DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. There are a total of 6 claims and claims 1 and 4-8 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's argument, filed on September 14, 2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1,4,7 and 8 are amended and claim . Claims 1 and 4-8 now are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/14/2026 remarks have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection which is deemed appropriate to address all of the needs at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2024/0015319; filed Nov. 10, 2022) in view of TAKAHASHI et al. (US 2019/0238881) and further in view of Chun-Chi et al.( US 2023/0007238 A1 ).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses an image decoding method, comprising([see in Fig. 26-28]-image decoding method): determining a co-located block for temporal motion vector prediction of a current block([para 0040]- In response to the reference picture of the motion information candidate being the one of the plurality of collocated pictures, the processing circuitry determines a collocated block in the one of the plurality of collocated pictures based on the motion information candidate of the current block); deriving a block vector from the co-located block([abstract]- A first collocated block in a first collocated picture is determined based on a first displacement vector candidate of the current block corresponding to a first SbTMVP candidate); deriving a motion vector of the current block based on the block vector([abstract]- decodes a current block in a current picture with a subblock-based temporal motion vector prediction (SbTMVP) mode).
However, Chen does not explicitly discloses generating a prediction signal of the current block by performing inter prediction based on the motion vector of the current block.
In an analogous art, TAKAHASHI discloses generating a prediction signal of the current block by performing inter prediction based on the motion vector of the current block([para 0441;0731]- the motion compensating unit 211-1 determines whether or not a mode of a prediction motion vector is temporal prediction based on the inter prediction information. When a mode of a prediction motion vector is determined to be temporal prediction, the process proceeds to step S1635). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of TAKAHASHI to the modified system of Chen an image processing device and method which are capable of suppressing an increase in a storage capacity necessary for encoding and decoding [Chen; paragraph 0002].
However, the combination of Chen and TAKAHASHI do not explicitly wherein the co-located block is a block coded in a template matching-based intra mode.
In an analogous Chun-Chi discloses wherein the co-located block is a block coded in a template matching-based intra mode([0227-0229]- video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may disable the use of either one of above and left template blocks. If a template block is collocated with a certain amount of intra-coded sample over a pre-defined ratio, then this template block is disabled and is not used in TM. [0228]-discloses video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may perform template matching based solely on either one of the above and left template blocks if the refined MVs inferred from spatial neighboring blocks. [0229]-discloses When the inferred spatial neighboring block is from the above (or above-right) relative to the current block, only above template may be used in template matching. [0230]-discloses When the inferred spatial neighboring block is from the left (or bottom-left) relative to the current block, only left template may be used in template matching). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Chun-Chi to the modified system of TAKAHASHI and Chen techniques related to decoder-side motion vector derivation techniques (e.g., template matching, bilateral matching, decoder-side MV refinement, bi-directional optical flow) to reduce or remove redundancy inherent in video sequences [Chun-Chi; para 0003].
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 7 have been met in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 8 have been met in claim 1; Chen discloses deriving a residual signal of the current block based on the prediction signal([para 0086]-generating residual signal or residual sample); generating a bitstream by encoding the residual signal([para 0072; 0086-0087]-bitstream is being generated by encoding); and transmitting the image data including the bitstream([para 0072]- The encoded video data can be transmitted in the form of one or more coded video bitstreams). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of TAKAHASHI to the modified system of Chen an image processing device and method which are capable of suppressing an increase in a storage capacity necessary for encoding and decoding [Chen; paragraph 0002].
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of TAKAHASHI and Chun-Chi as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kang et al.( US 2026/0019572 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chen, TAKAHASHI and Chun-Chi do not explicitly disclose wherein the block vector is derived based on a position difference between the co-located block and a reference block for the template matching of the co-located block.
In an analogous art, Kang discloses wherein the block vector is derived based on a position difference between the co-located block and a reference block for the template matching of the co-located block([claim text 8 and 15]- a block co-located with the current block in a reference frame of the current block, a reference block indicated by a motion vector of the current block, or a prediction block searched for in a current frame according to template matching based on a template of the current block). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Kang to the modified system of Chen, TAKAHASHI and Chun-Chi and Deng a video coding method using an in-loop filter adaptive to various types of noise and characteristics which will improve coding efficiency by about 30% or more compared to HEVC [Kang; abstract].
Regarding claim 5, Kang discloses wherein a reference picture of the current block is substituted with a co-located picture to which the co-located block belongs([claim text 8 and 15]- a block co-located with the current block in a reference frame of the current block, a reference block indicated by a motion vector of the current block, or a prediction block searched for in a current frame according to template matching based on a template of the current block).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of TAKAHASHI and Chun-Chi as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lim et al.( US Pat. No. 10,244,252 B2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chen, TAKAHASHI and Chun-Chi do not explicitly disclose wherein the motion vector of the current block is derived by applying a predetermined scaling factor to the block vector, and wherein the scaling factor is derived based on at least one of a first picture order count (POC) difference between a current picture to which the current block belongs and a reference picture of the current block or a second POC difference between a co-located picture to which the co-located block belongs and the reference picture of the current block.
In an analogous art, Lim discloses wherein the motion vector of the current block is derived by applying a predetermined scaling factor to the block vector, and wherein the scaling factor is derived based on at least one of a first picture order count (POC) difference between a current picture to which the current block belongs and a reference picture of the current block or a second POC difference between a co-located picture to which the co-located block belongs and the reference picture of the current block([claim 1]- a reference picture buffer to store a reference picture; and one or more processors to calculate a scaling factor based on a picture order count of the reference picture, clip the scaling factor in a first predetermined range, scale a motion vector of the reference picture based on the clipped scaling factor, clip the scaled motion vector of the reference picture in a second predetermined range, and generate a prediction block based on the reference picture and the clipped scaled motion vector of the reference picture, wherein the motion vector of the reference picture is determined as a motion vector of a collocated block in the reference picture). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Lim to the modified system of Chen, TAKAHASHI and Chun-Chi a method for clipping a motion vector of a reference picture and for transmitting information on a motion vector which will reduce a size of a memory required for storing motion vectors [Lim; abstract].
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. SUGIO et al., US 2016/0050432 A1, discloses a moving picture coding method and a moving picture decoding method.
2. Li et. al., US 2013/0170550 A1, discloses video encoding and decoding, and in particular, to representative motion information for use in video encoding and decoding.
3. Lim et al., US 2013/0294522 A1, discloses an image processing, and more particularly, to a video coding/decoding method using a clipped motion vector and an apparatus thereof.
4. Oh et al., US 2016/0381383 A1, discloses an apparatus for decoding a moving picture, and more particularly, to an apparatus for constructing a motion vector list by using a candidate of a spatial motion vector and a candidate of a temporal motion vector, decoding a motion vector of a current prediction unit by using a received motion vector index, and decoding the moving picture encoded in inter prediction mode.
5. Park et al., US 2020/0092573 A1, discloses a method and apparatus for decoding an image, which can improve image compression efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MD N HAQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487