DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/18/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/15/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiu et al. (US 20220070441 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Xiu et al. teaches a method for video coding (Abstract), comprising:
receiving data to be encoded or decoded as a current block of pixels of a current picture of a video, wherein the current block comprises at least one chroma block (Paragraphs 29-32); and
encoding or decoding the current block by a target inter prediction mode (Paragraphs 29-32), comprising:
obtaining a motion compensation predictor of a chroma sample included in the at least one chroma block (Paragraphs 52-56; Paragraphs 64-74);
obtaining at least one cross-component predictor of the chroma sample; and determining inter prediction of the chroma sample by jointly considering the motion compensation predictor and the at least one cross-component predictor (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 52-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 2, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one cross-component predictor comprises a cross component linear model (CCLM) based predictor (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 52-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 3, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the at least one cross-component predictor of the chroma sample comprises: constructing a merge candidate list for cross-component prediction; and determining the at least one cross-component predictor according to a cross-component model candidate selected from the merge candidate list (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 4, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein constructing the merge candidate list for cross-component prediction comprises: adding a cross-component model located at a spatial neighboring position to the merge candidate list (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 5, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein constructing the merge candidate list for cross-component prediction comprises: adding a cross-component model located at a temporal collocated position to the merge candidate list (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 6, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein constructing the merge candidate list for cross-component prediction comprises: adding a cross-component model from a history table to the merge candidate list, wherein the history table contains cross-component models of previously coded chroma blocks (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 37-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 7, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein constructing the merge candidate list for cross-component prediction comprises: adding a default cross-component model to the merge candidate list (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 37-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 8, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the data to be encoded as the current block of pixels of the current picture of the video comprises a syntax for a mode index to indicate selection of the cross-component model candidate (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 37-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 9, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the data to be decoded as the current block of pixels of the current picture of the video comprises a syntax for a mode index to indicate selection of the cross-component model candidate (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 10, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein determining the at least one cross-component predictor according to the cross-component model candidate selected from the merge candidate list comprises: using reference samples of a neighboring template to calculate a cost for each cross-component model candidate included in the merge candidate list; and selecting one of cross-component model candidates included in the merge candidate list that has a minimum cost as the cross-component model candidate used for obtaining the at least one cross-component predictor (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraph 63; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 11, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the inter prediction of the chroma sample by jointly considering the motion compensation predictor and the at least one cross-component predictor comprises: blending the motion compensation predictor and the at least one cross-component predictor to generate a weighted predictor as the inter prediction of the chroma sample (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 12, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the at least one cross-component predictor comprises a cross component linear model (CCLM) based predictor (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 13, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the motion compensation predictor and the at least one cross-component predictor are blended using pre-defined weighting (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 14, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the target inter prediction mode is enabled in response to all enabling conditions being satisfied (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-41; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 15, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the enabling conditions comprise a size condition of the at least one chroma block (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 16, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the enabling conditions comprise supported prediction modes of the at least one chroma block (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 17, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 14, wherein in response to all enabling conditions being satisfied, the data to be encoded as the current block of pixels of the current picture of the video comprises a flag to indicate to apply the target inter prediction mode (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Regarding Claim 18, Xiu et al. teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response to all enabling conditions being satisfied, the data to be decoded as the current block of pixels of the current picture of the video comprises a flag to indicate to apply the target inter prediction mode (Paragraph 28; Paragraphs 35-38; Paragraphs 45-56; Paragraphs 64-74).
Apparatus claim 19 is drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using said apparatus in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as used above. Xiu et al. further teaches a video encoder, comprising: a video data memory (Paragraphs 3-4; Paragraph 94).
Apparatus claim 20 is drawn to the apparatus corresponding to the method of using said apparatus in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as used above. Xiu et al. further teaches a video decoder, comprising: a video data memory (Paragraphs 3-4; Paragraph 94).
Conclusion
/FARHAN MAHMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483