DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-18 recites “Apparatus” in claim 1 wherein it should be revised to read “The apparatus” as antecedent basis has already been established.
Claim 14 recites “at at” in line 2 wherein it should be revised to remove one of the “at”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites the claim limitation where it is missing a period at the end of the sentence.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 3 and 28 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim 3 recites “retaining means formed at one or a series of locations on the apparatus” in line 2. It presents the usage of means and according to the specification (Pg. 3) that retaining means can include a seat, a pocket or an adhesive being used.
Claim 28 recites “at least one locating means to engage with gums and/or teeth of the user” in line 1. It presents the usage of means and according to the specification (see Pg. 8) that locating means can include form fitting, friction fitting or adhesive portions to be used to selectively locate the apparatus with the gums and/or teeth of the user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 14-19, 22, and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bardach (US 20030205234 A1).
Re. Claim 1, Bardach discloses an apparatus (10) to be worn on at least a group of a user's teeth and in the mouth of said user (Fig. 1-2; Abstract), said apparatus comprising:
at least one face located so that at least one face of the apparatus is positioned adjacent to external surfaces of at least some of the user's teeth in use (Fig. 2; Par. 48) and wherein the apparatus includes a material (10) located therewith to be distributed from the apparatus within the mouth of the user when the apparatus is located therein (Par. 52, 56 and 57 discloses a material to be defused where the material can be removably inserted).
Re. Claim 2, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is retained on at least one portion of at least one face of the apparatus and/or is embedded within the apparatus (Fig. 1-2; Par. 52).
Re. Claim 3, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes retaining means (15) formed at one or a series of locations on the apparatus and which receive a portion of the material and retain at least part of the material in position for a period of time during the wearing of the apparatus in the user's mouth (Par. 56-57; Fig. 6A-6B).
Re. Claim 4, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the one or more retaining means are selectively variable in size (Par. 21; Fig. 1-2).
Re. Claim 6, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is coated on at least one face or portion of the face of the apparatus (Fig. 7a-7e shows that it is coated on at least a portion of the face of the apparatus where coated is interpreted as covering).
Re. Claim 7, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is incorporated with materials from which the apparatus is formed so that the material is provided as an integral part of the apparatus (Fig. 1-2).
Re. Claim 9, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is progressively released from the apparatus over a period of time of use of the apparatus is the user's mouth (Par. 21).
Re. Claim 10, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes a first set of apparatus including a first wall having first and second opposing faces and a second wall having third and fourth opposing faces, said first and second walls spaced apart so as to define a gap between the external surfaces of the second and third faces in which the user's teeth are located when the apparatus is worn in the mouth of the user (Fig. 1-2; Par. 23 where it should be noted that the device is U-shaped. As such, there would be walls that would define a gap for the teeth to be located. The external surfaces of the device would make up the first and fourth faces and the internal surfaces are the second and third faces).
Re. Claim 11, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the first and fourth faces of the apparatus face into the mouth of the user when the apparatus is worn (Fig. 1-2; Par. 23 where it should be noted that the device is U-shaped. As such, there would be walls that would define a gap for the teeth to be located. The external surfaces of the device would make up the first and fourth faces and the internal surfaces are the second and third faces).
Re. Claim 14, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the said material is provided on the apparatus so as to be exposed at said second face (Fig. 7E).
Re. Claim 15, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is provided in any format of a gel, dry coating tablet or cake and/or a spray (Par. 57 discloses it to be hydrogel).
Re. Claim 16, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material includes any or any combination of medication to be administered orally, an aroma- infused polymer and/or a pH balancing agent (Par. 83 discloses it can deliver the medication orally).
Re. Claim 17, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus is formed of a polymer (Par. 56).
Re. Claim 18, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material includes an anti-microbial material so as, when released from the apparatus into the mouth, to deter the harbouring and/or growth of potentially harmful bacteria and/or other micro- organism substances in the mouth in use (Par. 83).
Re. Claim 19, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the material includes the components Sodium Bicarbonate, Calcium Hydroxyapatite or Sodium Fluoride (Par. 78-79).
Re. Claim 22, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes one or more pressure distribution pads (18; Par. 58).
Re. Claim 25, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes a ridge member on a surface of the apparatus that is adjacent the tongue of the user in use (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 7A-7E where the lingual portion which would cover the gums would be the ridge member).
Re. Claim 26, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes at least one removable insert member including the said material to be released into the user's mouth in use (Par. 56-57 where the material is held by the inserts 14, 14’).
Re. Claim 27, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus takes a form of any of an aligner, a retainer, a mouth guard, or a gum shield (Fig. 1-2; Par. 56 and 64 where it is disclosed to take form of a mouth guard).
Re. Claim 28, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes at least one locating means to engage with gums of the user to substantially locate the apparatus within the mouth of the user in use (see Fig. 7E where the lower portion covering the gums would be considered the locating means).
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11, 14-18, 20, 23, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qiu (CN 113616363 A).
Re. Claim 1, Qiu discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) to be worn on at least a group of a user's teeth and in the mouth of said user (Abstract), said apparatus comprising:
at least one face located so that at least one face of the apparatus is positioned adjacent to external surfaces of at least some of the user's teeth in use (Fig. 1; Par. 17, and 19-20) and wherein the apparatus includes a material (4) located therewith to be distributed from the apparatus within the mouth of the user when the apparatus is located therein (Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 2, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is embedded within the apparatus (Fig. 1 and Par. 20 shows that it is embedded within the apparatus).
Re. Claim 8, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the material is provided as a stratified layer of the apparatus (Fig. 1 and Par. 20 shows that it is embedded within the apparatus).
Re. Claim 9, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is progressively released from the apparatus over a period of time of use of the apparatus is the user's mouth (Par. 10 and Abstract).
Re. Claim 10, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes a first set of apparatus including a first wall having first and second opposing faces and a second wall having third and fourth opposing faces, said first and second walls spaced apart so as to define a gap between the external surfaces of the second and third faces in which the user's teeth are located when the apparatus is worn in the mouth of the user (Fig. 1 where it should be noted that the device is U-shaped. As such, there would be walls that would define a gap for the teeth to be located. The external surfaces of the device would make up the first and fourth faces and the internal surfaces are the second and third faces).
Re. Claim 11, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the first and fourth faces of the apparatus face into the mouth of the user when the apparatus is worn (Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 14, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the said material is provided on the apparatus so as to be exposed at least one of the first, second, third or fourth faces of the first of the apparatus, or any combination thereof (Par. 7 discloses that the faces would have pores which would allow the material to be exposed in the faces).
Re. Claim 15, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is provided in any format of a gel, dry coating tablet or cake and/or a spray (Par. 22).
Re. Claim 16, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material includes any or any combination of medication to be administered orally, an aroma- infused polymer and/or a pH balancing agent (Par. 22.
Re. Claim 17, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus is formed of a polymer (Par. 19).
Re. Claim 18, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material includes an anti-microbial material so as, when released from the apparatus into the mouth, to deter the harbouring and/or growth of potentially harmful bacteria and/or other micro- organism substances in the mouth in use (Par. 22).
Re. Claim 20, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the material includes at least one silver ion compound (Par. 22).
Re. Claim 23, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes at least one channel (5) to allow the passage of liquid towards and/or away from the teeth of the user when the apparatus is being worn (Par. 7 and 23).
Re. Claim 27, Qiu discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus takes a form of any of an aligner, a retainer, a mouth guard, or a gum shield (Abstract).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 9-15, 17, 21 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parkar (US 20210393385 A1).
Re. Claim 1, Parkar discloses an apparatus to be worn on at least a group of a user's teeth and in the mouth of said user (Abstract; Fig. 1-2), said apparatus comprising:
at least one face (Fig. 1 where the faces are external and internal where the internal surfaces interact with the teeth) located so that at least one face of the apparatus is positioned adjacent to external surfaces of at least some of the user's teeth in use (Abstract) and wherein the apparatus includes a material (110) located therewith to be distributed from the apparatus within the mouth of the user when the apparatus is located therein (Par. 25; Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 2, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is retained on at least one portion of at least one face of the apparatus and/or is embedded within the apparatus (Fig. 1.
Re. Claim 6, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is coated on at least one face or portion of the face of the apparatus (Par. 25; Abstract).
Re. Claim 9, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is progressively released from the apparatus over a period of time of use of the apparatus is the user's mouth (Par. 25).
Re. Claim 10, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes a first set of apparatus including a first wall having first and second opposing faces and a second wall having third and fourth opposing faces, said first and second walls spaced apart so as to define a gap between the external surfaces of the second and third faces in which the user's teeth are located when the apparatus is worn in the mouth of the user (Fig. 1-2; where it should be noted that the device is U-shaped. As such, there would be walls that would define a gap for the teeth to be located. The external surfaces of the device would make up the first and fourth faces and the internal surfaces are the second and third faces).
Re. Claim 11, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the first and fourth faces of the apparatus face into the mouth of the user when the apparatus is worn (Fig. 2; Par. 24).
Re. Claim 12, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the apparatus includes a second set of apparatus with first, second, third and fourth walls (Par. 70).
Re. Claim 13, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 12 wherein the apparatus is selectively worn in a configuration with only the first set or in a configuration in which the first and second sets are worn (Par. 70).
Re. Claim 14, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the said material is provided on the apparatus so as to be exposed at least one of the first, second, third or fourth faces of the first and/or a second set of the apparatus, or any combination thereof (Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 15, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is provided in any format of a gel, dry coating tablet or cake and/or a spray (Par. 55).
Re. Claim 17, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus is formed of a polymer (Abstract).
Re. Claim 21, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the apparatus faces is at least partially smoothed by a vapour smoothing process (Par. 55 where it is partially smoothed by a vapor smoothing process by applying the ion exchange coat).
Re. Claim 27, Parkar discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus takes a form of any of an aligner, a retainer, a mouth guard, or a gum shield (Par. 7-8).
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-13, 15-16, 23-24, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 8899976 B2).
Re. Claim 1, Chen discloses an apparatus to be worn on at least a group of a user's teeth and in the mouth of said user (Fig. 1-2C; Abstract), said apparatus comprising:
at least one face located so that at least one face of the apparatus is positioned adjacent to external surfaces of at least some of the user's teeth in use (Fig. 1; Abstract) and wherein the apparatus includes a material (204) located therewith to be distributed from the apparatus within the mouth of the user when the apparatus is located therein (Col. 7, lines 21-41).
Re. Claim 2, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is retained on at least one portion of at least one face of the apparatus (Fig. 1).
Re. Claim 3, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes retaining means formed at one or a series of locations on the apparatus (201) and which receive a portion of the material and retain at least part of the material in position for a period of time during wearing of the apparatus in the user's mouth (Col. 7, lines 21-27).
Re. Claim 9, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is progressively released from the apparatus over a period of time of use of the apparatus is the user's mouth (Col. 7, lines 56-67).
Re. Claim 10, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes a first set of apparatus including a first wall having first and second opposing faces and a second wall having third and fourth opposing faces, said first and second walls spaced apart so as to define a gap between the external surfaces of the second and third faces in which the user's teeth are located when the apparatus is worn in the mouth of the user (Fig. 1 where it should be noted that the device is U-shaped. As such, there would be walls that would define a gap for the teeth to be located. The external surfaces of the device would make up the first and fourth faces and the internal surfaces are the second and third faces).
Re. Claim 11, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the first and fourth faces of the apparatus face into the mouth of the user when the apparatus is worn (Fig. 1 where it should be noted that the device is U-shaped. As such, there would be walls that would define a gap for the teeth to be located. The external surfaces of the device would make up the first and fourth faces and the internal surfaces are the second and third faces).
Re. Claim 12, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the apparatus includes a second set of apparatus with first, second, third and fourth walls (Col. 1, lines 17-37 discloses another appliance in the set where it would have the same general arrangement in regard to the faces).
Re. Claim 13, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 12 wherein the apparatus is selectively worn in a configuration with only the first set or in a configuration in which the first and second sets are worn (Col. 1, lines 17-37).
Re. Claim 15, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material is provided in any format of a gel, dry coating tablet or cake and/or a spray (Col. 4, lines 10-14).
Re. Claim 16, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material includes any or any combination of medication to be administered orally, an aroma- infused polymer and/or a pH balancing agent (Col. 7, lines 28-41).
Re. Claim 23, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes at least one channel to allow the passage of liquid towards and/or away from the teeth of the user when the apparatus is being worn (202; Col. 8, lines 1-14).
Re. Claim 24, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus includes at least one pH indicator located thereon (Col. 7, lines 28-67).
Re. Claim 27, Chen discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus takes a form of any of an aligner, a retainer, a mouth guard, or a gum shield (Col. 12, lines 47-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 as being unpatentable over Bardach (US 20030205234 A1).
Re. Claim 21, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, but is silent to at least one of the apparatus faces is at least partially smoothed by a vapour smoothing process.
Bardach teaches that the apparatus comprises at least one apparatus faces that are smooth as shown in Fig. 1 and 7, but is silent as to the method of it being at least partially smoothed by a vapour smoothing process. The claimed phrase “at least one of the apparatus faces is at least partially smoothed by a vapour smoothing process” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is, that the burner panel is made by compression molding. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113.
Thus, even though Bardach is silent as to the process used to at least partially smoothed the at least one of the apparatus faces by a vapour smoothing process, it appears that the product in Bardach would be the same or similar as that claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bardach (US 20030205234 A1) in view of Pratt (US 5323787 A).
Re. Claim 5, Bardach discloses the apparatus according to 3, but is silent to the retaining means is or includes an adhesive location such that the material is adhered in position with respect to the retaining means. Bardach does disclose that it is retained and held in position but is silent to the means.
Pratt discloses a mouthpiece in the same field of endeavor and further discloses a material that is adhesively attached in position (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have the material of Bardach to be adhesively adhered in position with respect to the retaining means as taught by Pratt as it is obvious to try from choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success as to how the material is retained. Thus, the combination would teach the retaining means is or includes an adhesive location such that the material is adhered in position with respect to the retaining means.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/HOLLY T. TO/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772