DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0186363 (hereinafter Park) in view of Xie et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0273134 (hereinafter Xie).
Consider claim 1, Park teaches a shift register comprising: a cascade output sub-circuit, an output control sub-circuit, and a scan output sub-circuit (Figure 3, 340); the cascade output sub-circuit is electrically connected to an input terminal, a first clock signal terminal, a second clock signal terminal, a first power supply terminal, a second power supply terminal, a cascade output terminal, a first node, a second node, and a third node respectively (Figure 3, 341-343, CRY[n-1], CLK1, GLK2, VGH, VGL, CRY[n], Q2, Q1, M2-M3 node), and is configured to provide a signal of the first power supply terminal or the second power supply terminal to the cascade output terminal under control of signals of the input terminal, the first clock signal terminal, the second clock signal terminal, the first node, the second node, and the third node (Figure 3, CRY[n] under control of CLK1, GLK2, CRY[n-1], Q2, Q1, M2-M3 node); the output control sub-circuit is electrically connected to a first control signal terminal, a second control signal terminal and a third control signal terminal, the first node, the second node, the third node, a fourth node, and a fifth node respectively (Figure 3, 344, OEB, OE, VGL, VGH, Q2, Q4, Q1, Q3 and M2-M3 node) and is configured to provide a signal of the first node to the fourth node and to provide a signal of the second node to the fifth node under control of signals of the first node, the third node, and the first control signal terminal to the third control signal terminal (Figure 3, Q2-Q4 and Q1-Q3 under control under control OEB, OE, VGL, VGH, Q2, Q1, and M2-M3 node); and the scan output sub-circuit is electrically connected to the fourth node, the fifth node, a scan signal output terminal, the first power supply terminal, and a power supply terminal, respectively (Figure 3, Q4, Q3, GI[n], VGH and GLK2), and is configured to output the signal of the first power supply terminal or a power supply terminal to the scan signal output terminal under control of signals of the fourth node and the fifth node (Figure 3, GI[n] under control of Q3-Q4).
Park does not appear to specifically disclose output sub-circuit is electrically connected to second power supply.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Xie teaches shift registers in figure 1 and further teaches output sub-circuit is electrically connected to second power supply (Figure 27, M29-M30 and VGL).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide VGL for the output circuit as taught by Xie in order to cause the output signal SOUT to become low potential when low potential of the second potential signal VGL is transmitted through the transistor M30 as suggested in [0205].
Consider claim 8, Park and Xie teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Park does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the scan output sub-circuit comprises a seventh transistor, and an eighth transistor; a control electrode of the seventh transistor is electrically connected to the fourth node, a first electrode of the seventh transistor is electrically connected to the first power supply terminal, and a second electrode of the seventh transistor is electrically connected to the scan signal output terminal; and a control electrode of the eighth transistor is electrically connected to the fifth node, a first electrode of the eighth transistor is electrically connected to the scan signal output terminal, and a second electrode of the eighth transistor is electrically connected to the second power supply terminal.
However, Xie teaches wherein the scan output sub-circuit comprises a seventh transistor, and an eighth transistor; a control electrode of the seventh transistor is electrically connected to the fourth node, a first electrode of the seventh transistor is electrically connected to the first power supply terminal, and a second electrode of the seventh transistor is electrically connected to the scan signal output terminal (Figure 27, M29 and respective connections); and a control electrode of the eighth transistor is electrically connected to the fifth node, a first electrode of the eighth transistor is electrically connected to the scan signal output terminal, and a second electrode of the eighth transistor is electrically connected to the second power supply terminal (Figure 27, M30 and respective connections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide M29-M30, VGH and VGL as taught by Xie in order to cause the output signal SOUT to become low potential or high potential as suggested in [0204-0205].
Consider claim 9, Park and Xie teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Park does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the scan output sub-circuit further comprises: a second capacitor comprising a first plate and a second plate; the first plate of the second capacitor is electrically connected to the fourth node, and the second plate of the second capacitor is electrically connected to the first power supply terminal.
However, Xie teaches wherein the scan output sub-circuit further comprises: a second capacitor comprising a first plate and a second plate (Figure 27, C7); the first plate of the second capacitor is electrically connected to the fourth node, and the second plate of the second capacitor is electrically connected to the first power supply terminal (Figure 27, C7 and respective connections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide C7 with the benefit that due to the storage effect of the capacitor C7, the node N6 maintains the high potential from the previous phase as suggested in [0201].
Consider claim 13, Park and Xie teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Park teaches a cascade output terminal of an i-th stage of shift register is electrically connected to a input terminal of an (i+1)-th stage of shift register (Figure 2, blocks 1-3, and CRY[1]-[2], where first block receives FLM), 1<=i <= M-1, and M is a total number of stages of the shift registers (Figure 2, SRC1-SCRC3).
Consider claim 14, Park and Xie teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Park teaches a method for driving a shift register, configured to drive the shift register according to claim 1,wherein the method comprises: providing, by the cascade output sub-circuit, the signal of the first power supply terminal or the second power supply terminal to the cascade output terminal under control of signals of the input terminal, the first clock signal terminal, the second clock signal terminal, the first node, the second node and the third node (Figure 3, CRY[n] under control of CLK1, GLK2, CRY[n-1], Q2, Q1, M2-M3 node); providing, by the output control sub-circuit, the signal of the first node to the fourth node and a signal of the second node to the fifth node under control of the signals of the first node, the third node and the first control signal terminal to the third control signal terminal (Figure 3, Q2-Q4 and Q1-Q3 under control under control OEB, OE, VGL, VGH, Q2, Q1, and M2-M3 node); and outputting, by the scan output sub-circuit, the signal of the first power supply terminal or the second power supply terminal to the scan signal output terminal under control of signals of the fourth node and the fifth node (Figure 3, GI[n] under control of Q3-Q4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior arts do not appear to specifically disclose the details of the output control sub-circuit, the ninth-twenty fifth transistors, capacitors and/or the working processes mentioned in claim 2, 10-12 in combination to other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 17-18, Applicant argues that “the circuit formed by the first node controller 341, the second node controller 342, and the first output buffer 343, has control and connections that only involve the first nodes Q1 and Q2, and is irrelevant with third node Q3.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Park shows in figure 3 that Q3 is connected to 343 via C3 or M11.
On pages 17-18, Applicant argues that “The output controller 344 may transfer the signal of the first node Q1 to a third node Q3 based on the output enable signal OE" (see paragraph 0071), which means that the third node Q3 only receives the signal from the first node Q1”. The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Claim recites “the cascade output sub-circuit…is configured to provide a signal of the first power supply terminal or the second power supply terminal to the cascade output terminal under control of signals of the input terminal, the first clock signal terminal, the second clock signal terminal, the first node, the second node, and the third node”. Figures 3-4 show that Q3 is under control of OE or Q1. Claim does recite that Q1 receives a particular signal from Q3 as appear to be argued.
On page 18, Applicant argues that “As shown in above Fig. 3 of Park, control and connections of the output controller 344 involve only four nodes, which are Q1, Q2, Q3 and Q4. Specifically, the output controller 344 electrically connects the first node Q1 to the third node Q3, and the second node Q2 to the fourth node Q4, and is irrelevant with the fifth node.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Park shows at least five nodes in figure 3 (e.g. nodes Q1, Q2, Q3, Q4 and node in between M3-M2). Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621