DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2007/0182685).
Regarding claim 1
Park et al. shows the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines (taken to be gate lines GL) extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines (DL) extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels (80), wherein the pixel comprises at least three subpixels having different colors (taken to be red R, green G, and blue B);
one of the plurality of scanning lines (see for example G2, see Fig. 5) is arranged between two adjacent rows of subpixels (see Fig. 5), and one of the plurality of data lines (see for example D1, see Fig. 5) is arranged between two adjacent columns of subpixels (see Fig. 5);
in two adjacent rows of subpixels (see Fig. 5), two subpixels (taken to be for example R+ and R-) electrically coupled to a same data line have a same color (see for example D1 is connected to the two subpixels Red in adjacent rows of the same color), and the two subpixels (R+ and R-) are electrically coupled to different scanning lines (G2 and G3, see Fig. 5);
the subpixel comprises a pixel electrode (80, see Fig. 5 and para. 0055); and
a length of the pixel electrode in the first direction is greater than a length of the pixel electrode in the second direction (taken to be having the pixel electrode formed in a rectangular shape, see Fig. 5, and para. 55. That described the pixel electrode formed by a ratio of 1:3 of row to cross lengths).
Regarding claim 11
Park et al. further shows, wherein the at least three subpixels of the pixel having different colors are arranged in a same row (taken to be Red R+, Green G+ and Blue B+, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19
Park et al. further shows, a display device, comprising the array substrate according to claim 1 (see Fig. 1 and para. 0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10, 12-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an Examiner's Statement of Reasons for Allowance:
Regarding claim 2
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the
array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein a ratio of the length of the pixel electrode in the first direction to the length of the pixel electrode in the second direction is greater than 1 and smaller than or equal to 2, as recited in claim 2.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 2, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches wherein a ratio of the length of the pixel electrode in the first direction to the length of the pixel electrode in the second direction is greater than 1 and smaller than or equal to 2, as recited in claim 2.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein a ratio of the length of the pixel electrodes in two adjacent rows and columns in the first direction to the length of the pixel electrodes in the two adjacent rows and columns in the second direction is greater than or equal to 1.2 and smaller than or equal to 1.8, as recited in claim 3.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 3, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches wherein a ratio of the length of the pixel electrodes in two adjacent rows and columns in the first direction to the length of the pixel electrodes in the two adjacent rows and columns in the second direction is greater than or equal to 1.2 and smaller than or equal to 1.8, as recited in claim 3.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claim 3.
Regarding claims 4 and 5
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein the pixel electrodes in at least two subpixels of a same pixel have different lengths in the first direction, as recited in claims 4 and 5.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 4 and 5, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches wherein the pixel electrodes in at least two subpixels of a same pixel have different lengths in the first direction, as recited in claims 4 and 5.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claims 4 and 5.
Regarding claims 6-10
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein the pixel comprises three subpixels having different colors; and two subpixels of the three subpixels of the pixel are arranged in a (2n-1)th row, and a subpixel of the pixel other than the two subpixels is arranged in a (2n)th row, where n is a positive integer, as recited in claims 6-10.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 6-10, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches wherein the pixel comprises three subpixels having different colors; and two subpixels of the three subpixels of the pixel are arranged in a (2n-1)th row, and a subpixel of the pixel other than the two subpixels is arranged in a (2n)th row, where n is a positive integer, as recited in claims 6-10.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claims 6-10.
Regarding claims 12 and 13
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 11, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein the pixel comprises three subpixels having different colors; a subpixel in a (2n-1)th row and a (3m-2)th column, a subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and a (3m-1)th column and a subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and a (3m)l column form a pixel;
a subpixel in a (2n)th row and the (3m-1)th column, a subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m)th column and a subpixel in the (2n)th row and a (3m+1)th column form a pixel;
the subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and the (3m-2)l column is electrically coupled to a (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m-1)th data line, the subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and the (3m-1)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m)th data line, and the subpixel in the (2n- 1)th row and the (3m)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m+1)th data line; and
the subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m-1)th column is electrically coupled to a (2n)th scanning line and the (3m-1)th data line, the subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n)th scanning line and the (3m)th data line, and the subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m+1)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n)th scanning line and the (3m+1)th data line, where n and m are both positive integers, as recited in claims 12 and 13.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 12 and 13, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
wherein the pixel comprises three subpixels having different colors; a subpixel in a (2n-1)th row and a (3m-2)th column, a subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and a (3m-1)th column and a subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and a (3m)l column form a pixel;
a subpixel in a (2n)th row and the (3m-1)th column, a subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m)th column and a subpixel in the (2n)th row and a (3m+1)th column form a pixel;
the subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and the (3m-2)l column is electrically coupled to a (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m-1)th data line, the subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and the (3m-1)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m)th data line, and the subpixel in the (2n- 1)th row and the (3m)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m+1)th data line; and
the subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m-1)th column is electrically coupled to a (2n)th scanning line and the (3m-1)th data line, the subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n)th scanning line and the (3m)th data line, and the subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m+1)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n)th scanning line and the (3m+1)th data line, where n and m are both positive integers, as recited in claims 12 and 13.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claims 12 and 13.
Regarding claims 14 and 15
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 11, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein the pixel comprises three subpixels having different colors;
a subpixel in a (2n-1)th row and a (3m-2)th column, a subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and a (3m-1)th column and a subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and a (3m)th column form a pixel;
a subpixel in a (2n)th row and the (3m)th column, a subpixel in the (2n)th row and a (3m+1)th column and a subpixel in the (2n)th row and a (3m+2)th column form a pixel;
the subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and the (3m-2)th column is electrically coupled to a (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m-1)th data line, the subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and the (3m-1)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m)th data line, and the subpixel in the (2n- 1)th row and the (3m)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m+1)th data line; and
the subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m)th column is electrically coupled to a (2n)th scanning line and the (3m)th data line, the subpixel in the (2n) row and the (3m+1)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n)th scanning line and the (3m+1)th data line, and the subpixel in the(2n)th row and the (3m+2)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n)th scanning line and a (3m+2)th data line, where n and m are both positive integers, as recited in claims 14 and 15.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claims 14 and 15, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
wherein the pixel comprises three subpixels having different colors;
a subpixel in a (2n-1)th row and a (3m-2)th column, a subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and a (3m-1)th column and a subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and a (3m)th column form a pixel;
a subpixel in a (2n)th row and the (3m)th column, a subpixel in the (2n)th row and a (3m+1)th column and a subpixel in the (2n)th row and a (3m+2)th column form a pixel;
the subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and the (3m-2)th column is electrically coupled to a (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m-1)th data line, the subpixel in the (2n-1)th row and the (3m-1)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m)th data line, and the subpixel in the (2n- 1)th row and the (3m)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n-1)th scanning line and a (3m+1)th data line; and
the subpixel in the (2n)th row and the (3m)th column is electrically coupled to a (2n)th scanning line and the (3m)th data line, the subpixel in the (2n) row and the (3m+1)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n)th scanning line and the (3m+1)th data line, and the subpixel in the(2n)th row and the (3m+2)th column is electrically coupled to the (2n)th scanning line and a (3m+2)th data line, where n and m are both positive integers, as recited in claims 14 and 15.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claims 14 and 15.
Regarding claim 16
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein a display period comprises a plurality of driving stages arranged one after another, wherein the driving method comprises:
at a (2n-1)th driving stage, enabling a (2n-1)th scanning line, and enabling subpixels in a (2n-1)th row to receive a data voltage provided by corresponding data lines; and
at a (2n)th driving stage, enabling a (2n)th scanning line, and enabling subpixels in arow to receive a data voltage provided by corresponding data lines, where n is a positive integer;
wherein at the (2n-1)th driving stage, the data voltage provided by the data lines is a data voltage corresponding to the subpixels in the (2n-1)th row, and at the (2n)th driving stage, the data voltage provided by the data lines is a data voltage corresponding to the subpixels in the row, as recited in claim 16.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 16, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
wherein a display period comprises a plurality of driving stages arranged one after another, wherein the driving method comprises:
at a (2n-1)th driving stage, enabling a (2n-1)th scanning line, and enabling subpixels in a (2n-1)th row to receive a data voltage provided by corresponding data lines; and
at a (2n)th driving stage, enabling a (2n)th scanning line, and enabling subpixels in arow to receive a data voltage provided by corresponding data lines, where n is a positive integer;
wherein at the (2n-1)th driving stage, the data voltage provided by the data lines is a data voltage corresponding to the subpixels in the (2n-1)th row, and at the (2n)th driving stage, the data voltage provided by the data lines is a data voltage corresponding to the subpixels in the row, as recited in claim 16.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
applying scanning signals to a plurality of scanning lines, so that a (2n-1)th scanning signal applied to a (2n-1)th scanning line is the same as a (2n)th scanning signal applied to a (2n)th scanning line,
wherein an overlapping time period is comprised between an active voltage time period of the (2n)th scanning signal and an active voltage time period of a (2n+1)th scanning signal; and
within the overlapping time period, the (2n-1)th scanning line, the (2n)th scanning line, a (2n+1)th scanning line and a (2n+2)th scanning line are enabled, and subpixels in a (2n-1)th row, subpixels in a (2n)th row, subpixels in a (2n+1)th row and subpixels in a (2n+2)l row receive a data voltage provided by corresponding data lines, where n is a positive integer, as recited in claim 17.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 17, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
applying scanning signals to a plurality of scanning lines, so that a (2n-1)th scanning signal applied to a (2n-1)th scanning line is the same as a (2n)th scanning signal applied to a (2n)th scanning line,
wherein an overlapping time period is comprised between an active voltage time period of the (2n)th scanning signal and an active voltage time period of a (2n+1)th scanning signal; and
within the overlapping time period, the (2n-1)th scanning line, the (2n)th scanning line, a (2n+1)th scanning line and a (2n+2)th scanning line are enabled, and subpixels in a (2n-1)th row, subpixels in a (2n)th row, subpixels in a (2n+1)th row and subpixels in a (2n+2)th row receive a data voltage provided by corresponding data lines, where n is a positive integer, as recited in claim 17.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claim 17.
Regarding claim 18
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 1, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
applying scanning signals to a plurality of scanning lines to control the plurality of scanning lines to be enabled sequentially within a display period,
wherein within the display period, an overlapping time period and a non-overlapping period are comprised between active time periods of the scanning signals applied to at least two adjacent scanning lines in the plurality of scanning lines enabled sequentially; and
a data voltage applied to a data line within at least a part of the overlapping time period is the same as a data voltage applied to the data line within at least a part of the non-overlapping time period, as recited in claim 18.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 18, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
applying scanning signals to a plurality of scanning lines to control the plurality of scanning lines to be enabled sequentially within a display period,
wherein within the display period, an overlapping time period and a non-overlapping period are comprised between active time periods of the scanning signals applied to at least two adjacent scanning lines in the plurality of scanning lines enabled sequentially; and
a data voltage applied to a data line within at least a part of the overlapping time period is the same as a data voltage applied to the data line within at least a part of the non-overlapping time period, as recited in claim 18.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claim 18.
Regarding claim 20
The prior art of record, including Park et al. (US 2007/0182685), taken to be the closest prior art noted in the above rejection to the claims, taken alone or in combination does not teach, suggest or render obvious the array substrate, comprising a plurality of scanning lines extending in a first direction, a plurality of data lines extending in a second direction, and a plurality of pixels, as recited in claim 19, having the combination of elements and structure, along with having the further limitations which include:
wherein a ratio of the length of the pixel electrode in the first direction to the length of the pixel electrode in the second direction is greater than 1 and smaller than or equal to 2, as recited in claim 20.
Further, even though Park et al. shows the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed in the above rejections, it does not specifically show or render obvious the limitations of claim 20, noted above.
Also, none of the prior art of record teaches
wherein a ratio of the length of the pixel electrode in the first direction to the length of the pixel electrode in the second direction is greater than 1 and smaller than or equal to 2, as recited in claim 20.
Therefore, it is believed that one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed, would not consider it obvious to modify Park et al., with any of the prior art of record, to arrive with an invention that include the limitations as recited in claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (US 2026/0182235), shows display device having an array substrate (see the abstract), plurality of scanning lines (G), a plurality of data line (Data), having a scanning line between adjacent rows and data line between adjacent columns (see also the abstract, Figs. 3, 5 and 7, and para. 0055-0061).
Fang et al. (US 2018/0314121), shows display device having an array substrate (see the abstract), plurality of scanning lines (41, 42), a plurality of data line (51-53), having a scanning line between adjacent rows and data line between adjacent columns (see also the abstract, Figs. 1, 3 and 8, and para. 0029-0035).
/MUHAMMAD N. EDUN/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2629
/MUHAMMAD N EDUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629