DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 48-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maxwell (2018/0356188).
In reference to claim 48, Maxwell discloses a fuzing system for an aerial munition configured for mounting on an underwing region of an aircraft, the fuzing system comprises a remotely controllable fuze setter (paragraphs 64-67, fuze setter 144) configured for association to an underwing pylon tail solenoid through a lanyard and operable for rendering the aerial munition operable in a proximity fuze mode or an impact fuze mode during flight and prior to munition release (paragraphs 65-66, underwing pylon tail solenoid 146).
In reference to claim 49, Maxwell discloses the claimed invention (paragraph 66).
In reference to claim 50, Maxwell discloses the claimed invention (paragraph 66 discloses proximity sensor activation; paragraph 68 discloses fuze 48 detecting impact, and, thus, impact senor activation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 51-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maxwell in view of Collier (4031827).
In reference to claim 51, Maxwell discloses the system comprising a proximity sensor (25), a fuze arrangement (48) comprising an impact sensor (paragraph 68, first sentence) and a controllable fuze setter (element 144). Thus, Maxwell fails to disclose a turbine alternator unit (TAU), wherein both the proximity sensor and the fuze arrangement are electrically associated through a corresponding set of electric wires with the TAU provided between the proximity sensor and the fuze arrangement.
However, Collier teaches it is known to provide an aerial munition, similar to that of Maxwell, with a turbine alternator unit (TAU), wherein both the proximity sensor and the fuze arrangement are electrically associated through a corresponding set of electric wires with the TAU provided between the proximity sensor and the fuze arrangement, in order to provide power thereto (turbine alternator 35; figure 7, wires 81 and 85).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the munition of Maxwell with a turbine alternator unit (TAU), wherein both the proximity sensor and the fuze arrangement are electrically associated through a corresponding set of electric wires with the TAU provided between the proximity sensor and the fuze arrangement, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide power thereto.
In reference to claim 52, Maxwell in view of Collier makes obvious the claimed invention (Maxwell: figures 4 and 5, proximity sensor 25 is mounted on nose plug element 80 via at least threads 84, adapter 13’, and clamp ring 92).
In reference to claim 53, Maxwell in view of Collier makes obvious the claimed invention (Maxwell: paragraphs 66 and 68 disclose the fuze arrangement detonates the warhead 11; paragraphs 38 and 39 make clear the warhead includes a main explosive 50 that is detonated by the fuze arrangement).
In reference to claims 54-55, Maxwell in view of Collier makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1 (also see Maxwell, paragraph 66).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Maxwell fails to disclose “a remotely controllable fuze setter configured for association to an underwing pylon tail solenoid through a lanyard,” as claimed. Further, Applicant argues that Maxwell fails to teach or suggest an arrangement in which the fuze setter remains operable during flight and prior to munition release to selectively configure the munition into either a proximity fuze mode or an impact fuze mode. The examiner respectfully disagrees with both arguments.
Maxwell clearly discloses a remotely controllable fuze setter in the form of a safety enable switch (144) configured for association to an underwing pylon tail solenoid (146) through a lanyard (142). More specifically, Maxwell disclose the safety enable switch (144) as having a default state of OFF, corresponding to an impact fuze mode (paragraph 66; paragraph 68, last 11 lines). Further, Maxwell discloses the safety enable switch (144) of having a remotely selectable ON state, corresponding to a proximity fuze mode (paragraph 66; paragraph 68, first 23 lines).
Further, Maxwell clearly discloses that the ON and OFF states are remotely selectable, in flight, by a crewmember in the cockpit of the aircraft (paragraphs 66 and 67). Specifically, Maxwell discloses the safety enable switch (144) as connected to an underwing pylon tail solenoid (146) through a lanyard (142), wherein said crewmember can remotely control the ON/OFF state of said switch via said solenoid, and said switch sets the fuze mode (paragraphs 66-68). Thus, it is clear the safety enable switch (144) is a remotely controllable fuze setter, operable during flight and prior to munition release to selectively configure the munition into either a proximity fuze mode or an impact fuze mode, as claimed.
Regarding the argument directed to the rejection of claim 51, the examiner notes the argument is based upon the arguments noted above. Thus, the argument pertaining to claim 51 is addressed in the preceding two paragraphs. Applicant’s arguments relative to claim 51 fail to go beyond what is previously argued in any substantive manner. The statement that Maxwell nor Collier, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest the specific electrical and operational architecture of claim 51 is considered mere allegation. Applicant does not present any further evidence in opposition to the proposed combination beyond that which was applied in the previous arguments. Thus, the examiner asserts that the proposed combination of Maxwell in view of Collier renders obvious the claimed invention (claims 51-55).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641