Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the passage" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it is assumed to refer to “central passage”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20150016793 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lee , Fig 9-10, discloses a check valve assembly mounted on a suction port (330) in a vacuum system comprising an exhaust vacuum pump (connected to 110) and an adsorption pad (300) connected to a side of the suction port (330) of the vacuum pump (connected to 110), the check valve assembly comprising: a body 550,530 made of a through-material that is fitted into the suction port (330) and comprising a space (space around 510 inside 550) configured in a ring shape (space is ring shaped where it horizontally surrounds check valve 510) that is recessed into an inner wall of a central passage (passage inside 550); a check valve (510), which is a plate-shaped valve (top of 510) having an exhaust hole (519) defined in a central portion thereof, is seated inside the space (space around 510 inside 550), and has a path (511 and space inside 510) communicating with the passage (passage inside 550) therearound; and a spring (520) that is coaxially disposed in the passage (passage inside 550) and has one end configured to press and elastically support the check valve (510).
As to claim 2, when the vacuum system operates, in a case in which external air is introduced into the internal space (310), the check valve (510) moves by a pressure of the introduced air to block the path (511).
As to claim 3, the check valve (510) has a flow path (space inside 510) in a bottom surface thereof, wherein the flow path is configured to provide a portion of the path (511 and space inside 510)
As to claim 4, the spring 520 has one end fixed to a side of an end of the passage (passage inside 550) and the other end that presses the check valve (510) to elastically support a position of the check valve (510).
As to claim 5, the body (550,530) is provided by coupling an upper portion (550) to a lower portion (530), wherein the space (space around 510 inside 550) is defined in a groove shape between the upper portion (550) and the lower portion (530).
As to claim 6, the check valve (510) comprises a recess (stepped portion and its edge is seen as a recess) into which the other end of the spring (520) is inserted.
As to claim 8, the body (550,530) is mounted on the suction port (330) using a sealing and fixing O-ring (557) installed on an outer circumference of an upper end thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20150016793 A) in view of Kulkarni et al (20200132203 ).
Regarding claim(s) xx, Zzz, (col xx, line xx, Para xx, Fig. xx), discloses xx.
Lee discloses passage (passage inside 550) having upper end surface (in 551) but fails to disclose expanded inclined surface on an upper end thereof . Kulkarni teaches a check valve with end surfaces (at 12,12) having expanded inclined surfaces.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Lee with expanded inclined surface on an upper end as taught by Kulkarni in order to facilitate flow redirection at valve end.
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753