DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FI20235043, filed on 01/17/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2025 was received and reviewed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to application number APP filed on 07/16/2025, in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims are directed to a computer program. As explained in U.S. Patent & Trademark Office, Subject Matter Eligibility of Computer-Readable Media, 1351 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 212 (Feb. 23, 2010):
The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zietz, 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2.
The USPTO recognizes that applicants may have claims directed to computer readable media that cover signals per se, which the USPTO must reject under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering both non-statutory subject matter and statutory subject matter. In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming a rejection or potential rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 in this situation, the USPTO suggests the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim. Cf Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (suggesting that applicants add the limitation "non-human" to a claim covering a multi cellular organism to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101). Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signals per se. The limited situations in which such an amendment could raise issues of new matter occur, for example, when the specification does not support a non-transitory embodiment because a signal per se is the only viable embodiment such that the amended claim is impermissibly broadened beyond the supporting disclosure. See, e.g., Gentry Gallery, Inc. v. Berkline Corp., 134 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-14, & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakashima US 20040149498 A1 (hereinafter Nakashima).
Claim 1: Nakashima discloses A method for controlling of at least two traction motors of an electric counter-balance truck, each of the at least two traction motors independently controllable and arranged to generate a torque to a respective at least one drive wheel [[0008]; The present invention also provides another steering apparatus for an electric industrial vehicle. The industrial vehicle includes a pair of drive wheels, a pair of drive motors, a steering wheel, a steered wheel, a detector for detecting the wheel angle, and a motor controller. Each drive motor drives one of the drive wheels], the method, performed by a control unit of the electric counter-balance truck, comprises: determining a steering angle of the electric counter-balance truck [[0034]; As shown in FIG. 1, the tire angle sensor 42 comprises a potentiometer mounted on the rotatable shaft of the steered wheel 14. The tire angle sensor 42 detects a tire angle (wheel angle) .theta. when the steering wheel 22 is turned to the left or the right, and outputs the detected value to the controller 45], determining at least one parameter descriptive of a steering received from a rotating steering wheel of the electric counter-balance truck [[0070]; In the fully hydraulic power steering apparatus, particularly, the steering angle of the steering wheel 22 and the tire angle .theta. of the steered wheel 14 tend to differ from each other due to a leakage of working fluid from the steering control valve 34. Therefore, it is essential to detect the tire angle .theta. of the steered wheel 14 for controlling the rotational direction and rotational speed of the drive wheels 12, 13. According to the present embodiment, the tire angle .theta. is utilized on the forklift 10 having the fully hydraulic power steering apparatus thereby to dispense with a sensor for detecting the steering angle of the steering wheel 22], generating traction motor setpoints individually to each of the at least two traction motors based on the steering angle of the electric counter-balance truck and the at least one parameter descriptive of a steering from a rotating steering wheel of the electric counter-balance truck, and generating control signals individually to each of the at least two traction motors for controlling of the at least two traction motors of the electric counter-balance truck to generate torques in accordance with the traction motor setpoints [[0042]; According to the speed control process, the controller 45 first sets a target value for the steered wheel speed Vst with respect to the detected value of the pedal depression degree TH at the time. For example, the controller 45 sets a target value using a stored map. Then, the controller 45 determines target values for a left wheel speed Vl and a right wheel speed Vr from the target value thus set for the steered wheel speed Vst. At this time, the controller 45 determines target values for the left wheel speed Vl and the right wheel speed Vr such that the angular velocities of the left and right drive wheels 12, 13 about the center of a turn of the vehicle are equal to the angular velocity of the steered wheel 14 about the center of the turn. The controller 45 outputs the target value for the rotational speed of the left drive wheel 12 that corresponds to the target value for the left drive wheel 12 to the left motor driver 46, and also outputs the target value for the rotational speed of the right drive wheel 13 that corresponds to the target value for the right drive wheel 13 to the right motor driver 47].
Claim 2: Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Nakashima discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the steering angle is determined based on measurement data received from at least one of the following: a steering angle sensor mounted to the rear axle of the electric counter-balance truck; a sensor arranged to measure an operating state of at least one hydraulic cylinder controlling a steering angle of the rear axle of the electric counter-balance truck; a sensor mounted to an axle of a motor measuring a steering angle of at least one steered wheel [[0034]; As shown in FIG. 1, the tire angle sensor 42 comprises a potentiometer mounted on the rotatable shaft of the steered wheel 14. The tire angle sensor 42 detects a tire angle (wheel angle) .theta. when the steering wheel 22 is turned to the left or the right, and outputs the detected value to the controller 4].
Claim 3: Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Nakashima discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one parameter descriptive of the steering is a steering angle of the rotating steering wheel [[0004]; Generally, on electric forklifts, the steering angle of a steering wheel is detected, and the rotational speeds of right and left drive motors are controlled based on the steering angle].
Claim 4: Nakashima teaches the method of claim 3, accordingly, the rejection of claim 3 above is incorporated.
Nakashima discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the steering angle of the rotating steering wheel is determined based on measurement data received from a sensor being a steering wheel angle sensor [[0004]; Generally, on electric forklifts, the steering angle of a steering wheel is detected, and the rotational speeds of right and left drive motors are controlled based on the steering angle].
Claim 5: Nakashima teaches the method of claim 3, accordingly, the rejection of claim 3 above is incorporated.
Nakashima discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the generation of the traction motor setpoints based on the steering angle of the electric counter-balance truck and the at least one parameter descriptive of the steering from a rotating steering wheel of the electric counter-balance truck is performed by dynamically weighting the steering angle of the electric counter-balance truck between the steering angle and the steering angle of the rotating steering wheel [[0086]; Specifically, the controller 45 sets a target value for the outer wheel with respect to the detected value of the pedal depression degree TH, determines target values respectively for the left wheel speed Vl and the right wheel speed Vr from the target value for the outer wheel, and outputs the target values respectively to the motor drivers 46, 47. At this time, the controller 45 determines target values for the left wheel speed Vl and the right wheel speed Vr such that the angular velocities of the left and right drive wheels 12, 13 about the center of a turn of the vehicle are equal to the angular velocity of the steered wheel 14 about the center of the turn].
Claim 9: Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Nakashima discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the generation of the control signals individually to each of the at least two traction motors comprises a determination of individual speed orders for the each of the at least two traction motors in accordance with the traction motor setpoints [[0043]; The left motor driver 46 is supplied with the target value for the rotational speed of the left drive wheel 12 from the controller 45, and also supplied with the detected value of the rotational speed of the left drive wheel 12 from the left wheel rotational speed sensor 43. The left motor driver 46 controls the left wheel drive motor 48 based on the target value for and the detected value of the rotational speed of the left drive wheel 12 according to a feedback control process, for controlling the left wheel speed Vl to the target value therefor. Likewise, the right motor driver 47 is supplied with the target value for the rotational speed of the right drive wheel 13 from the controller 45, and also supplied with the detected value of the rotational speed of the right drive wheel 13 from the right wheel rotational speed sensor 44. The right motor driver 47 controls the right wheel drive motor 49 based on the target value for and the detected value of the rotational speed of the right drive wheel 13 according to a feedback control process, for controlling the right wheel speed Vr to the target value therefor].
Claim(s) 10-14 & 18: The claim(s) are directed towards an apparatus of the recited limitations performed by the method of claim(s) 1-5 & 9, respectively. The cited portions of Nakashima used in the rejection of claim(s) 1-5 & 9 teach the same steps to perform the apparatus of claim(s) 10-14 & 18, respectively. Therefore, claim(s) 10-14 & 18 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claim(s) 1-5 & 9 as outlined above.
Claim(s) 19: The claim(s) is directed towards an apparatus of the recited limitations performed by the method of claim(s) 1, respectively. The cited portions of Nakashima used in the rejection of claim(s) 1 teach the same steps to perform the apparatus of claim(s) 19, respectively. Therefore, claim(s) 19 is rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Claim(s) 20: The claim(s) is directed towards an apparatus of the recited limitations performed by the method of claim(s) 1, respectively. The cited portions of Nakashima used in the rejection of claim(s) 1 teach the same steps to perform the apparatus of claim(s) 20, respectively. Therefore, claim(s) 20 is rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 & 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakashima in view of Laaksonen et al. US 20210240188 A1 (hereinafter Laaksonen).
Claim 6: Nakashima teaches the method of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated. Nakashima does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 6.
Laaksonen teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one parameter descriptive of the steering is a rotation direction of the rotating steering wheel and a rotation speed of the rotating steering wheel [[0031]; For example, the control unit 210 may be configured to obtain information relating to steering e.g. from a steering device 230, such as a steering wheel, but alternatively or in addition at least in some embodiment of the invention from at least one steered wheel 240. In other words, the steering device 230 may be configured to generate so called steering command e.g. in a continuous manner which indicates either an absolute position of the steering device 230 or a rotation direction and a speed of the steering device 230 which in turn may be interpreted e.g. by the control unit 210 to represent an instruction to the at least one steered wheel 240].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima in view of Laaksonen with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – ADD. The combination would improve maneuverability and increased operation fuctionality [Laaksonen; [0044]; The solution according to the present invention mitigates the drawbacks of the prior art solutions by enabling an improved steering to the operator of a counter balance forklift truck 200. The invention is, at least in part, based on an improved control in which a state of the truck is monitored by analyzing steering motion of the truck 200 and if at least one predetermined condition is fulfilled, a selection of a driving direction is provided to the operator to be done with the steering device 230. The present invention improves a control of the truck 200 in that manual actions required from the operator of the truck may be reduces when controlling the driving. This, among other things, makes the driving operation faster compared to prior art solutions. Additionally, the continuous motion of the truck achieved with the present invention mitigates the stress to entities of the truck as well as to the load, and improves an ergonomics of the operator, because the motion is continuous].
Claim 7: The combination of Nakashima and Laaksonen teach the method of claim 6, accordingly, the rejection of claim 6 above is incorporated. Nakashima does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 7.
Laaksonen teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the rotation direction of the rotating steering wheel and the rotation speed of the rotating steering wheel are determined based on data received from a sensor being a steering wheel incremental encoder [[0033]; As mentioned, according to another embodiment the steering motion may be expressed with data indicating a rotation direction and speed of the steering device, which may be detected with one or more applicable sensors, such as an incremental encoder or resolver].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima in view of Laaksonen with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – ADD. The combination would improve maneuverability and increased operation fuctionality [Laaksonen; [0044]; The solution according to the present invention mitigates the drawbacks of the prior art solutions by enabling an improved steering to the operator of a counter balance forklift truck 200. The invention is, at least in part, based on an improved control in which a state of the truck is monitored by analyzing steering motion of the truck 200 and if at least one predetermined condition is fulfilled, a selection of a driving direction is provided to the operator to be done with the steering device 230. The present invention improves a control of the truck 200 in that manual actions required from the operator of the truck may be reduces when controlling the driving. This, among other things, makes the driving operation faster compared to prior art solutions. Additionally, the continuous motion of the truck achieved with the present invention mitigates the stress to entities of the truck as well as to the load, and improves an ergonomics of the operator, because the motion is continuous].
Claim 8: The combination of Nakashima and Laaksonen teach the method of claim 6, accordingly, the rejection of claim 6 above is incorporated. Nakashima does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 8.
Laaksonen teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the generation of the traction motor setpoints based on the steering angle of the rear axle of the electric counter-balance truck and the at least one parameter descriptive of the steering from a rotating steering wheel of the electric counter-balance truck is performed by dynamically determining a variable offset to the steering angle of the electric counter-balance truck based on the steering angle and the steering angle of the rotating steering wheel [[0034]; In case the position of the at least one steered wheel 240 is monitored and detected it may be performed with one or more sensors positioned in a space, or spaces, in which the steered wheel 240, or the steered wheels 240, are rotatably arranged. The sensor may detect either directly or indirectly a position of the at least one steered wheel 240 with respect to a steering axis, or at least to generate measurement data from which the position is derivable e.g. by the control unit 210. Moreover, other parameters, such as rotation direction and speed may be monitored. By means of the monitored parameters it is possible to generate a reference steering command to be used as a feedback parameter in order to generate information on the steering, such as how the steering command and the reference steering command matches together].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakashima in view of Laaksonen with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – ADD. The combination would improve maneuverability and increased operation fuctionality [Laaksonen; [0044]; The solution according to the present invention mitigates the drawbacks of the prior art solutions by enabling an improved steering to the operator of a counter balance forklift truck 200. The invention is, at least in part, based on an improved control in which a state of the truck is monitored by analyzing steering motion of the truck 200 and if at least one predetermined condition is fulfilled, a selection of a driving direction is provided to the operator to be done with the steering device 230. The present invention improves a control of the truck 200 in that manual actions required from the operator of the truck may be reduces when controlling the driving. This, among other things, makes the driving operation faster compared to prior art solutions. Additionally, the continuous motion of the truck achieved with the present invention mitigates the stress to entities of the truck as well as to the load, and improves an ergonomics of the operator, because the motion is continuous].
Claim(s) 15-17: The claim(s) are directed towards an apparatus of the recited limitations performed by the method of claim(s) 6-8, respectively. The cited portions of Nakashima and Laaksonen used in the rejection of claim(s) 6-8 teach the same steps to perform the apparatus of claim(s) 15-17, respectively. Therefore, claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejection of claim(s) 6-8 as outlined above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Hammer et al. (US 20200087127 A1) discloses controlling a maximum vehicle speed for an industrial vehicle includes determining, by a processor of the industrial vehicle, a torque applied to the traction wheel of the industrial vehicle; converting the torque to an equivalent force value; and determining an acceleration of the industrial vehicle while the torque is applied to the traction wheel. Additional steps include calculating a load being moved by the industrial vehicle, based at least in part on the acceleration and the equivalent force value; and controlling the maximum speed of the industrial vehicle based on the calculated load being moved by the industrial vehicle.
Kouno (US 20230174053 A1) discloses a control apparatus includes a control unit and an information acquiring unit. The control unit is configured to control a turning apparatus turning at least one wheel and at least one electric motor, the at least one wheel including a tire. The information acquiring unit is configured to acquire steering related information including a steering angle of a steering wheel of the vehicle and at least one of a steering angular velocity, a steering angular acceleration, and a steering angular jerk of the steering wheel. The control is configured to execute turning control for controlling force to be applied to the tire of the at least one wheel to turn the vehicle by driving the at least one electric motor and the turning apparatus based on the steering related information in a coordinated manner.
Makino (US 20150012158 A1) discloses an electric vehicle is provided which allows an output torque to be automatically adjusted during travelling even when there is a difference in output characteristic between two traction motor units (6, 6) that independently drive left and right drive wheels (2). The electric vehicle includes the motor units; a torque command unit (23) that outputs torque command values to the motor units; a torque difference occurrence determiner (31) that determines that a difference has occurred between actual driving forces TL, TR of the respective drive wheels (2) even when the torque command unit applies the same torque command values TL*, TR* to the motor units; and a driving force difference reducer (32) that, if the determiner determines that a driving force difference not less than a set value has occurred between the drive wheels, causes control of reducing the driving force difference to be performed during travelling.
Zhou et al. (US 20220032910 A1) discloses a vehicle drive system for an electric vehicle having in-hub motors configured to be independently controlled from the main traction motors. The configuration allows for robust control of the vehicle dynamics and behavior by allowing an improved powertrain control. The system also allows the vehicle to achieve better efficiencies.
Deshpande et al. (US 20180105188 A9) discloses a method and system determine, during movement of a vehicle system along a route, a tractive load demanded by the vehicle system to propel the vehicle system along the route. The vehicle system includes a propulsion-generating vehicle having plural individually controllable traction motors. A first selected set of the traction motors for deactivation is identified during the movement of the vehicle system along the route based at least in part on the tractive load demanded by the vehicle system. The traction motors in the first selected set are deactivated while at least one of the traction motors in a first remaining set of the traction motors continues to generate tractive effort to propel the vehicle system. The traction motors that are selected for deactivation may all be on the same vehicle in the vehicle system, or may be on different vehicles of the same vehicle system.
Johnson (US 20190135112 A1) discloses apparatuses, systems, kits, methods and storage medium associated with using different electrical energy source types with an electric vehicle are disclosed herein.
Koga et al. (US 20110127093 A1) discloses a riding-type ground working vehicle includes left and right wheels, a command value calculating section, a yaw rate detecting section that detects a yaw rate of the vehicle, a target yaw rate calculating section, a correction coefficient acquiring section, and a control section. The left and right wheels are independently driven to travel by two respective traction motors. The command value calculating section calculates target rotational speed command values for the two traction motors based on an acceleration instruction and a turn instruction input by a driver. The target yaw rate calculating section calculates a target yaw rate based on the acceleration instruction and the turn instruction. The correction coefficient acquiring section acquires two correction coefficients respectively relating to the two traction motors based on a deviation between the target yaw rate and a yaw rate detection value. The control section corrects the two target rotational speed command values by the two correction coefficients, and controls drive of the two traction motors based on the corrected two target rotational speed command values.
Kawaguchi et al. (US 20170072999 A1) discloses an apparatus and a method for controlling steering of an industrial vehicle includes a wheel angle detector, a travel determining device, and a control calculation device that calculates a wheel angle average and a maximum variation of wheel angle in the specified period and learns a reference steering limit angle. The control calculation device determines that the steerable wheel is in a steering limit state if an actual traveling speed is maintained at the specified speed or higher for the specified period of time or longer, the average wheel angle in the specified period of time is at a specified angle or greater, and the maximum variation of wheel angle in the specified period of time is at a specified value or less. The control calculation device renews the reference steering limit angle if the steerable wheel is determined to be in the steering limit state.
Keller (US 20220194465 A1) discloses a steering method of an industrial truck. The industrial truck comprises a drive, at least three steerable wheels, at least one steering setpoint value transmitter which steers at least one of the at least three steerable wheels, a steering computer which provides angle setpoint values, and an electrical power electronics unit which supplies electrical energy to a steering motor associated with the at least one steered wheel. The method comprises steering, via the at least one steering setpoint value transmitter, the at least one steered wheel, detecting angular positions of the at least one steered wheel, providing the angle setpoint values via the steering computer, comparing the angular positions of the at least one steered wheel with the angle setpoint values provided via the steering computer so as to determine a setpoint/actual value difference, and controlling the electrical power electronics unit based on the setpoint/actual value difference.
Kemshall et al. (US 5542490 A) discloses an electric forklift truck having a single motor which drives a pump which provides, via a priority valve, hydraulic fluid for both the working hydraulics and a steer unit on the truck. The motor is driven continuously at an idle speed in order to generate in the steer unit a dynamic load sensing signal to control the position of the priority valve. An optical sensor is associated with the steering column in order to provide an electric control signal to the motor controller to step up the speed of the motor in response to a steering demand.
/ANTHONY GABRIEL MORA/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/KITO R ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664