DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahiro et al (JP 2018-105448).
Regarding claim 1, Takahiro discloses a vehicle drive device comprising:
a power transmission mechanism including a rotary shaft member (30) that enables transmission of power from a power source to a wheel;
a shaft bearing (35) that rotatably supports the rotary shaft member;
a case (32) that houses the power transmission mechanism in a housing chamber in which oil flows, the case including a shaft bearing support portion that fixedly supports the shaft bearing; and
an oil passage structure, at least a part of which is formed in the case,
wherein the shaft bearing support portion includes
a first wall portion (32a) formed about an axis and radially facing the shaft bearing, and
a second wall portion (32b) formed about the axis and axially facing an outer periphery of the shaft bearing from an axially first side,
the oil passage structure includes a first groove portion (32c) formed in the first wall portion in a manner recessed radially outward (shown in figure 3),
the first groove portion includes a first guide surface facing obliquely downward, and
the first guide surface extends axially and downward from an end of the first wall portion on an axially second side toward an end of the first wall portion on the axially first side.
Note: the applicant’s use of the phrases “downward” or “outward”, while not unclear are considered to be exceptionally broad as the directions are all relative and not clearly defined as a particular direction in relation to the claimed structure.
Regarding claim 2, Takahiro discloses the oil passage structure includes a second groove portion (36) that is formed in the second wall portion in a manner recessed toward the axially first side and is connected to an end of the first groove portion on the axially first side (shown in figures 3 and 4),
the second groove portion includes a second guide surface facing obliquely downward (shown in figures 3 and 4), and
the second guide surface extends radially and downward from an end of the second wall portion on a radially outer side toward an end of the second wall portion on a radially inner side (as shown in figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Takahiro discloses the first guide surface is inclined relative to a vehicle left-right direction, and the second guide surface is inclined relative to a vehicle front-rear direction (as shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Takahiro discloses the oil passage structure includes a third groove portion (46) formed on an axial end surface of the first wall portion on the axially second side in a manner recessed to the axially first side, and an end of the third groove portion on a radially inner side is connected to an end of the first groove portion on the axially second side (shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Takahiro discloses a radial depth of the first groove portion is smaller than a radial thickness of the first wall portion (shown in figure 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited art generally discloses features related to the claimed invention including the structure of the bearing and oil passages.
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619