or execute the selected option ([0053]: Control information implemented for examples including scrolling through text, controlling vehicle).
Rubin does not explicitly disclose the system wherein the controller is configured to (iv) provide, via the wearable user interface device, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheong discloses a system [0056] configured to provide, via the wearable user interface device, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections. This is among measures implementing a granular variation of tactile and texture senses [0086] supporting realistic device management [0561].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Rubin to be modified wherein the controller is configured to provide, via the wearable user interface device, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections, in view of the teaching of Cheong, to replicate realistic device management.
Regarding claim 14, Rubin in view of Cheong discloses the system of claim 13. Rubin discloses the system wherein the one or more user input devices comprise one or more electromyography assistive technology devices [0051].
Regarding claim 15, Rubin in view of Cheong discloses the system of claim 13.
Rubin does not expressly state the system being provided wherein each of the respective haptic signals has a unique haptic pattern by which the user differentiates among the selectable options.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheong discloses a system [0056] wherein each of the respective haptic signals has a unique haptic pattern by which the user differentiates among the selectable options (Respective buttons furnished with differing haptic information [0525] embodied as a respective pattern [0530]). This is among measures implementing a granular variation of tactile and texture senses [0086] supporting realistic device management [0561].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Rubin to be modified wherein each of the respective haptic signals has a unique haptic pattern by which the user differentiates among the selectable options, in view of the teaching of Cheong, to replicate realistic device management.
Regarding claim 16, Rubin in view of Cheong discloses the system of claim 13.
Rubin does not expressly state the system being provided wherein the controller is configured to provide at least some of the respective haptic signals sequentially via the wearable user interface device.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheong discloses a system [0056] wherein the controller is configured to provide at least some of the respective haptic signals sequentially via the wearable user interface device (Second haptic feedback output after a first [0388] furnished in a progression of varying – e.g. weak, strong – degrees [0309] and haptic feedback accompanied by changed audio feedback [0508]). This is among measures implementing a granular variation of tactile and texture senses [0086] supporting realistic device management [0561].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Rubin to be modified wherein the controller is configured to provide at least some of the respective haptic signals sequentially via the wearable user interface device, in view of the teaching of Cheong, to replicate realistic device management.
Regarding claim 17, Rubin in view of Cheong discloses the system of claim 13. Rubin discloses the system wherein the selected option comprises control of an external device ([0222]: e.g. IoT device).
Regarding claim 19, Rubin in view of Cheong discloses the system of claim 13.
Rubin does not expressly state the system being provided wherein the wearable user interface device is operable to provide the corresponding haptic choice selections without requiring presentation of a visual output or an audio output to the user during selection of one of the selectable options.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheong discloses a system [0056] wherein the wearable user interface device is operable to provide the corresponding haptic choice selections without requiring presentation of a visual output or an audio output to the user during selection of one of the selectable options (Different texture [0308] is an example of haptic feedback supporting device use without needing to look at the display [0279]). This is among measures implementing a granular variation of tactile and texture senses [0086] supporting realistic device management [0561].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Rubin to be modified wherein the wearable user interface device is operable to provide the corresponding haptic choice selections without requiring presentation of a visual output or an audio output to the user during selection of one of the selectable options, in view of the teaching of Cheong, to replicate realistic device management.
Regarding claim 20, Rubin discloses a method [0042] for providing multiplatform communication and control ([0100], [0109]: Interface and associated application system, communicating with non-limiting examples of wireless technology/protocols), comprising:
detecting, via one or more user input devices in communication with a controller (Controller and/or processor implementing signal recording/sensing, control signal generating [0122] for a particular one among multiple connected devices to be controlled [0182]), an input signal generated by a user ([0222]: e.g. input commands to IoT device);
determining, at the controller, a plurality of selectable options for the input signal ([0046]: User input recognized as gesture enabling selection among a plurality of options);
assigning, at the controller, respective selectable options to respective haptic signals ([0260]: Comprising two among the examples of feedback in the form of vibration, motion and force);
detecting, via the one or more user input devices, a volitional user input corresponding to a selected one of the selectable options in response to the corresponding haptic choice selections ([0053]: EMG sensors of armband provide control information for multiple application); and
communicating or executing the selected option ([0053]: Control information implemented for examples including scrolling through text, controlling vehicle).
Rubin does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising providing, via a wearable user interface device in communication with the controller, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections.
In the same field of endeavor Cheong discloses a method [0007] further comprising providing, via a wearable user interface device in communication with the controller, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections (Second haptic feedback output after a first [0388] furnished in a progression of varying – e.g. weak, strong – degrees [0309] and haptic feedback accompanied by changed audio feedback [0508]). This is among measures implementing a granular variation of tactile and texture senses [0086] supporting realistic device management [0561].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Rubin to be modified wherein the controller is configured to providing, via a wearable user interface device in communication with the controller, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections, in view of the teaching of Cheong, to replicate realistic device management.
Method claims 21, 22 are rejected as reciting limitations similar to those recited in system claims 14, 16, respectively.
Regarding claim 23, Rubin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors associated with an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations [0228] comprising:
detecting an input signal generated by a user ([0042]: Using human-computer interface);
determining a plurality of selectable options for the input signal ([0046]: User input recognized as gesture enabling selection among a plurality of options);
assigning respective selectable options to respective haptic signals ([0260]: Comprising two among examples of feedback in the form of vibration, motion and force);
detecting a volitional user input corresponding to a selected one of the selectable options ([0053]: EMG sensors of armband provide control information for examples including anot limited to scrolling through text, controlling vehicle); and
communicating or executing the selected option ([0053]: Control information implemented for examples including scrolling through text, controlling vehicle).
Rubin does not explicitly disclose the medium storing instruction configured to cause the electronic device to perform operations further comprising providing, via a wearable user interface device, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheong discloses instruction [0067] wherein the program code enables the electronic device to provide further functionality to: providing, via a wearable user interface device, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections (Second haptic feedback output after a first [0388] furnished in a progression of varying – e.g. weak, strong – degrees [0309] and haptic feedback accompanied by changed audio feedback [0508]). This is among measures implementing a granular variation of tactile and texture senses [0086] supporting realistic device management [0561].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the medium of Rubin to be modified wherein the medium stores instructions configured to cause the electronic device to perform operations further comprising providing, via a wearable user interface device, the respective haptic signals to the user as corresponding haptic choice selections, in view of the teaching of Cheong, to replicate realistic device management.
Regarding claim 24, Rubin in view of Cheong discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 23. Rubin discloses the medium wherein the operations further comprise controlling an external device or outputting a communication based on the selected option ([0094]: Neuromuscular signals generate commands performing selection).
ii. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin in view of Cheong, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Ang et al. (2022/0019285; hereinafter Ang).
Regarding claim 18, Rubin in view of Cheong discloses the system of claim 13.
Rubin in view of Cheong does not explicitly disclose the system being provided wherein the controller is configured to send a timeout warning as haptic feedback when the volitional user input is not detected within a predetermined time.
In the same field of endeavor, Ang discloses wherein the controller is configured to send a timeout warning as haptic feedback when the volitional user input is not detected within a predetermined time [0078]. This is among measures implemented to aid the challenge of uninterrupted caregiving [0006].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the system of Rubin to be modified wherein the controller is configured to send a timeout warning as haptic feedback when the volitional user input is not detected within a predetermined time, in view of the teaching of Ang, to aid the challenge of uninterrupted caregiving.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure follows:
Deokar et al. (2016/0019817; [0085]) and Abramov (2018/0052428; [0077]) provide relevant teachings of haptic implementation.
Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON MIDKIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621